DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 21-40 filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 21, the recitation, “An agricultural work machine:” should be corrected to
--An agricultural work machine comprising :--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 21-24, 28-37 and 40 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blank et al. ( USP 2018/0257657) in view of Dybro et al. ( USP 2016/0029558).
As Per Claim 21, Blank et al. ( Blank) teaches, an agricultural work machine (via a combine harvester 102, [0019], Fig. 1): a geographic position sensor configured to detect a geographic location of the agricultural work machine in a worksite (via position sensor 138, [0024], [0022], Fig.1); one or more controllable subsystems; (via controllable systems 134, [0057], Fig.1); one or more processors; (via processors 116, [0022], Fig.1); and memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors, that, when executed by the one or more processors,([0077]); configure the one or more processors (116) to: obtain a map that includes values corresponding to different geographic locations across the worksite ahead of the agricultural work machine;( via receiving soil data 112 and historical compaction map data 114…“Soil data 112 can include a wide variety of different types of information about the soil over which mobile machine 102 is traveling. For instance, it can include the soil type, the soil moisture level, or a wide variety of other soil characteristics”.[0021], and “Vegetation index sensor/indicator 146 can also be a sensor that senses the vegetation coverage on the field (or other worksite) over which mobile machine 102 is traveling, or it can be an input mechanism that receives a representation of the vegetation coverage” [0024], See [0019-0021],[0024], [0031-0032], Figs. 1,4 (step 256 in Fig.4)); and control the one or more controllable subsystems based on the map and the geographic location of the agricultural work machine (via control signal generator 132 generating control signal to control controllable systems 134 (e.g. propulsion /steering system etc. [0057-0058], Fig. 1).
However, Blank does not explicitly teach, the map that includes biomass values.
In a related field of art, Dybro et al. ( Dybro) teaches, biomass sensing , wherein, the map that includes biomass values ( a harvester 22 being equipped with “the one or more biomass portion sensors 26 output signals indicating a moisture content of the biomass portion 34. In one implementation, the one or more biomass portion sensors 26 output signals indicating a quantity or mass of biomass portion 34 interacted upon by harvester 22. In one implementation, the one or more biomass portion sensor 26 output signals indicating a purity or content of biomass portion 34.”,[0020], ,[0021]). “ Figs. 1,3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the program, controller, biomass portion sensor 26) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to, when Banks mobile machine is running and obtaining work site (e.g. field properties), using the biomass portion sensor to access attribute of the biomass. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to achieve biomass characteristics in order to control harvester’s operational parameters for executing effective vehicle operation (i.e., to achieve desired result, less destruction to the harvest).
As per Claim 22, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein the biomass map comprises a predictive biomass map that includes, as the biomass values, predictive biomass values corresponding to the different geographic locations across the worksite ahead of the agricultural work machine. ( Dybro : [0019-0021], [0031-0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the program, controller, biomass portion sensor 26) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to when Banks mobile machine is running and obtaining work site (e.g. field properties), using the biomass portion sensor to access attribute of the biomass. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to achieve biomass characteristics in order to control harvester’s operational parameters for executing effective vehicle operation (i.e., to achieve desired result, less destruction to the harvest).
As per Claim 23, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 22. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein the predictive biomass map is generated as the agricultural work machine operates at the worksite (Dybro : [0015], [0019-0021], [0031-0032]).
(See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine of claim 21 above).
As per Claim 24, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a steering subsystem and a propulsion subsystem (Blank : via propulsion/steering system 162 of 134 , [0023], Fig.1).
As per Claim 28, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Blank in view of Dybro, wherein the biomass values are one of: biomass level values; weight values; vegetation density values; vegetation volume volumes; or threshing rotor drive force values ( Dybro : “ density of biomass in a particular region of the field”, [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the program, controller, biomass portion sensor 26) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to when Banks mobile machine is running and obtaining work site (e.g. field properties), using the biomass portion sensor to access attribute of the biomass. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to achieve biomass characteristics in order to control harvester’s operational parameters for executing effective vehicle operation (i.e., to achieve desired result, less destruction to the harvest).
