DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 4-8, and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,146,600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 12,146,600. Furthermore, as best understood, U.S. Patent No. 12,146,600 discloses the use of tapered segments.
Claims 2, 4-8, and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,022,250. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 11,022,250. Furthermore, as best understood, U.S. Patent No. 11,022,250 discloses the use of tapered segments.
Claims 2, 4-8, and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,571,064. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 10,571,064. Furthermore, as best understood, U.S. Patent No. 10,571,064 discloses the use of tapered segments.
Claims 2, 4-8, and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 9,470,353. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 9,470,353. Furthermore, as best understood, U.S. Patent No. 9,470,353 discloses the use of tapered segments.
Claims 2, 4-8, and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25-30 of U.S. Patent No. 8,596,918. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 8,596,918. Furthermore, as best understood, U.S. Patent No. 8,596,918 discloses the use of tapered segments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Luksch (US 5,076,731).
As to claim 2, Luksch discloses a pipe splitting assembly comprising:
an expander cone 2;
a splitter body 3 coupled in front of the expander cone, the splitter body including a cable passage in a front end of the splitter body, wherein the splitter body includes a threaded connection 12 at a front end to couple to a pilot segment 11, wherein the cable passage passes through an interior of the threaded connection 12, and is spaced laterally apart from the threaded connection; and
one or more splitter blades (4,5) located along a length of the splitter body and extending radially from the splitter body, the one or more splitter blades including cutting portions.
As to claim 4, Luksch discloses wherein the one or more splitter blades (4,5)
include removable blades (see col. 4, lines 42-44, “detachably”).
As to claim 5, Luksch discloses wherein the removable blades include
multiple blades (4,5).
As to claim 7, Luksch discloses further including a pneumatic hammer (i.e. impact ram, see col. 2, lines 18-19) coupled behind the expander cone.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As stated above, Luksch discloses wherein the splitter body includes a threaded connection 12 at a front end to couple to a pilot segment 11, wherein the cable passage passes through an interior of the threaded connection 12, and is spaced laterally apart from the threaded connection. Applicant argues that Luksch discloses a threaded bolt 12 integrated in cable 6 and the cable appears to directly interact with the threads of the nut 11 without any separate passage. Luksch, see figure 1, clearly shows a threaded bolt 12. Such threaded bolt, clearly appears to be a form of hollow bolt, as the cable 6 clearly passes through the interior of the threaded bolt 12. Furthermore, such passage is considered spaced laterally apart from the threaded connection (i.e. exterior threads of bolt 12).
The double patenting rejection stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678