DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 line 5 contains the limitation “the discontinuous first layer” which should be changed to “the discontinuous layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 14 contain the limitation “wherein the discontinuous layer includes partial or whole amorphous Magnesium, Oxygen, MnOx or combination thereof” which is unclear. It is unclear what “partial or whole amorphous” requires. Are the claims requiring at least part of the discontinuous layer be amorphous? Or an amorphous magnesium, amorphous oxygen or amorphous MnOx be in the discontinuous layer? Since it is unclear what structure is required by the claims, for the purpose of this Office Action, claims 3 and 14 will not be further treated on the merits.
Claims 14-19 contain the preamble “The photovoltaic n-p junction” however, claim 13, from which claims 14-19 depend has the preamble “A photovoltaic cell”. The preambles of claims 14-19 do not have the same scope as claim 13, from which they depend and are therefore indefinite. For the purpose of this Office Action, the preambles of claims 14-19 will be treated as if they read “The photovoltaic cell”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korevaar et al. (US 2012/0260978).
Regarding claim 1, Korevaar discloses a photovoltaic device in Figure 3 comprising:
a substrate (110) ([38]);
a transparent conductive oxide layer (132) residing over the substrate ([38]-[39]);
a n-p junction residing over the substrate ([57] and [61]), the n-p junction including:
a n-type or a p-type buffer layer (patterned first semiconductor layer 150) including:
a discontinuous layer (150) including Magnesium, Oxygen, MnOx or combination thereof ([57], layer 150 can be oxygenated cadmium sulfide, copper oxide or zinc oxihydrate, which all include oxygen); and
a void (section filled by layer 140) formed through the discontinuous layer (150) occupied by a material other than MnOx (section 140 can be silicon oxide, titanium oxide and/or silicon nitride, [42]);
a p-type or a n-type absorber layer (absorber can include layers 160 and 180) doped with a group V dopant ([60]-[61] and [67]), and
the p- type absorber layer (layers 160 and 180) residing over the buffer layer (150) (Figure 3); and
a back contact (190) residing over the absorber layer ([68]).
Regarding claim 4, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar additionally discloses that the buffer layer has an interface layer (140) ([42]).
Regarding claim 5, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar additionally discloses that the interface layer (140) includes
MnOx, SiNX or SiO2 ([42], layer 140 can be silicon nitride or silicon oxide).
Regarding claim 10, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar additionally discloses that the absorber layer (absorber layer includes layer 180) includes a thickness range of about 1 nm to about 200 nm ([65], thickness of 50nm-200nm).
Regarding claim 12, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar additionally discloses a barrier layer residing between the substrate (110) and the transparent conductive oxide layer (132) (barrier layer can be present, [37]); and a conducting layer residing over the back contact ([68], an additional metal layer can be present).
Regarding claim 13, Korevaar discloses a photovoltaic device in Figure 3 comprising:
a n-p junction ([57] and [61]), including:
a n-type buffer layer (patterned first semiconductor layer 150) including:
a discontinuous layer (150) including Magnesium, Oxygen, MnOx or combination thereof ([57], layer 150 can be oxygenated cadmium sulfide, copper oxide or zinc oxihydrate, which all include oxygen); and
a void (section filled by layer 140) formed through the discontinuous layer (150) occupied by a material other than MnOx (section 140 can be silicon oxide, titanium oxide and/or silicon nitride, [42]);
a p-type absorber layer (absorber can include layers 160 and 180) doped with a group V dopant ([60]-[61] and [67]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar et al. (US 2012/0260978).
Regarding claim 9, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar additionally discloses that the absorber layer (absorber layer includes layers 160 and 180) includes a charge carrier concentration range of about 1017 to about 1020 ([64]), but does not disclose the specifically claimed range of a charge carrier concentration range of about 3 x 1017 to about 2 x 1019. However, In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie
case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 18, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar additionally discloses that the absorber layer (180) includes a charge carrier concentration range of about 1017 to about 1020 ([64]), but does not disclose the specifically claimed range of a charge carrier concentration range of about 3 x 1017 to about 2 x 1019. However, In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Korevaar additionally discloses that a thickness of the absorber layer (180) is in a thickness range of about 1 nm to about 200 nm ([65], see 50-200nm).
Regarding claim 20, Korevaar discloses a photovoltaic module in Figure 3 having one or more cells (100, [33]) comprising:
a n-type buffer layer (patterned first semiconductor layer 150) including:
a discontinuous layer (150) including Magnesium, Oxygen, MnOx or combination thereof ([57], layer 150 can be oxygenated cadmium sulfide, copper oxide or zinc oxihydrate, which all include oxygen); and
a void (section filled by layer 140) formed through the discontinuous layer (150) occupied by a material other than MnOx (section 140 can be silicon oxide, titanium oxide and/or silicon nitride, [42]);
a p-type absorber layer (180) doped with a group V dopant ([67]).
