DETAILED ACTION
1. This Final Office action is in reply to the Applicant amendment filed on 22 June 2026.
2. Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12, 15, 18, 19 have been amended.
3. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
In the previous office action, Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter (abstract idea). Applicants have not amended the claims to provide statutory support and the rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 22 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks regarding the 35 USC § 101 rejection for Claims 1-20, Applicant argues that: (1) the claims are not directed to an abstract idea, and even if they were, they would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Still commensurate to the two-part subject matter eligibility framework decision in the Federal court decision in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank International et al., (Alice), 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance (2019 PEG) and the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility (“October 2019 Update), and the new “July 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Examples, including on Artificial Intelligence”, and the Examiner details the maintained rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 in the below rejection with further explanation. Applicant argues that as amended, Applicant states, basically and broadly: “…the claims improve data segmentation technology, the additional elements interact with and impact the remaining limitations SO as to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, pursuant to MPEP §§2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a). Therefore, the claims are not directed to the judicial exception, and the claims are patent eligible at least at Step 2A Prong Two” (see Remarks/Arguments pages 7-10). However the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The core focus of the claims are directed to collecting, analyzing, and statistically summarizing data (mean, median, score distributions) and dynamically sorting a population into segments using rules and broadly recited machine learning. The broadly recited claims still recite:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations: The generation of statistical measures (mean, median) and tracking of mathematical correlations (odds-to-score relationships over time periods) rely fundamentally on mathematical calculations and relationships; and recites mathematical relationships, calculations, and statistics (score distributions, odds-to-score relationships, mean scores, and median scores).
Certain methods of organizing human activity –marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions): recites rules-based classification and managing categorization criteria (defining segment characteristics and adjusting segment composition based on predefined rules);
and Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion): recites evaluation, analysis, and judgment steps (executing an ML model to detect shifts, analyzing changes, and identifying population segments) that can conceptually be done by a human observer.
In summary as indicated below through Steps 1-2B, the recitation of a computer (a processor; machine learning (ML) model; computer program product comprising a non-transient machine-readable medium storing instructions) to perform the claim limitations amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using generic computer components. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. For at least these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant submits that: (2) Cohen et al. (Cohen) (US 2010/0125532) does not teach or suggest in amended and broadly recited representative Claim 1: generating, by the processor, segment profiles that include statistical measures for each identified segment based on the detected shifts, wherein the statistical measures include at least a mean score, a median score, and changes in the odds-to-score relationship, and in response to receiving new data in the dataset, adjusting by the processor and in real- time, the plurality of segments based on the detected shifts such that a composition of each segment satisfies segment criteria [see Remarks pages 10-11]. With regard to argument (2), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner maintains the rejection of the prior art of Cohen and has provided additional clarification and recitations from Cohen as: generating, by the processor, segment (elements) profiles (FIG. 3 is a flow chart of a computerized method 300 for determining an amount of capital to hold in reserve for a plurality of loan risk pools, according to an example embodiment. The method 300 includes scoring a plurality of loans 310, banding the plurality of loans into risk elements, such as risk pools, on the basis of the scores associated with the plurality of loans 312, and modeling the log odds associated with a plurality of loan scores as a linear function of the loan score 314) that include statistical measures (slope statistics) for each identified segment based on the detected shifts, wherein the statistical measures include at least a mean score, a median score (mean score), and changes in the odds-to-score relationship (odd to score relationship; In this model, the change in y-intercept of the linear function accounts for changes, including economic changes, that affect the relationship between a score and the natural log of the odds. The system also includes a fit component 110 for fitting the log of the odds to score relationship at several points in time. This fitting is used to obtain intercept and slope statistics for a number of points in time. The system 100 also includes a prediction component 130 for predicting the odds in a plurality of risk pools under current or future economic conditions using the predicted intercept from component 200 and the odds to score relationship. The system also includes a reserve level component 140 for setting a reserve level for at least one risk pool in a lending institution which has a plurality of risk pools of loans which they have given to borrowers) (see at least paragraphs 13-22, 29-34);
