DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 13 August 2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-20 remain pending in this application.
The amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections and §112(b) rejections set forth in the office action mailed 16 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2013/0042596), hereinafter Fuller, in view of Brennan (U.S. Patent No. 10,137,679), hereinafter Brennan, and Jones (U.S. Patent No. 10,309,346), hereinafter Jones.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Fuller discloses a method of making a fuel grain for use in a rocket engine (Figures 1 and 3-5 - Abstract), the method comprising:
a first material, 418, suitable as a hybrid rocket propellant, a second energetic material, 412, and a third ignitable material, 414;
feeding the material into an additive manufacturing device (Figures 1 and 3-5 – the material is provided to a device, 406 and 424, which make up an additive manufacturing device);
and
operating the additive manufacturing device in an additive manufacturing process to fabricate a cylindrical fuel grain, 402, comprising a plurality of stacked layers of solidified material (Figure 5 – the material is provided in layers to form the fuel grain), each stacked layer comprising concentric circular structures of different diameter fused together to form a central opening (Figures 4 and 5 – the grain is formed by layers of concentric circular structures, as shown in Figure 4, to form a grain with a central port, 438);
aligning the stacked layers such that the central openings form a combustion unit extending axially through the fuel grain and bounded by a combustion surface (Figures 3 and 4 – Paragraph 0004– the central opening/port of the grain is the location where combustion occurs and thus the port and the surface of the layers that form the port make up a combustion unit that extends through the grain and bounded by the internal surface of the grain);
configuring the fuel grain to include heterogeneous materials comprising heterogeneous propellants (Figure 4 - Paragraphs 0051, 0053 and 0081 – the different fuel sections shown in Figure 4 have different fuel materials/compositions).
Fuller does not disclose compounding, in a continuous mixer and at respective feed rates, materials according to a predetermined mixture ratio to form a compounded raw material; monitoring, in real time during the compounding, a viscosity and a composition of the compounded raw material; dynamically adjusting at least one of the respective feed rates in response to the monitored viscosity and composition such that the first material, the second energetic material, and the third ignitable material are compounded according to the predetermined mixture ratio; the heterogeneous materials comprising unfilled thermoplastics, and filled thermoplastics to enhance thrust performance.
However, Brennan teaches a method for additive manufacturing (Title – Figures 2 and 3) that comprises compounding, in a continuous mixer and at respective feed rates, materials according to a predetermined mixture ratio to form a compounded raw material (Figures 2 and 3 – Column 8, Lines 8-29 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – materials are provided to a continuous mixer at respective rates in order to provide a compounded raw material of a desired/predetermined composition/mixture ratio); monitoring, in real time during the compounding, a viscosity and a composition of the compounded raw material (Figures 2 and 3 – Column 8, Lines 8-29 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – the method monitors the viscosity, composition and mixing/compounding of the material); dynamically adjusting at least one of the respective feed rates in response to the monitored viscosity and composition such that the materials are compounded according to the predetermined mixture ratio (Figures 2 and 3 – Column 8, Lines 8-29 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – the feed rates are adjusted based on the measurements indicative of the viscosity and composition in order to provide the desired/predetermined composition/mixture ratio).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller to include compounding, in a continuous mixer and at respective feed rates, materials according to a predetermined mixture ratio to form a compounded raw material; monitoring, in real time during the compounding, a viscosity and a composition of the compounded raw material; dynamically adjusting at least one of the respective feed rates in response to the monitored viscosity and composition such that the first material, the second energetic material, and the third ignitable material are compounded according to the predetermined mixture ratio, as taught by Brennan, in order to provide an optimized and consistent process that may eliminate or reduce the need for pauses or purging (Brennan – Column 2, Lines 28-3.2 and 39-45).
Fuller in view of Brennan do not disclose the heterogeneous materials comprising unfilled thermoplastics, and filled thermoplastics to enhance thrust performance.
However, Jones teaches the use of a Acrynotrile Butadiene Styrene (ABS) thermoplastic fuel or a fuel formulation consisting of a blend of ABS thermoplastic and aluminum powder in an additive manufacturing process (Abstract and Column 9, Lines 9-14 – the fuel grain is formed of unfilled thermoplastics/ABS and filled thermoplastics/ABS).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan by making the fuel material comprises thermoplastics, as taught by Jones, resulting in the unfilled fuel materials and filled fuel materials being unfilled thermoplastics and filled thermoplastics since it has been held that the selection of a known material (in the present case thermoplastic/ABS) based on its suitability for its intended use (providing a fuel material) would have been an obvious extension of prior art teachings. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 2, Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller further discloses the combustion unit comprises a polygonal shape (Figure 4 – the port/combustion unit, 438, shown is a star/polygonal shape).
