DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18915165 filed 10/14/2024 is a Continuation of PCT/CN2022/111276, filed 08/09/2022.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 10/14/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 15 recite the limitation “the first terminal device” in line 5. It is unclear how the claimed “terminal device” was introduced into the claim language. Accordingly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8, 10-14 and 16-20 failed to correct the issue, therefore, they are rejected based on their dependency on claims 1, 9 and 15.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claim limitations “a first communications unit” (claims 9-20), “first processing unit" (claims 11-20) and “third communications unit” (claims 15-20) have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “configured to” coupled with functional language “receive first information” (claims 9-20), “determine one or more second terminal devices” (claims 11-20) and “receive second information” (claims 15-20) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-3 and 5-7 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification, referenced by the PGPUB, for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
• “a first communications unit”– Specification [0262], lines 4 – it appears that the corresponding structure is a processor 1710.
• “a first processing unit"– Specification [0262], lines 4– it appears that the corresponding structure is processor 1710.
• “a third communications unit"– Specification [0262], lines 4 – it appears that the corresponding structure is a processor 1710.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 2022/0229146) in view of Cai (US 2026/0040262).
Regarding claim 1, Ko et al discloses information processing method (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7), comprising:
receiving, by a first network device, first information, wherein the first information is used to request positioning (Referring to FIG. 12, an AMF (first network device) may receive a request (first information) for a location (positioning) service related to a specific target UE from a different entity such as a gateway mobile location center (GMLC), or may determine to start (first information) the location service in the AMF itself instead of the specific target UE, [0117], lines 1-3); and
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmitting, by the first network device, second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of transmitting, by the first network device, second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of transmitting, by the first network device, second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Ko et al discloses method (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first information carries an identity of the first terminal device and an identity of the first application.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the first information carries an identity of the first terminal device and an identity of the first application (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the first information carries an identity of the first terminal device and an identity of the first application of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Ko et al discloses method, wherein the method further comprises (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7):
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of determining, by the first network device, one or more second terminal devices based on the related information of the area in which the first terminal device is located.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of determining, by the first network device, one or more second terminal devices based on the related information of the area in which the first terminal device is located (LPP payload may also be carried by a separate UL_NAS_TRANSPORT if ciphering key is available after registration request. When Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) which is not shown in FIG. 2 receives the registration request, the measurements in LPP message may be forwarded to the device 110 over NL1 interface with Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and area information associated with the UE, [0060], lines 7-11).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of determining, by the first network device, one or more second terminal devices based on the related information of the area in which the first terminal device is located of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Ko et al discloses method (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: the identity of the first terminal device;
the Identity of the first application; or
an identity of each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: the identity of the first terminal device (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4);
the Identity of the first application (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4); or
an identity of each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number, [0078], lines 12-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: the identity of the first terminal device; the Identity of the first application; or an identity of each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Ko et al discloses method (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Ko et al discloses method (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein after the transmitting, by the first network device, second information, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first network device, reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate one or more second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device;
determining, by the first network device, the target second terminal device used for positioning from the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device;
transmitting, by the first network device, third information, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter; and
receiving, by the first network device, a relative positioning result, and determining location information of the first terminal device based on the relative positioning result, wherein the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein after the transmitting, by the first network device, second information, the method further comprises (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and UEAreaIndication, [0078], lines 12-14, [0085], lines 10-11):
receiving, by the first network device, reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate one or more second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and UEAreaIndication, [0078], lines 12-14, [0085], lines 10-11);
determining, by the first network device, the target second terminal device used for positioning from the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2);
transmitting, by the first network device, third information, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2); and
receiving, by the first network device, a relative positioning result, and determining location information of the first terminal device based on the relative positioning result, wherein the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein after the transmitting, by the first network device, second information, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first network device, reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate one or more second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device; determining, by the first network device, the target second terminal device used for positioning from the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device; transmitting, by the first network device, third information, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter; and receiving, by the first network device, a relative positioning result, and determining location information of the first terminal device based on the relative positioning result, wherein the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Ko et al discloses method (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the reply information for the second information carries an identity of the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device and the identity of the first application.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the reply information for the second information carries an identity of the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device and the identity of the first application (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and UEAreaIndication, [0078], lines 12-14, [0085], lines 10-11).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the reply information for the second information carries an identity of the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device and the identity of the first application of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Ko et al discloses method (fig. 12, information processing method, [0117], lines 1-7),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the transmitting, by the first network device, second information comprises:
separately transmitting, by the first network device, the second information to the first terminal device and each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the transmitting, by the first network device, second information comprises (LPP payload may also be carried by a separate UL_NAS_TRANSPORT if ciphering key is available after registration request. When Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) which is not shown in FIG. 2 receives the registration request, the measurements in LPP message may be forwarded to the device 110 over NL1 interface with Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and area information associated with the UE, [0060], lines 7-11):
separately transmitting, by the first network device, the second information to the first terminal device and each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices (LPP payload may also be carried by a separate UL_NAS_TRANSPORT if ciphering key is available after registration request. When Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) which is not shown in FIG. 2 receives the registration request, the measurements in LPP message may be forwarded to the device 110 over NL1 interface with Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and area information associated with the UE, [0060], lines 7-11).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the transmitting, by the first network device, second information comprises: separately transmitting, by the first network device, the second information to the first terminal device and each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devicesof Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Ko et al discloses first network device (fig. 12, AMF), comprising:
a first communications unit (fig. 12, AMF), configured to:
receive first information, wherein the first information is used to request positioning (Referring to FIG. 12, an AMF (first network device) may receive a request (first information) for a location (positioning) service related to a specific target UE from a different entity such as a gateway mobile location center (GMLC), or may determine to start (first information) the location service in the AMF itself instead of the specific target UE, [0117], lines 1-3); and
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmit second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of transmit second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of transmit second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Ko et al discloses first network device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first information carries an identity of the first terminal device and an identity of the first application.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the first information carries an identity of the first terminal device and an identity of the first application (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the first information carries an identity of the first terminal device and an identity of the first application of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Ko et al discloses first network device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first network device further comprises: a first processing unit, configured to determine one or more second terminal devices based on related information of an area in which the first terminal device is located; and
the first communications unit is configured to obtain the related information of the area in which the first terminal device is located from a second network device.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the first network device further comprises: a first processing unit, configured to determine one or more second terminal devices based on related information of an area in which the first terminal device is located (LPP payload may also be carried by a separate UL_NAS_TRANSPORT if ciphering key is available after registration request. When Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) which is not shown in FIG. 2 receives the registration request, the measurements in LPP message may be forwarded to the device 110 over NL1 interface with Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and area information associated with the UE, [0060], lines 7-11); and
the first communications unit is configured to obtain the related information of the area in which the first terminal device is located from a second network device (LPP payload may also be carried by a separate UL_NAS_TRANSPORT if ciphering key is available after registration request. When Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) which is not shown in FIG. 2 receives the registration request, the measurements in LPP message may be forwarded to the device 110 over NL1 interface with Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and area information associated with the UE, [0060], lines 7-11).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the first network device further comprises: a first processing unit, configured to determine one or more second terminal devices based on related information of an area in which the first terminal device is located; and the first communications unit is configured to obtain the related information of the area in which the first terminal device is located from a second network device of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Ko et al discloses first network device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: the identity of the first terminal device;
the identity of the first application; or
an identity of each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: the identity of the first terminal device (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4);
the identity of the first application (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4); or
an identity of each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number, [0078], lines 12-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: the identity of the first terminal device; the identity of the first application; or an identity of each second terminal device in the one or more second terminal devices of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Ko et al discloses first network device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Ko et al discloses first network device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first communications unit is configured to: receive reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate one or more second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device;
transmit third information, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter; and
receive a relative positioning result; and
the first processing unit is configured to:
determine the target second terminal device used for positioning from the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device; and
determine location information of the first terminal device based on the relative positioning result, wherein the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the first communications unit is configured to (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and UEAreaIndication, [0078], lines 12-14, [0085], lines 10-11): receive reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate one or more second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number. The device 110 may reply with the country indication and UEAreaIndication, [0078], lines 12-14, [0085], lines 10-11);
transmit third information, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (third information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (third information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2); and
receive a relative positioning result (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2); and
the first processing unit is configured to (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2):