in response to receiving new data in the dataset, adjusting by the processor (the instruction 620 that causes the machine to relate the natural log of the odds associated to the loan scores to a probability of default for the plurality of risk pools includes further instructions to: adjust the slope and intercept based on the economic factors due to translation and rotation of the log odds to score relationship. The instructions 620 in this embodiment, consider both the rotational effect and translational effect to arrive at a prediction of how both the y-intercept and slope changes with respect to economic factors, such as GDP, unemployment rates, interest rates) and in real- time (The output 231 from the learning component 220 is a model that can be used with substantially real time economic data or a projection of economic data 240 to predict a shift in the y-intercept of a linear function relating the risk score on the pool of loans to the log odds on that pool of loans, that can then be translated into the probability of default in a plurality of banded risk pools of loans), the plurality of segments based on the detected shifts such that a composition of each segment satisfies segment criteria ( FIG. 4 shows a chart 400 that plots the PD (y-axis) with respect to the good: bad odds (x-axis), according to an example embodiment. The chart 400 includes a first or old PD 410 and a new PD 420. The new PD 420 is the result of shifting the linear log-odds to score line as discussed in the example above. Note that although this is a linear shift in the linear log-odds to score relationship, there is a non-linear relationship with respect to the PD) (see at least paragraphs 13-22, 34, 60). It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123. The Examiner has a duty and responsibility to the public and to Applicant to interpret the claims as broadly as reasonably possible during prosecution. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1 393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Broadly recited Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims as a whole recite certain grouping of an abstract idea and are analyzed in the following step process:
Step 1: Claims 1-20 are each focused to a statutory category of invention, namely “method; computer program product comprising a non-transient machine-readable medium storing instructions; system” sets.
Step 2A: Prong One: Claims 1-20 recite limitations that set forth the abstract ideas, namely, the claims as a whole recite the claimed invention as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim steps are directed to collecting, analyzing, and statistically summarizing data (mean, median, score distributions) and dynamically sorting a population into segments using rules and machine learning and recite steps for in representative Claim 1:
“maintaining, by a processor, a dataset comprising score distributions and odds-to-score relationships for a population over multiple time periods;
identifying, by the processor, a plurality of segments within the population based on predefined characteristics stored in a database, wherein the segments are updated in real-time based on predefined rules;
executing, by the processor, a machine learning (ML) model trained to detect shifts associated with each segment by analyzing changes in the score distribution or the odds-to-score relationships over the multiple time periods;
generating, by the processor, segment profiles that include statistical measures for each identified segment based on the detected shifts, wherein the statistical measures include at least a mean score, a median score, and changes in the odds-to-score relationship, and
in response to receiving new data in the dataset, adjusting by the processor and in real- time, the plurality of segments based on the detected shifts such that a composition of each segment satisfies segment criteria”
As detailed in the MPEP 2106 and commensurate to the two-part subject matter eligibility framework decision in the Federal court decision in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank International et al., (Alice), 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance (2019 PEG) and the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility (“October 2019 Update), and the new “July 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Examples, including on Artificial Intelligence”, the 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter. The 35 U.S.C. 101 Step 2A, Prong One analysis focuses on whether a claim recites a judicial exception by evaluating if it falls into one of three specific groupings: mathematical concepts, mental processes, or certain methods of organizing human activity. Based on the provided steps above, the analysis for Step 2A Prong One is as follows: The broadly recited claims still recite:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations: The generation of statistical measures (mean, median) and tracking of mathematical correlations (odds-to-score relationships over time periods) rely fundamentally on mathematical calculations and relationships; (score distributions, odds-to-score relationships, mean scores, and median scores).
Certain methods of organizing human activity –marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions): recites rules-based classification and managing categorization criteria (defining segment characteristics and adjusting segment composition based on predefined rules);
Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion): recites evaluation, analysis, and judgment steps (executing an ML model to detect shifts, analyzing changes, and identifying population segments) that can conceptually be done by a human observer.
