DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation, “…wherein a width of the antenna feeding trace in a particular direction, which is perpendicular to an axis via the plurality of antenna elements, is substantially not greater than a width of the plurality of the antenna elements in the particular direction.” This limitation is indefinite because the meaning of the underlined phrase above is unclear. Based on the language above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be unsure as to whether the axis is perpendicular to the axis containing the antenna elements or perpendicular to the axis along which the antenna vias run.
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “a phase of each of the first, second and third signals is substantially equal to a particular phase, or is an integer multiple of 360 degrees from the particular phase.” This limitation is indefinite because when phase is substantially equal, the phase is equal to an integer multiple of 360 degrees from the particular phase, with the integer in question being one. Thus, it is unclear how the phase could be either equal or an integer multiple of 360 when equal phases are always an integer multiple of 360 (though the reverse is not true). Solely for the purposes of examination, the examiner is understanding the phase to be equal to an integer multiple of 360 degrees from the particular phase, with a possible integer multiple being 1.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “dBm” in claim 14 is used by the claim to mean “the units by which antenna matching is measured.” However, antenna matching is typically measured in dB, because it is typically measured relative to the total power input into the antenna. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The examiner understands this claim to be related to the total return loss of the transmitter, and will be interpreting it as such, using dB as the appropriate unit by which return loss (i.e., antenna matching) is measured.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 7-13, 15-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. No/ 2021/0151898 A1), hereinafter Han, in view of Goldfarb (M. E. Goldfarb, "A recombinant, in-phase power divider," in IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, vol. 39, no. 8, pp. 1438-1440, Aug. 1991, doi: 10.1109/22.85423), and further in view of Gao et al. (WO 2020/238299 A1), hereinafter Gao.
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches (note: what Han does not teach is struck through),
An apparatus (abs., “an antenna apparatus) comprising:
a polarized antenna (para. 0106, “A surface current of an RF signal flowing through one of the plurality of feed vias and a surface current of an RF signal flowing through the other one of the plurality of feed vias may be orthogonal to each other, and may implement a polarized wave.”) comprising:
a dielectric layer comprising a plurality of antenna vias comprising a first antenna via, a second antenna via, and a third antenna via (fig. 1A, para. 0050, “For example, the first, second, third, and fourth conductive layers 101a, 102a, 103a, and 104a may be disposed in at least portions of upper surfaces or lower surfaces of the corresponding dielectric layers, respectively, to include a pre-designed conductive pattern or a pre-designed conductive plane, and may be connected to each other in upward and/or downward directions (e.g., +/−z directions) through a conductive via. A width of the conductive via may be appropriately adjusted.” See fig. 1A, reproduced and labeled below);
a first metal layer on a first side of the dielectric layer (fig. 1A, metal layer 102a),
the first metal layer comprising a plurality of antenna elements comprising a first antenna element connected to a first end of the first antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements),
a second antenna element connected to a first end of the second antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements), and
a third antenna element connected to a first end of the third antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements); and
a second metal layer on a second side of the dielectric layer opposite to the first side of the dielectric layer (fig. 1A., metal layer 103a),
the second metal layer comprising an antenna feeding trace comprising a transformer portion (fig. 4B, antenna feed lines 220a each comprise a transformer 228f)
Goldfarb teaches (what Goldfarb does not teach is struck through),
…an antenna feeding trace (“new topology has been developed for the synthesis of
planar, wide-band power dividers suitable for use at RF and
microwave frequencies. “) comprising a transformer portion and a splitter portion (fig. 4, reproduced below),
the transformer portion connected to a first port (fig. 4, reproduced below),
the splitter portion comprising a first splitter arm connecting the transformer portion to a second port (fig. 4, reproduced below), and
a second splitter arm connecting the transformer portion to a third port (fig. 4, reproduced below).
Gao teaches that the first, second, and third ports of a three-way power divider can be directly connected to antenna vias (see Gao, fig. 4).
