DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action in response to the amendment filed 05/26/2026 and the IDS filed 05/28/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Claims 1-11 are currently amended; claims 12-16 are original; claims 17-20 have been withdrawn;
Claims 1-16 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections and the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below in the current Office action. Note that the new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant's amendments to the claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 05/28/2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "a retainer including a front surface and operable to selectively interface with the display unit, and a recess formed partially through the front surface and extending continuously from an upper end to a lower end" in lines 2-4 are interpreted as --a retainer including a front surface and operable to selectively interface with the display unit, wherein a recess is formed partially through the front surface and extends continuously from an upper end to a lower end--.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "a coupler attached to the front surface of the retainer and including a top side and a bottom side disposed on an opposite side from the top side, and a socket" in lines 5 and 6 are interpreted as --a coupler attached to the front surface of the retainer, wherein the coupler includes a top side, a bottom side disposed on an opposite side from the top side, and a socket--.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations "wherein the slot is defined by a first lower wall and a second lower wall disposed adjacent to the bottom side of the coupler" in lines 1 and 2 are interpreted as --wherein the slot is defined by a first lower wall and a second lower wall, wherein the second lower wall is disposed adjacent to the bottom side of the coupler--.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations "a retainer including a front surface and operable to selectively interface with the display unit, and a recess formed partially through the front surface and extending from an upper end to a lower end" in lines 2-4 are interpreted as --a retainer including a front surface and operable to selectively interface with the display unit, wherein a recess is formed partially through the front surface and extends from an upper end to a lower end--.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations "the top side including an opening, a first receptacle extending from the opening toward the bottom side and defining a first width, and a second receptacle extending from the first receptacle toward the bottom side and defining a second width less than the first width" in lines 7-10 are interpreted as --the top side including an opening, wherein a first receptacle extends from the opening toward the bottom side and defines a first width, and wherein a second receptacle extends from the first receptacle toward the bottom side and defines a second width less than the first width--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the upper end of the recess" (claim 1, line 10) in the claim. As best understood, the limitation "an upper end" in claim 1 (line 3) does not provide antecedent specifically for the limitation "the upper end of the recess" in claim 1 (line 10), since the limitation "an upper end" in claim 1 (line 3) is considered as an arbitrary upper end, e.g., an upper end of an arbitrary structure, not specifically or necessarily an upper end of the recess. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the lower end of the recess" (claim 1, lines 10 and 11) in the claim. As best understood, the limitation "a lower end" in claim 1 (line 4) does not provide antecedent specifically for the limitation "the lower end of the recess" in claim 1 (lines 10 and 11), since the limitation "a lower end" in claim 1 (line 4) is considered as an arbitrary lower end, e.g., a lower end of an arbitrary structure, not specifically or necessarily a lower end of the recess. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the lower end of the recess" (claim 10, line 6) in the claim. As best understood, the limitation "a lower end" in claim 10 (lines 3 and 4) does not provide antecedent specifically for the limitation "the lower end of the recess" in claim 10 (line 6), since the limitation "a lower end" in claim 10 (lines 3 and 4) is considered as an arbitrary lower end, e.g., a lower end of an arbitrary structure, not specifically or necessarily a lower end of the recess. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the upper end of the recess" (claim 10, line 7) in the claim. As best understood, the limitation "an upper end" in claim 10 (line 3) does not provide antecedent specifically for the limitation "the upper end of the recess" in claim 10 (line 7), since the limitation "an upper end" in claim 10 (line 3) is considered as an arbitrary upper end, e.g., an upper end of an arbitrary structure, not specifically or necessarily an upper end of the recess. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 and 11-16 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkdoll et al. (US 2012/0228447 A1), hereinafter Barkdoll, in view of Johnson (US 2,618,390) and Ziegler (US 4,026,508).
Regarding claim 1, Barkdoll discloses a bracket (202, fig 2) for a display unit (402, 406, fig 5), the bracket comprising: a retainer (2021, fig 2, see annotation) including a front surface (2021a, fig 2, see annotation) and operable to selectively interface with the display unit (see Figures 2 and 5); and a coupler (2022, fig 2, see annotation) attached to the front surface of the retainer (see Figures 2 and 5) and including a top side (2022a, fig 2, see annotation) and a bottom side (2022b, fig 2, see annotation) disposed on an opposite side from the top side (see Figures 2 and 5), and a socket (204, fig 2), the socket having: a first receptacle (204a, fig 2, see annotation) defining a first width (see Figure 2).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (206a – Connecting Arm)]
[AltContent: textbox (204b – Opening)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (2022a – Top Side)]
[AltContent: textbox (2022f – First Channel)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2022 – Coupler)]
[AltContent: textbox (2022c – First Side)][AltContent: textbox (2021 – Retainer)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2021a – Front Surface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (204a – First Receptacle)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2022d – Second Side)]
[AltContent: textbox (2022i – Second Channel)][AltContent: textbox (2022b – Bottom Side)]
[AltContent: textbox (2022h – Second Lower Wall / Lower Portion)][AltContent: textbox (2022g – Slot / Third Channel)]
Barkdoll does not disclose the bracket, (1) wherein a recess is formed partially through the front surface and extends continuously from an upper end to a lower end, wherein the socket is aligned with the recess, and wherein the upper end of the recess extends above the top side of the coupler and the lower end of the recess extends below the bottom side of the coupler; (2) wherein the socket has a second receptacle defining a second width different than the first width.
