DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 14 October 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202211289111X, filed on 23 August 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker et al. (Hereinafter, Crocker, US 2014/0195929 A1) in view of Goldman et al. (Hereinafter, Goldman, US 2011/0225498 A1).
Per claim 1, Crocker discloses a virtual learning method (paragraph [0003], ”Embodiments presented in this disclosure provide a method, computer-readable medium, and system for performing an operation of user matching based on social interactions in a virtual environment…” ), the method comprising:
displaying a setting interface for inputting information when a seating request is triggered by a first user on a first user interface(e.g., step 620 as shown in Fig. 6;l paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis …. “; paragraph [0038], “…At step 620, the virtual world application 102 receives, from the first user, a request to participate in a desired activity in the virtual environment. .. “), the first user interface being associated with a virtual learning system(Abstract, “…In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis... “; Examiner’s Note: The “virtual learning system” limitation is being interpreted as an intended use since the claimed system is not structurally distinguishable from the prior art system.);
obtaining information about at least one second user that is associated with the virtual learning system(e.g., steps 630-640 as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0038], “…At step 630, the virtual world application 120 generates or retrieves a set of users, other than the first user, currently eligible to participate in the desired activity. At step 640, the virtual world application 120 programmatically generates a match between the first user and at least a second user of the retrieved set of users, based on the monitored social interactions of the first user. The steps 630 and 640 are further described below in conjunction with FIG. 7… “; Examiner’s Note: Crocker teaches accessing a set of users other than the first user who are currently eligible to participate in a desire activity.); but does not expressly disclose:
when the at least one second user is matched to the inputted information input by the first user, displaying a second user interface including a first virtual object corresponding to the first user and at least one second virtual object corresponding to the at least one second user, the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object both being bound to a first virtual multi-user seat.
Goldman discloses when the at least one second user is matched to the inputted information input by the first user, displaying a second user interface including a first virtual object corresponding to the first user(e.g., a seat 1840 as shown in Fig. 18 ) and at least one second virtual object corresponding to the at least one second user(e.g., a seat 1841 as shown in Fig. 18), the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object both being bound to a first virtual multi-user seat (paragraph [0083], “… The virtual representation provides one or more common seating or standing areas for an audience of virtual representations of people (e.g., avatars 1850, 1851, etc.) to sit or stand in proximity to one another. A three-dimensional graphics engine (not shown)--preferably one suitable for generating graphics for a massively multiplayer online game--is provided to generate the three-dimensional environment. “;paragraph [0086]; paragraph [0091]; paragraph [0109], “…The three-dimensional space typically includes a large physical structure that provides one or more seating or standing areas for an audience of virtual representations of people (e.g., avatars) to sit or stand in proximity to one another. “; paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Goldman’s personalized avatars in Crocker’s virtual environment for providing a spatial presentation for multiple participating users in which avatars interact within a common virtual seating environment as suggested by Goldman (paragraph [0012]).
Per claim 3, Crocker and Goldman disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying an information interaction interface when an information input request is triggered in the second user interface, wherein interaction information between the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object is input via the information interaction interface(Crocker, e.g., step 620 as shown in Fig. 6;l paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis …. “; paragraph [0038], “…At step 620, the virtual world application 102 receives, from the first user, a request to participate in a desired activity in the virtual environment. .. “); and
displaying target information on the information interaction interface when an output request is triggered on the information interaction interface, wherein the information input request is from the first virtual object (Crocker, paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis. Further, players of certain demographics, including younger players, may often wish to be matched based on friendships or social interactions and to the exclusion of (or in addition to) player skill level or gaming interactions …. “; paragraph [0029]).
Per claim 8, Crocker and Goldman disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one second user is in an online state in the virtual learning system(Crocker, Abstract, “… A set of users currently eligible to participate in the first desired activity is retrieved …. “; paragraph [0003], “ … The operation also includes accessing a set of users, other than the first user, currently eligible to participate in the first desired activity …. “; paragraph [0020]).