Han, Goldfarb, and Gao are all analogous to the claimed invention because they all teach RF antennas. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna array of Han with the three-way power splitter of Goldfarb. Han teaches antenna feeds but does not teach using a power splitter to feed the antennas. However, power splitting is a common technique in the art, and the power splitter of Goldfarb is explicitly taught as being useable in antenna arrays. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the power splitter of Goldfarb in the array of Han because the power splitter of Goldfarb has low return loss and is small enough to be used in the communication device of Han. Furthermore, the invention of Gao shows that power splitters are frequently used in antennas for communication devices and demonstrates that power splitters can be directly connected to antenna via elements with the predictable result of a more compact antenna feed. Thus, the combination of Han, Goldfarb, and Gao renders obvious the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein a length of the first splitter arm is substantially equal to, or an integer multiple of, a length of the second splitter arm
Goldfarb further teaches,
…wherein a length of the first splitter arm is substantially equal to, or an integer multiple of, a length of the second splitter arm (fig. 4, the lengths of the first and second splitter arms are visibly substantially equal).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao with the equal splitter arm length of Goldfarb because the equal splitter arm length of Goldfarb enables an equal three-way power split, thus ensuring that all the antennas fed by the power splitter receive the same power.
Regarding claim 3, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han in view of Goldfarb as previously combined with Gao does not teach,
…wherein at least part of the transformer portion is substantially directly above at least part of the first antenna element.
Goldfarb teaches that the transformer portion includes the section that feeds the central port (see fig. 4, reproduced above with respect to claim 1). Goldfarb is silent as to how the central port is geometrically related to the first antenna element, and thus does not teach,
…wherein at least part of the transformer portion is substantially directly above at least part of the first antenna element
Gao teaches,
…wherein at least part of the central port of the splitter is substantially directly above at least part of the first antenna element (fig. 4, central port of splitter 206 is substantially directly below central antenna element. The examiner notes that “above” and “below” are relative terms; that is, if one element is substantially directly below another in a first reference frame, it will be substantially directly above it in a second reference frame).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao with the specific geometric relationship between the transformer of Goldfarb and the antenna element of Han. Han teaches that the antenna element is over at least part of its feed section, while Goldfarb teaches that the feed section includes a central transformer adjacent to the central output port. Gao teaches that the central output port is directly above at least part of the first antenna element. This combination is advantageous because it takes advantage of the miniaturization of the splitter of Goldfarb to reduce the size of the antenna as a whole. Thus, the combination of Han in view of Goldfarb and Gao render obvious the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein a first part of the first splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the first antenna element, and a second part of the first splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the second antenna element
Gao teaches,
…wherein a first part of the first splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the first antenna element, and a second part of the first splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the second antenna element (fig. 4, first part of first splitter arm of power splitter 206 is directly below central antenna, second part is directly below left antenna. The examiner notes that “above” and “below” are relative terms; that is, if one element is substantially directly below another in a first reference frame, it will be substantially directly above it in a second reference frame).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao with the specific geometric relationship between the splitter arms and the antenna elements. The structural relationship between the splitter arms and antenna elements of Gao is advantageous because it enables the antenna to be constructed via injection molding, improving production efficiency and reducing production costs (see Gao, Public content, paras. 2-3 and Example 1, para. 2)
Regarding claim 5, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han in view of Goldfarb as previously combined with Gao does not teach,
…wherein a first part of the second splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the first antenna element, and a second part of the second splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the third antenna element
Gao teaches,
…wherein a first part of the second splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the first antenna element, and a second part of the second splitter arm is substantially directly above at least part of the third antenna element (fig. 4, first part of first splitter arm of power splitter 206 is directly below central antenna, second part is directly below right antenna. The examiner notes that “above” and “below” are relative terms; that is, if one element is substantially directly below another in a first reference frame, it will be substantially directly above it in a second reference frame).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao with the specific geometric relationship between the splitter arms and the antenna elements. The structural relationship between the splitter arms and antenna elements of Gao is advantageous because it enables the antenna to be constructed via injection molding, improving production efficiency and reducing production costs (see Gao, Public content, paras. 2-3 and Example 1, para. 2)