With respect to the missing limitations (1) above, Johnson teaches a bracket (6, 10, fig 3, with Figure 3 rotated as in the annotation below) for a display unit (1, 2, 3, 4a, figs 1 & 2), the bracket comprising: a retainer (6, fig 3) including a front surface (61, fig 3, see annotation) and operable to selectively interface with the display unit (see Figures 1-3), and a recess (8, fig 3) formed partially through the front surface and extending continuously from an upper end (81, fig 3, see annotation) to a lower end (82, fig 3, see annotation); and a coupler (10, fig 3) attached to the front surface of the retainer and including a top side (101, fig 3, see annotation) and a bottom side (102, fig 3, see annotation) disposed on an opposite side from the ton side (see Figure 3), and a socket (103, fig 3, see annotation), the socket aligned with the recess (see Figure 3), wherein the upper end of the recess extends above the top side of the coupler and the lower end of the recess extends below the bottom side of the coupler (see Figures 1-3).
[AltContent: textbox (8 – Recess)][AltContent: textbox (81 – Upper End)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (101 – Top Side)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (10 – Coupler)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (102 – Bottom Side)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (82 – Lower End)]
[AltContent: textbox (61 – Front Surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (103 – Socket)]
Barkdoll and Johnson are analogous art because they are at least from the same filed of endeavor, i.e., brackets. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bracket (Barkdoll: 202, fig 2) with a recess (Johnson: 8, fig 3) formed partially through the front surface (Barkdoll: 2021a, fig 2, see annotation) and extending continuously from an upper end (Johnson: 81, fig 3, see annotation) to a lower end (Johnson: 82, fig 3, see annotation), with the socket (Barkdoll: 204, fig 2) being aligned with the recess (Johnson: see Figure 3), wherein the upper end of the recess extends above the top side (Barkdoll: 2022a, fig 2, see annotation) of the coupler and the lower end of the recess extends below the bottom side (Barkdoll: 2022b, fig 2, see annotation) of the coupler (Johnson: see Figures 1-3), as taught by Johnson, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to facilitate guiding of various types of hangers into the socket of the bracket of Barkdoll with the recess of Johnson and to allow the user to more easily see the location of the recess of Johnson at different viewing angles before and during assembly by having the recess of Johonson extend above and below the coupler of the bracket of Barkdoll.
With respect to the missing limitations (2) above, Ziegler discloses a bracket (see Figure 1) for a display unit (50, fig 3), the bracket comprising: a retainer (12, fig 1) including a front surface (12a, fig 1, see annotation) and operable to selectively interface with the display unit (see Figure 3); and a coupler (15, fig 1) attached to the front surface of the retainer (see Figure 1) and including a socket (25, fig 1), the socket having: a first receptacle (20, fig 2) defining a first width (see Figure 2); and a second receptacle (30, fig 2) extending from the first receptacle (see Figure 2) and defining a second width different than the first width (see Figure 2).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (25a – Opening)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (12a – Front Surface)]
Ziegler is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., brackets. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the socket (Barkdoll: 204, fig 2) with a second receptacle (Ziegler: 30, fig 2) extending from the first receptacle (Barkdoll: 204a, fig 2, see annotation; Ziegler: see Figure 2) and defining a second width different than the first width (Ziegler: see Figure 2), as taught by Ziegler, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to accommodate wire hangers of various diameters, thereby allowing the bracket of Barkdoll to be usable with wire hangers of various diameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barkdoll, Johnson, and Ziegler to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, wherein: the socket extends from the top side of the coupler (Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, wherein: the first receptacle extends from an opening (Barkdoll: 204b, fig 2, see annotation; Ziegler: 25a, fig 2, see annotation) in the top side of the coupler (Barkdoll: see Figure 2; Ziegler: see Figures 1 and 2); and the second receptacle extends from the first receptacle (Ziegler: see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the first width is greater than the second width (Ziegler: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the coupler includes: a first side (Barkdoll: 2022c, fig 2, see annotation) attached to the front surface of the retainer (Barkdoll: see Figure 2); and an opposite second side (Barkdoll: 2022d, fig 2, see annotation) spaced apart from the front surface of the retainer by a first channel (Barkdoll: 2022f, fig 2, see annotation) extending from the top side to the bottom side (Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising a slot (Barkdoll: 2022g, fig 2, see annotation) extending from the bottom side of the coupler and aligned with the socket (Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the slot is defined by a first lower wall (Barkdoll: 208, fig 2) and a second lower wall (Barkdoll: 2022h, fig 2, see annotation) disposed adjacent to the bottom side of the coupler (Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first lower wall is spaced apart from the bottom side of the coupler on the first side to define a second channel (Barkdoll: 2022i, fig 2, see annotation).
