DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to application filed on 10/14/2024. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5-8, 11-12, 16-17, and 20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 5, 11, 16, and 20 each recite “weight of the target vehicle”. While the scope of the claim(s) is reasonably ascertainable, the examiner suggests amending to “a weight of the target vehicle” for grammatical clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 13-15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 20230234587 A1).
Regarding claim 1, and similarly claim 13, Ito teaches An autonomous driving control apparatus comprising:
a memory (see “ROM”, [0054] citation below) configured to store computer-executable instructions; and
at least one processor (“The ECU 90 includes a microcomputer as a main component. The microcomputer includes a CPU, a ROM, a RAM, a non-volatile memory, and an interface. The CPU is configured or programmed to realize various functions by executing instructions, programs, and routines stored in the ROM. In particular, a vehicle driving assistance program of executing a driving assistance control described later in detail as one of automatic driving controls or autonomous driving controls, is stored in the ROM, and the CPU executes the driving assistance control by executing the vehicle driving assistance program.”, [0034]) configured, by executing the computer-executable instructions by accessing the memory, to
identify at least one of a first driving status of a target vehicle, a second driving status of a forward vehicle driving around the target vehicle, a state of a driver of the target vehicle, energy consumption predicted according to information about a front road, or any combination thereof (“When the vehicle moving speed setting switch is operated while the moving assistance control is executed, a signal is sent from the moving assistance operator 51 to the ECU 90. When the ECU 90 receives the signal in question, the ECU 90 sets the current own vehicle moving speed V1 as a set speed Vset which is used by the moving assistance control.”, [0084], see also Figs. 5, 12-14), and
control the target vehicle in a first control mode, based on at least one of the first driving status, the second driving status, the state of the driver of the target vehicle, the energy consumption, or any combination thereof, wherein in the first control mode, a speed of the target vehicle follows a target speed section including a goal speed (“The ordinary constant speed acceleration control is a control to (i) calculate and acquire the driving torque to be output from the driving apparatus 21 so as to maintain the own vehicle moving speed V1 at the set speed Vset.”, [0161], see also Figs. 5, 12-14).
Regarding claim 2, and similarly claim 14, Ito teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
identify the first driving status based on at least one of the goal speed received from the driver, a goal distance, the speed of target vehicle, map information of the front road obtained from a navigation of the target vehicle, information of a brake pedal sensor (BPS) of the target vehicle, or any combination thereof, wherein the goal distance is received together with the goal speed and is a keeping distance between the forward vehicle and the target vehicle (“When the vehicle moving speed setting switch is operated while the moving assistance control is executed, a signal is sent from the moving assistance operator 51 to the ECU 90. When the ECU 90 receives the signal in question, the ECU 90 sets the current own vehicle moving speed V1 as a set speed Vset which is used by the moving assistance control.”, [0084]);
identify the second driving status including a distance between the target vehicle and the forward vehicle based on at least one of a RADAR sensor, a LiDAR sensor, or any combination thereof, wherein the RADAR sensor, the LiDAR sensor, or any combination thereof is included in the target vehicle (“proceeds with the process to a step 530 to determine whether there is the preceding vehicle 200F”, [0189], “The ECU 90 acquires the inter-vehicle distance D between the preceding vehicle 200F and the own vehicle 100 and a preceding vehicle moving speed V2, i.e., a moving speed of the preceding vehicle 200F, based on the surrounding detection information IS”, [0101], “The radio wave sensor 61 is a sensor which detects information on objects around the own vehicle 100 by using radio waves. The radio wave sensor 61 may include a radar sensor such as a millimeter wave radar, or a sonic sensor such as an ultrasonic sensor such as a clearance sonar, or an optical sensor such as a laser radar such as a LiDAR.”, [0098], see also Fig. 12 and [0100]);
determine second control torque of a second control mode, based on at least one of the first driving status, the second driving status, or any combination thereof, wherein in the second control mode, the speed of the target vehicle follows the goal speed (“The ordinary following acceleration control is a control to (i) calculate and acquire the driving torque to be output from the driving apparatus 21 so as to maintain the predicted reaching time TTC at the predetermined predicted reaching time TTCref, (ii) set the acquired driving torque as the system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req, and (iii) cause the driving apparatus 21 to output the driving torque corresponding to the set system request driving torque TQ1sys_req.”, [0149], see also Fig. 13).; and
control the target vehicle such that the speed of the target vehicle follows the goal speed, by applying the second control torque to the target vehicle (see [0149] citation above and Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, and similarly claim 18, Ito teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
release the first control mode applied to the target vehicle (see “execute an ordinary following acceleration control”, [0148] citation below); and
control the target vehicle in the second control mode based on the target vehicle (“when the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 proceeds with the process to the step 1305, the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 determines whether the ordinary following acceleration condition C3 is satisfied. When the ordinary following acceleration condition C3 is satisfied, the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 determines “Yes” at the step 1305 and proceeds with the process to a step 1310 to execute an ordinary following acceleration control.”, [0148]),
wherein the first control mode is applied to the target vehicle, satisfying an inverse conversion condition that a control mode of the target vehicle is capable of being converted from the first control mode to the second control mode (“When there is the preceding vehicle 200F, the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 determines “Yes” at the step 1205 and proceeds with the process to a step 1210 to execute the ordinary following control by executing the routine shown in FIG. 13. Thus, when the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 proceeds with the process to the step 1210, the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 starts a process from a step 1300 of the routine shown in FIG. 13 and proceeds with the process to a step 1305.”, [0146]), and
wherein the inverse conversion condition is determined by the first driving status, the second driving status, and the state of the driver (Figs. 2, 5, 11-13).
