Drawings
The objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Specification.
Specification
The objections to the Specification are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Title and the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,11-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gates (US 6,050,327 - hereinafter, "Gates") in view of Chan et al. (US 2015/0216080 - hereinafter, "Chan").
With respect to Claim 1, Gates teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 below)
A container (see annotated Figure 1 below) for at least one electronic device (4 or 6, column 2, lines 28-31, “The external enclosure contains two transmitter/receiver units 4, two power amplifiers 6, two duplexers 8 and a processor board 10”), said container comprising:
an exterior enclosure (28, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”);
an interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”), said interior enclosure (2) being within said exterior enclosure (28) and containing dielectric fluid (air, Gates implies that there is air within the internal enclosure (2) and air is a known dielectric) therein, the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) being within the interior enclosure (2); and
a heat exchanger (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”), said heat exchanger (46) being a passive heat exchanger with a first end (see annotated Figure 1 below) within said interior enclosure (2) and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 below) outside of said interior enclosure (2) and inside of said exterior enclosure (28).
Gates failed to specifically teach or suggest said interior enclosure containing dielectric fluid therein, the at least one electronic device being within the interior enclosure, wherein the dielectric fluid comprises dielectric oil.
Chan, however, teaches (in Figure 5 and in paragraph [0032] and paragraph [0033])
an enclosure (26) containing dielectric fluid (30, see Figure 5) therein, at least one electronic device (22) being within the enclosure (26), wherein the dielectric fluid (30) comprises dielectric oil (in paragraph [0033], “In an embodiment, the dielectric oil 30 in the interior chamber 28 may be actively cooled or passively cooled by the lower temperature ambient external fluid (e.g., sea water) through the wall 37 of the outer pressure compensated vessel 26”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chan with Gates, such that an enclosure containing dielectric fluid therein, at least one electronic device being within the enclosure, wherein the dielectric fluid comprises dielectric oil as taught by Chan since doing so would allow Gates’s interior enclosure to be cooled by natural convection and heat generated by Gates’s electronic device can dissipated from the wall of Gates’s interior enclosure directly into the environment surrounding Gates’s interior enclosure. (in paragraph [0033])
Figure I
With respect to Claim 2, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said at least one electronic device (4 or 6) is submerged in said dielectric fluid (dielectric oil as taught by Chan in Claim 1 as per above).
With respect to Claim 3, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said first end (see annotated Figure 1 above) of said heat exchanger (46) is submerged in said dielectric fluid (dielectric oil as taught by Chan in Claim 1 as per above).
With respect to Claim 4, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said heat exchanger (46) is a heat pipe (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”).
With respect to Claim 5, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 4 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said heat pipe (46) is vertically oriented within said container (see annotated Figure 1 above).
With respect to Claim 6, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said interior enclosure (2) comprises a shell (2a and 2b, column 2, lines 26-28) with fins (40, column 2, lines 52-58).
With respect to Claim 11, Gates teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
A container (see annotated Figure 1 above) for at least one electronic device (4 or 6, column 2, lines 28-31, “The external enclosure contains two transmitter/receiver units 4, two power amplifiers 6, two duplexers 8 and a processor board 10”), said container comprising:
an exterior enclosure (28, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”);
an interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”) within said exterior enclosure (28), said interior enclosure (2) containing dielectric fluid (air, Gates implies that there is air within the internal enclosure and air is a known dielectric) therein and the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) being within the interior enclosure (2) and submerged within said dielectric fluid (air); and
a heat exchanger (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”), said heat exchanger (46) comprising at least one heat pipe (46) with a first end (see annotated Figure 1 above) within said interior enclosure (2) submerged within said dielectric fluid (air), and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 above) outside of said interior enclosure (2) and inside of said exterior enclosure (28).
Gates failed to specifically teach or suggest said interior enclosure containing dielectric fluid therein and the at least one electronic device being within the interior enclosure and submerged within said dielectric fluid, wherein the dielectric fluid comprises dielectric oil.
