DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 1 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite a “sliding interference slot.” It is unclear how “interference” is intended to be interpreted here. That is, is the language intended to specify an interference fit? The claims further recite “the interference slot,” which lacks proper antecedent basis (though for purposes of examination has been treated as the sliding interference slot).
Claim 5 recites “the second fitting is attached to the second furniture subassembly.” As the second fitting is introduced in claim 1 as “on the second furniture subassembly,” it is unclear how this is to be interpreted. Is “attached” merely requiring a definite connection rather than proximity?
Claims 2-7 and 9-13 are deemed indefinite because they are dependent on indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (US Patent Number 11484122).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a furniture piece, comprising: a first furniture subassembly (3); a first fitting (12) on the first furniture subassembly; a second furniture subassembly (2); and a second fitting (11) on the second furniture subassembly, the second fitting being selectively attachable to the first fitting to secure the first furniture subassembly to the second furniture subassembly (this is the general arrangement), wherein one of the first fitting and the second fitting is a sliding interference slot with an open end and a blind end (11 provides a “sliding interference slot” at least as best understood with an open end at a top and blind end at a bottom as in Figure 1), and the other of the first fitting and the second fitting is a sliding tongue slidably introducible in the open end of the interference slot (12 forms such a sliding tongue). While Chen is thus viewed as anticipating the claim limitations, an interference fit may not be explicitly described. Such are old and well-known in the art however (see US 2021/0068547 to Hodgson for instance showing an interference fit between members 14 and 16), and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide such a fit based on normal variation to increase strength and stability to improve user safety and comfort.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a chair furniture piece (it would function as such), comprising: a side subassembly (3); a first fitting (12) on the side subassembly; a seat subassembly (2); and a second fitting (11) on the seat subassembly, the second fitting being selectively attachable to the first fitting to secure the side subassembly to the seat subassembly (this is the general arrangement), wherein one of the first fitting and the second fitting is a sliding interference slot with an open end and a blind end (11 provides a “sliding interference slot” at least as best understood with an open end at a top and blind end at a bottom as in Figure 1), and the other of the first fitting and the second fitting is a sliding tongue slidably introducible in the open end of the interference slot (12 forms such a sliding tongue). While Chen is thus viewed as anticipating the claim limitations, an interference fit may not be explicitly described. Such are old and well-known in the art however (see US 2021/0068547 to Hodgson for instance showing an interference fit between members 14 and 16), and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide such a fit based on normal variation to increase strength and stability to improve user safety and comfort.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Chen further discloses the sliding interference slot is one of T- shaped, L-shaped, and dove-tail shaped (based on the figures, it forms a dove-tail shape). Note that while Chen’s figures are viewed as disclosing the claimed shape, even if this were not clear, changes in shape require only routine skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a shape as claimed based on normal variation to improve fit, assembly, and support for various users.
Regarding claim 5, Chen further discloses the second fitting is attached to the second furniture subassembly.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Chen further discloses the first furniture/side subassembly comprises a first frame having multiple, spaced first fittings thereon, and wherein the second furniture/seat subassembly comprises a second frame having multiple, spaced second fittings spaced thereon to simultaneously secure to the multiple, spaced first fittings (see at least Figure 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Chen further discloses the sliding interference slot includes: a lengthwise opening extending from the open end toward the blind end (the opening at an edge of rails 112), a lengthwise recess accessible through the lengthwise opening (the recess defined within rails 112), the lengthwise opening having a first width and the lengthwise recess having a second width greater than the first width (see at least Figure 1).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Smith (US Patent Application Publication Number 2004/0155509). Chen discloses and/or renders obvious furniture as explained above but does not disclose details of the fittings. Smith discloses a related device including a first fitting and a second fitting that snap into place (62 and 64 snap together at least based on 72, 94), wherein the first fitting comprises one of a protrusion and a detent and the second fitting comprises the other of the protrusion and the detent (protrusion 94 and detent 72). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide fitting details as taught by Smith in Chen’s device because this could improve user security, safety, and comfort.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/911040 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to provide the arrangement on various types of furniture.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636