DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 10/14/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 09/17/2024 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/14/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “ The dynamic charging system of claim 12, …”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite. Claim 12 depends on Claim 12 which contains a circular dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Consequently, Claims 13-16 suffer from improper dependency.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reis (US 2020/0119541), in view of Strashny (US 2023/0203761).
Regarding claim 1, Reis and Strashny discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
An electric rail infrastructure for a work machine, comprising: a plurality of powered rails; a plurality of energy interfaces positioned throughout the plurality of powered rails; a power module connected to the plurality of energy interfaces for providing electrical power to the plurality of powered rails; a plurality of electric clamps positioned on each of the powered rails, each electric clamp having at least one resistor. Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, teaches an electric rail infrastructure and a power rail system for electric transportation, comprising successive rail feeding sections including a main power rail 202 and an associated power rail incline 204 (i.e., plurality of powered rails; …….). Direct current (DC) traction power provided to the rails. And further teaches an electric current management system positioned at the end/gaps of the powered rails, comprising an arc supporting device 410 having at least one resistor 502 connected between the main power rail 202 and the rail incline section 204 to suppress electric arcing and manage current when the machine disconnects. An insulting joint comprising insulting bars 604 bolted to the rail ends to mechanically secure the main power rail and the rail incline section together at this electrical junction.
Reis does not explicitly disclose: the joining bars 604 as an integrated
the joining bars 604 as an integrated … electric clamps … to house the resistors,
However, Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0009], Claims 1-3, and Fig. 1, teaches a mechanical clamp (a split fishplate) having a first lip and a second lip that define a groove for receiving the end portions of rail segments, utilizing a connector to pull the lips together transversely to mechanically clamp and secure the rail ends.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the rail infrastructure and insulating joints of Reis to include the mechanical clamping fishplate connectors as taught by Strashny to physically join the rail ends and house the resistor components of the arc suppressing device, in order to protect the sensitive resistor and circuit components by integrating them directly into the heavy duty mechanical clamps that securely join the rail segments together.
Regarding claim 2, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of powered rails are aligned in parallel and equidistant from each other to facilitate continuous electrical connection with the work machine, and wherein each electric clamp includes a pair of interface plates for mechanically joining each end of the electric clamp to two powered rails. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0009], and Fig. 1, teaches deploying a plurality of powered rails aligned in parallel along a haul rout to facilitate continuous electrical connection with the contactors of a heavy work machine, discussing parallel rail joints, and an assembly of power rails including an inner conductive rail and outer conductive rail traversing a path. And further teaches a mechanical clamping (a split fishplate) designed to join the ends of these rail segments. The fishplate includes a first lip and a second lip (i.e., pair of interface plates) extending parallel to a longitudinal axis to define a groove for receiving the end portions of a first rail segment and a second rail segment. A connector pulls these two lips (plates) together to secure and join the two powered rails.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
As per claim 15, claim 15 encompass same or similar scope as claim 2. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, wherein each electric clamp further comprises a surge protector for protecting the electrical rail infrastructure from voltage spikes. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, explicitly teaches incorporating electrical protection circuitry to manage dangerous voltage transients and spikes at the rail ends. And specifically teaches that the rail gap junctions are equipped with a “wayside electric DC traction power anti-arcing circuit”. The arc suppressing device 410 utilizes a parallel resistor-capacitor (RC) circuit (an RC snubber) to discharge energy, limit current, and suppress the arcing caused by inductive voltage spikes when the collector shoe disconnects from the rail. And further teaches that the device may include a DC-rated circuit breaker or fused disconnect switch for additional “electrical protection”. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Reis fails to explicitly teach housing these electrical protection components within the structure of “electric clamp”, however;
Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0009], and Fig. 1, teaches a mechanical clamp (the split fishplate) utilized at the end junction of the rail segments to house and join the rails.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
As per claim 12, claim 12 encompass same or similar scope as claim 3. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, wherein a rail controller is configured to regulate and distribute the electrical power supplied to the plurality of powered rails from the power module. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, explicitly teaches a system designed to distribute power. And teaches a “traction power rail distribution system” that provides and distributes electrical DC traction power to successive “feeding sections” (the plurality of powered rails) along the length of the railway. And further teaches that this distribution system utilizes active electrical management components, such as a DC-rated circuit breaker or a fused disconnect switch, to control and isolate electrical power to the various rail circuits. Reis may not explicitly use the term of a centralized “rail controller”. However, it is well known in the art of the electric railway that any multi-section power distribution system relies on a control unit (a rail controller), such as a traction substation controller or SCADA system, to actively regulate voltage outputs, actuate breakers, and safely distribute power from the main power to the rail segments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to safely regulate the flow of electricity to the various rail feeding sections.