Prong Two: Claims 1-20: With regard to this step of the analysis (as explained in MPEP § 2106.04(d)), the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1-20 recite additional elements directed to “a processor; machine learning (ML) model; computer program product comprising a non-transient machine-readable medium storing instructions” (e.g., see Applicants’ un-published Specification ¶’s 84-90). Therefore, the claims contain computer components that are cited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Simply implementing an abstract idea on a computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the dependent claims are merely directed to the particulars of the abstract idea and likewise do not add significantly more to the above-identified judicial exception. The limitations of the claims do not transform the abstract idea that they recite into patent-eligible subject matter because the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea using generally-recited computer components, and furthermore do not amount to an improvement to a computer or any other technology, and thus are ineligible. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) (h).
Step 2B: As explained in MPEP § 2106.05, Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea nor recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements of a “processor; machine learning (ML) model; computer program product comprising a non-transient machine-readable medium storing instructions” are generically-recited computer-related elements that amount to a mere instruction to “apply it” (the abstract idea) on the computer-related elements (see MPEP § 2106.05 (f) – Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). These additional elements in the claims are recited at a high level of generality and are merely limiting the field of use of the judicial exception (see MPEP §2106.05 (h) – Field of Use and Technological Environment). There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the function of a computer or improves any other technology. Furthermore, the dependent claims are merely directed to the particulars of the abstract idea and likewise do not add significantly more to the above-identified judicial exception. The limitations of the claims do not transform the abstract idea that they recite into patent-eligible subject matter because the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea using generally-recited computer components, and furthermore do not amount to an improvement to a computer or any other technology, and thus are ineligible.
The Examiner interprets that the steps of the claimed invention both individually and as an ordered combination result in Mere Instructions to Apply a Judicial Exception (see MPEP §2106.05 (f)). These claims recite only the idea of a solution or outcome with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism used for accomplishing the result. Here, the claims utilize a computer or other machinery (e.g., see Applicants’ un-published Specification ¶’s 84-90)) regarding using existing computer processors as well as program products comprising machine-readable media for carrying or having machine-executable instructions or data structures stored. “process 400” in its ordinary capacity for performing tasks (e.g., to receive, analyze, transmit and display data) and/or use computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice and certain methods of organization human activities) and does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Software implementations are accomplished with standard programming techniques with logic to perform connection steps, processing steps, comparison steps and decisions steps. These claims are directed to being a commonplace business method being applied on a general-purpose computer (see Alice Corp. Pty, Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 1357, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014)); Versata Dev. Group, Inc., v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 D.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) and require the use of software such as via a server to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer. Based on all these, Examiner finds that when viewed either individually or in combination, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) that raise to the high standards of eligibility to transform the abstract idea(s) into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea(s) such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea(s) itself. Accordingly, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea exception) without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Broadly recited Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (Cohen) (US 2010/0125532).
With regard to broadly recited Claims 1, 8, 15, Cohen teaches a computer-implemented method/ computer program/product comprising a non-transient machine-readable medium storing instructions/system (The term "data processing apparatus" encompasses all apparatus, devices, and machines for processing data, including by way of example a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple processors or computers. The apparatus can include, in addition to hardware, code that creates an execution environment for the computer program in question, e.g., code that constitutes processor firmware, a protocol stack, a database management system, an operating system, or a combination of them. A propagated signal is an artificially generated signal, e.g., a machine-generated electrical, optical, or electromagnetic signal, that is generated to encode information for transmission to suitable receiver apparatus) for dynamic data analysis and segmentation for performance monitoring within a population (Another term unique to the y-intercept, addresses shifts in the population odds that are not explained by changes in the score distribution. This term captures translations of the odds-to-score line up or down. This effect is also due to market and economic forces) (see at least paragraphs 46; 50-60), the method/ computer program product comprising a non-transient machine-readable medium storing instructions/system comprising:
a non-transient machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause a/the programmable processor to perform operations comprising (see at least paragraphs 50-60):
maintaining, by a processor, a dataset comprising score distributions and odds-to-score relationships (odd to score relationship; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a system 100 that is used to determine an amount of capital to hold in reserve for a plurality of loan risk pools, according to an example embodiment. The system 100 includes a first model component 120 for fitting the odds associated with the plurality of loan scores by using a linear function relating the natural log of the odds to a risk score. The system 100 also includes a second model component 200 for producing a model of the change in intercept over time as a function of a set of macro-economic data. In this model, the change in y-intercept of the linear function accounts for changes, including economic changes, that affect the relationship between a score and the natural log of the odds. The system also includes a fit component 110 for fitting the log of the odds to score relationship at several points in time. This fitting is used to obtain intercept and slope statistics for a number of points in time. The system 100 also includes a prediction component 130 for predicting the odds in a plurality of risk pools under current or future economic conditions using the predicted intercept from component 200 and the odds to score relationship) for a population (Another term unique to the y-intercept, addresses shifts in the population odds that are not explained by changes in the score distribution. This term captures translations of the odds-to-score line up or down. This effect is also due to market and economic forces) over multiple time periods (An estimate of .tau. is obtained by modeling the relationship between .tau. and the economy over time. Ultimately, this leaves the following tools to forecast the slope and intercept in the log odds to score relationship) (see at least paragraphs 13-22; 47-50);
identifying, by the processor, (FIG. 4 shows a chart 400 that plots the PD (y-axis) with respect to the good: bad odds (x-axis), according to an example embodiment. The chart 400 includes a first or old PD 410 and a new PD 420. The new PD 420 is the result of shifting the linear log-odds to score line as discussed in the example above. Note that although this is a linear shift in the linear log-odds to score relationship, there is a non-linear relationship with respect to the PD; Institutions under the Basel accord are also frequently required to calculate the amount of risk in each risk grade during a downturn. This can be calculated as follows: Given the model k({right arrow over (e)}), and the midpoint of each score range is found. Upon identifying an appropriate set of downturn economic conditions {right arrow over (e)}, generate the downturn PD in each risk bin as: ln(odds.sub.j)=ms.sub.j+k({right arrow over (e)}) PD.sub.j=1/(1+odds.sub.j) within the population based on predefined characteristics stored in a database (the Basel II Accord is to ensure that capital allocation is more sensitive to risk. In most banking institutions, banks divide each portfolio of loans into bands that are called Basel risk grades (bins). The population bands or Basel risk grades are frequently defined by binning accounts by a risk score band), wherein the segments are updated in real-time (The predictive component 230 has an output 231 which is used to determine a probability of default for a plurality of risk pools of loans. The output 231 from the learning component 220 is a model that can be used with substantially real time economic data or a projection of economic data 240 to predict a shift in the y-intercept of a linear function relating the risk score on the pool of loans to the log odds on that pool of loans, that can then be translated into the probability of default in a plurality of banded risk pools of loans) based on predefined rules (The model is found for the entire portfolio. The loans are graded by risk. The risk grades are defined by score bins, from a score developed via any methodology where the score has a log-linear relationship to the dichotomous target, such as using logistic regression, or Scorecard Module technology) (see at least paragraphs 9-10; 15-18; 34-40);
executing, by the processor, a machine learning (ML) model (FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example modeling component 200 used in at least one embodiment of the invention of the system 100. The modeling component 200 includes a learning component 220 and a predictive component 230. The learning component 220 processes historical data 210 and recognizes various patterns) trained to detect shifts (linear shifts) associated with each segment by analyzing changes in the score distribution or the odds-to-score relationships (log-odds to score relationship) over the multiple time periods (scoring a plurality of loans, and banding the plurality of loans into risk pools on the basis of the scores associated with the plurality of loans. The computerized method also includes modeling a change in y-intercept and slope of the natural log of the odds to the loan scores relationship, using that predicted log odds to calculate the probability of default for the plurality of risk pools over time as a function of a set of macro-economic data) (see at least paragraphs 9-15; Abstract);