Regarding claim 6, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han in view of Goldfarb as previously combined with Gao does not teach,
…wherein the splitter portion comprises a splitting area between the first splitter arm and the second splitter arm, the splitting area is substantially directly above the first antenna element
Gao teaches,
…wherein the splitter portion comprises a splitting area between the first splitter arm and the second splitter arm, the splitting area is substantially directly above the first antenna element (fig. 4 of Gao).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao with the specific geometric relationship between the splitter arms and the antenna elements. The structural relationship between the splitter arms and antenna elements of Gao is advantageous because it enables the antenna to be constructed via injection molding, improving production efficiency and reducing production costs (see Gao, Public content, paras. 2-3 and Example 1, para. 2)
Regarding claim 7, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han further teaches,
…wherein the antenna feeding trace and all of the plurality of antenna elements are all on a same particular side of a plane comprising the plurality of antenna vias (fig. 6B, antennas of each array 100i are shown to be linear, indicating that their feeding traces are also in the same plane since the antenna feeding trace elements are shown to be directly below each antenna patch in fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 8, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han further teaches,
…wherein a width of the antenna feeding trace in a particular direction, which is perpendicular to an axis via the plurality of antenna elements, is substantially not greater than a width of the plurality of the antenna elements in the particular direction (figs. 1A, 1C, and 4B. The antenna array and feeding vias have the same maximum width in the X- and Y-directions, both perpendicular to the Z-axis in which the antenna vias are formed).
Regarding claim 9, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein the antenna feeding trace comprises a feeding line portion configured to feed the transformer portion, wherein at least part of the feeding line portion is substantially directly above at least part of the second antenna element or the third antenna element.
Goldfarb teaches that the antenna feeding trace comprises a feeding line portion configured to feed the transformer portion (see fig. 4, input).
Gao teaches,
…wherein the antenna feeding trace comprises a feeding line portion (fig. 3, feeding line 202), wherein at least part of the feeding line portion is substantially directly above at least part of the second antenna element or the third antenna element (fig. 3, feeding line 202 is directly above patch 201. The examiner notes that “above” is a relative term; an element that is directly above another element in one frame of reference will be directly below it in another frame of reference. Since the antenna array of fig. 116 is disposed on a mobile device there are occasions when the feed will be directly above the antenna element).
Regarding claim 10, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein the transformer portion is configured to match an impedance of the plurality of antenna elements to an impedance of a feeding line portion of the antenna feeding trace
Goldfarb teaches,
…wherein the transformer portion is configured to match an impedance of the plurality of antenna elements to an impedance of a feeding line portion of the antenna feeding trace (p. 1440, left col., para. 3, “Synthesis is begun by generating a four-section transformer between Z, and Z,/3. In the instant case, a 0.1 dB Chebyshev transformer was selected”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the transformer portion of Goldfarb for impedance matching because impedance matching reduces loss and improves antenna performance.
Regarding claim 11, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein the splitter portion is configured to connect the first, second, and third antenna elements in series
Gao further teaches,
…wherein the splitter portion is configured to connect the first, second, and third antenna elements in series (fig, 4).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the connection in series of the antennas of Gao in the antenna arrangement of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao. Connecting the antennas in series decreases the size of the array, thus making it advantageous for small communications devices like the device of Han.
Regarding claim 12, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein the first splitter arm and the second splitter arm are configured such that for first, second and third signals simultaneously communicated via the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, respectively, a phase of each of the first, second and third signals is substantially equal to a particular phase, or is an integer multiple of 360 degrees from the particular phase.
Goldfarb teaches,
…wherein the first splitter arm and the second splitter arm are configured such that for first, second and third signals simultaneously communicated via the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, respectively, a phase of each of the first, second and third signals is substantially equal to a particular phase, or is an integer multiple of 360 degrees from the particular phase (p. 1438, para. 2, “The recombinant topology provides in-phase power division with either equal-amplitude signals at all
output ports”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao with the in-phase behavior of Goldfarb because the in-phase array of Goldfarb enables electronic beamsteering with high directivity, a benefit for RF communication and sensing.
