IDETAILED ACTION
1. This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/914,836 originally filed on 10/14/2024. The amendment presented on 01/15/2026 which claims 1, 7, 12 - 13, 15 and 19 - 20 are currently amended, claims 2 and 16 are currently canceled and claims 21 - 22 are currently added is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1, 3 - 15 and 17 - 22 are pending.
Response to Amendments
3. This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 15 January
2026, wherein: claims 1, 3 - 15 and 17 - 22 are currently pending. Claims 1, 7, 12 - 13, 15 and 19 - 20 have been amended. Claims 2 and 16 have been canceled. Claims 21 - 22 have been added.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on January 15, 2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3 - 15 and 17 - 22 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 9 - 11 of the Remarks, the Applicant argues that DU fails to teach “determining that an included angle between a sliding direction of the first operation and a first candidate direction is less than a specified first angle threshold, wherein the first candidate direction indicates a direction from a position of the first display to a position of a second display, and the first display and the second display are two separate physical displays; and in response to receiving the first operation and the included angle being less than the first angle threshold, sending the first content to the second display so that the second display displays the first content.” As recited in claims 1, 15 and 20.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument because: DU teaches determining that an included angle between a sliding direction of the first operation and a first candidate direction is less than a specified first angle threshold, (par. [0052] the first operation is a sliding operation along a first preset direction, a sliding operation along a second preset direction for a preset distance, an operation having at least two sliding tracks in different directions, or a touch operation with a touch duration exceeding a predetermined duration) wherein the first candidate direction indicates a direction from a position of the first display to a position of a second display, and the first display and the second display are two separate physical displays; (pars. [0056] and [0057] horizontal and vertical split screens are not distinguished, you can use two fingers to do a two- finger zoom action in the running interface of the application (that is, slide two fingers in different directions at the same time in the running interface, or slide in opposite directions at the same time), then the sharing function will be triggered) and in response to receiving the first operation and the included angle being less than the first angle threshold, sending the first content to the second display so that the second display displays the first content. (par. [0058] When the sharing function is triggered, a prompt window will be displayed in the application area. The prompt window includes electronic devices that can be shared, as shown in Figure 3, and one or more electronic devices can be selected as target electronic devices. This embodiment is not limited to the number of target electronic devices, and can support one or more target electronic devices.
After the target electronic device is confirmed, the shared application will be displayed in full screen on the virtual screen of the first electronic device and can be transmitted to the target electronic device via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi (Wireless Fidelity), etc.
After receiving the running interface, the target electronic device will display the received running interface in full screen. and par. [0072] Among them, the user input unit 507 receives a first operation when the running interfaces of N applications are displayed in split screen, where N is an integer greater than 1; the processor 510 is used to respond to the first operation and, when the first electronic device is connected to the target electronic device, display the running interface of the first application among N applications on the virtual screen; and share the running interface of the first application displayed on the virtual screen with the target electronic device.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 10, 15 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DU “CN 110990172”.
Re-claim 1, DU teaches a method applied to a first electronic device,
(par. [0054] the sharing process the running interfaces of two applications, for example, the running interfaces of application X and application Y, are displayed in split screen on the first electronic device, as shown in FIG. 2.)
the method comprising:
displaying first content on a first display; (par. [0015] the first operation, display a running interface of a first application among the N applications on a virtual screen when the first electronic device in connected to a target electronic device)
determining that an included angle between a sliding direction of the first operation and a first candidate direction is less than a specified first angle threshold, (par. [0052] the first operation is a sliding operation along a first preset direction, a sliding operation along a second preset direction for a preset distance, an operation having at least two sliding tracks in different directions, or a touch operation with a touch duration exceeding a predetermined duration) wherein the first candidate direction indicates a direction from a position of the first display to a position of a second display, and the first display and the second display are two separate physical displays; (pars. [0056] and [0057] horizontal and vertical split screens are not distinguished, you can use two fingers to do a two- finger zoom action in the running interface of the application (that is, slide two fingers in different directions at the same time in the running interface, or slide in opposite directions at the same time), then the sharing function will be triggered) and
in response to receiving the first operation and the included angle being less than the first angle threshold, sending the first content to the second display so that the second display displays the first content. (par. [0058] When the sharing function is triggered, a prompt window will be displayed in the application area. The prompt window includes electronic devices that can be shared, as shown in Figure 3, and one or more electronic devices can be selected as target electronic devices. This embodiment is not limited to the number of target electronic devices, and can support one or more target electronic devices.
After the target electronic device is confirmed, the shared application will be displayed in full screen on the virtual screen of the first electronic device and can be transmitted to the target electronic device via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi (Wireless Fidelity), etc.