Per claim 11, Crocker discloses an information processing apparatus (e.g., networked system 1100 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0045]), comprising:
processing circuitry (paragraph [0047]) configured to:
display a setting interface for inputting information when a seating request is triggered by a first user on a first user interface(e.g., step 620 as shown in Fig. 6;l paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis …. “; paragraph [0038], “…At step 620, the virtual world application 102 receives, from the first user, a request to participate in a desired activity in the virtual environment. .. “), the first user interface being associated with a virtual learning system(Abstract, “…In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis... “; Examiner’s Note: The “virtual learning system” limitation is being interpreted as an intended use since the claimed system is not structurally distinguishable from the prior art system.);
obtain information about at least one second user that is associated with the virtual learning system(e.g., steps 630-640 as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0038], “…At step 630, the virtual world application 120 generates or retrieves a set of users, other than the first user, currently eligible to participate in the desired activity. At step 640, the virtual world application 120 programmatically generates a match between the first user and at least a second user of the retrieved set of users, based on the monitored social interactions of the first user. The steps 630 and 640 are further described below in conjunction with FIG. 7… “; Examiner’s Note: Crocker teaches accessing a set of users other than the first user who are currently eligible to participate in a desire activity.); but does not expressly disclose:
when the at least one second user is matched to the inputted information input by the first user, display a second user interface including a first virtual object corresponding to the first user and at least one second virtual object corresponding to the at least one second user, the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object both being bound to a first virtual multi-user seat.
Goldman discloses when the at least one second user is matched to the inputted information input by the first user, display a second user interface including a first virtual object corresponding to the first user(e.g., a seat 1840 as shown in Fig. 18 ) and at least one second virtual object corresponding to the at least one second user(e.g., a seat 1841 as shown in Fig. 18), the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object both being bound to a first virtual multi-user seat (paragraph [0083], “… The virtual representation provides one or more common seating or standing areas for an audience of virtual representations of people (e.g., avatars 1850, 1851, etc.) to sit or stand in proximity to one another. A three-dimensional graphics engine (not shown)--preferably one suitable for generating graphics for a massively multiplayer online game--is provided to generate the three-dimensional environment. “;paragraph [0086]; paragraph [0091]; paragraph [0109], “…The three-dimensional space typically includes a large physical structure that provides one or more seating or standing areas for an audience of virtual representations of people (e.g., avatars) to sit or stand in proximity to one another. “; paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Goldman’s personalized avatars in Crocker’s virtual environment for providing a spatial presentation for multiple participating users in which avatars interact within a common virtual seating environment as suggested by Goldman (paragraph [0012]).
Per claim 12, Crocker and Goldman disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
display an information interaction interface when an information input request is triggered in the second user interface, wherein interaction information between the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object is input via the information interaction interface(Crocker, e.g., step 620 as shown in Fig. 6;l paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis …. “; paragraph [0038], “…At step 620, the virtual world application 102 receives, from the first user, a request to participate in a desired activity in the virtual environment. .. “); and
display target information on the information interaction interface when an output request is triggered on the information interaction interface, wherein the information input request is from the first virtual object (Crocker, paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis. Further, players of certain demographics, including younger players, may often wish to be matched based on friendships or social interactions and to the exclusion of (or in addition to) player skill level or gaming interactions …. “; paragraph [0029]).
Per claim 13, Crocker and Goldman disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the at least one second user is in an online state in the virtual learning system(Crocker, Abstract, “… A set of users currently eligible to participate in the first desired activity is retrieved …. “; paragraph [0003], “ … The operation also includes accessing a set of users, other than the first user, currently eligible to participate in the first desired activity …. “; paragraph [0020]).