Regarding claim 13, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han further teaches,
…wherein the plurality of antenna vias is connected to a same side of the plurality of antenna elements (fig. 1A, antenna vias 120a are all connected to the antenna elements 120a in the negative Z direction).
Regarding claim 15, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han further teaches,
…wherein the first metal layer comprises: a fourth antenna element; a fifth antenna element; a first element-connecting trace to connect in series the fourth antenna element and the second antenna element; and a second element-connecting trace to connect in series the fifth antenna element and the third antenna element (para. 0090, “The first and second upper patch patterns 115a-1 and 115a-2 may be electromagnetically coupled to the first and second patch antenna patterns 110a-1 and 110a-2, and may thus provide additional impedance to the first and second patch antenna patterns 110a-1 and 110a-2.”).
Regarding claim 16, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein at least one splitter arm of the first splitter arm or the second splitter arm comprises a twisted splitter arm having a non-linear shape.
Goldfarb further teaches,
…wherein at least one splitter arm of the first splitter arm or the second splitter arm comprises a twisted splitter arm having a non-linear shape (fig. 4, upper and lower splitter arms both curve at an approximately 90o angle).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the non-linear arm of Goldfarb in the antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao because the twisted shape of the splitter arm reduces the size of the splitter, thus enabling a more compact antenna feeding structure.
Regarding claim 17, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao does not teach,
…wherein the transformer portion comprises a quarter wave transformer.
Goldfarb teaches,
…wherein the transformer portion comprises a quarter wave transformer (p. 1440, left col., para. 2, “In the instant case, a 0.1 dB Chebyshev transformer was selected”).
Goldfarb is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches a RF power splitter. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao with the quarter-wave transformer of Goldfarb because the quarter-wave transformer of Goldfarb is a standard transformer whose properties are well documented in the art, thus making it easier to modify the antenna for a variety of desired frequencies.
Regarding claim 18, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han further teaches,
…wherein the plurality of antenna elements comprises one or more patch antenna elements (fig. 1A, antenna portion 110a-2, 110a-4. See also abs., “An antenna apparatus includes a ground plane; first and second patch antenna patterns disposed above and spaced apart from the ground plane, and spaced apart from each other”).
Regarding claim 19, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han further teaches,
…wherein at least one antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements comprises a stacked patch antenna, the stacked patch antenna comprising a first antenna patch connected to an end of a particular antenna via of the plurality of antenna vias, and at least one second antenna patch coupled to the first antenna patch (fig. 1A, antenna patches 115a-2, 115a-4 are stacked above patches 110a-2, 110a-4).
Regarding claim 22, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han further teaches,
…a Radio Frequency (RF) chain to communicate signals via the polarized antenna (para. 0164, “The RF signal described in the example embodiments may include protocols such as wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) (Institute of Electrical And Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 family, or the like), worldwide interoperability for microwave access (WiMAX) (IEEE 802.16 family, or the like), IEEE 802.20, long term evolution (LTE), evolution data only (Ev-DO), high speed packet access +(HSPA+), high speed downlink packet access +(HSDPA+), high speed uplink packet access +(HSUPA+), enhanced data GSM environment (EDGE), global system for mobile communications (GSM), global positioning system (GPS), general packet radio service (GPRS), code division multiple access (CDMA), time division multiple access (TDMA), digital enhanced cordless telecommunications (DECT), Bluetooth, 3G, 4G, and 5G protocols, and any other wireless and wired protocols designated after the above-mentioned protocols, but an example is not limited thereto.”).
Claims 14, 21, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Rostomyan (US 2021/0296783 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein the antenna feeding trace is configured such that an antenna matching of the polarized antenna is not greater than -14 decibel milliwatts (dBm) for any Radio Frequency (RF) signal in a frequency bandwidth of 76-81 Gigahertz (GHz).