After receiving the running interface, the target electronic device will display the received running interface in full screen. and par. [0072])
Re-claim 10, DU teaches wherein the first display and the second display are in a relatively static state. (vertical screen split screen, split-screen scene for vertical screen, as shown in figs. 2-3)
Re-claim 15, DU teaches an electronic device, (fig. 5; 500) comprising:
a first display; (the first vertical screen split screen, as shown in figs. 2-3)
one or more processors; (par. [0017]) and
a memory with instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, enable the electronic device to perform: (pars. [0017] - [0018])
displaying first content on the first display; (par. [0015] the first operation, display a running interface of a first application among the N applications on a virtual screen when the first electronic device in connected to a target electronic device)
determining that an included angle between a sliding direction of the first operation and a first candidate direction is less than a specified first angle threshold, (par. [0052] the first operation is a sliding operation along a first preset direction, a sliding operation along a second preset direction for a preset distance, an operation having at least two sliding tracks in different directions, or a touch operation with a touch duration exceeding a predetermined duration) wherein the first candidate direction indicates a direction from a position of the first display to a position of a second display, and the first display and the second display are two separate physical displays; (pars. [0056] and [0057] horizontal and vertical split screens are not distinguished, you can use two fingers to do a two- finger zoom action in the running interface of the application (that is, slide two fingers in different directions at the same time in the running interface, or slide in opposite directions at the same time), then the sharing function will be triggered) and
in response to receiving the first operation and the included angle being less than the first angle threshold, sending the first content to the second display so that the second display displays the first content. (par. [0058] When the sharing function is triggered, a prompt window will be displayed in the application area. The prompt window includes electronic devices that can be shared, as shown in Figure 3, and one or more electronic devices can be selected as target electronic devices. This embodiment is not limited to the number of target electronic devices, and can support one or more target electronic devices.
After the target electronic device is confirmed, the shared application will be displayed in full screen on the virtual screen of the first electronic device and can be transmitted to the target electronic device via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi (Wireless Fidelity), etc.
After receiving the running interface, the target electronic device will display the received running interface in full screen. and par. [0072])
Re-claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein and only further limitations are addressed below.
DU teaches a non-transitory computer readable memory with instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor, enable to processor to perform: (par. [0017])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 3 - 8, 12 - 14, 17 - 19 and 21 - 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DU “CN 110990172” in view of Peterson “US 2017/0357437”.
Re-claim 3, DU teaches the first operation but DU does not explicitly teach wherein:
the first operation comprises a second operation and a third operation, and the second operation and the third operation are sliding operations performed on the first display;
an end contact of the second operation on the first display is a start contact of the third operation on the first display; and
receiving the first operation comprises:
receiving the second operation,
in response to receiving the second operation, displaying identification information of at least one candidate display on the first display, wherein the at least one candidate display comprises the second display, and
receiving the third operation, wherein the third operation is used to select identification information of the second display.
However, Peterson teaches wherein:
the first operation comprises a second operation (fig. 5A; 512) and a third operation, (fig. 5A; 514) and the second operation and the third operation are sliding operations performed on the first display; (FIG. 5A also illustrates a dragging gesture with a contact 514, where the tab 506-A is dragged according to movement vector 514 over a threshold line 516.)
an end contact of the second operation (fig. 5A; 512) on the first display (fig. 5A) is a start contact of the third operation (fig. 5A; 514) on the first display; (fig. 5A; 512) and
receiving the first operation comprises:
receiving the second operation, (fig. 5Q; 584)
in response to receiving the second operation, displaying identification information of at least one candidate display on the first display, wherein the at least one candidate display comprises the second display, (par. [0213] and FIG. 5Q illustrates a dragging gesture with a contact 584, where the tab 550-B is dragged according to movement vector 586 from the tab bar 525-A associated with the first window 564 to the content region 527-B associated with the second window 566.) and
receiving the third operation, (fig. 5Q; 586) wherein the third operation is used to select identification information of the second display. (par. [0212] FIGS. 5O-5Q, the tab 550-C is active or in the foreground in the second window 566.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Peterson to provide a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality. (par. [0167])
Re-claim 4, DU in view of Peterson teaches all the limitations of claim 3, Peterson teaches wherein:
an included angle between a candidate direction corresponding to the at least one candidate display and a sliding direction of the second operation is less than a specified second angle threshold; (par. [0329] FIGS. 5Q-5M the tab 550-C is soft-locked to the unified tab bar as the user moves the tab 550-C between the first window 564 and the second window 566 with dragging gesture. In some embodiments, the respective tab is detached from the unified tab bar by satisfying one or more velocity, force, and/or angle criteria associated with the unified tab bar. For example, in FIGS. 5Q-5S, the tab 550-B is detached from the unified tab bar as the user moves the tab 550-B between the first window 564 and the second window 566 with dragging gesture.) or
an included angle between a sliding direction of the second operation and a specified first reference direction is less than a specified second angle threshold, and an included angle between a candidate direction corresponding to the at least one candidate display and the first reference direction is less than the second angle threshold, wherein a candidate direction corresponding to any candidate display indicates a direction from a position of the first display to a position of the candidate display. (claim written alternative)
Re-claim 5, DU in view of Peterson teaches all the limitations of claim 3, Peterson teaches wherein displaying the identification information of the at least one candidate display on the first display (e.g. fig. 5FF) comprises:
obtaining sorting reference information corresponding to the at least one candidate display, wherein the sorting reference information indicates: a position of a display, a distance between a display and the first display, or intimacy between an electronic device to which a display belongs and the first electronic device; (fig. 5FF and pars. [0059], [0223] and [0344])
sorting the at least one candidate display based on the sorting reference information corresponding to the at least one candidate display by the first electronic device; (par. [0195]) and
displaying the identification information of the at least one candidate display on the first display based on the sorting of the at least one candidate display. (par. [0196])
Re-claim 6, DU in view of Peterson teaches all the limitations of claim 3, DU teaches wherein the at least one candidate display is in a screen-on state. (par. [0034] when the first electronic device and the target electronic device are connected, the running interface of the first application is still running. And par. [0035])
Re-claim 7, DU teaches all the limitations of claim 2 but DU doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the first display and the second display are in a non-relatively static state, and the first candidate direction is a specified direction.