determine the target second terminal device used for positioning from the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2); and
determine location information of the first terminal device based on the relative positioning result, wherein the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the first communications unit is configured to: receive reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate one or more second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device; transmit third information, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter; and receive a relative positioning result; and the first processing unit is configured to: determine the target second terminal device used for positioning from the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device; and determine location information of the first terminal device based on the relative positioning result, wherein the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Ko et al discloses first terminal device (fig. 12, AMF), comprising:
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of third communications unit, configured to receive second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of third communications unit, configured to receive second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (there exists communication units within the first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of third communications unit, configured to receive second information, wherein the second information is used to trigger the first terminal device to execute a discovery process, to determine a target second terminal device used for positioning of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Ko et al discloses first terminal device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: an identity of the first terminal device;
an ID of a first application; or
an identity of each second terminal device in one or more second terminal devices.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: an identity of the first terminal device (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4);
an ID of a first application (device 110 may determine 2040 an identity of the NTN device 140. For example, the device 110 may receive a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI) from a radio access network device. The device 110 may determine the identity of the NTN device 140 based on the NCGI. Alternatively, the device 110 may receive the identity of the non-terrestrial network device from a radio access network device, [0068], lines 1-4); or
an identity of each second terminal device in one or more second terminal devices (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number, [0078], lines 12-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the second information carries at least one of following: an identity of the first terminal device; an ID of a first application; or an identity of each second terminal device in one or more second terminal devices of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Ko et al discloses first terminal device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning(The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the second information is further used to request discovery of a second terminal device that supports positioning of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Ko et al discloses first terminal device (fig. 12, AMF), wherein the first terminal device further comprises (fig. 12, AMF):
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of a third processing unit, configured to control execution of a discovery process by using the third communications unit, to obtain a discovered second terminal device; and
the third communications unit is configured to transmit reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of a third processing unit, configured to control execution of a discovery process by using the third communications unit, to obtain a discovered second terminal device (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2); and
the third communications unit is configured to transmit reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of a third processing unit, configured to control execution of a discovery process by using the third communications unit, to obtain a discovered second terminal device; and the third communications unit is configured to transmit reply information for the second information, wherein the reply information for the second information is used to indicate the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Ko et al discloses first terminal device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the reply information for the second information carries an identity of the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device and the identity of the first application.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the reply information for the second information carries an identity of the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device and the identity of the first application (UE represents the location of the device 130, P.sub.PRUi represents the location of the device 120-I in the area which can be used to identify which side of the border the device 130 may be, and i can be any integer number, [0078], lines 12-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the reply information for the second information carries an identity of the second terminal device discovered by the first terminal device and the identity of the first application of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Ko et al discloses first terminal device (fig. 12, AMF),
Ko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the third communications unit is configured to: receive third information transmitted by a first network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter; and
transmit a relative positioning result to the first network device, wherein the relative positioning result is used to determine location information of the first terminal device, and the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device; and
the third processing unit is configured to perform positioning processing with the target second terminal device by using the third communications unit, to obtain the relative positioning result.
However, Cai specifically teaches concept of wherein the third communications unit is configured to: receive third information transmitted by a first network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2); and
transmit a relative positioning result to the first network device, wherein the relative positioning result is used to determine location information of the first terminal device, and the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2); and
the third processing unit is configured to perform positioning processing with the target second terminal device by using the third communications unit, to obtain the relative positioning result (The NTN device 140 (first network device) may transmit 2055 one or more PRSs (second information) to the device 120-1 (first terminal device). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) may monitor (execute a discovery process) the plurality of PRRs based on the assistance information regarding PRS (second information). The device 120-1 (first terminal device) performs 2060 a second positioning measurement based on the one or more PRSs (second information) from the NTN device 140 (second terminal device), [0072], lines 1-2, [0073], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ko et al with concept of wherein the third communications unit is configured to: receive third information transmitted by a first network device, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first terminal device to perform positioning with the target second terminal device, and the third information carries a positioning-related parameter; and transmit a relative positioning result to the first network device, wherein the relative positioning result is used to determine location information of the first terminal device, and the relative positioning result is a relative location relationship between the first terminal device and the target second terminal device; and the third processing unit is configured to perform positioning processing with the target second terminal device by using the third communications unit, to obtain the relative positioning result of Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve location verification and corresponding devices, (Cai, [0003], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681