As Per Claim 29, Blank et al. ( Blank) teaches, a computer implemented method of controlling an agricultural work machine, (via a combine harvester 102, [0019], being equipped with processor 116, [0022], Fig. 1): the computer implemented method comprising: detecting a geographic location of the agricultural work machine at a worksite; (via position sensor 138, [0024], [0022], Fig.1); obtaining (via processor 116) a map having predictive values corresponding to different geographic locations across the worksite ahead of the agricultural work machine; ( via receiving soil data 112 and historical compaction map data 114…“Soil data 112 can include a wide variety of different types of information about the soil over which mobile machine 102 is traveling. For instance, it can include the soil type, the soil moisture level, or a wide variety of other soil characteristics”.[0021], and “Vegetation index sensor/indicator 146 can also be a sensor that senses the vegetation coverage on the field (or other worksite) over which mobile machine 102 is traveling, or it can be an input mechanism that receives a representation of the vegetation coverage” [0024], See [0019-0021],[0024], [0031-0032], Figs. 1,4 (step 256 in Fig.4)); controlling the agricultural work machine based on the biomass map and the geographic location of the agricultural work machine, (via control signal generator 132 generating control signal to control controllable systems 134 (e.g. propulsion /steering system etc. [0057-0058], Fig. 1).
However, Blank does not explicitly teach, the map that includes biomass values.
In a related field of art, Dybro et al. ( Dybro) teaches, biomass sensing , wherein, the map that includes biomass values ( a harvester 22 being equipped with “the one or more biomass portion sensors 26 output signals indicating a moisture content of the biomass portion 34. In one implementation, the one or more biomass portion sensors 26 output signals indicating a quantity or mass of biomass portion 34 interacted upon by harvester 22. In one implementation, the one or more biomass portion sensor 26 output signals indicating a purity or content of biomass portion 34.”,[0020], ,[0021]). “ Figs. 1,3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the program, controller, biomass portion sensor 26) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to when Banks mobile machine is running and obtaining work site (e.g. field properties), using the biomass portion sensor to access attribute of the biomass. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to achieve biomass characteristics in order to control harvester’s operational parameters for executing effective vehicle operation (i.e., to achieve desired result, less destruction to the harvest).
As per Claim 30, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 29. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein obtaining the predictive biomass map comprises obtaining, as the biomass map, a predictive biomass map that includes, as the biomass values, predictive biomass values corresponding to the different geographic locations across the worksite ahead of the agricultural work machine. (Dybro : [0019-0021], [0031-0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the program, controller, biomass portion sensor 26) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to when Banks mobile machine is running and obtaining work site (e.g. field properties), using the biomass portion sensor to access attribute of the biomass. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to achieve biomass characteristics in order to control harvester’s operational parameters for executing effective vehicle operation (i.e., to achieve desired result, less destruction to the harvest).
As per Claim 31, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 29. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein controlling the agricultural work machine comprises controlling one or more controllable subsystems of the agricultural work machine (Blank : via propulsion/steering system 162 of 134 , [0023], Fig.1).
As per Claim 32, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 29. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein controlling the agricultural work machine comprises controlling one or more of:(I) one or more machine and header actuators;(ii) a propulsion subsystem;(iii) a steering subsystem;(iv) a residue subsystem; or (v) a cleaning subsystem (Blank : via propulsion/steering system 162 of 134 , [0023], Fig.1).
As per Claim 33, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 29. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein controlling the agricultural work machine comprises controlling a speed of a component of the agricultural work machine. ( Blank : via sensors 118 includes wheel speed sensor 138, [0022], [0024], [0034], Fig.1) and also see Dybro : via “adjustment module 280 adjusts the operation of harvester 22 in real time, as harvester 22 is traversing a field during harvest. Examples of adjustments to harvester 22 include, but are not limited to, adjusting a speed at which harvester 22 is traveling across the field”, [0045]).
As per Claim 34, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 29. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein controlling the agricultural work machine comprises controlling a position of a component of the agricultural work machine. ( Dybro : via “based upon signals indicating changes in one or more determined attributes for biomass portion 34, harvester adjust module 280 may direct processor 256 to output control signals adjusting the speed, torque and/or positioning of components such as stripper plates, harvester threshing drums and concaves, straw walkers, sieves, grain return systems, beaters, and other threshing mechanisms”, [0045]).