Regarding claim 3, and similarly claim 15, Ito teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine a first prediction area, wherein the first prediction area is an area where the forward vehicle is capable of being identified by at least one of a RADAR sensor, a LiDAR sensor, or any combination thereof, and the RADAR sensor, the LiDAR sensor, or any combination thereof is included in the target vehicle (“The radio wave sensor 61 is a sensor which detects information on objects around the own vehicle 100 by using radio waves. The radio wave sensor 61 may include a radar sensor such as a millimeter wave radar, or a sonic sensor such as an ultrasonic sensor such as a clearance sonar, or an optical sensor such as a laser radar such as a LiDAR.”, [0098]);
determine a second prediction area, wherein the second prediction area is an area spaced from a location of the target vehicle by a predetermined distance in map information of the front road obtained from a navigation of the target vehicle (“the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 calculates and acquires the consumed energy amount of the driving apparatus 21 for moving the own vehicle 100 by the ordinary following control, based on the size of the preceding vehicle 200F, the predicted inter-vehicle distance D, and the predicted own vehicle moving speed V1.”, [0201], “as shown in FIG. 15, the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 previously stores a map or a look-up table for each kind of the preceding vehicle 200F for acquiring the consumed energy amount of the driving apparatus 21, based on the inter-vehicle distance D and the own vehicle moving speed V1. Therefore, the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 selects the map corresponding to the kind of the preceding vehicle 200F and acquires the consumed energy amount of the driving apparatus 21 for moving the own vehicle 100 by the ordinary following control by integrating the consumed energy amounts acquired by applying the inter-vehicle distance D and the own vehicle moving speed V1 predicted as described above to the selected map.”, [0202]); and
control the target vehicle in the first control mode based on the second driving status and the predicted energy consumption, wherein the second driving status is obtained through the first prediction area (“proceeds with the process to a step 530 to determine whether there is the preceding vehicle 200F”, [0189], “The ECU 90 acquires the inter-vehicle distance D between the preceding vehicle 200F and the own vehicle 100 and a preceding vehicle moving speed V2, i.e., a moving speed of the preceding vehicle 200F, based on the surrounding detection information IS”, [0101], “The radio wave sensor 61 is a sensor which detects information on objects around the own vehicle 100 by using radio waves. The radio wave sensor 61 may include a radar sensor such as a millimeter wave radar, or a sonic sensor such as an ultrasonic sensor such as a clearance sonar, or an optical sensor such as a laser radar such as a LiDAR.”, [0098], see also Fig. 12 and [0100]), and the predicted energy consumption is obtained through the second prediction area (“the optimum acceleration control may be a control to autonomously accelerate the own vehicle 100 by operating the driving apparatus 21 with an optimum consumed energy amount including the smallest consumed energy amount and the consumed energy amount slightly greater than the smallest consumed energy amount.”, [0116]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20230234587 A1) in view of Ishii (US 20250083656 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ito teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine at least one of a distance between the target vehicle and the forward vehicle, a relative speed between the target vehicle and the forward vehicle, or any combination thereof by identifying the forward vehicle in the first prediction area (“As shown in FIG. 2, the inter-vehicle distance D is a distance between the own vehicle 100 and the preceding vehicle 200F and is acquired, based on surrounding detection information IS described later in detail.”, [0087], “The ECU 90 acquires the inter-vehicle distance D between the preceding vehicle 200F and the own vehicle 100 and a preceding vehicle moving speed V2, i.e., a moving speed of the preceding vehicle 200F, based on the surrounding detection information IS.”, [0087]);
control the target vehicle in the first control mode based on at least one of the distance between the target vehicle and the forward vehicle, the relative speed between the target vehicle and the forward vehicle, the gradient of the front road, the curvature of the front road, or any combination thereof (“when the ECU 90 receives the requested inter-vehicle distance signal, the ECU 90 sets a set inter-vehicle distance Dset, based on the current own vehicle moving speed V1 and the requested inter-vehicle distance Dreq. In this regard, the ECU 90 may be configured to set the set inter-vehicle distance Dset, based on the requested inter-vehicle distance Dreq, independently of the current own vehicle moving speed V1.”, [0088], see also [0107]).
