DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “deformation space”(recited in claims 6, 7), described in Specification paragraphs 3, 11, 22 , 40, in relation to: 22 “unloading groove”, 21 “strip-shaped protrusions, and 23 “step”, being portions located on the inner sidewall of the tire shown Fig 7, 8 9. No reference character is assigned to the deformation space, and no figure identifies the deformation space. The deformation space must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Hub (throughout specification) should be amended to “rim” or “wheel”.
A rim is portion of wheel on which tire is mounted with tire bead in a tire bead seat on flange or rim. A hub is portion of wheel attached to axle.
Deformation space (described in specification paragraphs 3, 11, 22 , 40; is not assigned a reference character.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 10 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Hub in claim 6 line 2, should be amended to “rim”.
Hub in claim 10 lines 3 and 4) should be amended to “rim”.
Hub in claim 13 lines 3, 4 and 7 should be amended to “rim”.
In rejections following for these claims, the word hub will appear in strikethrough font and replaced with the word rim.
A rim is portion of wheel on which tire is mounted with tire bead in a tire bead seat on flange or rim. A hub is portion of wheel attached to axle. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation in lines 9, 12-13 and 15, “first inner brim” and “second inner brim” are indefinite, because it is not clear what is meant by it. The specification (para 3, 5 does not provide a definition of “brim”, but does describe it in relation to recessed portions on inner wall of the first and second cavities, drawing e.g. Fig 7 shows reference characters 314 and 323 directed at the cross sections in cut away view of first and second annular cavities. The word brim typically refers to a lip or upper edge of an opening, however the first and second annular cavities, are enclosed except for vent and airholes passing therethrough. Examiner has interpreted “brim” to mean the inner wall shape of a radial cross section through the first and second annular cavities coinciding with the recesses portions therein, thus Examiner has interpreted the “first inner brim” as a radial cross section through the first annular cavity and interpreted the “second inner brim” as a radial cross section through the second annular cavity.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation in lines 1-2, “the recessed center region runs through tire” is indefinite, because it is not clear what is meant by it. Specification paragraph 43 describes the recessed center region 315, between four bulges on the same side, show Fig 3, 10 [i.e. on side of tire facing outward or inward], thus the recessed center region does not run through tire, but rather extends circumferentially about the tire, between the tread and tire bead on each tire side. For the purposes of examining the recitation has been interpreted as “the recesses center region extends circumferentially about the tire”.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation in lines 1-2, “a contact wall of the tire bead with a ”, is indefinite because: it is unclear if the deformation space, and a contact wall are part of, located on the tire bead; or part of the an inner radial wall of the tire has a deformation space” deformation space is interpreted to be located on the inner radial wall in the region where 21, 22 and 23 are located.
Regarding claim 7 the recitations in line 2, “an inner wall of the tire bead” is indefinite, because lines 1, 3-6 refer to portions: 22 “unloading groove”, 21 “strip-shaped protrusions, and 23 “step” shown in Fig 7 to be on inner radial wall of tire, not on the tire bead. For the purposes of examining, the recitation is interpreted to as “the inner radial wall of the tire”.
Regarding claim 8 the recitations in line 2, “the inner wall of the tire bead” is indefinite, because lines 1, 3-6 refer to portions: 22 “unloading groove”, 21 “strip-shaped protrusions, and 23 “step” shown in Fig 7 to be on inner radial wall of tire, not on the tire bead. For the purposes of examining, the recitation is interpreted to as “the inner radial wall of the tire”.