As Per Claim 35, Blank et al. ( Blank) teaches, an agricultural system (via a combine harvester 102, [0019], Fig. 1): comprising: one or more processors ( via processors 116, [0022], Fig.1); and memory storing instructions, executable by the one or more processors, ([0077]), that, when executed by the one or more processors , configure the one or more processors ( via processors 116, [0022], Fig.1); to: obtain geographic position sensor data indicative of a geographic location of an agricultural work machine in a worksite; (via position sensor 138, [0024], [0022], Fig.1); obtain a map that includes values corresponding to different geographic locations across the worksite ahead of the agricultural work machine relative to a direction of travel of the agricultural work machine; ;( via receiving soil data 112 and historical compaction map data 114…“Soil data 112 can include a wide variety of different types of information about the soil over which mobile machine 102 is traveling. For instance, it can include the soil type, the soil moisture level, or a wide variety of other soil characteristics”.[0021], and “Vegetation index sensor/indicator 146 can also be a sensor that senses the vegetation coverage on the field (or other worksite) over which mobile machine 102 is traveling, or it can be an input mechanism that receives a representation of the vegetation coverage” [0024], See [0019-0021], [0024], [0031-0032], Figs. 1,4 (step 256 in Fig.4)); and control one or more controllable subsystems of the agricultural work machine based on the biomass map and the geographic location of the agricultural work machine (via control signal generator 132 generating control signal to control controllable systems 134 (e.g. propulsion /steering system etc. [0057-0058], Fig. 1).
However, Blank does not explicitly teach, the map that includes biomass values.
In a related field of art, Dybro et al. ( Dybro) teaches, biomass sensing , wherein, the map that includes biomass values ( a harvester 22 being equipped with “the one or more biomass portion sensors 26 output signals indicating a moisture content of the biomass portion 34. In one implementation, the one or more biomass portion sensors 26 output signals indicating a quantity or mass of biomass portion 34 interacted upon by harvester 22. In one implementation, the one or more biomass portion sensor 26 output signals indicating a purity or content of biomass portion 34.”,[0020],[0019]-[0021]). Figs. 1,3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the program, controller, biomass portion sensor 26) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to when Banks mobile machine is running and obtaining work site (e.g. field properties), using the biomass portion sensor to access attribute of the biomass. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to achieve biomass characteristics in order to control harvester’s operational parameters for executing effective vehicle operation (i.e., to achieve desired result, less destruction to the harvest).
As per Claim 36, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 35. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein the biomass map is a predictive biomass map that includes, as the biomass values, predictive biomass values corresponding to the different geographic locations across the worksite ahead of the agricultural work machine relative to the direction of travel of the agricultural work machine. (Dybro : [0019-0021], [0031-0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the program, controller, biomass portion sensor 26) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to when Banks mobile machine is running and obtaining work site (e.g. field properties), using the biomass portion sensor to access attribute of the biomass.
Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to achieve biomass characteristics in order to control harvester’s operational parameters for executing effective vehicle operation (i.e., to achieve desired result, less destruction to the harvest).
As per Claim 37, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 35. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a steering subsystem and a propulsion subsystem.
(Blank : via propulsion/steering system 162 of 134 , [0023], Fig.1).
As per Claim 40, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 35 However, Blank in view of Dybro, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester, wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include one or more actuators, and wherein the one or more actuators (Blank : controllable systems 134 (e.g. propulsion /steering system etc. [0057-0058], Fig. 1).
However Blank in view of Dybro does not explicitly teach, one or more actuators
comprise one or more of: a cleaning fan actuator controllable to control a setting of a cleaning fan; a header position actuator controllable to control a position of a header; a header functionality actuator controllable to control a setting of a component of the header; a sieve actuator controllable to control a setting of a sieve; a chaffer actuator controllable to control a setting of a chafer’s concave clearance actuator controllable to control a concave clearance; or a threshing rotor actuator controllable to control a setting of a threshing rotor.
In a related field of art, Dilts et al. ( Dilts) teaches, one or more actuators
comprise one or more of: a cleaning fan actuator controllable to control a setting of a cleaning fan; ( via harvester 10 being equipped with a cleaning system 26. [0022], [0026] Fig.1); a header position actuator controllable to control a position of a header; a header functionality actuator controllable to control a setting of a component of the header; a sieve actuator controllable to control a setting of a sieve; a chaffer actuator controllable to control a setting of a chafer’s concave clearance actuator controllable to control a concave clearance; or a threshing rotor actuator controllable to control a setting of a threshing rotor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro and Dilts before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings (cleaning system) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to perform sieve cleaning. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to perform cleaning action by fan to provide an air flow through the sieves in order to remove the mill and other impurities.( i.e., system longevity, cost saving).
