Detailed Action
1. This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 04/23/2026. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Terminal Disclaimer
2. The terminal disclaimer filed on 04/23/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of prior patent number 10827319 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alsina et al. (US 2017/0359282 A1), hereinafter “Alsina”.
6. As to claim 1, Alsina teaches a method comprising:
displaying, by a first application and on a device, a view of a user interface of a second application within a view of the first application (Fig. 4B, 5B), the user interface comprising content corresponding to the second application ([0099]: the extension app is displayed by the messaging app with a particular view or style);
receiving, by the first application, a request to change the view of the user interface of the second application within the view of the first application ([0099]: the extension app can request a change in the presentation view/style by providing a call to the messaging app to cause that change to occur); and
responsive to receiving the request, changing, by the first application, the view of the user interface of the second application ([0099]: the messaging app changes the presentation style/view and displays the extension app within the requested view presentation view/style).
7. As to claim 2, Alsina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request is received via user input with respect to the view of the user interface of the second application ([0097]: the compact view icon 223A can be selected by the user to cause the system to change from the expanded view shown in FIG. 7B back to the compact view, such as the view shown in FIG. 5A).
8. As to claim 3, Alsina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request to change the view comprises a request to change from a compact view to an expanded view, a request to change from the expanded view to the compact view, or a request to close the view ([0097]: the compact view icon 223A can be selected by the user to cause the system to change from the expanded view shown in FIG. 7B back to the compact view, such as the view shown in FIG. 5A).
9. As to claim 4, Alsina teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the request comprises the request to change from the compact view to the expanded view ([0091]: an expanded view icon 223 which when selected can case the extension app to switch from its current compact view to an expended view) and the expanded view of the user interface overlaps at least a portion of the view of the first application ([0097]: FIG. 7B shows an example of an expanded view in which the drawing canvas 215A occupies most of the space of the touch screen).
10. As to claim 5, Alsina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the content corresponding to the second application is received by the first application via an inter-process communication ([0091]: in the case of the extension app, this created content was communicated from the extension app through the IPC frame work to the messaging app and then presented within the message bubble).
11. As to claim 6, Alsina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second application comprises an extension application ([0095]: a messaging app can launch different types of extension apps).
12. As to claim 7, Alsina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the view of the user interface of the second application is configured to provide output from the second application ([0091]: in the case of the extension app, this created content was communicated from the extension app through the IPC frame work to the messaging app and then presented within the message bubble 230).
13. Claims 8-20 are corresponding device and non-transitory machine-readable medium claims that recite similar limitations as of method claims 1-7 and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peterson et al. (US 2017/0359702 A1)
Weinig et al. (US 2017/0359285 A1)
/QUANG N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453