generating, by the processor, segment (elements) profiles (FIG. 3 is a flow chart of a computerized method 300 for determining an amount of capital to hold in reserve for a plurality of loan risk pools, according to an example embodiment. The method 300 includes scoring a plurality of loans 310, banding the plurality of loans into risk elements, such as risk pools, on the basis of the scores associated with the plurality of loans 312, and modeling the log odds associated with a plurality of loan scores as a linear function of the loan score 314) that include statistical measures (slope statistics) for each identified segment based on the detected shifts, wherein the statistical measures include at least a mean score, a median score (mean score), and changes in the odds-to-score relationship (odd to score relationship; In this model, the change in y-intercept of the linear function accounts for changes, including economic changes, that affect the relationship between a score and the natural log of the odds. The system also includes a fit component 110 for fitting the log of the odds to score relationship at several points in time. This fitting is used to obtain intercept and slope statistics for a number of points in time. The system 100 also includes a prediction component 130 for predicting the odds in a plurality of risk pools under current or future economic conditions using the predicted intercept from component 200 and the odds to score relationship. The system also includes a reserve level component 140 for setting a reserve level for at least one risk pool in a lending institution which has a plurality of risk pools of loans which they have given to borrowers) (see at least paragraphs 13-22, 29-34);
in response to receiving new data in the dataset, adjusting by the processor (the instruction 620 that causes the machine to relate the natural log of the odds associated to the loan scores to a probability of default for the plurality of risk pools includes further instructions to: adjust the slope and intercept based on the economic factors due to translation and rotation of the log odds to score relationship. The instructions 620 in this embodiment, consider both the rotational effect and translational effect to arrive at a prediction of how both the y-intercept and slope changes with respect to economic factors, such as GDP, unemployment rates, interest rates) and in real- time (The output 231 from the learning component 220 is a model that can be used with substantially real time economic data or a projection of economic data 240 to predict a shift in the y-intercept of a linear function relating the risk score on the pool of loans to the log odds on that pool of loans, that can then be translated into the probability of default in a plurality of banded risk pools of loans), the plurality of segments based on the detected shifts such that a composition of each segment satisfies segment criteria ( FIG. 4 shows a chart 400 that plots the PD (y-axis) with respect to the good: bad odds (x-axis), according to an example embodiment. The chart 400 includes a first or old PD 410 and a new PD 420. The new PD 420 is the result of shifting the linear log-odds to score line as discussed in the example above. Note that although this is a linear shift in the linear log-odds to score relationship, there is a non-linear relationship with respect to the PD) (see at least paragraphs 13-22, 34, 60).
With regard to Claims 2, 9, 16, Cohen teaches wherein the ML model is trained by applying a dimension reduction technique to select relevant features, and to analyze the shifts in the score distribution and the odds-to-score relationships over the multiple time periods (see at least paragraphs 9-15; Abstract).
With regard to Claims 3, 10, 17, Cohen teaches a threshold-based filtering process to exclude segments that do not meet minimum criteria, the criteria including at least segment size, percentage of a total population, raw count of sample records, score range, and number of unique score values (see at least paragraphs 13-22).
With regard to Claims 4, 11, 18, Cohen teaches wherein identifying the plurality of segments comprises using a consistent segment definition across time periods to determine the composition of the plurality of segments at each time period and track shifts in the composition of the plurality of segments (see at least paragraphs 13-22, 43; Abstract).
With regard to Claims 5, 12, 19, Cohen teaches wherein identifying the plurality of segments comprises using a consistent population definition across time periods to identify a group of individuals at a user-specified point in time and track shifts in performance metrics for the plurality of segments across the multiple time periods (see at least paragraphs 13-22, 43; Abstract).
With regard to Claims 6, 13, 20, Cohen teaches further comprising optimizing, by the processor, the execution of the ML model by utilizing parallel processing across multiple processing units to enhance efficiency in high-dimensional parameter spaces (see at least paragraphs 13-22).
With regard to Claims 7, 14, Cohen teaches wherein the ML model includes executing, by the processor, a subroutine to quantify a vertical shift of an odds-to-score fitted line and changes in its slope by calculating a regression model for the odds-to-score relationship over specified time periods (see at least paragraphs 13-22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Sainani et al. (US 11,636,397)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THOMAS L. MANSFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/THOMAS L MANSFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624