Regarding claim 6, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of powered rails includes a metal plate along a surface of each rail. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, teaches a main traction power rail 202 and a power rail incline 204 configured to contact a collector shoe 102 to transfer direct current, and shows top, side, and bottom contact power rail configuration.
Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0024]-[0031], [0043]-[0044], and Fig. 1, teaches the power rail 108 as comprising “one or more beams of metal” arranged to maintain an electrical connection along its surface via sliding trailing arms 116. And explicitly teaches the rail itself is formed of a metallic beam presenting a metal surface to the contactor. Also teaches “Open coupler …. made of any structurally resilient material, such as steel or other metals”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to automate the connection of the work machine to the electrical rail infrastructure, and to manage the power distribution to the work machine’s operational systems, wherein the controller is configured to communicate with a remote control device for remotely managing the operation of the dynamic charging system. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0024]-[0034], [0043]-[0044], and Fig. 1, teaches the systems for connecting a heavy work machine to a charging rail. And teaches a “head-end interface 120” that provides an interface for “signaling for electronic controls” to “extend and retract arm 110” which explicitly teaches an onboard electronic control system configured to automate the connection of the work machine’s contactors to the rail infrastructure. As an electric “work machine 100” utilizes a “powering electric engine 102”, it requires an onboard controller to manage and distribute the received electrical power to its systems (traction motors, pneumatics). It is well known in the art to equip work machines with telematics and wireless controllers to allow for remote monitoring and operation.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic control system of Strashny to include wireless remote communication control system, to remotely monitor power distribution, in order to improve the safety and efficiency.
As per claim 14, claim 14 encompass same or similar scope as claim 8. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of energy interfaces includes an interface plate with a socket for receiving electrical cables connected to the power module. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, explicitly teaches utilizing electrical cables at the energy interfaces to connect the various components of the power distribution system. And teaches connecting the rail to the arc suppressing device via a “first conductor cable 402” connected to an “input terminal 408” and a “second conductor cable 412” connected to an “output terminal 418”. And further teaches that the overall rail distribution system receives direct current (DC) traction power from an upstream source to supply the rail feeding sections. It is well known in the art to terminate heavy electrical cables using an interface plate equipped with a socket or receiving receptacle (a terminal board or plug-in junction plate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal connections of the power cables as taught by Reis, to utilize an interface plate with a receiving socket, to securely mate the power modules supply cables to the rails energy interface.
Regarding claim 10, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of energy interfaces includes an interface plate with a socket for receiving electrical cables. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, explicitly teaches utilizing electrical cables at the energy interfaces to connect the various components of the power distribution system. And teaches connecting the rail to the arc suppressing device via a “first conductor cable 402” connected to an “input terminal 408” and a “second conductor cable 412” connected to an “output terminal 418”. And further teaches that the overall rail distribution system receives direct current (DC) traction power from an upstream source to supply the rail feeding sections. It is well known in the art to terminate heavy electrical cables using an interface plate equipped with a socket or receiving receptacle (a terminal board or plug-in junction plate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal connections of the power cables as taught by Reis, to utilize an interface plate with a receiving socket, to securely mate the power modules supply cables to the rails energy interface.
Regarding claim 11, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
A dynamic charging system comprising: an electric rail infrastructure including: a plurality of powered rails; a plurality of energy interfaces positioned throughout the plurality of powered rails; a power module connected to the plurality of energy interfaces for providing electrical power to the plurality of powered rails; a plurality of electric clamps positioned on each end of the powered rails, each electric clamp having at least one resistor; Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, teaches a charging system comprising an electric rail infrastructure comprising successive rail feeding sections including a main power rail 202 and an associated power rail incline 204 (i.e., a plurality of powered rails). Teaches power rail feeding sections and section gaps along the length of the system (i.e., … energy interface positioned ….). Direct current (DC) traction power provided to the rails. and further teaches an electrical current management system positioned at the ends/gaps of the powered rails, comprising an arc suppressing device 401 having at least one resistor 502 connected between the main power rail 202 and the rail incline section 204 to suppress electric arcing and manage current when a machine disconnects. An insulating joint comprising insulating bars 604 bolted to the rail ends to secure the main power rail and the rail incline section together at this electrical junction.