However, Ishii teaches
determine at least one of a gradient of the front road, curvature of the front road, or any combination thereof based on the map information in the second prediction area (“The external recognition information acquisition unit 101 is configured to acquire the external environment information of the vehicle 1 that is travel path information, such as travel path coordinates or travel path curvature, by using the camera, the radar, the map or the GPS (external recognition device 10).”, [0040], “The target vehicle speed calculation unit 103 uses, for example, a travel path curvature Kp and given target lateral acceleration YGp (e.g., the presumed road surface μ multiplied by coefficient G) to calculate target vehicle speed Vp, as expressed by Mathematical formula (1) below.”, [0042]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Ito with the teachings of Ishii such that the controlling the target vehicle in the first control mode is further based on a curvature of the front road, as suggested by Ishii, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase safety and comfort to an occupant by decreasing the vehicle speed as the vehicle approaches a curve, as suggested by Ishii [0009].
Claim(s) 5, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20230234587 A1) in view of Park (US 20180297578 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 20250018942 A1).
Regarding claim 5, and similarly claim 16, Ito teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine first control torque of the first control mode based on at least one of the first driving status, the second driving status, the state of the driver, or any combination thereof (“The ordinary constant speed acceleration control is a control to (i) calculate and acquire the driving torque to be output from the driving apparatus 21 so as to maintain the own vehicle moving speed V1 at the set speed Vset, (ii) set the acquired driving torque as the system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req, and (iii) cause the driving apparatus 21 to output the driving torque corresponding to the set system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req.”, [0161]); and
control the target vehicle such that the speed of the target vehicle follows the target speed section, by applying the first control torque to the target vehicle (see [0161] citation above and Fig. 14).
However, Park teaches
identify the state of the driver based on an acceleration/deceleration tendency of the driver determined repeatedly for a predetermined period of time (“The driver acceleration/deceleration prediction module 130 of the processor 170 learns an acceleration/deceleration prediction model according to the driving style by utilizing machine learning scheme and yields a predicted value of the driver's near-future acceleration/deceleration intention reflecting the driving environment of the vehicle and the driving style by utilizing the acceleration/deceleration prediction model.”, [0068], “the hybrid controller 140 can obtain the predicted torque as a function of the predicted value of the near-future acceleration/deceleration intention, and can calculate the predicted speed as a function of the current pedal sensor value, the predicted value of the near-future acceleration/deceleration intention, and the current speed. That is, the predicted speed can be obtained by adding the speed change amount obtained by the difference between the future pedal operation state and the current pedal operation state to the current speed sensed by the vehicle speed sensor 111.”, [0101], Figs. 6A-6B, see also [0025]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Ito with the teachings of Park such that the driving information of Ito is stored and used to control a speed of a target vehicle, as suggested by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to use the stored driving information for future vehicle predictions, as taught by Park [0025].
Further, Suzuki teaches
identify the first driving status based on weight of the target vehicle determined based on at least one of acceleration of the target vehicle, the speed of the target vehicle, longitudinal acceleration of the target vehicle, a wheel speed of the target vehicle, or any combination thereof (“The weight calculation unit M11 uses the following expression 3 to calculate the weight m of the vehicle 10 from the thrusts FL, FR of the drive wheels 21, 22 and the acceleration u in the traveling direction of the vehicle.”, [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Ito in view of Park with the teachings of Suzuki such that the first driving status of Ito is based on a weight of the target vehicle determined by an acceleration of the vehicle, as suggested by Suzuki, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would achieve the predictable result of calculating a torque of the target vehicle based on a weight of the vehicle, which was a well-known practice at the time of filing, as suggested by Suzuki [0022-0023]. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 12, Ito in view of Park and Suzuki teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 5, and Ito further teaches wherein the target vehicle includes an electric vehicle configured to move by applying the first control torque to a drive motor (“The driving apparatus 21 is an apparatus which outputs a driving force or a driving torque to be applied to the own vehicle 100 to move the same. In this embodiment, the driving apparatus 21 includes two power sources, i.e., a first power source 211 and a second power source 212. The first power source 211 and the second power source 212 have different power output properties. For example, the first power source 211 is an internal combustion engine, and the second power source 212 is at least one electric motor.”, [0059]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20230234587 A1) in view of Park (US 20180297578 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 20250018942 A1) in view of Fallah (“The car that slows down for speed cameras”).