Per claim 16, Crocker discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform (e.g., memory 1106 as shown in Fig. 11; paragraph [0047]):
displaying a setting interface for inputting information when a seating request is triggered by a first user on a first user interface(e.g., step 620 as shown in Fig. 6;l paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis …. “; paragraph [0038], “…At step 620, the virtual world application 102 receives, from the first user, a request to participate in a desired activity in the virtual environment. .. “), the first user interface being associated with a virtual learning system(Abstract, “…In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis... “; Examiner’s Note: The “virtual learning system” limitation is being interpreted as an intended use since the claimed system is not structurally distinguishable from the prior art system.);
obtaining information about at least one second user that is associated with the virtual learning system(e.g., steps 630-640 as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0038], “…At step 630, the virtual world application 120 generates or retrieves a set of users, other than the first user, currently eligible to participate in the desired activity. At step 640, the virtual world application 120 programmatically generates a match between the first user and at least a second user of the retrieved set of users, based on the monitored social interactions of the first user. The steps 630 and 640 are further described below in conjunction with FIG. 7… “; Examiner’s Note: Crocker teaches accessing a set of users other than the first user who are currently eligible to participate in a desire activity.); but does not expressly disclose:
when the at least one second user is matched to the inputted information input by the first user, displaying a second user interface including a first virtual object corresponding to the first user and at least one second virtual object corresponding to the at least one second user, the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object both being bound to a first virtual multi-user seat.
Goldman discloses when the at least one second user is matched to the inputted information input by the first user, displaying a second user interface including a first virtual object corresponding to the first user(e.g., a seat 1840 as shown in Fig. 18 ) and at least one second virtual object corresponding to the at least one second user(e.g., a seat 1841 as shown in Fig. 18), the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object both being bound to a first virtual multi-user seat (paragraph [0083], “… The virtual representation provides one or more common seating or standing areas for an audience of virtual representations of people (e.g., avatars 1850, 1851, etc.) to sit or stand in proximity to one another. A three-dimensional graphics engine (not shown)--preferably one suitable for generating graphics for a massively multiplayer online game--is provided to generate the three-dimensional environment. “;paragraph [0086]; paragraph [0091]; paragraph [0109], “…The three-dimensional space typically includes a large physical structure that provides one or more seating or standing areas for an audience of virtual representations of people (e.g., avatars) to sit or stand in proximity to one another. “; paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Goldman’s personalized avatars in Crocker’s virtual environment for providing a spatial presentation for multiple participating users in which avatars interact within a common virtual seating environment as suggested by Goldman (paragraph [0012]).
Per claim 17, Crocker and Goldman disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16, further comprising:
displaying an information interaction interface when an information input request is triggered in the second user interface, wherein interaction information between the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object is input via the information interaction interface(Crocker, e.g., step 620 as shown in Fig. 6;l paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis …. “; paragraph [0038], “…At step 620, the virtual world application 102 receives, from the first user, a request to participate in a desired activity in the virtual environment. .. “); and
displaying target information on the information interaction interface when an output request is triggered on the information interaction interface, wherein the information input request is from the first virtual object (Crocker, paragraph [0018], “… In some embodiments, a user interface may be provided to allow players manually specify a match or to specify criteria to be used for automatic player matching. However, such a user interface may often be too sophisticated for younger audiences to use on a regular basis. Further, players of certain demographics, including younger players, may often wish to be matched based on friendships or social interactions and to the exclusion of (or in addition to) player skill level or gaming interactions …. “; paragraph [0029]).
Per claim 18, Crocker and Goldman disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the at least one second user is in an online state in the virtual learning system(Crocker, Abstract, “… A set of users currently eligible to participate in the first desired activity is retrieved …. “; paragraph [0003], “ … The operation also includes accessing a set of users, other than the first user, currently eligible to participate in the first desired activity …. “; paragraph [0020]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker et al. (Hereinafter, Crocker, US 2014/0195929 A1) in view of Goldman et al. (Hereinafter, Goldman, US 2011/0225498 A1), and further in view of Tashner et al. (Hereinafter, Tashner, US 2008/0268418 A1).