6. Claims 25-27, 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blank et al. ( USP 2018/0257657) in view of Dybro et al. ( USP 2016/0029558) in view of Dilts et al. ( BR-102018-013974A2).
As per Claim 25, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Blank in view of Dybro does not explicitly teach, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a residue subsystem.
In a related field of art, Dilts et al. ( Dilts) teaches, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a residue subsystem (via a harvester 10 (Fig.1) being equipped with “ a crop residue handling system that includes a residue chipper, waste spreader, a spreader drain chute and a water selection port range, a receiver configured to determine a combine harvester location, and a controller that controls the waste handling system”, [0003], Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro and Dilts before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the crop residue handing system) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to the residue is spread evenly across the ground in directions the harvester is moving. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, evenly spread the residue to prevent soil erosion after the crop has been harvested and to allow proper decomposition of the waste nutrient value.
As per Claim 26, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Blank in view of Dybro does not explicitly teach, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a cleaning subsystem.
In a related field of art, Dilts et al. ( Dilts) teaches, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a cleaning subsystem (via harvester 10 being equipped with a cleaning system 26. [0022], [0026] Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro and Dilts before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings (cleaning system) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to perform sieve cleaning. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to perform cleaning action by fan to provide an air flow through the sieves in order to remove the mill and other impurities.( i.e., system longevity, cost saving).
As per Claim 27, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Blank in view of Dybro teaches, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester, wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include one or more actuators, and wherein the one or more actuators (Blank : controllable systems 134 (e.g. propulsion /steering system etc. [0057-0058], Fig. 1).
However Blank in view of Dybro does not explicitly teach, one or more actuators include one or more of: a cleaning fan actuator controllable to control a setting of a cleaning fan; a header position actuator controllable to control a position of a header; a header functionality actuator controllable to control a setting of a component of the header; a sieve actuator controllable to control a setting of a sieve; a chaffer actuator controllable to control a setting of a chafer’s concave clearance actuator controllable to control a concave clearance; or a threshing rotor actuator controllable to control a setting of a threshing rotor.
In a related field of art, Dilts et al. ( Dilts) teaches, one or more actuators include one or more of: a cleaning fan actuator controllable to control a setting of a cleaning fan; ( via harvester 10 being equipped with a cleaning system 26. [0022], [0026] Fig.1); a header position actuator controllable to control a position of a header; a header functionality actuator controllable to control a setting of a component of the header; a sieve actuator controllable to control a setting of a sieve; a chaffer actuator controllable to control a setting of a chafer’s concave clearance actuator controllable to control a concave clearance; or a threshing rotor actuator controllable to control a setting of a threshing rotor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro and Dilts before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings (cleaning system) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to perform sieve cleaning. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to perform cleaning action by fan to provide an air flow through the sieves in order to remove the mill and other impurities.( i.e., system longevity, cost saving).
As per Claim 38, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 35 However, Blank in view of Dybro does not explicitly teach, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a residue subsystem.
In a related field of art, Dilts et al. ( Dilts) teaches, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a residue subsystem ( via a harvester 10 (Fig.1) being equipped with “ a crop residue handling system that includes a residue chipper, waste spreader, a spreader drain chute and a water selection port range, a receiver configured to determine a combine harvester location, and a controller that controls the waste handling system”, [0003], Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro and Dilts before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings ( the crop residue handing system) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to the residue is spread evenly across the ground in directions the harvester is moving.
Motivation to combine the two teachings is, evenly spread the residue to prevent soil erosion after the crop has been harvested and to allow proper decomposition of the waste nutrient value.
As per Claim 39, Blank as modified by Dybro teaches the limitation of Claim 35 However, Blank in view of Dybro does not explicitly teach, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a cleaning subsystem.
In a related field of art, Dilts et al. (Dilts) teaches, wherein the agricultural work machine comprises an agricultural harvester and wherein the one or more controllable subsystems include a cleaning subsystem ( via harvester 10 being equipped with a cleaning system 26. [0022], [0026] Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Blank and Dybro and Dilts before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Blank, to include the teachings (cleaning system) of Dybro and configure with the system of Blank in order to perform sieve cleaning. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to perform cleaning action by fan to provide an air flow through the sieves in order to remove the mill and other impurities.( i.e., system longevity, cost saving).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C