Regarding Claim 13, the recitation in line 1 “a lower end of the bulge” is indefinite, because claim 1 recites multiple sets of bulges. For the purposes of examining the recitation is interpreted as “a lower end of one bulge of the multiple sets of bulges”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN-1075716889-A to Yu et. al. (“Yu”)
Regarding Claim 1, Yu discloses a non-pneumatic tire (“charge free tyre”, Page 3 Para 3 beginning “In order to solve…”, line 2), comprising a tire tread (Page 4, Para 5 beginning “Preferably said outer ring…” and a tire bead (axial outer edges of 2 “inner ring”) that are concentric (Fig 1), and a tire body (including outer ring, inner ring and elastic structure being at least one ring-shaped spherical structure of at least composed of at least two hollow ball body and tubular members, Page 2 Para 3 beginning “In order to solve …”, Fig 1, 3) that is integrally connected between the tire tread and the tire bead (1 “outer ring” with integral tread, Page 4, Para 3, beginning “Preferably, the hollow ball…”, Figs 2-6), the tire body is provided with multiple first annular cavities (radially aligned group of 31 “hollow ball bodies” [ on each axial side of the tire, Fig 5, [i.e. side by side in a width direction of tire, Fig 6, the first annular cavities are connected circumferentially by 32 “arc/curved hollow pipe columns” forming annular , Fig 3) side by side along a width direction of the tire, and the multiple first annular cavities are distributed side by side around a region between the tire tread and the tire bead (Fig 3, 5, 6); a second annular cavity (axially central radially aligned group of 31 “hollow spheres” located between the first annular cavities and connected thereto by 33 “smooth linear hollow columns”, Fig 5); inner walls on two sides of the first annular cavities separately protrude outwards to form multiple sets of bulges (spherical bulges shown Annotated Fig 5 “AF5”), a recessed portion (32, AF5 and Fig 3) is formed between adjacent two of the sets of bulges on a same side (Fig 3), a first inner brim (AF5 and Fig 3, see paragraph 8 of this document) is formed at a position of the recessed portion corresponding to an inner wall of the first annular cavity (AF5), and inner walls of the bulges on two sides of the first annular cavity form an arc-shaped extension region (Fig 3, AF5) located at a periphery of the first inner brim; and a second inner brim (AF5 and Fig 3, see paragraph 8 of this document) is formed at a position of the second annular cavity corresponding to the arc-shaped extension region, an expansion region (AF5) located at a periphery of the second inner brim is formed at a position of the second annular cavity corresponding to the recessed portion (AF5), and a top of the expansion region has a spherical space (AF5) close to the tire tread.
Regarding Claim 2, Yu discloses the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, wherein the second annular cavity is located in the middle (Fig 5) of the tire body, the spherical space of the second annular cavity forms a first load-bearing unit (tread side radially outer edge of second annular cavity receives load from tread when loaded at contact with road) the expansion region of the second annular cavity and the first inner brim of the first annular cavity form a second load-bearing unit (expansion region and first inner brim connected to second annular cavity would receive load from radially outer edge of second annular cavity), and the arc-shaped extension region of the first annular cavity and the second inner brim of the second annular cavity form a third load-bearing unit (being connected in load path from radially outermost 33 and 31 ).
Regarding Claim 3, Yu discloses non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, wherein each set of bulges comprises two bulges (dashed ovals AF5), the two bulges are distributed along a radial direction of the tire and integrally connected, and a recessed center region (32 Fig 3) is formed between four bulges in adjacent two of the sets of bulges on the same side of the first annular cavities.
Regarding Claim 5, Yu discloses non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, wherein edges of two sides of the tire tread form tire shoulders (e.g. Fig 5, shows shoulders at each side to tread”, and a top of the bulge of the first annular cavity facing an outer side of the tire is integrally connected to a lower surface of the tire shoulder (e.g. Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Yu discloses non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the bulge is spherical (as described in paragraph 16 of this document) or oval, and the first inner brim and the second inner brim are oval or peanut shell–shaped (as described in paragraph 16 of this document).
Regarding Claim 12, Yu discloses non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, wherein three such first annular cavities are spaced apart in the tire body, and the second annular cavity is provided between adjacent two of the first annular cavities (as described in paragraph 16 of this document).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of TW-M590540-U to Chen Yong-Hua et. al. (“Chen”).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu discloses the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 3, wherein the recessed center region extends circumferentially about the tire to be provided with a vent hole (311 “radiating hole”, at least one axial through hole in sidewall, Page 9 Para 3 beginning “Because the tire generates…”, Fig 3) along a width direction of the tire, but does not disclose the vent hole runs through the first annular cavity and the second annular cavity (for strikeout font see paragraph 9 of this document).
Chen discloses a tire with first and second annular cavities and a recessed center region (sidewalls Fig 3 recess inward radially Fig 4) with a vent hole (331, “first heat dissipation vent holes”, ET Page 13, Para 4 , beginning “An outer carcass…” Figs 3-5 ) running through the first annular cavity and the second annular cavity (Fig 3, 4, 5).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the non-pneumatic tire and the tire with vent holes running through first and second annular cavities, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the non-pneumatic tire of Yu and teaching of the tire with vent holes running through first and second annular cavities of Chen, to modify the vent holes such that they run through first and second annular cavities, with the motivation improve the heat dissipation in the tire (Chen ET Page 13, Para 4), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of CN-110978892-A to Lin (“Lin”).
Regarding Claim 13, Yu (English Translation “ET” pages 1-6, Figs 1-6) discloses the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a fitting slot for engagement with an edge of a hub, multiple arc-shaped protruding blocks that are configured to elastically abut against the edge of the hub are spaced apart in the fitting slot along a circumferential direction of the tire body, and a lower end of the bulge on the other side of the tire body is provided with a snap-fitting point for engagement with an edge of the hub (for strikeout font see paragraph 13 of this document).