Per claim 2, Crocker and Goldman disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the second user interface indicates at least one of:
duration for which the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object are jointly bound to the first virtual multi-user seat;
duration for which the first virtual object is bound to any virtual multi-user seat alone;
duration for which each of the at least one second virtual object is respectively bound to any virtual multi-user seat alone;
historical information of the first virtual object in the virtual learning system; or
historical information of the at least one second virtual object in the virtual learning system.
Tashner discloses wherein the second user interface indicates at least one of:
duration for which the first virtual object and the at least one second virtual object are jointly bound to the first virtual multi-user seat (paragraph [0062], “Cohort activity is tracked within the database so that an individual student's matrix includes results of that student's participation in a small group...” );
duration for which the first virtual object is bound to any virtual multi-user seat alone(paragraph [0057]);
duration for which each of the at least one second virtual object is respectively bound to any virtual multi-user seat alone(paragraph [0057]);
historical information of the first virtual object in the virtual learning system(Abstract, “…An electronic database tracks biographical and educational information about each user, that user's progress in achieving study goals, and the deliverables that the student produces to fulfill requirements of virtual instruction ... “; paragraph [0014]; paragraph [0057]; paragraphs [0061-0062]; paragraph [0067]); or
historical information of the at least one second virtual object in the virtual learning system(Abstract, “…An electronic database tracks biographical and educational information about each user, that user's progress in achieving study goals, and the deliverables that the student produces to fulfill requirements of virtual instruction ... “; paragraph [0014]; paragraphs [0061-0062]; paragraph [0067]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Tasher’s virtual education system and method of instruction in Crocker and Goldman’s virtual environment for providing a social context for learning by allowing more flexible communications among students, educators, and administrators as suggested by Tashner (paragraph [0011]).
Claims 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker et al. (Hereinafter, Crocker, US 2014/0195929 A1) in view of Goldman et al. (Hereinafter, Goldman, US 2011/0225498 A1), and further in view of Lin (US 2018/0288113 A1).
Per claim 4, Crocker and Goldman disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose the method as further comprising: when no information about the at least one second user is obtained, displaying a third user interface in which the first virtual object is bound to a second virtual multi-user seat alone.
Lin discloses when no information about the at least one second user is obtained, displaying a third user interface in which the first virtual object is bound to a second virtual multi-user seat alone(paragraph [0023]; Examiner’s Note: Lin’s virtual cinema/seat is generated and displays the inviter’s own avatar occupying a seat prior to any invitee’s acceptance of an invitation—i.e., the virtual object is bound to a seat alone whenever no matching second-user information has yet been obtained.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Lin’s invitation-and-seat-allocation method in Crocker and Goldman’s virtual environment for improving user seating in virtual environments.
Per claim 5, Crocker, Goldman, and Lin disclose the method according to claim 4, further comprising:
displaying a first prompt label in a region associated with the second virtual multi-user seat, wherein the first prompt label displays the inputted information input by the first user(Lin, paragraph [0023]; Lin disclosing a portrait to identify a first user.);
displaying a second prompt label in the region associated with the second virtual multi-user seat, wherein the second prompt label displays identity information of the first user (Lin, paragraph [0023]; Lin disclosing a portrait to identify a second user.); or
displaying a third prompt label in the region associated with the second virtual multi-user seat, wherein the third prompt label displays identity information inputted by the first user, and the identity information corresponds to a virtual object to be bound with the first user to the second virtual multi-user seat(Lin, paragraph [0023]);.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Lin’s invitation-and-seat-allocation method in Crocker and Goldman’s virtual environment for improving user seating in virtual environments.
