DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims 1-9, filed 14 October 2024, which are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use and do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“attachment means” in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1 & 7 (and claims 2-6 and 8-9 at least for depending from a rejected claim) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a portion of the cap". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no “a cap” previously recited. There is recitation of “a cap shaping ad securing device” but this is not “a cap”. It is unclear if the cap is part of the structure now or a recitation of intended use. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “a double-sided self-adhesive material operative to detachably adhere to a portion of [[the]] a cap”.
Claim 1 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “a shape of a cap”. It is unclear if this is the same cap previously recited in “a portion of the cap” or if this is a new/different structure. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “the shaper bowl is configured to retain a shape of [[a]] the cap and to mount on a wearer’s head”.
Claim 7 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “a cap assembly, comprising: the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1; and a cap mounted on the cap shaping and securing device”. It is unclear if this is the same cap previously recited in “a portion of the cap” or “a shape of a cap” of claim 1, or if this is a new/different structure. Further, it is unclear if the previously recited “cap” of claim 1 is not part of the “a cap assembly” of claim 7. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “a cap assembly, comprising: the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1; and [[a]] the cap mounted on the cap shaping and securing device”, and the previously recited cap is part of the “a cap assembly”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brander US 1934114 in view of Sowell US 5857469.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Brander discloses a cap shaping and securing device (Figs. 1-11), comprising: a shaper bowl (Figs. 1-11 #14) having a concave inner surface (Figs. 1-2), a convex outer surface (Figs. 1-2) and, an attachment device (Col. 2, l. 85-99 notes “stitched”) configured to be operative to detachably adhere to a portion of [[the]] a cap (Col. 2, l. 85-99), wherein the shaper bowl is configured to retain a shape of [[a]] the cap and to mount on a wearer’s head (Pg. 1:22-33); and a headband (Figs. 3-4 #16/17/24; Pg. 1:72-84) fastened to the shaper bowl by an attachment means (Applicant’s “attachment means” has been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Applicant’s “attachment means” appears to be a clip to attach the headband to the shaper bowl [per Applicant Drawings Figs. 2-3 #18A and Spec Pg. 4:6-9]; Brander has a clip fastener, which are the same as the Applicant’s “attachment means”; see Figs. 2, 7, & 10-11 #33/34/36/37/38).
Brander does not expressly disclose a double-sided self-adhesive material.
Sowell discloses a headwear accessory (Figs. 1-4 #1) with an attachment component (Figs. 1-3 #8) comprising a double-sided self-adhesive material (Figs. 1-3 #6/10; Col. 2, l. 31-44).
Both Brander and Sowell teach analogous inventions in the art of headwear with clips. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Brander with the teachings of Sowell such that the stitching would be a double-sided self-adhesive material to connect the crown edges to the shaper bowl so as to provide the cap with, “a system of modularized, interchangeable ornamental appendages for affixment (sic) thereto,” (Sowell Col. 1, l. 7-11).
Examiner notes that italicized limitations in the Prior Art rejections are functional and do not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead require the ability of the structure to perform and/or function. As the Prior Art of Brander discloses the structure of the cap shaping and securing device, there would be a reasonable expectation for the cap shaping and securing device to perform such functions as explained after each functional limitation.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified cap shaping and securing device of Brander discloses the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1, wherein the double-sided self-adhesive material is selected from the group consisting of double-sided adhesive tape (Sowell Col. 2, l. 31-37); poster tape (Sowell Col. 2, l. 31-37); hook and loop closures (Sowell Col. 2, l. 31-37); and any combination thereof (Sowell Col. 2, l. 31-37).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified cap shaping and securing device of Brander discloses the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1, wherein the double-sided adhesive is present on the concave inner surface (Sowell Col. 2, l. 31-37).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified cap shaping and securing device of Brander discloses the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1, wherein the double-sided adhesive is present on the convex outer surface (Brander Fig. 7; Sowell Figs. 1-3 & Col. 2, l. 31-37).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified cap shaping and securing device of Brander discloses the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1, wherein the double-sided adhesive is present on the concave inner surface and on the convex outer surface (Brander Fig. 7; Sowell Figs. 1-3 & Col. 2, l. 31-37).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified cap shaping and securing device of Brander discloses the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1, wherein the attachment means is selected from the group consisting of: a clip (Figs. 2, 7, & 10-11 #33/34/36/37/38), holes operative to accommodate the headband (Figs. 1-11 #32), and any combination thereof (Figs. 1-11).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified cap shaping and securing device of Brander discloses a cap assembly (Figs. 1-11), comprising: the cap shaping and securing device of claim 1; and a cap (Figs. 1-11 #10/11/25) mounted on the cap shaping and securing device (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified cap assembly of Brander discloses the cap assembly of claim 7, wherein the cap is an academic cap (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified cap assembly of Brander discloses the cap assembly of claim 7, wherein the cap comprises a fabric portion (Figs. 1-11 #26) operative to fold over a rim of the cap (Fig. 7 shows #26 folding over the rim edging #24) shaping and securing device and adheres to the double-sided self-adhesive material (Brander Fig. 7; Sowell Figs. 1-3 & Col. 2, l. 31-37).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wright US 20220295936 teaches a modular graduation cap
Smith US 0836899 teaches a collapsible graduation cap
Kregsbach US 20170099928 teaches a headband with clip attachments
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732