Regarding claim 9, Barkdoll, as modified by Johnson and Ziegler (see above discussions with respect to claim 1), teaches a bracket and hanger assembly (Barkdoll: 200, fig 2) comprising the bracket of claim 6 and a hanger (Barkdoll: 206, fig 2), wherein the coupler is configured to receive the hanger (Barkdoll: see Figure 2), the hanger comprising: an upper arm (Barkdoll: 205, fig 2) that, with the hanger received at the coupler, extends along the socket of the coupler (Barkdoll: see Figure 2); a lower arm (Barkdoll: 207, fig 2) that, with the hanger received at the coupler, extends below the bottom side of the coupler (Barkdoll: see Figure 2); and a connecting arm (Barkdoll: 206a, fig 2, see annotation) between the upper arm and the lower arm that, with the hanger received at the coupler, extends along the first channel and the slot (Barkdoll: see Figure 2) and is partially received within the recess to align the upper arm above the lower arm (Johnson: see Figures 1-3; Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Barkdoll, as modified by Johnson and Ziegler (see above discussions with respect to claim 1), teaches a bracket (Barkdoll: 202, fig 2) for a display unit (Barkdoll: 402, 406, fig 5), the bracket comprising: a retainer (Barkdoll: 2021, fig 2, see annotation) including a front surface (Barkdoll: 2021a, fig 2, see annotation) and operable to selectively interface with the display unit (Barkdoll: see Figures 2 and 5), and a recess (Johnson: 8, fig 3) formed partially through the front surface (Johnson: see Figures 1-3; Barkdoll: see Figure 2) and extending from an upper end (Johnson: 81, fig 3, see annotation) to a lower end (Johnson: 82, fig 3, see annotation); and a coupler (Barkdoll: 2022, fig 2, see annotation) attached to the retainer (Barkdoll: see Figure 2) and having: a bottom side (Barkdoll: 2022b, fig 2, see annotation) disposed above the lower end of the recess (Johnson: see Figures 1-3; Barkdoll: see Figure 2); a top side (Barkdoll: 2022a, fig 2, see annotation) opposite the bottom side and disposed below the upper end of the recess (Johnson: see Figures 1-3; Barkdoll: see Figure 2), the top side including an opening (Barkdoll: 204b, fig 2, see annotation), a first receptacle (Barkdoll: 204a, fig 2, see annotation; Ziegler: 20, fig 2) extending from the opening toward the bottom side and defining a first width (Barkdoll: see Figure 2; Ziegler: see Figure 2), and a second receptacle (Ziegler: 30, fig 2) extending from the first receptacle toward the bottom side and defining a second width less than the first width (Ziegler: see Figure 2), the first receptacle and the second receptacle aligned with the recess (Johnson: see Figures 1-3; Barkdoll: see Figure 2; Ziegler: see Figure 2); a first side (Barkdoll: 2022c, fig 2, see annotation) attached to the front surface of the retainer (Barkdoll: see Figure 2), a lower portion (Barkdoll: 2022h, fig 2, see annotation) of the first side extending below the bottom side of the coupler (Barkdoll: see Figure 2); a second side (Barkdoll: 2022d, fig 2, see annotation) opposite the first side and spaced from the front surface of the retainer by a first channel (Barkdoll: 2022f, fig 2, see annotation) extending from the top side of the coupler to the bottom side of the coupler (Barkdoll: see Figure 2); and an abutment (Barkdoll: 208, fig 2) spaced from the bottom side by a second channel (Barkdoll: 2022i, fig 2, see annotation).