Per claim 7, Crocker, Goldman, and Lin disclose the method according to claim 4, further comprising:
displaying at least one alternative user when a seat sharing element is selected by the first user in the third user interface(Lin, e.g., Block 910 as shown in Fig. 9; paragraph [0020], “The inviting module 48 provides a friend invitation interface for the inviter. The inviter can then select friends, and the inviter and friends can watch the film together. The communicating module 50 transmits information of the inviter and the friends invited by the user (hereinafter called “invitee”) to the server 20…. “; paragraph [0050]);
transmitting a seat sharing request to a target alternative user when the target alternative user of the at least one alternative user is selected, wherein the seat sharing request is configured to invite the target alternative user to sit together with the first virtual object in the second virtual multi-user seat(Lin, paragraph [0020], “…The server 20 transmits the information of the inviter and the invitation to watch a film to the invitee. In response to an invitee's operation (e.g. accept invitation or decline invitation), the determining module 52 determines whether the invitation of the inviter is accepted. “); and
receiving feedback information from the target alternative user, and when the feedback information indicates that the target alternative user accepts the sharing(Lin, paragraph [0022]), displaying a fifth user interface that includes the first virtual object and a target virtual object of the target alternative user, wherein the first virtual object and the target virtual object corresponding to the target alternative user are bound to the second virtual multi-user seat(Lin, paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Lin’s invitation-and-seat-allocation method in Crocker and Goldman’s virtual environment for improving user seating in virtual environments.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker et al. (Hereinafter, Crocker, US 2014/0195929 A1) in view of Goldman et al. (Hereinafter, Goldman, US 2011/0225498 A1), Lin (US 2018/0288113 A1), and further in view of Lyle et al. (Hereinafter, Lyle, US 7,970,837 B2).
Per claim 6, Crocker, Goldman, and Lin disclose the method according to claim 4, but do not expressly disclose the method as further comprising: receiving a request from a third virtual object to be bound to the second virtual multi-user seat, and when the first user accepts the request from the third virtual object displaying a fourth user interface that includes the first virtual object and the third virtual object, wherein the first virtual object and the third virtual object are bound to the second virtual multi-user seat.
Lyle discloses receiving a request from a third virtual object to be bound to the second virtual multi-user seat, and when the first user accepts the request from the third virtual object displaying a fourth user interface that includes the first virtual object and the third virtual object, wherein the first virtual object and the third virtual object are bound to the second virtual multi-user seat (Abstract; column 2, lines 18-38; Examiner’s Note: A third avatar can request to join a seat, with the first user’s acceptance causing both avatars to be displayed in the seat. ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Lyle’s invitation/acceptance method in Crocker, Goldman, and Lin’s virtual environment for improving user seating in virtual environments.
Claims 9, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker et al. (Hereinafter, Crocker, US 2014/0195929 A1) in view of Goldman et al. (Hereinafter, Goldman, US 2011/0225498 A1), and further in view of Mendiola et al. (Hereinafter, Mendiola, US 6,920,478 B2).
Per claim 9, Crocker and Goldman disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one second user is in an offline state and an interval since the at least one second user was last online is less than a threshold.
Mendiola discloses wherein the at least one second user is in an offline state and an interval since the at least one second user was last online is less than a threshold (Abstract; column 6, lines 50—65; column 9, lines 9-13).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Mendiola’s online status tracking in Crocker and Goldman’s virtual environment for improved detection of online status as suggested by Mendiola (column 3, lines 1-9).
Per claim 14, Crocker and Goldman disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, but do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one second user is in an offline state and an interval since the at least one second user was last online is less than a threshold.
Mendiola discloses wherein the at least one second user is in an offline state and an interval since the at least one second user was last online is less than a threshold (Abstract; column 6, lines 50—65; column 9, lines 9-13).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Mendiola’s online status tracking in Crocker and Goldman’s virtual environment for improved detection of online status as suggested by Mendiola (column 3, lines 1-9).
Per claim 19, Crocker and Goldman disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16, but do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one second user is in an offline state and an interval since the at least one second user was last online is less than a threshold.