However, Peterson teaches wherein the first display (fig. 5Y; 564) and the second display (fig. 5Y; 566) are in a non-relatively static state, and the first candidate direction is a specified direction. (FIG. 5Y and par. [0218] illustrates the first window 564 in a tab view in response to the pinch-in gesture in FIG. 5X. In FIG. 5Y, the first window 564 includes a first region 543-A and a second region 545-A. The second region 545-A includes tabs 550-A, 550-D, and 550-E with corresponding snapshots 5100-A, 5100-D, and 5100-E of the content of the respective tabs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Peterson to provide a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality. (par. [0167])
Re-claim 8, DU in view of Peterson teaches all the limitations of claim 4, Peterson teaches wherein the first display (fig. 5Y; 564) and the second display (fig. 5Y; 566) are in a non-relatively static state, and a candidate direction corresponding to the second display is a specified direction. (par. [0219] and FIG. 5Y also illustrates a dragging gesture with a contact 5102, where the tab 550-D is dragged according to movement vector 5104 from the second region 545-A associated with the first window 564 to the content region 527-B associated with the second window 566.)
Re-claim 12, DU teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but DU does not explicitly teach wherein the second display is configured to display the first content by:
replacing the second content displayed on the second display with the first content; or
displaying a first window comprising the first content and a second window comprising the second content on the second display, wherein the first window and the second window are located in different areas of the second display, or the first window covers the second window.
However, Peterson teaches wherein the second display (fig. 5L; 563) is configured to display the first content (fig. 5L; Content 554 for Tab 550-A) by:
replacing the second content displayed (fig. 5L; Tab 550-F) on the second display (fig. 5M; 566) with the first content; (fig. 5M; Content 554 for Tab 550-A) or
displaying a first window comprising the first content and a second window comprising the second content on the second display, wherein the first window and the second window are located in different areas of the second display, or the first window covers the second window. (claim written alternative)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Peterson to provide a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality. (par. [0167])
Re-claim 13, DU teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but DU does not explicitly teach obtaining second content from a second electronic device; and
displaying the second content on the first display.
However, Peterson teaches obtaining second content (fig. 5FF; 545-B) from a second electronic device; (fig. 5FF; 564) and
displaying the second content (fig. 5FF; 545-B) on the first display. (fig. 5FF; 566)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Peterson to provide a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality. (par. [0167])
Re-claim 14, DU teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but DU does not explicitly teach displaying third content on the first display, wherein the third content is specified content or content displayed before the first electronic device displays the first content; or
switching the first display to a screen-off state.
However, Peterson teaches displaying third content (fig. 5I; Tab 532-C) on the first display, (fig. 5I; 542) wherein the third content is specified content (fig. 5I and par. [0197]) or content displayed before the first electronic device displays the first content; (claim written alternative) or
switching the first display to a screen-off state. (claim written alternative)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Peterson to provide a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality. (par. [0167])
Re-claims 17 - 19 and 21 - 22, are rejected as applied to claims 3 - 5 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
11. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DU “CN 110990172” in view of Peterson “US 2017/0357437” and further in view of Schrauben “US 2012/0327104”
Re-claim 9, DU in view of Peterson teaches all the limitations of claim 7, DU teaches the second display is a display of a mobile device. (fig. 5 and par. [0071] the electronic device including but not limited to mobile phone, tablet computer, notebook computer, handheld computer, vehicular mobile terminal, a wearable device, and a pedometer, and the like.)
DU and Peterson do not explicitly teach wherein the first display is a display disposed in a head unit cockpit,
However, Schrauben teaches wherein the first display is a display disposed in a head unit cockpit, (par. [0008] FIG. 1 a cockpit 10 with a flight deck 12 having multiple flight displays 14)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Schrauben to allow users may access both of the displays from each of their respective seats. (par. [0015])
12. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DU “CN 110990172” in view of Schrauben “US 2012/0327104”.
Re-claim 11, DU teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the first display and the second display are displays disposed in a same head unit cockpit.
However, Schrauben teaches wherein the first display and the second display are displays disposed in a same head unit cockpit. (fig. 1; 20-26 and par. [0011])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Schrauben to allow users may access both of the displays from each of their respective seats. (par. [0015])
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
14. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 5/18/26