Regarding claim 6, Ito in view of Park and Suzuki teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
release the first control mode applied to the target vehicle by identifying an external device configured to detect a speed at a predetermined distance based on a location of the target vehicle from the first driving status.
However, Fallah teaches
release the first control mode applied to the target vehicle by identifying an external device configured to detect a speed at a predetermined distance based on a location of the target vehicle from the first driving status (“We tested this system in Seoul last week by having the active cruise control set to 150km/h and allowing the car’s computers to take full control of the Genesis’ speed. The onboard computers used GPS data to gradually slow the car down to match the 100km/h speed camera zone from around 800m before the speed camera’s location, only to resume the set speed once the camera was passed.”, pg. 1, last two paragraphs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Ito in view of Park and Suzuki with the teachings of Fallah such that the first control mode of Ito is released by identifying an external device configured to detect a speed of the target vehicle, as suggested by Fallah, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be because “the car’s ability to slow itself down should help reduce the number of accidents and allow the driver to concentrate on driving rather than focusing so thoroughly on the vehicle’s speed” (pg. 2, last paragraph), as taught by Fallah.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20230234587 A1) in view of Park (US 20180297578 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 20250018942 A1) in view of Wada (US 20190071085 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ito in view of Park and Suzuki teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
However, Wada teaches
release the first control mode applied to the target vehicle by identifying that the distance between the forward vehicle and the target vehicle is smaller than or equal to a predetermined distance from the second driving status (“a terminating distance DC is set which is a distance for the individual controller Hm (transport vehicle 2) to terminate (end) the vehicle following mode F. So, the vehicle following mode F is terminated if the inter-vehicle distance D between a transport vehicle (transport vehicle 2R traveling behind) and a transport vehicle 2F traveling ahead of it becomes less than, or equal to, the terminating distance DC.”, [0048]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Ito in view of Park and Suzuki with the teachings of Wada such that the first control mode of Ito is released when a distance between the forward vehicle and the target vehicle is smaller than or equal to a predetermined distance, as suggested by Wada, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to decrease the possibility of collision and increase occupant comfort by not allowing the target vehicle to travel within a threshold distance of the forward vehicle.
Claim(s) 10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20230234587 A1) in view of Park (US 20180297578 A1).
Regarding claim 10, and similarly claim 19, Ito teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
identify driving information for determining a driving tendency of the driver based on at least one of the first driving status, the second driving status, or any combination thereof not being identified (“the own vehicle 100 is installed with an accelerator pedal 41, an accelerator pedal operation amount sensor 42, a brake pedal 43, a brake pedal operation amount sensor 44, a steering wheel 45, a steering angle sensor 46, a steering torque sensor 47, a vehicle moving speed detection apparatus 48”, [0065], see also [0065] and Fig. 5);
However, Park teaches
store an acceleration/deceleration tendency of the driver obtained from the driving information in the target vehicle at a predetermined time interval (“The driver acceleration/deceleration prediction module 130 of the processor 170 learns an acceleration/deceleration prediction model according to the driving style by utilizing machine learning scheme and yields a predicted value of the driver's near-future acceleration/deceleration intention reflecting the driving environment of the vehicle and the driving style by utilizing the acceleration/deceleration prediction model.”, [0068], “the hybrid controller 140 can obtain the predicted torque as a function of the predicted value of the near-future acceleration/deceleration intention, and can calculate the predicted speed as a function of the current pedal sensor value, the predicted value of the near-future acceleration/deceleration intention, and the current speed. That is, the predicted speed can be obtained by adding the speed change amount obtained by the difference between the future pedal operation state and the current pedal operation state to the current speed sensed by the vehicle speed sensor 111.”, [0101], Figs. 6A-6B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Ito with the teachings of Park such that the driving information of Ito is stored, as suggested by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to use the stored driving information for future vehicle predictions, as taught by Park [0025].
Claim(s) 11, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20230234587 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 20250018942 A1).