Goldfarb teaches (note: what Goldfarb does not teach is struck through),
…wherein the antenna feeding trace is configured such that an antenna matching of the polarized antenna is not greater than -14 decibel milliwatts (dBm) (p. 1439, right col., para. 3, “Over a 2 : 1 bandwidth, the center-to-side and side-to-side isolations exceed 20 dB.”)
Rostomyan teaches using an antenna for a Radio Frequency (RF) signal in a frequency bandwidth of 76-81 Gigahertz (GHz) (para. 0002, “In automotive applications the radar transmission frequencies are restricted to specific frequency bands, which are currently approximately 76 GHz to 81 GHz”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna array of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao to work with RF signals with a bandwidth of 76-81 GHz because said bandwidth is used for automotive applications. This modification thus allows the antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao to function at higher frequencies, increasing the potential use cases.
Regarding claim 21, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han as previously combined with Goldfarb and Gao does not teach,
…wherein the polarized antenna is configured to communicate Radio Frequency (RF) signals at a frequency above 70 Gigahertz (GHz).
Rostomyan teaches,
…wherein the polarized antenna is configured to communicate Radio Frequency (RF) signals at a frequency above 70 Gigahertz (GHz) (para. 0002, “In automotive applications the radar transmission frequencies are restricted to specific frequency bands, which are currently approximately 76 GHz to 81 GHz”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna array of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao to work with RF signals with a bandwidth of 76-81 GHz because said bandwidth is used for automotive applications. This modification thus allows the antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao to function at higher frequencies, increasing the potential use cases.
Regarding claim 23, Han teaches (note: what Han does not teach is struck through),
A Radio Frequency (RF) system comprising:
one or more Transmit (Tx) antennas (para. 0065, “The directions in which the first and second surface currents flow may correspond to a direction of an electrical field and a direction of a magnetic field, formed when the first and second patch antenna patterns 110a-1 and 110a-2 remotely transmit and receive an RF signal.”);
one or more Receive (Rx) antennas (para. 0065, “The directions in which the first and second surface currents flow may correspond to a direction of an electrical field and a direction of a magnetic field, formed when the first and second patch antenna patterns 110a-1 and 110a-2 remotely transmit and receive an RF signal.”); and
at least one antenna of the one or more Tx antennas or the one or more Rx antennas comprises a polarized antenna (para. 0106, “A surface current of an RF signal flowing through one of the plurality of feed vias and a surface current of an RF signal flowing through the other one of the plurality of feed vias may be orthogonal to each other, and may implement a polarized wave.”) comprising:
a dielectric layer comprising a plurality of antenna vias comprising a first antenna via, a second antenna via, and a third antenna via (fig. 1A, para. 0050, “For example, the first, second, third, and fourth conductive layers 101a, 102a, 103a, and 104a may be disposed in at least portions of upper surfaces or lower surfaces of the corresponding dielectric layers, respectively, to include a pre-designed conductive pattern or a pre-designed conductive plane, and may be connected to each other in upward and/or downward directions (e.g., +/−z directions) through a conductive via. A width of the conductive via may be appropriately adjusted.” See fig. 1A, reproduced and labeled below);
a first metal layer on a first side of the dielectric layer (fig. 1A, metal layer 102a),
the first metal layer comprising a plurality of antenna elements comprising a first antenna element connected to a first end of the first antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements),
a second antenna element connected to a first end of the second antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements), and
a third antenna element connected to a first end of the third antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements); and
a second metal layer on a second side of the dielectric layer opposite to the first side of the dielectric layer (fig. 1A., metal layer 103a),
the second metal layer comprising an antenna feeding trace comprising a transformer portion (fig. 4B, antenna feed lines 220a each comprise a transformer 228f)
Goldfarb teaches (what Goldfarb does not teach is struck through),
…an antenna feeding trace (“new topology has been developed for the synthesis of
planar, wide-band power dividers suitable for use at RF and
microwave frequencies. “) comprising a transformer portion and a splitter portion (fig. 4, reproduced below),
the transformer portion connected to a first port (fig. 4, reproduced below),
the splitter portion comprising a first splitter arm connecting the transformer portion to a second port (fig. 4, reproduced below), and
a second splitter arm connecting the transformer portion to a third port (fig. 4, reproduced below).
