DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al.
Regarding claim 1, Song et al teach a substrate assembly for an optical sensor module, the substrate assembly comprising: a light-emitting device (111) mounted on a first region of a substrate (10); a metal shielding assembly (14) comprising a first metal shielding assembled to the substrate over the first region; and wherein the first metal shielding comprises a first opening (141) providing an optical path for light emitted by the light-emitting device, the first opening being dimensioned such that the light emitting device can be inserted through (Figures 10 and 11 shows the dimension of element 111 can be inserted from 141) the first opening inside the first metal shielding.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Song et al does not teach “assembled to the substrate”. The term assembled to is defined, according to Merriam Webster, as fit together the parts of. In this instance, Song et al is understood to teach a first metal shielding assembled to the substrate.
Applicant further argues Song et al does not teach “the first opening being dimensioned such that the light-emitting device can be inserted through the first opening inside the first metal shielding”. Claim 1 does not require the light emitting device being inserted, while it only requires the dimension is so that light emitting device can be inserted. Song et al teaches at least the 2D dimension of the light emitting device is smaller than the opening therefore it has been concluded the light emitting device can be inserted through the aperture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are allowed.
Claims 2-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK