CTNF 18/914,823 CTNF 83460 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3, 4, 6-12, 15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9720498 B2 Kim; Sunryang (hereinafter Kim) in view of US 20180070291 A1 Breaux; Joseph E. et al. (hereinafter Breaux) . Re claim 1, Kim teaches 1. A method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising: (console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b) receiving user input from a user located in a vehicle, the user input being received by a vehicle computing device of the vehicle; (col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen) determining, based on sensor data generated by one or more sensors of the vehicle, a vehicle state of the vehicle ; (sensors in vehicle col 9 lines 50-60 with states of vehicle including console including navigation status with directions or music playing, directional, requires location and destination etc. col 21 lines 15-27 and col 25 lines 3-12) generating, based on the user input received from the user located in the vehicle and based on the vehicle state of the vehicle, an action data structure; (structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) transmitting, to a data processing system and via an application programming interface (API) (API not taught by Kim) , the action data structure, wherein transmitting the action data structure to the data processing system causes the data processing system to: (structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) generate response data based on processing the action data structure; and (responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) causing the vehicle computing device to provide content, that is based on the response data and that is responsive to the user input, for presentation to the user. (music or navigation etc., responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) However, while Kim teaches an interface and mobile device connecting with consoles as an option, as well as in lieu of official notice, Breaux has been incorporated to teach an API: An application programming interface (API) (Breaux communicate between devices using API 0100 and fig. 2 with establish other parameters such as API weather and location for integrating mobile devices to a console of a vehicle) transmit, to the vehicle computing device via the API, the response data; and (Breaux communicate between devices using API 0100 and fig. 2 with establish other parameters such as API weather and location for integrating mobile devices to a console of a vehicle) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Breaux to allow for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as an API for an already existing interface in Kim, thereby allowing apps on a mobile device to interface with a vehicle console to control aspects of the vehicle including communicating data e.g. weather, address books, music, etc. which is commonly used as an API. Re claim 8, this claim has been rejected for teaching a broader, or narrower claim based on general inclusion of hardware alone (e.g. processor, memory, instructions), representation of claim 1, omitting/including hardware for instance, otherwise amounting to a virtually identical scope For instance, see fig. 1 of Kim . Re claim 15, this claim has been rejected for teaching a broader, or narrower claim based on general inclusion of hardware alone (e.g. processor, memory, instructions), representation of claim 1, omitting/including hardware for instance, otherwise amounting to a virtually identical scope For instance, see fig. 1 of Kim . Re claims 2, 9, and 16, Kim teaches 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the user input is an audio input query, and wherein the action data structure is generated based on the audio input query. (user inputs speech command… responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) Re claims 3, 10, and 17, Kim teaches 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the response data that is generated by the data processing system and based on processing the action data structure is one or more of: audio-based, text-based, video-based, or image based. (audio, video, image, touch, responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) Re claims 4, 11, and 18, Kim teaches 4. The method of claim 3, wherein the response data is audio-based, and wherein causing the vehicle computing device to provide the content, that is based on the response data and that is responsive to the user input, for presentation to the user comprises: causing the content to be audibly rendered via one or more speaker of the vehicle computing device of the vehicle. (speaker output and responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) Re claims 5, 12, and 19, Kim teaches 5. The method of claim 3, wherein the response data is text-based, video-based, or image based, and wherein causing the vehicle computing device to provide the content, that is based on the response data and that is responsive to the user input, for presentation to the user comprises: causing the content to be audibly rendered via a display of the vehicle computing device of the vehicle. (speaker to prompt user, audible information heard by user, responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) Re claims 6 and 13, Kim teaches 6. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the action data structure to the data processing system further causes the data processing system to: obtain, from a data provider and via the API (API not taught by Kim) additional data, wherein generating the response data is further based on processing, along with the action data structure, the additional data. (responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) However, while Kim teaches an interface and mobile device connecting with consoles as an option, as well as in lieu of official notice, Breaux has been incorporated to teach an API: An application programming interface (API) (Breaux communicate between devices using API 0100 and fig. 2 with establish other parameters such as API weather and location for integrating mobile devices to a console of a vehicle) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Breaux to allow for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as an API for an already existing interface in Kim, thereby allowing apps on a mobile device to interface with a vehicle console to control aspects of the vehicle including communicating data e.g. weather, address books, music, etc. which is commonly used as an API. Re claims 7 and 14, Kim teaches 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the additional data comprises or more of: location data associated with a location of the vehicle, (sensors in vehicle col 9 lines 50-60 with states of vehicle including console including navigation status with directions or music playing, directional, requires location and destination etc. col 21 lines 15-27 and col 25 lines 3-12… responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) However, while the condition “OR” is claimed, and while Kim teaches an interface and mobile device connecting with consoles as an option, Kim fails to teach: or weather data associated with the location of the vehicle. (Breaux communicate between devices using API 0100 and fig. 2 with establish other parameters such as API weather and location for integrating mobile devices to a console of a vehicle) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Breaux to allow for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as an API for an already existing interface in Kim, thereby allowing apps on a mobile device to interface with a vehicle console to control aspects of the vehicle including communicating data e.g. weather, address books, music, etc. which is commonly used as an API. Re claim 20, Kim teaches 20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein transmitting the action data structure to the data processing system further causes the data processing system to: obtain, from a data provider and via the API (API not taught by Kim) , additional data, wherein generating the response data is further based on processing, along with the action data structure, the additional data; and (responding and prompting a user with a touch screen or speaker col 2 lines 42-47, col 11 line 59 to col 12 line 2, and col 17 lines 47-58… a response via prompt various forms of input and response console and mobile phone displaying a response for instance fig. 13a-b 14c-d and 15a-b and col 12 lines 27-43 user controls vehicle with voice and touch screen…structure as in playing music or operating a navigation system as in col 21 lines 7-14… determine a user’s authority when a speech command is uttered using sensors per seat to determine where passengers are sitting including driver col 18 lines 5-53) However, while the condition “OR” is claimed, and while Kim teaches an interface and mobile device connecting with consoles as an option, Kim fails to teach: An application programming interface (API) (Breaux communicate between devices using API 0100 and fig. 2 with establish other parameters such as API weather and location for integrating mobile devices to a console of a vehicle) wherein the additional data comprises one or more of : location data associated with a location of the vehicle, or weather data associated with the location of the vehicle. (Breaux communicate between devices using API 0100 and fig. 2 with establish other parameters such as API weather and location for integrating mobile devices to a console of a vehicle) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Breaux to allow for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as an API for an already existing interface in Kim, thereby allowing apps on a mobile device to interface with a vehicle console to control aspects of the vehicle including communicating data e.g. weather, address books, music, etc. which is commonly used as an API . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20110257973 A1 Chutorash; Richard J. et al. Vehicle control US 20090055180 A1 Coon; Bradley S. et al. ASR for vehicle control Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL COLUCCI whose telephone number is (571)270-1847. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9 AM - 7 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Flanders can be reached at (571)272-7516. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL COLUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 (571)-270-1847 Examiner FAX: (571)-270-2847 Michael.Colucci@uspto.gov Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 2 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 3 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 4 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 5 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 6 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 7 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 8 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 9 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 10 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 11 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 12 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 13 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 14 Art Unit: 2655 Application/Control Number: 18/914,823 Page 15 Art Unit: 2655