CTNF 18/915,215 CTNF 85707 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 5-11, 13-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathur et al. (US 2012/0304232 A1) in view of Voss et al. (US 2017/0319123 A1) . With respect to claim 1, Mathur discloses: a method of adjusting a bit rate of data being transferred, comprising: in conjunction with capturing video data using a camera at the glasses (i.e., wearable camcorder providing audiovisual stream transmitted to invited viewers in Mathur, ¶0014) and in response to receiving a request from the user of the glasses to stream the video data at the first device (i.e., user invites other user and broadcasts the personal videocast session to invited group of viewers in Mathur, ¶0013), receiving data used to assess a data transmission characteristic of the first narrow bandwidth communication channel (i.e., providing control messages to the headset camcorder including congestion details corresponding to the network such as speed of the link in Mathur, ¶0035, ¶0038, ¶0040, ¶0042); in accordance with a determination that the data transmission characteristic satisfies a first threshold (i.e., a response to a threshold level of congestion metrics to adjust throughput of data transmission in Mathur, ¶0028, ¶0035), causing the video data to be sent via the first communication channel at a first bitrate, wherein as the video data is received at the first device (i.e., according to the threshold level of indicated link congestion, adjusting the bit rate at which stream is encoded in Mathur, ¶0038, ¶0039), the first device is configured to stream the video data to another device associated with another user (i.e., streaming live audio and video from headset camcorder to invited viewers in Mathur, ¶0010); in conjunction with capturing additional video data using the camera at the glasses, receiving new data used to assess a new data transmission characteristic of the first narrow bandwidth communication channel (i.e., receiving a control message to throttle rate at which to transmit video stream corresponding to congestion associated with the link in Mathur, ¶0027-0028); and in accordance with a determination that the new data transmission characteristic satisfies a second threshold, causing the additional video data to be sent via the first communication channel at a second bitrate, distinct from the first bitrate (i.e., continuously adjusting throughput and encoding bitrate dynamically to new network conditions and control messages in Mathur, ¶0012, ¶0030, ¶0039, ¶0050). Mathur discloses streaming live video from a worn camcorder via smartphone over Bluetooth and adjusting streaming bitrate based on network conditions (¶0010, ¶0012, ¶0015). Mathur do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Voss, in order to manage limited battery and processing power by offloading computation from glasses to the smartphone (¶0071), discloses: while a user is wearing glasses communicatively coupled to a first device via a first narrow bandwidth communication channel (i.e., wearable glasses connected to mobile phone with camera capture and offloading to phone-side processing in Voss, ¶0006, ¶0007, ¶0071). Based on Mathur in view of Voss, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Voss to improve upon those of Mathur in order to manage limited battery and processing power by offloading computation from glasses to the smartphone. With respect to claim 5, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein capturing the video data further includes capturing audio data using a microphone at the glasses (i.e., capturing live audio and video from the headset camcorder in Mathur, ¶0010). With respect to claim 6, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the narrow bandwidth communication channel is a Bluetooth channel (i.e., transmitting the AV stream via Bluetooth in Mathur, ¶0002). With respect to claim 7, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the data and the new data include at least one of: received signal strength indicator (RSSI) data and latency data associated with the first device. (i.e., livestream delay, buffering, buffer growth, and decoding capability as feedback for bitrate adjustment corresponding to latency in Mathur, ¶0010, ¶0035, ¶0039). With respect to claim 8, Mathur discloses streaming live video from a worn camcorder via smartphone over Bluetooth and adjusting streaming bitrate based on network conditions (¶0010, ¶0012, ¶0015). Mathur do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Voss, in order to manage limited battery and processing power by offloading computation from glasses to the smartphone (¶0071), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the first device is further configured to save the video data to memory at the first device (i.e., data storage may be handled in the phone, store encoded video in Voss, ¶0071). Based on Mathur in view of Voss, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Voss to improve upon those of Mathur in order to manage limited battery and processing power by offloading computation from glasses to the smartphone. With respect to claim 9, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: while the user is wearing the glasses communicatively coupled to the first device via the first narrow bandwidth communication channel: (i.e., wearable camcorder providing audiovisual stream transmitted to invited viewers in Mathur, ¶0014) in conjunction with capturing other video data using the camera at the glasses (i.e., user invites other user and broadcasts the personal videocast session to invited group of viewers in Mathur, ¶0013), receiving other data used to assess another data transmission characteristic of the first narrow bandwidth communication channel; (i.e., providing control messages to the headset camcorder including congestion details corresponding to the network such as speed of the link in Mathur, ¶0035, ¶0038, ¶0040, ¶0042) in accordance with a determination that the other data transmission characteristic satisfies a third threshold (i.e., a response to a threshold level of congestion metrics to adjust throughput of data transmission in Mathur, ¶0028, ¶0035), causing the other video data to be sent via the first communication channel at a third bitrate, distinct from the first bitrate and second bitrate. (i.e., continuously adjusting throughput and encoding bitrate dynamically to new network conditions and control messages in Mathur, ¶0012, ¶0030, ¶0039, ¶0050). With respect to claim 10, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: while the user is wearing the glasses communicatively coupled to the first device via a first narrow bandwidth communication channel and prior to sending the video data via the first communication channel to the first device, compressing and encoding the video data. (i.e., headset camcorder encodes and compresses the video stream in Mathur, ¶0026, ¶0031). With respect to claim 11, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: while the user is wearing the glasses communicatively coupled to the first device via the first narrow bandwidth communication channel: in response to capturing the video data using the camera at the glasses, display the video data at a display of the first device (i.e., responsive to captured video from the worn camcorder, mobile device displays the video and functions as viewfinder in Mathur, ¶0002, ¶0016) ; and in response to capturing the additional video data using the camera at the glasses, display the additional video at the display of the first device (i.e., continuous stream of frames viewable on the device and functioning like a viewfinder in Mathur, ¶0016, ¶0027) With respect to claim 13, Mathur discloses streaming live video from a worn camcorder via smartphone over Bluetooth and adjusting streaming bitrate based on network conditions (¶0010, ¶0012, ¶0015). Mathur do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Voss, in order to manage limited battery and processing power by offloading computation from glasses to the smartphone (¶0071), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the glasses are one of augmented-reality glasses with at least one display and smart glasses without a display. (i.e., AR/HUD glasses with a camera and tethered mobile phone connection in Voss, ¶0007, ¶0071). Based on Mathur in view of Voss, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Voss to improve upon those of Mathur in order to manage limited battery and processing power by offloading computation from glasses to the smartphone. With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1. With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 9. