Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 10/14/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the respective claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 12120775 and 11178725. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely slightly broader versions of the ‘775 and ‘725 patents. Specifically, the ‘775 and ‘725 claims include details regarding ATSSS, which are absent from the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites the limitation "the data notification message". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 8-14, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youn (US 20210219371 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Youn discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by an access and mobility management function (AMF) [fig. 13 “AMF”] from a session management function (SMF) [fig. 13 “SMF”], a first request to activate user plane resources of an access network type from among multiple access network types of a multi access (MA) packet data unit (PDU) session of a wireless device (A request is sent from the SMF to AMF to activate UPF of AN, where MA-PDU sessions are used [fig. 13 no. 1-3a, par. 0229-235, 080, 222-223]), wherein the first request comprises an indication of the access network type, from among the multiple access network types (The request includes AN info to which the signaling is to be transmitted (i.e., from among multiple) [fig. 13 no. 3a, par. 0236, 222-223]); and
transmitting, by the AMF to the SMF, a response to the first request, wherein the response comprises a cause indicating that the AMF attempts to reach the wireless device (The AMF responds with “Attempting to reach UE” [fig. 13 no. 3b, par. 0239-240]).
Regarding claim 8, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Youn further discloses an access and mobility management function (AMF) [fig. 7 “AMF”].
Regarding claim 15, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in CRM claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Youn further discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable medium [fig. 7 “AMF” (inherent)] comprising instructions [fig. 11-12].
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Youn discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Youn further discloses:
wherein the transmitting the response is performed if the AMF is able to page the wireless device [par. 0239].
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Youn discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Youn further discloses:
wherein the transmitting the response is performed if the wireless device is in an idle state [par. 0239].
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 19, Youn discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Youn further discloses:
wherein the MA PDU session comprises one or more PDU sessions associated with one or more access network types [par. 0219, 226, 142].
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 20, Youn discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Youn further discloses wherein the multiple access network types comprise:
a third generation partnership project (3GPP) access network [fig. 6 “3GPP Access”, par. 0078, 142]; and
a non-3GPP access network [fig. 6 “Non-3GPP Access”, par. 0078, 142].
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Youn discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Youn further discloses:
further comprising sending, to the SMF, a second request to establish the MA PDU session (Update request (i.e., second request) [fig. 9B “… Session Update … Context Request”], as well as continued establishment of session through commands (i.e., “requests”) [fig. 13 no. 5]).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Youn discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Youn further discloses wherein the first request comprises:
an identifier of the MA PDU session (PDU Session ID [par. 0234]); and
access information associated with a child session of the MA PDU session (At least common S-NSSAI [par. 0233-237, 128-134, 142-143]).
Regarding claim 18, Youn discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Youn further discloses wherein the data notification message comprises:
access information associated with the MA PDU session, wherein the access information comprises the access network type [par. 0236]; and
an identifier or a session between the SMF and the UPF associated with the MA PDU session [par. 0234-237, fig. 9 “UPF”].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465