Lin discloses a non-pneumatic tire (1, Annotated Fig 5, “AF5”), with first annular cavities (axially outer and inner located annular 2 “damping cavities”, formed by two radially outer and inner “ball shaped cavities” i.e. spherical shapes, i.e. bulges, i.e. forming a peanut shape, AF5) and second annular cavities (centrally located 2 annular “damping cavities”, with similar shape to first annular cavities just described, AF5], a lower end of one spherical cavity [i.e. bulge], on one side of the tire body is provided with a fitting slot for engagement with an edge of a rim (italicized limits: “intended use” not limiting; AF5), multiple arc-shaped protruding blocks (two, extending between axially inner and outer rim flange like protrusions extending from arcing portions of radially inner ball shaped cavity, AF5) configured to elastically abut against the edge of the ball shaped cavities act to dampen under external forces, ET Page 3, Para 9 beginning “Preferable, the tyre main body is…”, and spaced apart in (at axially inner outer sides thereof, AF5) the fitting slot, a snap-fitting point (axially inner inside edge of flange like protrusions, AF5) for engagement with an edge of the (italicized limits “intended use” no limiting).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the non-pneumatic tire and the tire including a fitting slot, multiple arc-shaped protruding blocks and a snap-fitting point, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the non-pneumatic tire of Yu and the tire including the teaching of the fitting slot, multiple arc-shaped protruding blocks and the snap-fitting point of Lin, to modify the inner radial surface of the tire (of Yu) such that it includes a fitting slot, multiple arc-shaped protruding blocks and a snap-fitting point, with the motivation to adsorb shock from impact forces from the tire (Lin ET Page 3, Para 9), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-10, 14-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fails to disclose, teach or make obvious the following limits of Claim 6-10, and 14-17.
Regarding Claim 6, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, wherein an inner radial wall of the tire wherein the inner radial wall of the tire has a deformation space for the tire to deform under pressure (for strikeout font see paragraph 10 of this document).
Regarding Claim 7, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 6, wherein multiple strip-shaped protrusions are spaced apart on the inner radial wall of the tire, along a circumferential direction thereof, an unloading groove is formed between adjacent two of the strip-shaped protrusions, a step is formed on the strip-shaped protrusion to cut the strip-shaped protrusion into two portions with a height difference, and the steps and the unloading grooves provide the deformation space for the tire to deform under pressure (for strikeout font see paragraph 11 of this document).
Regarding Claim 8, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 7, wherein the inner radial wall of the tire is provided with air holes respectively corresponding to the first annular cavity and the second annular cavity, the air hole corresponding to the first annular cavity and the air hole corresponding to the second annular cavity are staggered with each other in the width direction of the tire, the air hole corresponding to the first annular cavity is oval and located in the unloading groove, and the air hole corresponding to the second annular cavity is circular and located on the strip-shaped protrusion (for strikeout font see paragraph 12 of this document).
Regarding Claim 9, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 8, wherein the air hole corresponding to the first annular cavity communicates with the arc-shaped extension region, and the air hole corresponding to the second annular cavity communicates with the expansion region.
Regarding Claim 10, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 7, wherein one end of the strip-shaped protrusion is provided with a bump configured to be in elastic contact with one side edge of the hub, and the other end of the strip-shaped protrusion is provided with a recess used for closely fitting with the other side edge of the hub.
Regarding Claim 14, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, wherein the spherical space of the second annular cavity is wider than the expansion region.
Regarding Claim 15, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 1, wherein the spherical space of the second annular cavity is wider than the expansion region.
Regarding Claim 16, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 7, wherein a side edge of the strip-shaped protrusion close to the unloading groove has an arc-shaped transition.
Regarding Claim 17, the primary references applied do not teach a structure analogous to: the non-pneumatic tire according to claim 10, wherein the strip-shaped protrusion faces the recessed portions on two sides of the tire body, and the bump is correspondingly located at a tail end of the recessed portion.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim (US-20180029419-A1), Haydon (CN-1161021-A), Chen (EP-4509330-A1, CN-105539015-A), Wu (CN-102120406-A), Yu (CN-114312151-A, CN-213007410-U, US-20240375441-A1), Wang (CN-103802606-A, CN-213383765-U), Song (CN-206201847-U) and Chandler (WO-9718959-A1) disclose Non-pneumatic tires having cavities, vent holes and air holes.
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615