Regarding claim 11, and similarly claim 20, Ito teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain first control torque of the first control mode by applying the first driving status, the second driving status, the state of the driver, (“The ordinary constant speed acceleration control is a control to (i) calculate and acquire the driving torque to be output from the driving apparatus 21 so as to maintain the own vehicle moving speed V1 at the set speed Vset, (ii) set the acquired driving torque as the system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req, and (iii) cause the driving apparatus 21 to output the driving torque corresponding to the set system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req.”, [0161], “The optimum acceleration control is a control to autonomously accelerate the own vehicle 100 by calculating and acquiring an optimum driving torque, setting the acquired optimum driving torque as a system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req, and causing the driving apparatus 21 to output the driving torque corresponding to the system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req. The optimum driving torque is the driving torque which realizes a greatest energy efficiency of the driving apparatus 21 or an energy efficiency of the driving apparatus 21 close to the greatest energy efficiency, depending on the current own vehicle moving speed V1.”, [0111], “when the accelerator pedal 41 is released, and the driver requested driving torque TQ1drv_req becomes equal to or smaller than the system requested driving torque TQ1sys_req, the vehicle driving assistance apparatus 10 restarts to execute the ordinary following control.”, [0157]); and
control the target vehicle such that the speed of the target vehicle follows the target speed section, by applying the first control torque to the target vehicle (see [0161] citation above and Fig. 14).
However, Suzuki teaches
weight of the target vehicle (“The weight calculation unit M11 uses the following expression 3 to calculate the weight m of the vehicle 10 from the thrusts FL, FR of the drive wheels 21, 22 and the acceleration u in the traveling direction of the vehicle.”, [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Ito in view of Park with the teachings of Suzuki such that the first control torque of Ito is further based on a weight of the target vehicle, as suggested by Suzuki, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would achieve the predictable result of calculating a torque of the target vehicle based on a weight of the vehicle, which was a well-known practice at the time of filing, as suggested by Suzuki [0022-0023]. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Double Patenting
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,565,209 (03/03/2026 issue date). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,565,209 (03/03/2026 issue date) in view of Glissmeyer (US 20250206303 A1). The reference claim anticipates all of the limitations of the instant claim except for the limitations regarding the “memory” and the “at least one processor”, where the reference claims recite a “controller”. Glissmeyer teaches a “controller includes a processor and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to perform a set of operations” (Abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the “memory” and the “at least one processor” of the instant claim are an obvious variation of the “controller” of the reference claim.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,650,600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-9, 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,650,600 in view of Glissmeyer (US 20250206303 A1). The reference claims anticipate all of the limitations of the instant claim except for the limitations regarding the “memory” and the “at least one processor”, where the reference claim recites a “controller”. Glissmeyer teaches a “controller includes a processor and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to perform a set of operations” (Abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the “memory” and the “at least one processor” of the instant claim are an obvious variation of the “controller” of the reference claim.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18 of copending Application No. 18/054,384 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other the reference claims anticipate the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18 of copending Application No. 18/054,384 in view of Glissmeyer (US 20250206303 A1). The reference claims anticipate all of the limitations of the instant claim except for the limitations regarding the “memory” and the “at least one processor”, where the reference claim recites a “controller”. Glissmeyer teaches a “controller includes a processor and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to perform a set of operations” (Abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the “memory” and the “at least one processor” of the instant claim are an obvious variation of the “controller” of the reference claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Dependent claims inherent the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the double patenting rejections set forth in this Office action are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there is no prior art alone or in combination that discloses or teaches all the limitations of Applicant's claimed invention, including, and in combination with other recited limitations,
determine sensitivity of an inverse conversion condition that a control mode of the target vehicle is capable of being converted from the first control mode to the second control mode, based on an external device configured to detect a speed at a predetermined distance being identified based on a location of the target vehicle, or the distance between the forward vehicle and the target vehicle being smaller than or equal to a predetermined distance; and
control the target vehicle such that the speed of the target vehicle follows the target speed section, by applying the first control torque, to which the sensitivity is reflected, to the target vehicle, wherein the first control mode is applied to the target vehicle (claim(s) 8, 17).
The closest prior art of record includes the following:
Regarding claim 8, Ito in view of Park and Suzuki teaches The autonomous driving control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
Regarding claim 17, Ito in view of Park and Suzuki teaches The method of claim 16, wherein controlling the target vehicle in the first control mode includes:
Regarding the two “releasing the first control mode…” of claim 17, these limitations are similar to limitations of claims 6 and 7. The concepts of the two “releasing the first control mode…” of claim 17 are thus similarly taught by Fallah and Suzuki, as described above in the 35 USC 103 section of this Office action. Discussion is omitted for brevity.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See Notice of References Cited.
/AMELIA VORCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666