Regarding Claim 3, Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones, as discussed so far, do not disclose embedding thermally insulating materials around the cylindrical fuel grain to regulate combustion temperature.
However, Jones further teaches the use of thermally insulating materials around the fuel grain to regulate combustion temperature (Figure 5 – Column 12, Lines 60-67 – the fuel grain is wrapped with an insulating material to prevent thermal damage/regulate combustion temperature).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones by embedding thermally insulating materials around the cylindrical fuel grain to regulate combustion temperature, as taught by Jones, in order to prevent thermal damage (Jones – Column 12, Lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 4, Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones, as discussed so far, do not disclose the heterogeneous materials further comprise nanocomposites including aluminum or other metallic additives.
However, Jones further teaches the use of nanocomposites including aluminum (Column 9, Lines 9-14 – the fuel material used includes composite material of ABS and nano scale aluminum).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones by making the heterogeneous materials further comprise nanocomposites including aluminum, as taught by Jones, since it has been held that the selection of a known material (in the present case nanocomposites that include aluminum) based on its suitability for its intended use (providing a fuel material/heterogenous fuel material) would have been an obvious extension of prior art teachings. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jones (U.S. Patent No. 10,286,599), hereinafter Jones ‘599.
Regarding Claim 5, Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones do not disclose the additive manufacturing process is performed under an inert atmosphere to reduce moisture and degradation.
However, Jones ‘599 teaches a method of additive manufacturing a rocket fuel grain (Title) where the additive manufacturing process is performed under an inert atmosphere to reduce moisture and degradation (Column 15, Lines 4-38 – an inert gas covers the printing area during fabrication and thus would perform the function of reducing moisture and degradation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones by including the additive manufacturing process is performed under an inert atmosphere to reduce moisture and degradation, as taught by Jones ‘599, in order to provide an additional safety measure (Jones ‘599 – Column 15, Lines 20-25).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Danforth (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2017 /0253536), hereinafter Danforth.
Regarding Claim 6, Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones do not disclose the heterogeneous propellants are electrically activated solid propellants.
However, Danforth teaches an additive manufacturing method that uses electrically activated solid propellants (Abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones by making the heterogeneous propellants are electrically activated solid propellants since it has been held that the selection of a known material (in the present case electrically activated solid propellants) based on its suitability for its intended use (providing a fuel material/heterogenous fuel material that is additively manufactured) would have been an obvious extension of prior art teachings. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 7-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz (U.S. Patent No. 3,246,053), hereinafter Kuntz.
Regarding Independent Claim 7 and 9, A method for producing a multi-component rocket fuel grain with tailored combustion properties (Figures 1 and 3-5 - Abstract), the method comprising:
a first fuel material, 418, a second oxidizer material (Paragraph 0043 – the different fuel materials include solid oxidizer), and a third binder material (Paragraph 0070 – the method includes a binder material);
dynamically adjusting to form a modified fuel composition having spatially varying mixture ratios (Figure 4 - Paragraphs 0051, 0053 and 0081 – the different fuel sections shown in Figure 4 have different fuel materials/compositions);
extruding the modified fuel composition as a plurality of stacked layers (Figure 5 – the material is provided in layers to form the fuel grain) to create a fuel grain, 402, each stacked layer comprising concentric structures defining a central opening (Figures 4 and 5 – the grain is formed by layers of concentric circular structures, as shown in Figure 4, with central openings to form a grain with a central port, 438) and including alternating material zones having distinct combustion characteristics (Figure 4 - Paragraphs 0051, 0053 and 0081 – the different fuel sections shown in Figure 4 have different fuel materials/compositions);
aligning the stacked layers such that the central openings form a central combustion port extending axially through the fuel grain (Figures 4 and 5 – the grain is formed by layers of concentric circular structures, as shown in Figure 4, to form a grain with a central port, 438);
Fuller does not disclose continuously feeding the first fuel material, the second oxidizer material, and the third binder material at respective feed rates into a robotic mixer; monitoring, in real time, a viscosity and a composition of a mixture produced by the robotic mixer, wherein monitoring the composition comprises monitoring at least one of a fuel-to-oxidizer ratio and a solids-to-binder ratio; dynamically adjusting, by a controller and in response to the monitored viscosity and composition, at least one of the respective feed rates to thereby adjust a mixture ratio of the first, second, and third materials and form a modified fuel composition; embedding structural elements within the stacked layers to control oxidizer flow and combustion surface area; curing the fuel grain under controlled inert-gas conditions to achieve desired mechanical and thermal properties; and configuring the fuel grain with an outer thermally insulating layer to reduce heat loss during combustion.