Gao teaches that the first, second, and third ports of a three-way power divider can be directly connected to antenna vias (see Gao, fig. 4).
Rostomyan teaches,
A radar system (para. 0007) comprising:
one or more Transmit (Tx) antennas (fig. 6, TX Beamformer, RX Beamformer);
one or more Receive (Rx) antennas (fig. 6, TX Beamformer, RX Beamformer); and
a radar processor to generate radar information based on radar Rx signals received by the one or more Rx antennas, the radar Rx signals based on radar Tx signals transmitted by the one or more Tx antennas (fig. 6, radar transceiver 620), wherein
Han, Goldfarb, Gao, and Rostomyan are all analogous to the claimed invention because they all teach RF antennas. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna array of Han with the three-way power splitter of Goldfarb. Han teaches antenna feeds but does not teach using a power splitter to feed the antennas. However, power splitting is a common technique in the art, and the power splitter of Goldfarb is explicitly taught as being useable in antenna arrays. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the power splitter of Goldfarb in the array of Han because the power splitter of Goldfarb has low return loss and is small enough to be used in the communication device of Han. Furthermore, the invention of Gao shows that power splitters are frequently used in antennas for communication devices and demonstrates that power splitters can be directly connected to antenna via elements with the predictable result of a more compact antenna feed. Thus, the combination of Han, Goldfarb, and Gao renders obvious the claimed antenna.
It would further be obvious to modify the antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and Gao for use in a vehicle radar because vehicle radars commonly use polarized antennas, and the antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and Gao is compact, thus reducing the size of the antenna needed.
Regarding claim 24, Han in view of Goldfarb, further in view of Gao and further in view of Rostomyan teaches the radar system of claim 23. Claim 24 is otherwise rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 2.
Regarding claim 25, , Han teaches (note: what Han does not teach is struck through),
radio frequency (RF) system configured to provide the radar information to the system controller, the radio frequency (RF) system comprising:
one or more Transmit (Tx) antennas (para. 0065, “The directions in which the first and second surface currents flow may correspond to a direction of an electrical field and a direction of a magnetic field, formed when the first and second patch antenna patterns 110a-1 and 110a-2 remotely transmit and receive an RF signal.”);
one or more Receive (Rx) antennas (para. 0065, “The directions in which the first and second surface currents flow may correspond to a direction of an electrical field and a direction of a magnetic field, formed when the first and second patch antenna patterns 110a-1 and 110a-2 remotely transmit and receive an RF signal.”); and
at least one antenna of the one or more Tx antennas or the one or more Rx antennas comprises a polarized antenna (para. 0106, “A surface current of an RF signal flowing through one of the plurality of feed vias and a surface current of an RF signal flowing through the other one of the plurality of feed vias may be orthogonal to each other, and may implement a polarized wave.”) comprising:
a dielectric layer comprising a plurality of antenna vias comprising a first antenna via, a second antenna via, and a third antenna via (fig. 1A, para. 0050, “For example, the first, second, third, and fourth conductive layers 101a, 102a, 103a, and 104a may be disposed in at least portions of upper surfaces or lower surfaces of the corresponding dielectric layers, respectively, to include a pre-designed conductive pattern or a pre-designed conductive plane, and may be connected to each other in upward and/or downward directions (e.g., +/−z directions) through a conductive via. A width of the conductive via may be appropriately adjusted.” See fig. 1A, reproduced and labeled below);
a first metal layer on a first side of the dielectric layer (fig. 1A, metal layer 102a),
the first metal layer comprising a plurality of antenna elements comprising a first antenna element connected to a first end of the first antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements),
a second antenna element connected to a first end of the second antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements), and
a third antenna element connected to a first end of the third antenna via (fig. 1A, antenna elements 110a-1, 110a-4. The examiner notes that fig. 1C shows four antenna elements); and
a second metal layer on a second side of the dielectric layer opposite to the first side of the dielectric layer (fig. 1A., metal layer 103a),
the second metal layer comprising an antenna feeding trace comprising a transformer portion (fig. 4B, antenna feed lines 220a each comprise a transformer 228f)
Goldfarb teaches (what Goldfarb does not teach is struck through),
…an antenna feeding trace (“new topology has been developed for the synthesis of
planar, wide-band power dividers suitable for use at RF and
microwave frequencies. “) comprising a transformer portion and a splitter portion (fig. 4, reproduced below),
the transformer portion connected to a first port (fig. 4, reproduced below),
the splitter portion comprising a first splitter arm connecting the transformer portion to a second port (fig. 4, reproduced below), and
a second splitter arm connecting the transformer portion to a third port (fig. 4, reproduced below).
