Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaidyanathan (US 20110173969 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vaidyanathan teaches a method of actuating a latch assembly, the method comprising: applying a first current (para. 0046) to a first shape memory coil spring (118) disposed in a side housing of the latch assembly, the first shape memory coil spring increasing in length (para. 0030) in response to the first current; and stopping the first current to the first shape memory coil spring (phase change stopping), the first shape memory coil spring decreasing in length in response to the first current stopping (para. 0030).
Regarding claim 2, Vaidyanathan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first shape memory coil spring translates a spacer (142a) in response to increasing in length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaidyanathan (US 20110173969 A1) In view of Alexander (US 20150330118 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Vaidyanathan teaches the method of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach wherein a pawl assembly transitions from a retracted state to an erected state in response to the first shape memory coil spring increasing in length in response to the first current.
Alexander teaches a similar shape memory actuator utilized in a vehicle latch assembly wherein a pawl assembly (81, 82) transitions from a retracted to an erected state (1 lengthening) in response to the first shape memory coil spring (83) increasing in length in response to the first current.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Vaidyanathan with those of Alexander in order to Utilize the actuation method to release a pawl assembly. The shape memory actuator is utilized to remotely actuate a device and utilizing it for a pawl assembly allows for remote actuation of a lock apparatus. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Vaidyanathan in view of Alexander teaches the method of claim 3, Alexander further teaches wherein the pawl assembly remain in the erected state in response to the first shape memory coil spring decreasing in length in response to the first current stopping (para. 0064, 71 doesn’t pivot which doesn’t move 81 from the erected position until the other spring is energized, even after the first coil is deenergized).
Regarding claim 5, Vaidyanathan in view of Alexander teaches the method of claim 4, Alexander further teaches further comprising applying a second current to a second shape memory coil spring (84) disposed in the side housing of the latch assembly, the second shape memory coil spring increasing in length in response to the second current (para. 0064), the pawl assembly transitioning from the erected state to the retracted state in response to the second shape memory coil spring increasing in length in response to the second current (para. 0064).
Conclusion
/J.E.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675