However, Brennan teaches a method for additive manufacturing (Title – Figures 2 and 3) that comprises continuously feeding materials at respective feed rates into a robotic mixer (Figures 2 and 3 – Column 8, Lines 8-29 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – materials are provided to a continuous robotic type mixer at respective rates in order to provide a compounded raw material of a desired/predetermined composition/mixture ratio); monitoring, in real time, a viscosity and a composition of a mixture produced by the robotic mixer (Figures 2 and 3 – Column 8, Lines 8-29 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – the method monitors the viscosity, composition and mixing/compounding of the material), wherein monitoring the composition comprises monitoring at least one of the ratios of materials (Figures 2 and 3 – Column 8, Lines 8-29 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – the method monitors the viscosity, composition and thus the ratios of the materials); dynamically adjusting, by a controller, 16, and in response to the monitored viscosity and composition, at least one of the respective feed rates to thereby adjust a mixture ratio of the materials and form a modified fuel composition (Figures 2 and 3 – Column 8, Lines 8-29 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – the feed rates are adjusted based on the measurements indicative of the viscosity and composition in order to provide the desired/predetermined composition/mixture ratio).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller to include continuously feeding materials, i.e. the first fuel material, the second oxidizer material, and the third binder material of Fuller, at respective feed rates into a robotic mixer; monitoring, in real time, a viscosity and a composition of a mixture produced by the robotic mixer, wherein monitoring the composition comprises monitoring at least one of a fuel-to-oxidizer ratio and a solids-to-binder ratio; dynamically adjusting, by a controller and in response to the monitored viscosity and composition, at least one of the respective feed rates to thereby adjust a mixture ratio of the first, second, and third materials and form a modified fuel composition, as taught by Brennan, in order to provide an optimized and consistent process that may eliminate or reduce the need for pauses or purging (Brennan – Column 2, Lines 28-3.2 and 39-45).
Fuller in view of Brennan do not disclose embedding structural elements within the stacked layers to control oxidizer flow and combustion surface area; curing the solidified fuel grain under controlled inert-gas conditions to achieve desired mechanical and thermal properties; configuring the fuel grain with an outer thermally insulating layer to reduce heat loss during combustion.
However, Jones teaches a method for additively manufacturing a rocket fuel grain (Title - Abstract) where the method includes embedding structural elements within stacked layers to control oxidizer flow and combustion surface area (Column 11, Lines 14-60 – the layers used to form the grain includes elements, such as ribs (Claim 9), that extend into the bore/port to effect/induce vortex/control the flow of gases, i.e. oxidizer, through the port, and increase/control the combustion surface area).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones by making the method include embedding structural elements within the layers to control oxidizer flow and combustion surface area, as taught by Jones, in order to provide the desired surface area and oxidizer/gas flow for combustion (Jones – Column 11, Lines 14-60).
Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones, as discussed so far, do not disclose curing the fuel grain under controlled inert-gas conditions to achieve desired mechanical and thermal properties; configuring the fuel grain with an outer thermally insulating layer to reduce heat loss during combustion.
However, Jones further teaches the use of an outer thermally insulating layer to reduce heat loss during combustion (Figure 5 – Column 12, Lines 60-67 – the fuel grain is wrapped with an insulating material to prevent thermal damage/regulate combustion temperature).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones by configuring the fuel grain with an outer thermally insulating layer to reduce heat loss during combustion, as taught by Jones, in order to prevent thermal damage (Jones – Column 12, Lines 60-67).
Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones do not disclose curing the fuel grain under controlled inert-gas conditions to achieve desired mechanical and thermal properties.