Gao teaches that the first, second, and third ports of a three-way power divider can be directly connected to antenna vias (see Gao, fig. 4).
Rostomyan teaches (note: what Rostomyan does not teach is struck through),
A vehicle comprising (fig. 1, vehicle 100):
a system controller configured to control one or more vehicular systems of the vehicle based on radar information (para. 0036, “As illustrated, the beam steering radar 106 may detect both vehicle 120 at a far range (e.g., greater than 350 m) as well as a vehicles 110 and 114 at short ranges (e.g., less than 100 m)…While the environment illustration of FIG. 1 includes vehicles as objects, there are many other objects that may be detected where the velocity is important in identification, such as a wall or other static object that is at zero velocity; this information is used to identify objects. In the variety of situations, the goal is to detect, identify and react in the shortest time period.”); and
a radar system configured to provide the radar information to the system controller (fig. 1, radar 106), the radar system comprising:
one or more Transmit (Tx) antennas (fig. 6, TX Beamformer, RX Beamformer);
one or more Receive (Rx) antennas (fig. 6, TX Beamformer, RX Beamformer); and
a radar processor to generate the radar information based on radar Rx signals received by the one or more Rx antennas, the radar Rx signals based on radar Tx signals transmitted by the one or more Tx antennas (fig. 6, radar transceiver 620)…
Han, Goldfarb, Gao, and Rostomyan are all analogous to the claimed invention because they all teach RF antennas. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna array of Han with the three-way power splitter of Goldfarb. Han teaches antenna feeds but does not teach using a power splitter to feed the antennas. However, power splitting is a common technique in the art, and the power splitter of Goldfarb is explicitly taught as being useable in antenna arrays. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the power splitter of Goldfarb in the array of Han because the power splitter of Goldfarb has low return loss and is small enough to be used in the communication device of Han. Furthermore, the invention of Gao shows that power splitters are frequently used in antennas for communication devices and demonstrates that power splitters can be directly connected to antenna via elements with the predictable result of a more compact antenna feed. Thus, the combination of Han, Goldfarb, and Gao renders obvious the claimed antenna.
It would further be obvious to modify the antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and Gao for use in a vehicle radar because vehicle radars commonly use polarized antennas, and the antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and Gao is compact, thus reducing the size of the antenna needed.
Regarding claim 26, Han in view of Goldfarb, further in view of Gao, and further in view of Rostomyan teaches the vehicle of claim 25. Claim 26 is otherwise rejected for the same reasons and using the same citations as claim 7.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Goldfarb, further in view of Gao, and further in view of Svendsen et al. (U.S. 2023/0417869), hereinafter Svendsen.
Regarding claim 20, Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao teach a polarized antenna but are silent as to the specific polarization. Svendsen teaches,
…wherein the polarized antenna comprises a horizontally polarized antenna (para. 0044, “Each of the plurality of antenna elements 204 to 206, 208 to 211 may be configured to transmit electromagnetic waves of a first polarization (e.g., a horizontal or vertical polarization and/or co- or cross-polarization).”).
Svendsen is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches a RF antenna. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a horizontal polarization for the polarized antenna of Han in view of Goldfarb and further in view of Gao because there are a limited number of potential polarization directions, and horizontal polarization is beneficial because it reduces noise and ground reflection losses.
Conclusion
/Anna K. Gosling/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648