This communication is in response to the reply and amendment filed 6/8/2026.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to the amendments requiring fractionating the plurality of listed fractions. Additional art is provided below to address the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram (US 2019/0023999) in view of Al-Ghamdi (US 2018/0142468).
With respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, Sundaram is directed a process and apparatus for processing hydrocarbon mixtures including whole crudes and condensates (0026). Sundaram teaches:
contacting a condensate feedstock 19 with steam 32 to volatilize a portion of the hydrocarbons (0050-0053);
recovering a vapor phase 42 comprising volatilized hydrocarbons with a cut point selected based on the feed, with examples given of 200-450C (0040; 0050-0053), which includes 300C as claimed, and liquid which includes hydrocarbons boiling in the VGO and above;
optionally separating the liquid fraction into a second vapor distillate and liquid stream;
hydroprocessing the liquid fraction from the first or second separator, fractionating the effluent in an atmospheric or vacuum column to produce light fractions, diesel, VGO and collect a reside, and optionally recycling residue fraction to the hydrocracking reactor (0055; 0094);
the vapor phase is passed to a steam cracking reactor to convert at least a portion of the hydrocarbons therein to a steam cracker effluent comprising one or more olefins and a pyrolysis oil stream (Figure 2; 0052).
Sundaram is silent regarding wherein the liquid product is separated in the second separator under vacuum distillation to produce a light VGO fraction, a heavy VGO fraction, and a vacuum residue fraction.
Al-Ghamdi, directed to process for conversion of crude oil to petrochemicals using VGO hydroprocessing and steam cracking, teaches subjecting the crude oil to a first distillation, followed by vacuum distillation. [0080] The vacuum gas oil and gas oil are independently subject to hydrotreating and then a portion or all of the hydrotreated effluents are subject to steam cracking to produce valuable chemicals. [0078]-[0081]. The vacuum residue is recovered for treatment. [0084]. The individual hydroprocessing units use conditions and catalyst tailored for the conditioning and conversion of the specific fraction. e.g. [0180]
Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process and system of Sundaram by subjecting the first liquid stream to distillation to produce separate vacuum gas oil fractions and a residue and hydrotreating the VGO fractions separately because both are directed to production of chemicals from crude oil using hydroprocessing and steam cracking, Al-Ghamdi teaches hydroprocessing of multiple distillates followed by steam cracking of each of the individual fractions under tailored conditioning and conversion conditions, and such combination merely results in predictable results. It would have been with in the skill of one in the art to use only one vacuum distillation column given the upstream separation cut point of 450C.
With respect to claims 2 and 9, Al-Ghamdi discloses vacuum gas oil and gas oil are independently subject to hydrotreating and then a portion or all of the hydrotreated effluents are subject to steam cracking to produce valuable chemicals. [0078]-[0081].
With respect to claims 3-4 and 10-11, Sundaram does not teach the boiling points of the condensates treated, but teaches wherein the feed may be whole crude oil condensate, as well as lighter petroleum fractions (0026). Condensate compositions vary with a particular feed but are known in the art. Given the teachings of whole condensates as well as the wide boiling range feeds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to process condensate having boiling material as claimed.
With respect to claims 5 and 14, Sundaram teaches preheating the condensate feedstock to partially vaporize prior to contacting (0050).
With respect to claims 6, Sundaram teaches products including butene (0105).
With respect to claim 7, Sundaram teaches recycling product (0105) and operating for 100% ethylene or propylene production. It would have been obvious to recycle products to achieve desired light olefin production. Al-Ghamdi teaches subjecting the pyrolysis oil to hydrotreating with the VGO.
With respect to claims 12-13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include mixers for blending product fractions to be collected downstream without unexpected result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771