However, Kuntz teaches a method of manufacturing a solid fuel grain (Title) where the solid fuel grain is cured under controlled inert-gas conditions (Column 3, Lines 58-60 – the curing of the grain occurs under inert gas conditions to displace atmospheric gases) to achieve desired mechanical and thermal properties (Column 1, Lines 16-37 – the curing process results in the grain having a desired tensile strength/mechanical property and thermal shrinkage/thermal properties).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan and Jones by making the method include curing the fuel grain under controlled inert-gas conditions to achieve desired mechanical and thermal properties, as taught by Kuntz, in order to provide a method that does not produce exothermic reactions which would constitute an explosive hazard (Kuntz – Column 5, Lines 63-69).
Regarding Claim 8, Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller further discloses alternating material zones comprise regions of higher regression rate and regions of slower regression rate (Paragraph 0082 – the different regions comprises different regression rates, i.e. zones of higher regression rate and zones of lower regression rate).
Regarding Claim 10, Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz, as discussed so far, do not disclose the real-time monitoring comprises receiving feedback from in situ sensors that monitor a particle distribution and a viscosity of the mixture produced by the robotic mixer, and wherein the controller dynamically adjusts at least one of the respective feed rates based on the feedback.
However Brennan teaches the real-time monitoring comprises receiving feedback from in situ sensors that monitor a particle distribution and a viscosity of the mixture produced by the robotic mixer (Column 2, Lines 11-27 – the sensors measure properties indicative of viscosity and mix uniformity/particle distribution), and wherein the controller dynamically adjusts at least one of the respective feed rates based on the feedback (Column 2, Lines 11-27 and Column 13, Lines 48-67 – controller adjusts the feed rates based on the feedback from the sensors).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz to include the real-time monitoring comprising receiving feedback from in situ sensors that monitor a particle distribution and a viscosity of the mixture produced by the robotic mixer, and wherein the controller dynamically adjusts at least one of the respective feed rates based on the feedback, as taught by Brennan for the same reasons as discussed above for Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 11, Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller further discloses the oxidizer material comprises ammonium perchlorate (Paragraph 0027).
Regarding Claim 12, Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz, as discussed so far, do not disclose the binder material comprises a thermoplastic polymer selected from ABS, polyethylene, or polyurethane.
However, Jones teaches the use of a Acrynotrile Butadiene Styrene (ABS) thermoplastic polymer as a binder (Abstract and Column 9, Lines 9-14 – the fuel grain is formed of unfilled thermoplastics/ABS and filled thermoplastics/ABS).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz by making the binder material comprises a thermoplastic polymer that is ABS, as taught by Jones, since it has been held that the selection of a known material (in the present case thermoplastic/ABS) based on its suitability for its intended use (providing a binder material) would have been an obvious extension of prior art teachings. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 14, Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller further discloses comprise regions of higher regression rate and regions of slower regression rate (Paragraph 0082 – the different regions comprises different regression rates, i.e. zones of higher regression rate and zones of lower regression rate) and as evidenced by Column 3, Lines 33-38 of Jones the regression rate of the fuel effects the mass flow rate and thus the thrust provided by that fuel. Thus the slower regression rate fuel would provide a different thrust output than the higher regression rate fuel thereby providing staged thrust output during rocket flight.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Harvey (U.S. Patent No. 4,177,227), hereinafter Harvey.
Regarding Claim 13, Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz do not disclose curing is performed at controlled temperature and pressure conditions to achieve improved mechanical strength.
However, Harvey teaches a method of fabricating a fuel grain (Title) that include curing is performed at controlled temperature and pressure conditions to achieve improved mechanical strength (Column 20, Lines 28-35 – the grain is cured at a controlled temperature and pressure to reach desired/improved mechanical properties).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Fuller in view of Brennan, Jones and Kuntz such that curing is performed at controlled temperature and pressure conditions to achieve improved mechanical strength, as taught by Harvey, in order to achieve desirable characteristics of the grain (Harvey – Column 5, Lines 43-50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The limitations “embedding within the annular sections electrodes and a plurality of sensors including at least one electrochemical sensor and at least one pressure sensor” and “wherein, during fabrication, the additive manufacturing process integrates the energetic material, the electrodes, and the plurality of sensors into the cylindrical fuel grain” along with the remaining limitations of Claim 15 are not taught or fairly suggested in the prior art of record.
Claims 16-20 depend from Claim 15 and necessarily include the allowable subject matter discussed above and therefore are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Busbee (U.S. Patent No. 11,497,275) shows an additive manufacturing process that monitors viscosity to adjust the mixing of the material in a continuous mixer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE ROBERT THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3741