Reis does not explicitly disclose:
… the electric clamp…, a work machine having: an arm assembly; and a rail connector on a free end of the arm assembly, the rail connector configured to contact the plurality of powered rails to receive electrical power for the work machine.
However, Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0007], [0024], [0028]-[0031], and Fig. 1, teaches a mechanical clamp (a split fishplate) having a first lip and a second lip that define a groove for receiving the end portions of rail segments, utilizing a connector to pull the lips together transversely to mechanically clamp and secure the rail ends (clamp). And teaches a heavy “work machine 100” equipped with an arm assembly described as an “elongated arm resembling a pole” (conductor rod 106) with an extensible inner arm 110 configured to extend outward the rails. And further teaches a rail connector assembly 114 positioned at the tip 124 (the free end) of the arm assembly that uses trailing arms 116 to contact the power rail and receive electrical power for the electric engine of the work machine.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the charging system of Reis to include the arm assembly and rail connector as taught by Strashny, to transfer continuous electrical power from a rail system to an industrial vehicle, in order to dynamically charging the work machines along the path.
Regarding claim 17, Reis and Strashny discloses the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
A method of installing an electrical rail infrastructure for electrically connecting to a work machine, the method comprising: providing a plurality of powered rails; positioning a plurality of energy interfaces throughout the plurality of powered rails; connecting a power module to the plurality of energy interfaces for providing electrical power to the plurality of powered rails; and installing a plurality of electric clamps on each end of the powered rails, each electric clamp having at least one resistor. Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, teaches providing an electric rail infrastructure comprising successive rail feeding sections including a main power rail 202 and a power rail incline 204. And teaches positioning power rail feeding sections and section gaps along the length of the system. And further teaches connecting a Direct current (DC) traction electrical power, and utilizing an electrical current management system positioned at the ends/gaps of the powered rails, comprising an arc suppressing device having at least one resistor connected between the main power rail and the rail incline section.
Reis does not explicitly disclose:
… electric clamps … to house the resistors,
However, Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0007], [0024], [0028]-[0031], and Fig. 1, teaches a method of installing conductive rails for heavy work machines, comprising positioning the end portions of rail segments within a clamp (a split fishplate), having lips that define a groove for receiving and clamping the end portions of rail segments.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the charging system of Reis to include the mechanical clamping fishplate connectors as taught by Strashny at the power supply ends, and perform the standard active steps of providing, positioning, connecting, and installing, to assemble the components, in order to provide the construction steps to integrate the surge protection circuitry into the mechanical joint clamps to result a fully assembled and protected rail infrastructure.
Regarding claim 18, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 17. Reis and Strashny disclose:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: providing an arm assembly on the work machine; and attaching a rail connector to a free end of the arm assembly, the rail connector configured to contact the plurality of powered rails to receive electrical power for the work machine. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 17, as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0007], [0024], [0028]-[0031], and Fig. 1, teaches a heavy “work machine 100” equipped with an arm assembly, described as an “elongated arm resembling a pole” with an extensible inner arm 110. And further teaches a rail connector assembly 114 positioned at the tip 124 (the free end) of the arm assembly that uses trailing arms 116 configured to contact the power rail and receive electrical power for the work machine.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 17 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claims 5, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reis (US 2020/0119541), in view of Strashny (US 2023/0203761), and further in view of James (US 6,810,817).
Regarding claim 5, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 1. Reis and Strashny in view of James disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 1, wherein the power module includes a plurality of energy sources selected from the group consisting of generators, solar panels, fuel cells, and hybrid generators. While Reis and Strashny teach the rail infrastructure, mechanical clamps, and electrical surge circuit, they do not explicitly list the specific power generation source recited in claim 5. However;
James, Abstract, and Col. 13, ll. 7-32, teaches an electric transit rail system where the electrical power module is supplied by solar panels and generators.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the rail system of Reis and Strashny to incorporate the solar panels and generators as taught by James, to provide a self-sustaining electrical power to the rail infrastructure for powering remote segments of the haul route without relying on an electrical grid.
As per claim 13, claim 13 encompass same or similar scope as claim 5. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 17. Reis and Strashny in view of James disclose:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: connecting energy sources to the power module, the energy sources selected from the group consisting of generators, solar panels, fuel cells, and hybrid generators, to provide power supply to the plurality of powered rails. While Reis and Strashny teach the rail infrastructure, mechanical clamps, and electrical surge circuit, they do not explicitly list the specific power generation source recited in claim 20. However;
James, Abstract, and Col. 13, ll. 7-32, teaches an electric transit rail system where the electrical power module is supplied by solar panels and generators.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the rail system of Reis and Strashny to incorporate the solar panels and generators as taught by James, to provide a self-sustaining electrical power to the rail infrastructure for powering remote segments of the haul route without relying on an electrical grid.
