DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,118,235 in view of Chu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,249,646).
Instant Application claim
U.S. Patent No. 12,118,235 claim
1
1. Chu et al. provide the additional teaching of a storage device coupled to applications issuing write commands to the storage device. Buffers are present between the applications and the storage device. It would be obvious to use overflow counters with storage devices. In order to reduce the physical space required for the counters.
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
2
8
8
9
9
10
1. Chu et al. provide the additional teaching of a storage device coupled to applications issuing write commands to the storage device. Buffers are present between the applications and the storage device. It would be obvious to use overflow counters with storage devices. In order to reduce the physical space required for the counters.
11
2
12
3
13
4
14
5
15
6
16
9
17
19
18
20
19
3
20
3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,249,646) in view of Prasad et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0349280).
Claim 1:
Chu et al. disclose a storage device, comprising:
a non-volatile memory [fig. 1; column 2, lines 33-38 – “FIG. 1 is a flowchart illustrating an embodiment of a process to write large segments of data to storage. In various embodiments, the storage being written to is a solid state drive (SSD), a hard disk drive (HDD) including shingled magnetic recording hard disk drive (SMR HDD), DRAM, etc.”];
a buffer array coupled to a data path between the non-volatile memory and a host that generates the data stored by the non-volatile memory comprising [figs. 1, 2, 7; column 2, lines 33-63; column 7, line 26 – column 8, line 7; column 9, line 7 - column 10, line 20 - “In the example shown, application 700 includes a data distributor (702) and two buffers (704 and 706). Each of the buffers assembles a segment independently of the other buffer. In various embodiments, the buffers may either be the same size or different sizes (e.g., so that the segments which are assembled and written to the storage (710) may be the same size or different sizes). Although this example shows two buffers and ring buffers, any number of buffers and ring buffers may be used.” … “Write data is received at the application and the data distributor (702) assigns each piece of data to either the first buffer (704) or the second buffer (706). For example, the data distributor may decide if a given piece of write data is hot or cold.”]:
a plurality of buffers configured to buffer data corresponding to data stored by the non-volatile memory [column 12, lines 14-18 – “FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a reference count and buffer address associated with a buffer. In embodiments where there are multiple buffers (see, e.g., FIG. 7) there is a reference count and buffer address for each buffer.”],
a plurality of reference counters respectively associated with the plurality of buffers, each of the reference counters configured to store a reference count of a number of requests to access the respective buffer [fig. 10; column 12, lines 14-18, 25-36 – “FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a reference count and buffer address associated with a buffer. In embodiments where there are multiple buffers (see, e.g., FIG. 7) there is a reference count and buffer address for each buffer.” … “The reference count (1006) is used to track the number of processes or entities that are currently accessing the buffer. Since there are two read operations accessing the buffer in the example shown here, the reference count here is set to 2 (e.g., where each read operation incremented the reference count when it checked the buffer address (1008), found a match, and decided to read from the buffer). When each read operation is complete, it decrements the reference count by 1 so that when both reads are done (and assuming no new reads come along) the reference count will return to 0. In some embodiments, only processes which are reading from the corresponding buffer increment the reference count.”];
a controller coupled to the data path and configured to:
manage the reference counts stored by the reference counters in response to requests to access the associated buffers [figs. 5-7; column 12, lines 25-36 – “The reference count (1006) is used to track the number of processes or entities that are currently accessing the buffer. Since there are two read operations accessing the buffer in the example shown here, the reference count here is set to 2 (e.g., where each read operation incremented the reference count when it checked the buffer address (1008), found a match, and decided to read from the buffer). When each read operation is complete, it decrements the reference count by 1 so that when both reads are done (and assuming no new reads come along) the reference count will return to 0. In some embodiments, only processes which are reading from the corresponding buffer increment the reference count.”];
However, Chu et al. do not specifically disclose,
an overflow counter; and
the controller configured to:
determine whether the reference count stored by one of the reference counters satisfies a reference threshold; and
in response to a determination that the one request count satisfies the reference threshold:
allocate the overflow counter to the one reference counter, and
manage an overflow count stored by the overflow counter in response to requests to access the buffer associated with the one reference counter.
In the same field of endeavor, Prasad et al. disclose,
an overflow counter [fig. 5; pars. 0027-0031 – “Overflow counters 250, in the illustrated embodiment, are configured to continue counting for counters in filter circuitry 240 that have saturated, as discussed in further detail below with reference to FIG. 5.”]; and
the controller configured to:
determine whether the reference count stored by one of the reference counters satisfies a reference threshold [figs. 4-5; pars. 0033-0039 – It is determined whether any counter is saturated. (“In the illustrated embodiment, when a cache line is allocated and one of the corresponding smaller counters 540 is already saturated (counter B in the example of FIG. 5), snoop filter 130 is configured to allocate an entry in overflow array 250 with a larger counter 542.”)]; and
in response to a determination that the one request count satisfies the reference threshold:
allocate the overflow counter to the one reference counter [figs. 4-5; pars. 0033-0039 – An overflow counter may be allocated when the counters become saturated. (“In the illustrated embodiment, when a cache line is allocated and one of the corresponding smaller counters 540 is already saturated (counter B in the example of FIG. 5), snoop filter 130 is configured to allocate an entry in overflow array 250 with a larger counter 542. In the illustrated embodiment, snoop filter 130 tags the larger counter with the index of the smaller counter to which it corresponds. In this way, when a saturated counter 540 has a corresponding allocation or eviction, the counters index can be used to determine whether there is an overflow counter 542 allocated in array 250.”)], and
manage an overflow count stored by the overflow counter in response to requests to access the buffer associated with the one reference counter [figs. 4-5 pars. 0033-0039 – The overflow counter is incremented and decremented in place of the saturated counter. (“When a cache line is allocated for a saturated small counter in array 540, the corresponding large counter 542 is incremented instead. Similarly, when a cache line is evicted for a saturated small counter in array 540, the corresponding large counter 542 is decremented instead (assuming it has not yet reached its start value). Once the large counter 542 reaches its start value, it may be de-allocated and the corresponding small counter 540 may then be decremented on the next eviction.”)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chu et al. to include overflow counters, as taught by Prasad et al. in order to reduce physical size requirements for the counters.
Claim 10:
Claim 10, directed to a method, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, mutatis mutandis.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,249,646) in view of Prasad et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0349280) as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Kang et al. (Pub. No. US 2005/0176193).
Claim 9 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Chu et al. and Prasad et al. disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose,
wherein the buffer array comprises SRAM.
In the same field of endeavor, Kang et al. disclose,
wherein the buffer array comprises SRAM [par. 0005 – “The SRAM device offers the benefits of rapid speed, low power consumption and a relatively simple structure. For these, and other, reasons, the SRAM device is popular in the semiconductor memory field. In addition, while information stored in the DRAM device needs to be periodically refreshed, a periodic refresh of information stored in the SRAM device is not necessary.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Chu et al. and Prasad et al. to include SRAM buffers, as taught by Kang et al., in order to provide improved performance and reduced power consumption.
Claim 16 (as applied to claim 10 above):
Claim 16, directed to a method, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above, mutatis mutandis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended subject matter have been addressed in the revised rejections presented above. Examiner maintains that “a number of processes that are currently accessing a buffer” anticipates “a number of requests to access the respective buffer”, as the claim does not set forth a clear difference between requesting and accessing and requesting without accessing. In other words, a process that has requested and is currently accessing a buffer is a request to access. If the intention is to claim a list of pending or waiting requests to access, Examiner suggests amending the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARRY T. MACKALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2131
19 September 2026
/LARRY T MACKALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139