DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suenaga.
Regarding claim 1, Suenaga discloses a percussion assembly, comprising: a top membrane (11) defining a beating surface; a lower member (21) spaced from the top membrane; and a resilient pad (22) sandwiched between the top membrane (11) and the lower member (21), wherein the lower member is disengageable (via element 60c) to allow access to the resilient pad.
Regarding claim 2, Suenaga discloses wherein the membrane and the lower
member are maintained in place via an outer frame about the outer periphery (see the maintained place in figure 10).
Regarding claim 4, Suenaga discloses wherein the lower member is a
substantially flat plate (see the flat plate in figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Suenaga discloses wherein a tension level of the
membrane is adjustable (column 4, lines 25-40).
Claims 6, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Suenaga does not disclose the use of tension rods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Suenaga to include one or more tension
rods with an exposed end, wherein the tension level of the membrane is adjustable
via torquing the one or more tension rods since the use of tension rods as an adjustment means under the membrane is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Suenaga does not disclose the use of a porous mesh material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Suenaga to include a porous mesh material since the use of porous mesh material in drumheads is conventional and well known in the art.
Claims 3 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837