DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,935,162. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 10,935,162 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,346,464. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 11,346,464 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,674,616. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 11,674,616 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,140,250 in view of Preston et al. (5,653,554). US Patent No. 12,140,250 claims similar limitations to the current application with the exception of a deforming die. Preston discloses running a die through a pipe before removal of the pipe (5,653,554). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,140,250 to include a deforming die in order to pre-form the pipe as taught by Preston. Therefore, the claims 1-8 to the current application are not patently distinct from the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,140,250.
Claims 9-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,140,250. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 12,140,250 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedone (4,006,521) in view of Preston et al. (5,653,554).
With regard to claim 1, Pedone discloses a method of pipe extraction (abstract), comprising: coupling a puller (32) to a first end (21) of the pipe (via 25); coupling the puller to a second end (23) of the pipe (via 17) ; and pulling the pipe from the ground, applying an extraction force at both the first end and the second end of the pipe (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 11-48).
Pedone is silent regarding forcing a deforming die through a pipe to loosen the pipe from the surrounding soil.
Preston discloses method of pipe extraction wherein a deforming die through a pipe to loosen the pipe from the surrounding soil (col. 4, lines 53-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pedone and utilize a deforming die as taught in Preston, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to pre-form the pipe prior to removal.
With regard to claim 2, Pedone, as modified, further discloses pulling the deforming die through the pipe with a cable (Preston, col. 4, lines 53-55).
With regard to claim 8, Pedone further discloses pulling in a new pipe (12) as the old pipe is removed from the ground (abstract).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedone (4,006,521) in view of Preston et al. (5,653,554), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bergey (5,076,730).
With regard to claim 3, Pedone, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding pushing the deforming die through the pipe with a directional drill.
Bergey discloses pushing a deforming die (1) with a directional drill (col. 3, lines 38-49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pedone and utilize a directional drive to drive the device as taught in Bergey, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to further control the deforming die.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedone (4,006,521) in view of Preston et al. (5,653,554), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tjader (2007/0036613).
With regard to claims 5-6, Pedone, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a die that includes one or more hardened inserts one or more bronze alloy inserts.
Tjader discloses a device for deforming pipes comprising hardened inserts (118).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pedone and utilize hardened inserts as taught in Tjader, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to place further pressure on the pipe.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a bronze alloy, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedone (4,006,521) in view of Preston et al. (5,653,554), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dusette et al. (4,457,647).
With regard to claim 7, Pedone, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding lubricating and forcing the deforming die.
Dusette discloses a deforming die (20) that utilizes lubrication (col. 6, lines 1-15)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pedone and lubricate the die as taught in Dusetter, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce friction of the die.
Claim(s) 9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedone (4,006,521) in view of Preston et al. (5,653,554) and Reynolds (4,148,445).
With regard to claim 9, Pedone discloses a method of pipe extraction (abstract), comprising: pulling a first end (21) and a second end (23) of the pipe concurrently to pull the pipe from the ground (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 11-48).
Pedone is silent regarding forcing a deforming die through a pipe to loosen the pipe from the surrounding soil and winding extracted pipe around a drum.
Preston discloses method of pipe extraction wherein a deforming die through a pipe to loosen the pipe from the surrounding soil (col. 4, lines 53-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pedone and utilize a deforming die as taught in Preston, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to pre-form the pipe prior to removal.
Reynolds discloses winding a retrieved pipe (P) around a drum (R).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pedone and wind the pipe on a drum as taught in Reynolds, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently store the extracted pipe.
With regard to claim 12, Pedone further discloses pulling a first end and a second end of the pipe includes pulling at least one cable (e.g. 32).
With regard to claim 13, Pedone further discloses pulling a first end and a second end of the pipe includes pulling two cables (e.g. 16/18) concurrently, wherein a first cable is coupled to the first end of the pipe, and a second cable is coupled to the second end of the pipe (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 14, Pedone further discloses pulling in a new pipe (12) as the extracted pipe is removed from the ground (abstract).
With regard to claim 15, Pedone further discloses removing (“dispensing”) the extracted pipe from the drum.
With regard to claim 16, Pedone further discloses winding includes driving with a hydraulic motor (26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10-11 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action is/are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the dependent claim(s). Methods of pipe extraction are known such as those taught by Pedone and Preston et al. as discussed above. However, the cited prior art lacks a deforming die that contains a deforming cylinder portion coupled between a leading end cylinder portion and a trailing end cylinder portion as well as the pulling force of on the first end being controlled separately from a pulling force on the second end as required by the dependent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
2/19/2026