DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,220,211, and claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,103,707, and claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,144,992. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application, the ‘211 patent, the ‘707 patent, and the ‘992 patent all claim a system and method which calculates/determines first and second depression detection values; applies weights to the values, determines a depression state, and initiates neurostimulation therapy based on the determined depression state. The claims of the ‘211, ‘707, and ‘992 patents contain further limitations. Therefore, the present application is more broad than the listed patents and the claims of the listed patents anticipate the claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 – 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Reeve (US PGPUB 2007/0173901 – in IDS) in view of Osorio et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0197590 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 20, Reeve discloses a system and method comprising: one or more memory devices having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: calculating a depression detection value based on a weighting applied to a depression-indicative value associated with a body parameter (e.g. ¶ 22); comparing the depression detection value to a first threshold to detect an onset of a depression episode (e.g. ¶ 22); and initiating neurostimulation therapy by one or more electrodes responsive to detecting the onset of the depression episode (e.g. ABSTRACT), but fails to teach using two thresholds wherein the first threshold is associated with the onset of the depression episode and the second threshold is associated with an offset of the depression episode.
Osorio discloses a detection system and method that uses different thresholds that represent onsets and offsets of medical episodes (e.g. ¶ 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the weighted depression thresholds as taught by Reeve, with the multiple thresholds representing onsets and offsets as taught by Osorio, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of giving more information to the closed loop system to adjust therapy once the episode is completed.
Regarding claim 3, Reeve discloses receiving, from at least one sensor, sensor data corresponding to a first body parameter value and a second body parameter value for a patient (e.g. ¶ 18).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 12, 13, and 15 – 19, neither Reeve nor Osorio disclose adjusting the weighting applied to the depression values. However, dynamic weighting is well known on the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the weighting as taught by Reeve in view of Osorio in order to have more accurate thresholds in real time based on patient activity.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Reeve discloses the neurostimulation therapy initiated in response to determining that the depression episode indicates depression onset is a closed-loop therapy (e.g. ABSTRACT).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Reeve discloses the body parameter is at least one of skin temperature, skin conductance, heart rate, change in heart rate, blood oxygen saturation, acceleration, respiration rate, or a value determined as a combination thereof (e.g. ¶ 10).
Regarding claim 11, Reeve discloses cranial nerve stimulation (CNS), and wherein the CNS comprises external trigeminal nerve stimulation (TNS), vagus nerve stimulation (VNS), or a combination thereof (e.g. ¶ 11).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792