DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “even if Kaikenger’s pillow were substituted for the cushion” of the Korea reference, that “it would fail to achieve the required inclination that is directed towards the front” and that “Kaikenger’s structural geometry is incompatible with the support configuration of the Korea reference”. Examiner wishes to point out that in the proposed modification, Kaikenger’s pillow is not being substituted for the cushion of the Korea reference, the teaching of Kaikenger of slanting a horseshoe shaped face pillow down and towards the front (or top of head) of a patient is being used to further modify the Korea reference. Applicant argues that Korea does not disclose a horseshoe shape as claimed. Mitchell discloses the horseshoe shape as claimed, not Korea. Applicant argues that Korea modified by Mitchell and Kaikenger does not disclose wherein the bottom surface of the front end is formed to be convex upward. Mac Marbury III discloses this limitation, not Korea. Applicant does not make any arguments directed toward the Cheng, Mac Marbury III, or Vilsone references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-0839364 (Korea hereinafter) in view of USP 9,867,749 (Mitchell hereinafter), USPAP 2022/0125653 (Kaikenger et al. hereinafter), and USPAP 2014/0053337 (Mac Marbury III hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Korea discloses a head support cushion comprising:
a support cushion member (10) to support facial edges and a chin of a user in a prone position; and
a height adjustment member (20A, 20B) disposed below the support cushion member (10) to position the support cushion member (10) at a predetermined height so that a user's head seated on the support cushion member (10) is positioned higher than the user's feet;
wherein the height adjustment member (20A, 20B) comprises:
a first height adjustment member (20A) formed in a ring shape when seen in a plan view.
Korea does not disclose wherein the support cushion member is a horseshoe shape when seen in a plan view, wherein the height adjustment member is configured to arrange the support cushion member slanted downward toward a front, which is a direction toward which the head of the user in the prone position faces, or wherein the height adjustment member comprises a first height adjustment member having a height gradually decreasing from a rear end of a side toward a center of a front end, so that a bottom surface of the front end of the first height adjustment member is formed to extend convexly upward, wherein the support cushion member is coupled to the first height adjustment member, so as to be open toward the rear end.
Mitchell teaches a facial support pillow that is a horseshoe shape when seen in a plan view (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Korea by providing that support cushion member is a horseshoe shape when seen in a plan view as taught in Mitchell for the purposes of creating a chin clearance channel while still supporting the user’s face (col. 3 lines 26-31).
Kaikenger et al. teaches a horseshoe shaped face pillow (Fig. 26) that is able to be slanted downward toward a front, which is a direction toward which the head of the user in the prone position faces (paragraph [0116]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of Korea by altering the height adjustment member to have an angled top so that it is configured to arrange the support cushion member slanted downward toward a front, which is a direction toward which the head of the user in the prone position faces as taught in Kaikenger et al. for the purposes of accommodating a morphology of the user to improve comfort and reduce pressure sores (paragraph [0116] of Kaikenger et al.).
Mac Marbury III teaches a face pillow (10) wherein a bottom surface has a convex upward shape (Q, Fig.’s 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Korea modification with regard to claim 1 by providing wherein a center portion of a front end is convex upward as taught in Mac Marbury III for the purposes of providing even more channels for airflow to ease breathing of the user (paragraph [0016] of Mac Marbury III).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea in view of Mitchell, Kaikenger et al., Mac Marbury III, and USPAP 2015/0040322 (Cheng et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 3, the Korea modification with regard to claim 1 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein on a rear central portion of an upper surface of the first height adjustment member, a portion open toward a rear of the support cushion member is located, and the rear central portion is formed to have a concave shape in a left-right direction.
Cheng et al. teaches a cushion member (90) with a height adjustment member (100) wherein on a rear central portion of an upper surface of the first height adjustment member, a portion open toward a rear of the support cushion member is located, and the rear central portion is formed to have a concave shape in a left-right direction (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Korea modification with regard to claim 1 by providing that on a rear central portion of an upper surface of the first height adjustment member, a portion open toward a rear of the support cushion member is located, and the rear central portion is formed to have a concave shape in a left-right direction as taught in Cheng et al. for the purposes of providing a ventilation channel for breathing (paragraph [0047] of Cheng et al.).
With regard to claim 4, the Korea modification with regard to claim 3 discloses the head support cushion of claim 1, wherein the height adjustment member (20A, 20B) further comprises:
a second height adjustment member (20B) formed with a ring shape when seen in a plan view, having an entire body with a constant height, and having a center portion of a front end extending convexly upward so that an entire upper surface of the second height adjustment member (20B) is in contact with an entire bottom surface of the first height adjustment member (20A).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea in view of Mitchell, Kaikenger et al., Mac Marbury III, and Cheng et al. and in further view of USPAP 2023/0148771 (Vilsone hereinafter).
With regard to claim 5, the Korea modification with regard to claim 4 discloses the head support cushion of claim 4, wherein the support cushion member (10), the first height adjustment member (20A), and the second height adjustment member (20B) are coupled to one another by snaps.
The Korea modification with regard to claim 4 does not disclose the support cushion member and first and second height adjustment members coupled to each other by a protruding groove structure.
Vilsone teaches a pillow (50) having three layers (22, 24, 26), wherein the layers are connected to each other via a protruding groove structure (32, 34, 42, 44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of The Korea modification with regard to claim 4 by providing that the support cushion member and first and second height adjustment members coupled to each other by a protruding groove structure as taught in Vilsone for the purposes of connecting the layers in close and tight tolerances (paragraph [0058] of Vilsone).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673