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 9. With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 13. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 13. With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1. With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 9. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 9. With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 13. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 13 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 3, 4, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathur et al. (US 2012/0304232 A1) in view of Voss et al. (US 2017/0319123 A1), and further in view of Maylander et al. (US 2013/0254330 A1) . With respect to claim 2, Mathur discloses according to the threshold level of indicated link congestion, adjusting the bit rate at which stream is encoded (¶0038, ¶0039). Mathur and Voss do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Maylander, in order to improve quality of streaming experience through rate control and maintaining an optimal parameters including frame rate and bitrate (¶0045, ¶0051), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein: the data used to assess the data transmission characteristic is a frame rate of the video data sent via the first communication channel (i.e., using measured framerate and target bitrate control and dynamically adjust the stream in Maylander, ¶0043, ¶0044, ¶0046); and the new data used to assess the new data transmission characteristic is a frame rate of the additional video data sent via the first communication channel (i.e., repeatedly reporting frame measurements and trying to adapt to an optimal frame rate for video in Maylander, ¶0043, ¶0044, ¶0046). Based on Mathur in view of Voss, and further in view of Maylander, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Maylander to improve upon those of Mathur in order to improve quality of streaming experience through rate control and maintaining an optimal parameters including frame rate and bitrate. With respect to claim 3, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 2, wherein: the first bitrate is greater than the second bitrate. (i.e., reducing frame production and sending different frame rates, reducing bitrate corresponding into reducing frame rates caused by dropped frames in Mathur, ¶0030, ¶0048, ¶0050). Mathur discloses according to the threshold level of indicated link congestion, adjusting the bit rate at which stream is encoded (¶0038, ¶0039). Mathur and Voss do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Maylander, in order to improve quality of streaming experience through rate control and maintaining an optimal parameters including frame rate and bitrate (¶0045, ¶0051), discloses: the frame rate of the video data sent via the first communication channel is greater than the frame rate of the additional video data sent via the first communication channel; and (i.e., using framerate data as a control for reducing quality to meet conditions corresponding; optimal framerate corresponds to a bitrate in Maylander, ¶0044-46). Based on Mathur in view of Voss, and further in view of Maylander, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Maylander to improve upon those of Mathur in order to improve quality of streaming experience through rate control and maintaining an optimal parameters including frame rate and bitrate. With respect to claim 4, Mathur discloses: the method of claim 2, wherein: the first bitrate is less than the second bitrate. (i.e., increasing data bitrate for a later higher quality stream in Mathur, ¶0030, ¶0050). Mathur discloses according to the threshold level of indicated link congestion, adjusting the bit rate at which stream is encoded (¶0038, ¶0039). Mathur and Voss do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Maylander, in order to improve quality of streaming experience through rate control and maintaining an optimal parameters including frame rate and bitrate (¶0045, ¶0051), discloses: the frame rate of the video data sent via the first communication channel is less than the frame rate of the additional video data sent via the first communication channel (i.e., when resources improve, optimal frame rate is raised, which raises bitrate in Maylander, ¶0044, ¶0045). Based on Mathur in view of Voss, and further in view of Maylander, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Maylander to improve upon those of Mathur in order to improve quality of streaming experience through rate control and maintaining an optimal parameters including frame rate and bitrate. With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathur et al. (US 2012/0304232 A1) in view of Voss et al. (US 2017/0319123 A1), and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2016/0286244 A1) . With respect to claim 12, Mathur discloses streaming live video from a worn camcorder via smartphone over Bluetooth and adjusting streaming bitrate based on network conditions (¶0010, ¶0012, ¶0015). Mathur and Voss do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Chang, in order to improve engagement with broadcaster and viewers (¶0003, ¶0056), discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: while the user is wearing the glasses communicatively coupled to the first device via the first narrow bandwidth communication channel: in response to receiving a message from the other device associated with the other user, present the message at one of glasses and the first device (i.e., viewer comments received with live stream to be displayed back to the broadcaster as real-time feedback in Chang, ¶0043, ¶0045, ¶0063, ¶0101). Based on Mathur in view of Voss, and further in view of Chang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang to improve upon those of Mathur in order to improve engagement with broadcaster and viewers. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHERMAN L LIN whose telephone number is (571)270-7446. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Eastern). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joon Hwang can be reached at 571-272-4036. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Sherman Lin 5/2/2026 /S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447 /JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 2 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 3 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 4 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 5 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 6 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 7 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 8 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 9 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 10 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/915,215 Page 11 Art Unit: 2447