Korevaar additionally discloses that the absorber layer (180) includes a charge carrier concentration range of about 1017 to about 1020 ([64]), but does not disclose the specifically claimed range of a charge carrier concentration range of about 3 x 1017 to about 2 x 1019. However, In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Korevaar additionally discloses that a thickness of the absorber layer (180) is in a thickness range of about 1 nm to about 200 nm ([65], see 50-200nm).
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar et al. (US 2012/0260978), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in view of Buller et al. (US 2011/0146785).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar does not disclose that the discontinuous buffer layer includes a group V dopant.
Buller discloses a photovoltaic device in Figure 2 including a metal oxide buffer layer (223) including a group V dopant ([12] and [33]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a group V dopant to the buffer layer of Korevaar, as taught by Buller, in order to increase the conductivity of the buffer layer and improve the efficiency of the device (Buller, [11]-[12] and [33]).
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar et al. (US 2012/0260978), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in view of Korevaar et al. (US 2014/0170801, referred to as Korevaar ‘801).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 15-16, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar additionally discloses that the buffer layer comprises a base layer (134) including SnO, SnO2 or SnOX ([40]) and an interface layer (140) residing over the base layer (134), wherein the interface layer (134) includes Zn1-XMgXO, MnOX, SiNX or SiO2 ([42]), but Korevaar does not disclose an intermediate layer residing over the interface layer, wherein the intermediate layer includes Zn1-XMgXO.
Korevaar ‘801 discloses a photovoltaic device in Figure 2 comprising a buffer layer (130) comprising a plurality of layers including a layer of Zn1-XMgXO ([45]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add an intermediate layer including Zn1-XMgXO over the interface layer of Korevaar, as taught by Korevaar ‘801, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar et al. (US 2012/0260978), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in view of Walukiewicz et al. (US 2013/0074912).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Korevaar discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Korevaar does not disclose that a bandgap of the discontinuous buffer layer substantially matches the bandgap of an adjacent semiconductor material.
Walukiewicz discloses a photovoltaic device in Figure 1 wherein a bandgap of a buffer layer (n-type CdS layer) substantially matches the bandgap of an adjacent absorber layer (p-type CdTe alloy layer) ([22]-[26]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Korevaar such that a bandgap of the discontinuous buffer layer substantially matches the bandgap of an adjacent semiconductor material, as taught by Walukiewicz, because a bandgap match improves the efficiency of the device (Walukiewicz, [22]-[26]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,119,416 in view of Korevaar et al. (US 2012/0260978).
Claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,119,416 include the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 including a photovoltaic device comprising: a substrate; a transparent conductive oxide layer residing over the substrate; a buffer layer including: a discontinuous layer including MnOx; and a void formed through the discontinuous layer occupied by a material other than MnOx; an absorber layer doped with a group V dopant, and residing over the buffer layer; and a back contact residing over the absorber layer.
Claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,119,416 do not include the limitations an n-p junction including: a n-type buffer layer and a p-type absorber layer doped with a group V dopant, the p-type absorber layer including: a charge carrier concentration range of about 3 x 1017 to about 2 x 1019; and a thickness range of about 1 nm to about 200 nm.
Korevaar discloses a photovoltaic device in Figure 3 comprising:
a substrate (110) ([38]);
a transparent conductive oxide layer (132) residing over the substrate ([38]-[39]);
a n-p junction residing over the substrate ([57] and [61]), the n-p junction including:
a n-type or a p-type buffer layer (patterned first semiconductor layer 150) including:
a discontinuous layer (150) including Magnesium, Oxygen, MnOx or combination thereof ([57], layer 150 can be oxygenated cadmium sulfide, copper oxide or zinc oxihydrate, which all include oxygen); and
a void (section filled by layer 140) formed through the discontinuous layer (150) occupied by a material other than MnOx (section 140 can be silicon oxide, titanium oxide and/or silicon nitride, [42]);
a p-type or a n-type absorber layer (absorber can include layers 160 and 180) doped with a group V dopant ([60]-[61] and [67]), and
the p- type absorber layer (layers 160 and 180) residing over the buffer layer (150) (Figure 3); and
a back contact (190) residing over the absorber layer ([68]).
Korevaar additionally discloses that a thickness of the absorber layer (180) is in a thickness range of about 1 nm to about 200 nm ([65], see 50-200nm).
Korevaar additionally discloses that the absorber layer (180) includes a charge carrier concentration range of about 1017 to about 1020 ([64]), but does not disclose the specifically claimed range of a charge carrier concentration range of about 3 x 1017 to about 2 x 1019. However, In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,119,416 to include the limitations an n-p junction including: a n-type buffer layer and a p-type absorber layer doped with a group V dopant, the p-type absorber layer including: a charge carrier concentration range of about 3 x 1017 to about 2 x 1019; and a thickness range of about 1 nm to about 200 nm, as taught by Korevaar, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection as set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of Korevaar, Buller and Walukiewicz, alone or in combination, does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitation that the discontinuous layer is MnOX with a dosage of Mn that is at least 0.05 µg/cm2 in combination with the other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728