Chan, however, teaches (in Figure 5 and in paragraph [0032] and paragraph [0033])
an enclosure (26) containing dielectric fluid (30, see Figure 5) therein and at least one electronic device (22) being within the enclosure (26) and submerged within the dielectric fluid (30, see Figure 5), wherein the dielectric fluid (30) comprises dielectric oil (in paragraph [0033], “In an embodiment, the dielectric oil 30 in the interior chamber 28 may be actively cooled or passively cooled by the lower temperature ambient external fluid (e.g., sea water) through the wall 37 of the outer pressure compensated vessel 26”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chan with Gates, such that an enclosure containing dielectric fluid therein and at least one electronic device being within the enclosure and submerged within the dielectric fluid, wherein the dielectric fluid comprises dielectric oil as taught by Chan since doing so would allow Gates’s interior enclosure to be cooled by natural convection and heat generated by Gates’s electronic device can dissipated from the wall of Gates’s interior enclosure directly into the environment surrounding Gates’s interior enclosure. (in paragraph [0033])
With respect to Claim 12, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said interior enclosure (2) comprises a shell (2a and 2b, column 2, lines 26-28, “The external enclosure can be cast, for example, from light metal in two parts 2a and 2b environmentally sealed around a joint between two flanges 2c”) with fins (40, column 2, lines 52-58, “The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28. Components in the external enclosure are thus cooled by thermal conduction to and through the walls 16 and 24 of the external enclosure 2 and by natural convection over the extended surfaces 40”).
With respect to Claim 13, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said heat pipe (46) is vertically oriented within said container (see annotated Figure 1 above).
With respect to Claim 16, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
A method comprising the steps of:
providing a container (see annotated Figure 1 above) for at least one electronic device (4 or 6, column 2, lines 28-31, “The external enclosure contains two transmitter/receiver units 4, two power amplifiers 6, two duplexers 8 and a processor board 10”), the container having:
an exterior enclosure (28, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”);
an interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”), said interior enclosure (2) being within said exterior enclosure (28) and containing dielectric fluid (air, Gates implies that there is air within the internal enclosure and air is a known dielectric) therein, the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) being within the interior enclosure (2) and submerged within the dielectric fluid (air); and
a heat exchanger (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”), said heat exchanger (46) being a passive heat exchanger with a first end (see annotated Figure 1 above) submerged within the dielectric fluid (air) within said interior enclosure (2) and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 above) outside of said interior enclosure (2) and inside of said exterior enclosure (28); and
operating the at least one electronic device (4 or 6);
dissipating heat from the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) into the dielectric fluid (air); and
removing the heat from the interior enclosure (2) to outside of the interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-65, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28. Components in the external enclosure are thus cooled by thermal conduction to and through the walls 16 and 24 of the external enclosure 2 and by natural convection over the extended surfaces 40. Some components e.g. power transistors 44 generate such large amounts of heat that the cooling already described may be insufficient. Such local hot spots are cooled by heat pipes 46. The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”) with the heat exchanger (46).
Gates failed to specifically teach or suggest said interior enclosure containing dielectric fluid therein, the at least one electronic device being within the interior enclosure and submerged within the dielectric fluid, wherein the dielectric fluid comprises dielectric oil.
Chan, however, teaches (in Figure 5 and in paragraph [0032] and paragraph [0033])
an enclosure (26) containing dielectric fluid (30, see Figure 5) therein, at least one electronic device (22) being within the enclosure (26) and submerged within the dielectric fluid (30, see Figure 5), wherein the dielectric fluid (30) comprises dielectric oil (in paragraph [0033], “In an embodiment, the dielectric oil 30 in the interior chamber 28 may be actively cooled or passively cooled by the lower temperature ambient external fluid (e.g., sea water) through the wall 37 of the outer pressure compensated vessel 26”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chan with Gates, such that an enclosure containing dielectric fluid therein, at least one electronic device being within the enclosure and submerged within the dielectric fluid, wherein the dielectric fluid comprises dielectric oil as taught by Chan since doing so would allow Gates’s interior enclosure to be cooled by natural convection and heat generated by Gates’s electronic device can dissipated from the wall of Gates’s interior enclosure directly into the environment surrounding Gates’s interior enclosure. (in paragraph [0033])
With respect to Claim 17, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein the step of providing a container (see annotated Figure 1 above) further comprises the step of providing a heat exchanger (46) that is a heat pipe (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1).
With respect to Claim 18, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 17 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein the step of providing a container (see annotated Figure 1 above) further comprises the step of vertically orienting the heat pipe (46) within the container (see annotated Figure 1 above).
With respect to Claim 19, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
the steps of: providing an air mover (58, column 3, lines 17-20); and exchanging air from inside of the exterior enclosure (28) with air from outside of the exterior enclosure (28). (See annotated Figure 1 above, the fan (58) would create air flow through the vents and openings 30 & 38)
Claims 7-8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gates in view of Chan in view of Cosley et al. (US 7,505,269 - hereinafter, "Cosley").