Claims 7, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reis (US 2020/0119541), in view of Strashny (US 2023/0203761), and further in view of Segar (US 4,090,452).
Regarding claim 7, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Reis and Strashny and Segar disclose:
The electric rail infrastructure of claim 2, wherein the plurality of electric clamps connect an outside rail in the plurality of powered rails to a center rail in the plurality of powered rails, to direct electrical surges to the center rail in the plurality of powered rails and to at least one of the electric ground connectors positioned on the center rail. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claims 1-2, as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-2 above.
Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, teaches utilizing the arc suppressing device and resistor circuits to manage electrical faults and surges at the rail joints.
Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0009], [0024]-[0031], teaches that the rail system having a plurality of powered rails aligned in parallel, an arrangement that includes an “inner conductive rail”, and “an outer conductive rail”.
Segar, Col. 4, ll. 43-68, Col. 5, ll. 1-41, teaches a power rail and guide beam arrangement for a transporting system. Specifically teaches an apparatus for supplying electrical power that includes “power rails 90, 92 and 94, respectively; ground collector 95 in contact with ground rail 96”. And teaches that the power rails 90, 92, and 94 and the ground rail 96 are supported by mounting brackets 116. The backets 116 are attached at longitudinal intervals to the upper flange 30 of a central guide beam 28. The arrangement utilizes brackets to bridge the outside power rails to a central grounding structures. And further teaches that a ground collector 95 is provided in contact with the ground rail 96, serving as an electrical ground connection.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the charging system and rail clamps of Reis and Strashny to incorporate the central guide beam and grounding bracket as taught by Segar, to route the grounding connections from the surge protecting clamps on the outside powered rails to a specific center ground rail, in order to safely dissipate fault currents and preventing electrical damage to the components.
As per claim 16, claim 16 encompass same or similar scope as claim 7. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, Reis and Strashny disclose the limitations of claim 17. Reis and Strashny and Segar disclose:
The method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of electric clamps each includes a pair of interface plates for mechanically joining each end of each electric clamp to connect two powered rails in the plurality of powered rails, the method further comprising: installing surge protectors within each electric clamp to protect the electrical rail infrastructure from voltage spikes; and connecting the plurality of electric clamps to an outside rail in the plurality of powered rails to a center rail in the plurality of powered rails, to direct electrical surges to the center rail in the plurality of powered rails and to at least one of the electric ground connectors positioned on the center rail. Reis and Strashny teach the electric rail infrastructure of claim 17, as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Reis, Paras. [0014]-[0026], and Figs. 2-6, teaches utilizing the arc suppressing device and resistor circuits to manage electrical faults and surges at the rail joints.
Strashny, Abstract, Paras. [0002]-[0009], [0024]-[0031], teaches an electric clamp comprising a “split fishplate” having a first lip and second lip (pair of interface plates) defining a groove for receiving and joining the rail ends.
Segar, Col. 4, ll. 43-68, Col. 5, ll. 1-41, teaches a power rail and guide beam arrangement for a transporting system. Specifically teaches an apparatus for supplying electrical power that includes “power rails 90, 92 and 94, respectively; ground collector 95 in contact with ground rail 96”. And teaches that the power rails 90, 92, and 94 and the ground rail 96 are supported by mounting brackets 116. The backets 116 are attached at longitudinal intervals to the upper flange 30 of a central guide beam 28. The arrangement utilizes brackets to bridge the outside power rails to a central grounding structures. And further teaches that a ground collector 95 is provided in contact with the ground rail 96, serving as an electrical ground connection.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the charging system and rail clamps of Reis and Strashny to incorporate the central guide beam and grounding bracket as taught by Segar, to route the grounding connections from the surge protecting clamps on the outside powered rails to a specific center ground rail, in order to safely dissipate fault currents and preventing electrical damage to the components.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Clarke (US 2024/0405519) teaches an apparatuses including spark gap structures for electrical overstress (EOS) monitoring or protection, and a vertical spark gap device includes a substrate having a horizontal main surface.
Cowan (US 6,899,037) teaches electric motors suitable for transportation of one or more vehicles along a road which may be a railroad, having electric coils as powerable motor parts and either nonferous metal plates, superconducting magnets or shorted coils as passive motor parts.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615