Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments that Takahashi explains that the resin sealing is optional and does not necessarily have sufficient waterproof properties, therefore cannot disclose an insulated sealing section is not persuasive. The claims do not require the insulating sealing section to be waterproof. Paragraph [0135] discloses a resin sealing structure provided at the edge portion of the light control layer. That the resin may allow some water permeation does not negate that it is a sealing and insulating member covering the end face of the light control layer.
Applicant’s arguments that Takahashi does not disclose or suggest the claimed first and second non driver section is not persuasive. A region that is outside the active driving area and structurally corresponds to the claimed non-driver section satisfies the limitation. Takashi does disclose peripheral regions outside the active/drive area.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 20210208321)
Regarding Claim 1,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) a light control sheet, comprising: a first electrode sheet including a first transparent substrate (13A) and a first transparent electrode layer (12A); a second electrode sheet including a second transparent substrate (13B) and a second transparent electrode layer (12B); and a light control layer (11) comprising a liquid crystal composition and formed between the first transparent electrode layer (12A) and the second transparent electrode layer (12B), wherein the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet, and the light control layer form a driver section (SL) in which the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet , and the light control layer are overlaid, a first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) in which the first electrode sheet ((13A) and (12A)) is exposed from the light control layer (11) and the second electrode sheet ((11) and (12B)), and a second non-driver section (section SB area) in which the second electrode sheet that is exposed from the light control layer (11) and the first electrode sheet ((13A) and (12A)), wherein the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) and the second non-driver section (section SB area) include an insulating sealing section [0135] covering an end face of the light control layer (11), the first transparent electrode layer (12A) includes a first terminal and a non-conductive section in the first non-driver section such that the first terminal is configured to be electrically connected to a first driver portion positioned in the driver section (this happens automatically from the insulation feature) and that the non-conductive section is configured to be not electrically connected to the first driver portion, the first non-driver section includes a disconnection section (21A) separating the non-conductive section (22A) from the first driver portion and the first terminal (Figure 4A) the non-conductive section (22A) forms an outer peripheral end face of the light control sheet (Fig. 3), and the second non-driver section includes a second terminal (section SB) configured to be electrically connected to a second driver portion of the second transparent electrode layer in the driver section (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the disconnection section (21A) includes the first transparent substrate (13A) and does not include the first transparent electrode layer (12A) in the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)).
Regarding Claim 3,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the disconnection section (21A) is filled with an insulator [0036].
Regarding Claim 4,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the first transparent electrode layer (12A) has a void (SB) extending through the first transparent electrode layer (12A) in a thickness direction, the first transparent substrate (13A) has a recess recessed (SB) in the thickness direction, and the void and the recess form a recessed groove in the disconnection section (21A) in the thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 5,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the first transparent electrode layer (12A) has a void extending through the first transparent electrode layer (12A) in a thickness direction, the first transparent substrate (13A) has a recess recessed (SB) in the thickness direction, and the void (SB) and the recess form a recessed groove in the disconnection section (21A) in the thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 6,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the disconnection section (21A) is a first disconnection section of a plurality of disconnection sections (21A,21B,) formed between the driver section (40B) and the outer peripheral end face in the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) in a thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 7,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the disconnection section (21A) is a first disconnection section of a plurality of disconnection sections (21A,21B) formed between the driver section (40B) and the outer peripheral (22A) end face in the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) in a thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 8,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the disconnection section (21A) is a first disconnection section of a plurality of disconnection sections (21A,21B) formed between the driver section (40B) and the outer peripheral (22A) end face in the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) in a thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 9,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the disconnection section (21A) is a first disconnection section of a plurality of disconnection sections (21A,21B) formed between the driver section (40B) and the outer peripheral end face in the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) in a thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 10,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the disconnection section (21A) is a first disconnection section (21A) of a plurality of disconnection sections (21A,21B) formed between the driver section (40B) and the outer peripheral end face in the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) in a thickness direction.
Regarding Claim 11,
Takahashi discloses (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) a first electrode sheet including a first transparent substrate (13A) and a first transparent electrode layer (12A); a second electrode sheet including a second transparent substrate (13B) and a second transparent electrode layer (12B); and a light control layer (11) including a liquid crystal composition and formed between the first transparent electrode layer (12A) and the second transparent electrode layer (12B), wherein the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet, and the light control layer (11) form a driver section (SL) in which the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet, and the light control layer are overlaid, a first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) in which the first electrode sheet is exposed from the light control layer (11) and the second electrode sheet, and a second non-driver section in which the second electrode sheet is exposed from the light control layer (11) and the first electrode sheet, the first transparent electrode layer (12A) includes a first terminal in the first non-driver section (Fig. 4a, combined portions ((SA),(SI), and (SO)) such that the first terminal is configured to be electrically connected to a first driver portion of the first transparent electrode layer (12A) in the driver section, the second transparent electrode layer (12B) includes a second terminal in the second non-driver section (section SB area) such that the second terminal is configured to be electrically connected to a second driver portion of the second transparent electrode layer (12B) positioned in the driver section, and the first non-driver section and the second non-driver section (section SB area) include an insulating sealing section covering an end face of the light control layer (11) such that an end face of the first transparent electrode layer (12A) is covered with the insulating sealing section at a position inside an end face of the first transparent substrate (12B) in the first non-driver section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871