With respect to Claim 7, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 7.
Cosley, however, teaches (in column 4, lines 58-61, in Figure 3 and as shown in annotated Figure 3 below)
wherein:
an exterior enclosure (16) has an inside;
a shell of insulation (66) is on the inside of said exterior enclosure (16); and
an air gap containing air (see annotated Figure 3 below) is between said shell of insulation (66) and an interior enclosure (18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Cosley with Gates, such that an exterior enclosure has an inside; a shell of insulation is on an inside of said exterior enclosure; and an air gap containing air is between said shell of insulation and an interior enclosure as taught by Cosley, since doing so would reduce solar gain into the exterior enclosure. (in column 4, lines 52-54)
Figure II
With respect to Claim 8, Gates as modified by Chan as modified by Cosley teaches the limitations of claim 7 as per above and Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
Wherein said air gap (see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Cosley in Claim 7 as per above) is structured to permit exchange of air contained within said air gap (see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Cosley in Claim 7 as per above) can be exchanged with outside air (see annotated Figure 3 above as taught by Cosley in Claim 7 as per above).
With respect to claim 14, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 14.
Cosley, however, teaches (in column 4, lines 58-61, in Figure 3 and as shown in annotated Figure 3 above)
wherein:
an exterior enclosure (16) has an inside;
a shell of insulation (66) is on the inside of said exterior enclosure (16);
an air gap (see annotated Figure 3 above) containing air (see annotated Figure 3 above) is between said shell of insulation (66) and an interior enclosure (18), wherein said air (see annotated Figure 3 above) contained within said air gap (see annotated Figure 3 above) can be exchanged with outside air (see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Cosley with Gates, such that an exterior enclosure has an inside; a shell of insulation is on an inside of said exterior enclosure; an air gap containing air is between said shell of insulation and an interior enclosure, wherein said air contained within said air gap can be exchanged with outside air as taught by Cosley, since doing so would reduce the solar gain into the exterior enclosure. (in column 4, lines 52-54)
Claims 10, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gates in view of Chan in view of Fischer et al. (US 7,535,716 - hereinafter, "Fischer").
With respect to Claim 10, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 10.
Fischer, however, teaches (in column 3, lines 58-65, in figure 4C and as shown in annotated Figure 4C below)
an out-gas vent (158) on an enclosure (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fischer with that of Gates, such that the internal enclosure of Gates includes an out-gas vent, as taught by Fischer, since doing so would guard against excessive external-to-internal pressure difference within the interior enclosure (in column 3, lines 58-65).
Figure III
With respect to Claim 15, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 15.
Fischer, however, teaches (in column 3, lines 58-65, in figure 4C and as shown in annotated Figure 4C above)
an out-gas vent (158) on an enclosure (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fischer with that of Gates, such that the internal enclosure of Gates includes an out-gas vent, as taught by Fischer, since doing so would guard against excessive external-to-internal pressure difference within the interior enclosure (in column 3, lines 58-65).
With respect to Claim 20, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 20.
Fischer, however, teaches (in column 3, lines 58-65, in figure 4C and as shown in annotated Figure 4C above)
wherein the step of providing a container (see Gates’ annotated Figure 1 above) further comprises the step of providing an outgas vent (158) on an enclosure (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fischer with that of Gates, such that the internal enclosure of Gates includes an out-gas vent, as taught by Fischer, since doing so would guard against excessive external-to-internal pressure difference within the interior enclosure (in column 3, lines 58-65).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gates in view of Chan in view of Tikka (US 2001/0052412 - hereinafter, "Tikka").
With respect to Claim 9, Gates as modified by Chan teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 9.
Tikka, however, teaches (in paragraph [0019], first sentence) a container which is operational between -80 degrees Fahrenheit and 130 degrees Fahrenheit (in paragraph [0019], first sentence, “The same equipment cabinet is designed to operate both at the normal operating temperature range of -33.degree. C. to +40.degree. C. and the high outdoor temperature range of +40.degree. C. to +50.degree. C.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tikka with that of Gates, such that the container of Gates has an operational temperature between -80 degrees Fahrenheit and 130 degrees Fahrenheit, as taught by Tikka, since doing so would allow for a container which can be used at a variety of operational temperatures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/19/2026 have been fully considered, the Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841