Mendiola discloses wherein the at least one second user is in an offline state and an interval since the at least one second user was last online is less than a threshold (Abstract; column 6, lines 50—65; column 9, lines 9-13).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Mendiola’s online status tracking in Crocker and Goldman’s virtual environment for improved detection of online status as suggested by Mendiola (column 3, lines 1-9).
Claims 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker et al. (Hereinafter, Crocker, US 2014/0195929 A1) in view of Goldman et al. (Hereinafter, Goldman, US 2011/0225498 A1), Mendiola et al. (Hereinafter, Mendiola, US 6,920,478 B2), and further in view of Lyle et al. (Hereinafter, Lyle, US 7,970,837 B2).
Per claim 10, Crocker, Goldman, and Mendiola disclose the method according to claim 9, but do not expressly disclose when the at least one second user is in the offline state, the method further comprises:
transmitting the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat;
receiving feedback information from the at least one second user in the offline state; and
displaying the second user interface when the feedback information indicates that the at least one second user in the offline state accepted the seating request.
Lyle discloses when the at least one second user is in the offline state, the method further comprises:
transmitting the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat (e.g., step 518 as shown in Fig. 5a; column 7, lines 19-37; column 8, line 40-53; Fig. 4b illustrates transmitting the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat.);
receiving feedback information from the at least one second user in the offline state(e.g., step 530 as shown in Fig. 5b; response 451 as shown in Fig. 4c; column 9, line 5-38); and
displaying the second user interface when the feedback information indicates that the at least one second user in the offline state accepted the seating request (e.g., step 572 as shown in Fig. 5d; column 9, lines 5-38).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Lyle’s invitation/acceptance method in Crocker, Goldman, and Mendiola’s virtual environment for improving user seating in virtual environments.
Per claim 15, Crocker, Goldman, and Mendiola disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 14, but do not expressly disclose when the at least one second user is in the offline state, the method further comprises:
transmit the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat;
receive feedback information from the at least one second user in the offline state; and
display the second user interface when the feedback information indicates that the at least one second user in the offline state accepted the seating request.
Lyle discloses when the at least one second user is in the offline state, the method further comprises:
transmit the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat (e.g., step 518 as shown in Fig. 5a; column 7, lines 19-37; column 8, line 40-53; Fig. 4b illustrates transmitting the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat.);
receive feedback information from the at least one second user in the offline state(e.g., step 530 as shown in Fig. 5b; response 451 as shown in Fig. 4c; column 9, line 5-38); and
display the second user interface when the feedback information indicates that the at least one second user in the offline state accepted the seating request (e.g., step 572 as shown in Fig. 5d; column 9, lines 5-38).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Lyle’s invitation/acceptance method in Crocker, Goldman, and Mendiola’s virtual environment for improving user seating in virtual environments.
Per claim 20, Crocker, Goldman, and Mendiola disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, but do not expressly disclose when the at least one second user is in the offline state, the method further comprises:
transmitting the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat;
receiving feedback information from the at least one second user in the offline state; and
displaying the second user interface when the feedback information indicates that the at least one second user in the offline state accepted the seating request.
Lyle discloses when the at least one second user is in the offline state, the method further comprises:
transmitting the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat (e.g., step 518 as shown in Fig. 5a; column 7, lines 19-37; column 8, line 40-53; Fig. 4b illustrates transmitting the seating request to the at least one second user in the offline state, wherein the seating request is configured to invite the at least one second user in the offline state to sit together with the first virtual object in the first virtual multi-user seat.);
receiving feedback information from the at least one second user in the offline state(e.g., step 530 as shown in Fig. 5b; response 451 as shown in Fig. 4c; column 9, line 5-38); and
displaying the second user interface when the feedback information indicates that the at least one second user in the offline state accepted the seating request (e.g., step 572 as shown in Fig. 5d; column 9, lines 5-38).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective fling date of the claimed invention to use Lyle’s invitation/acceptance method in Crocker, Goldman, and Mendiola’s virtual environment for improving user seating in virtual environments.
Conclusion
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178