DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,118,872. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 8, 15 of U.S. Patent 12,118,872 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,643,457. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 8, 15 of U.S. Patent 10,643,457 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howie et al. (US 2018/0205751) in view of Hulan (US 2015/0208220).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, Howie discloses a system for facilitating a response to an event notifying signal (fig. 1), the system comprising: a network monitoring module configured to monitor signals received over a data network for a presence of one or more event notifying signals indicative of a relevant incident within a geographic area (page 2, [0025-0029]); an assessment module configured to: determine that the relevant incident could impact any persons or property of an enterprise or organization within the geographic area (page 2, [0025-0029]), and determine a group of people of the enterprise or organization who could be impacted by the relevant incident (page 2, [0025-0029]).
Howie discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose a resource response module configured to send a response to a computing device associated with each person of the group of people, wherein the response providing an indication of the relevant incident.
However, Hulan discloses a resource response module configured to send a response to a computing device associated with each person of the group of people, wherein the response providing an indication of the relevant incident (high frequency) (page 4, [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the features of Hulan within the system of Howie in order to control operations of an enterprise thereby improving the reliability of the system.
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, Howie discloses wherein the group of people is a first group of people, wherein the assessment module is further configured to: determine a specific property of the enterprise or organization that could be impacted by the relevant incident and determine a second group of people of the enterprise or organization who can secure the specific property before the relevant incident impacts the specific property; and wherein the resource response module is further configured to send a second response to a second computing device associated with each person of the second group of people, wherein the second response providing the indication of the relevant incident and an indication of the specific property (page 2, [0025-0029]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, Howie discloses wherein the property is within a threshold distance from the relevant incident (page 2, [0025-0026]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, Howie discloses wherein the group of people is within a threshold distance from the relevant incident (page 2, [0025-0026]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Howie discloses wherein the resource response module is further configured to: receive a status update from a person of the group of people, and
request a status update from the remaining people of the group of people (page 2, [0025-0029]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, Howie discloses wherein the resource response module is further configured to send a status update on the relevant incident to the computing device associated with each person of the group of people (page 2, [0025-0026]).
Regarding claims 7, 14, Howie discloses wherein the relevant incident is a security related issue or an environmental related issue (page 2, [0025-0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nokhoudian et al. (US 2015/0358794) discloses community……system.
Shinar et al. (US 2016/0058429) discloses pregnancy state monitoring.
Fukushima et al. (US 5,579,370) discloses…………….
Pfeffer (US 2009/0284348) discloses incident….system.
Billeter (US 2021/0027229) discloses event…….method thereof.
Kenton et al. (US 2010/0325107) discloses systems…..conversations.
Baughman et al. (US 2017/0091617) discloses incident…..data.
DP
December 10, 2025
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685