DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 14, 2024, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,407. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites similar subject matter as claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,407 as U.S. Patent No. 12,151,407 appears to encompasses all the limitations of the instantly claimed invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
5. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stenzel et al. (U.S. 2010/0086744).
Stenzel discloses a forming mold of a PVB film for HUD (title, abstract, paragraphs 9, 13). Stenzel suggests a cross section of the mold cavity in one direction is wedged, and a cross section of the mold cavity in another direction is curved (abstract, paragraphs 22-23, FIG. 1-2). Because Stenzel discloses a PVB film with the same materials as claimed and preferentially disclosed, the article of Stenzel will inherently possess the accuracy error of HUD imaging claimed. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. Therefore, because Stenzel has the same chemical structure, the properties, including the accuracy error of HUD imaging are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01 II, as in claim 1.
Concerning claim 2, Stenzel discloses the film has a cross section in one direction that is wedged and in another perpendicular direction is curved (Stenzel FIG. 1-2).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenzel et al. (U.S. 2010/0086744) in view of Smith (U.S. 5,013,134 A).
Stenzel discloses a forming mold of a PVB film for HUD (title, abstract, paragraphs 9, 13) and is taken as above. Stenzel does not explicitly disclose the cross sections of the PVB film in two directions are both curved. Smith teaches
most automotive windshields are not simple planar, flat structures, but instead include curvature in the horizontal and vertical directions and that the use of a wedged, curved windshield in accordance with the invention provides further improvement, and results in substantial elimination of the ghost image (paragraphs 5, 31). Smith teaches the article is curved in both perpendicular directions (FIG. 8, 9A-B, paragraphs 5,31).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Stenzel to include the curved cross sections of Smith, in order to eliminate ghosting, as in claims 3-4.
Concerning claim 5, the phrase, “curved surfaces can compensate imaging accuracy based on a curved surface of a glass used by HUG imaging” constitutes a ‘capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Concerning claim 6, Stenzel discloses a forming mold of a PVB film for HUD (title, abstract, paragraphs 9, 13). Stenzel suggests a cross section of the mold cavity in one direction is wedged, and a cross section of the mold cavity in another direction is curved (abstract, paragraphs 22-23, FIG. 1-2). Because Stenzel discloses a PVB film with the same materials as claimed and preferentially disclosed, the article of Stenzel will intrinsically possess the accuracy error of HUD imaging claimed. Stenzel discloses the film has a cross section in one direction that is wedged and in another perpendicular direction is curved (Stenzel FIG. 1-2). Stenzel does not explicitly disclose the cross sections of the PVB film in two directions are both curved. Smith teaches most automotive windshields are not simple planar, flat structures, but instead include curvature in the horizontal and vertical directions and that the use of a wedged, curved windshield in accordance with the invention provides further improvement, and results in substantial elimination of the ghost image (paragraphs 5, 31). Smith teaches the article is curved in both perpendicular directions (FIG. 8, 9A-B, paragraphs 5,31).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Stenzel to include the curved cross sections of Smith, in order to eliminate ghosting. In claim 6, the phrase, “curved surfaces can compensate imaging accuracy based on a curved surface of a glass used by HUG imaging” constitutes a ‘capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781