Regarding claim 11, Barkdoll, as modified by Johnson and Ziegler (see above discussions with respect to claim 1), teaches a bracket and hanger assembly (Barkdoll: 200, fig 2) comprising the bracket of claim 10 and a hanger (Barkdoll: 206, fig 2), wherein the coupler is configured to receive the hanger (Barkdoll: see Figure 2), the hanger comprising: an upper arm (Barkdoll: 205, fig 2) that, with the hanger received at the coupler, extends along one of the first receptacle or the second receptacle (Barkdoll: see Figure 2); a lower arm (Barkdoll: 207, fig 2) that, with the hanger received at the coupler, extends below the bottom side (Barkdoll: see Figure 2); and a connecting arm (Barkdoll: 206a, fig 2, see annotation) between the upper arm and the lower arm that, with the hanger received at the coupler, extends along the first channel and between the abutment and the lower portion of the first side (Barkdoll: see Figure 2) and is partially received within the recess to align the upper arm above the lower arm (Johnson: see Figures 1-3; Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, wherein: the upper arm of the hanger defines a width that is greater than the second width and less than or equal to the first width (Barkdoll: see Figure 2; Ziegler: see Figure 3); and the upper arm of the hanger extends along the first receptacle (Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the upper arm of the hanger defines a width that is less than or equal to the second width (Barkdoll: see Figure 2; Ziegler: see Figure 5); and the upper arm of the hanger extends along the second receptacle (Barkdoll: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are connected (Barkdoll: see Figure 2; Ziegler: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Barkdoll, as modified by Johnson and Ziegler (see above discussions with respect to claim 1), teaches the bracket, wherein the first receptacle includes a first set of protrusions (Barkdoll: 208, fig 2, also see Figure 5, which shows the other protrusion 208) extending from opposing side surfaces of the first receptacle (Barkdoll: see Figures 2 and 5).
Barkdoll, as modified by Johnson and Ziegler (see discussions with respect to claim 1), does not teach the bracket, wherein the second receptacle includes a second set of protrusions extending from opposing side surfaces of the second receptacle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the second receptacle (Ziegler: 30, fig 2) with a second set of protrusions (Barkdoll: 208, fig 2, also see Figure 5, which shows the other protrusion 208) extending from opposing side surfaces of the second receptacle, as taught by Barkdoll, with a reasonable expectation. The motivation would have been to offer resistance to prevent the wire hook placed within the second receptacle from being removed from the bracket of Barkdoll. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barkdoll, Johnson, and Ziegler to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the abutment cooperates with the lower portion of the first side to define a third channel (Barkdoll: 2022g, fig 2, see annotation) aligned with and vertically spaced from the first receptacle and the second receptacle (Barkdoll: see Figure 2; Ziegler: see Figure 2).
Double Patenting
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 14-16 of the present application, as best understood, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 in view of Johnson (US 2,618,390), hereinafter Johnson. In particular, all limitations of claims 1-8, 10, and 14-16 of the present application can be found in claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 except for a recess as recited in claims 1 and 10 of the present application. However, Johnson teaches a bracket (6, 10, fig 3, with Figure 3 rotated as in the annotation above) for a display unit (1, 2, 3, 4a, figs 1 & 2), the bracket comprising: a retainer (6, fig 3) including a front surface (61, fig 3, see annotation) and operable to selectively interface with the display unit (see Figures 1-3), and a recess (8, fig 3) formed partially through the front surface and extending continuously from an upper end (81, fig 3, see annotation) to a lower end (82, fig 3, see annotation); and a coupler (10, fig 3) attached to the front surface of the retainer and including a top side (101, fig 3, see annotation) and a bottom side (102, fig 3, see annotation) disposed on an opposite side from the ton side (see Figure 3), and a socket (103, fig 3, see annotation), the socket aligned with the recess (see Figure 3), wherein the upper end of the recess extends above the top side of the coupler and the lower end of the recess extends below the bottom side of the coupler (see Figures 1-3). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bracket in claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 with a recess (Johnson: 8, fig 3) formed partially through the front surface and extending continuously from an upper end (Johnson: 81, fig 3, see annotation) to a lower end (Johnson: 82, fig 3, see annotation), with the socket being aligned with the recess (Johnson: see Figure 3), wherein the upper end of the recess extends above the top side of the coupler and the lower end of the recess extends below the bottom side of the coupler (Johnson: see Figures 1-3), as taught by Johnson, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to facilitate guiding of various types of hangers into the socket of the bracket of claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 with the recess of Johnson and to allow the user to more easily see the location of the recess of Johnson at different viewing angles before and during assembly by having the recess of Johonson extend above and below the coupler of the bracket of claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 and Johnson to obtain the inventions as specified in claims 1-8, 10, and 14-16 of the present application.
Claims 9 and 11-13 of the present application, as best understood, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 in view of Johnson (US 2,618,390), hereinafter Johnson, and Barkdoll et al. (US 2012/0228447 A1), hereinafter Barkdoll. In particular, claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277, as modified by Johnson as discussed above, do not teach the limitations of claims 9 and 11-13 of the present application. However, the hanger recited in claims 9 and 11-13 can be found in Barkdoll. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bracket in claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 to be coupled to the hanger as taught by Barkdoll, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to enable the bracket of claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277 to be usable with hangers for usage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine claims 1-8, 10, 14-16, and 23 of copending Application No. 18/447,277, Johnson, and Barkdoll to obtain the inventions as specified in claims 9 and 11-13 of the present application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631