DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skinner et al. (US 20010022757 A1, “Skinner”) in view of Kim et al. (KR 101034544 B1, “Kim”. Refer to attached machine translation for all text citations).
Regarding claim 1, Skinner discloses a multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector for generating acoustic waves by converting vibration of a piezoelectric element, the projector comprising ([0066] push-pull transducer provides extended bandwidth coverage by coupling slightly different resonant segments in one high power projector):
a piezoelectric actuator (Fig. 14 (38))(Fig. 15 (48))(Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15)([0069], within the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates);
a plurality of staves (Fig. 16, (32, 42) attached to an outer surface of the piezoelectric actuator to convert longitudinal vibration generated by the piezoelectric actuator into lateral vibration perpendicular to the outer surface of the piezoelectric actuator ([0071], Fig. 16 shows an assembled push-pull electro-acoustic transducer assembly wherein a convex transducer 30 is attached to a convex transducer (40) via end plates (36) and (44))[0071], when the ceramic stacks of the convex barrel stave type transducer and concave flextensional transducer are electrically attached in series, their mechanical displacements as well the AC drive voltage causes the shell shapes to acoustically radiate in phase);
wherein the plurality of staves is configured in different shapes from each other to generate two or more types of resonance vibration modes([0059], Concave and convex shells can be designed to use identical driver stacks, or may be similar in size, to facilitate mechanical assembly, and have individual resonant frequencies which are similar but not identical. By designing a dual resonant system where the two resonances differ slightly, the effective bandwidth of the transducer can be nearly doubled).
Skinner fails to teach an acoustic window surrounding an exterior of the plurality of staves and water-tightening an inside of the projector.
Kim teaches
an acoustic window surrounding an exterior of the plurality of staves and water-tightening an inside of the projector (Fig. 1f, Kim, pg. 4, the acoustic window (400) is formed to surround the outer periphery of the stave. Acoustic window is preferably formed of polyurethane vacuum molding so that it can endure deeper depths),
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the acoustic projector of Skinner, to include the teachings of Kim in order to provide an acoustic window to surround an exterior of the plurality of staves, such that the projector, as well as the internal components would be waterproof and be able to withstand deployment in an underwater environment.
The motivation for doing so being that the polyurethane acoustic window provides increased water tightening and protection against external impacts (Kim, pg. 5)
Regarding claim 2, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 1. Skinner further teaches the piezoelectric actuator includes:
a piezoelectric stack in which piezoelectric elements are stacked to generate vibration in a longitudinal direction by an input electric signal(Fig. 14 (38))(Fig. 15 (48))(Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15)([0069], within the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates)
and a pair of flange 112 (Fig. 16 (34, 36, 44, and 46) surface-contacting both end portions of the piezoelectric stack 111(Fig. 14 (38))(Fig. 15 (48))(Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15 with flanges contacting the piezoelectric stack).
Regarding claim 3, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 1. Skinner further teaches the plurality of staves is formed in a curved shape in a longitudinal direction thereof (Fig. 16, (32) and (42) illustrate staves that are either convex or concave with respect to a longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 4, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 3. Skinner further teaches the plurality of staves is configured in different plate shapes each having a different resonance frequency from each other (Fig. 16, [0071], Fig. 16 shows an assembled push-pull electro-acoustic transducer assembly wherein a convex transducer is attached to a convex transducer)([0061], in the transducer assembly, the concave and convex transducers preferably have different resonant frequencies).
Regarding claim 5, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 4. Skinner further teaches the plurality of staves includes a convex stave and a concave stave to have different resonance frequencies from each other([0061], in the transducer assembly, the concave and convex transducers preferably have different resonant frequencies).
Regarding claim 6, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 1. Kim further teaches the acoustic window has an inner shape corresponding to an outer shape of the stave(fig. 2 illustrates acoustic window (400) having an inner shape that corresponds to an outer shape of stave (200)).
Regarding claim 7, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 1. Skinner further teaches the plurality of staves is in the form of a plate of the same shape and arranged to face each other along a circumference of the piezoelectric actuator 110 (Fig. 16 (32) and (42) illustrates convex and concave wall staves. The convex wall staves all having the same shape and concave wall staves all have the same shape, with all staves arranged circumferentially around piezoelectric stacks (38) and (48)).
Regarding claim 8, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 2. Skinner further teaches the piezoelectric stack is configured by stacking piezoelectric elements of a circular disc, square plate,
Regarding claim 10, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 2. Kim further teaches the piezoelectric actuator further includes an insulating plate (Fig. 1 (120)) that surface-contacts the flange 112 (Fig. 1(130)) and is interposed between the piezoelectric stack 111 (Fig. 1 (110)) and the flange 112 (pg. 3, coprene ring (120) and coupling ring (130) are sequentially coupled to the plurality of ring-shaped piezoelectric ceramic vibrators (110). The pair of coprene rings act as sound absorbing agents).
Regarding claim 12, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 4. Skinner further teaches curvatures of the plurality of staves are different from each other to have different resonance frequencies from each other([0061], in the transducer assembly, the concave and convex transducers preferably have different resonant frequencies).
Regarding claim 13, Skinner discloses a multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector for generating acoustic waves by converting vibration of a piezoelectric element([0066] push-pull transducer provides extended bandwidth coverage by coupling slightly different resonant segments in one high power projector)(Fig. 16, [0069]-[0071], in the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates), the projector comprising:
a piezoelectric actuator (Fig. 14 (38))(Fig. 15 (48))(Fig. 16, [0069]-[0071], in the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates);
a plurality of staves attached to an outer surface of the piezoelectric actuator (Fig. 16 (42) and (32)) to convert longitudinal vibration generated by the piezoelectric actuator 110 into lateral vibration perpendicular to the outer surface of the piezoelectric actuator 110 ([0071], when the ceramic stacks of the convex barrel stave type transducer and concave flextensional transducer are electrically attached in series, their mechanical displacements as well the AC drive voltage causes the shell shapes to acoustically radiate in phase);
the plurality of staves (Fig. 16 (32) and (42)) is configured of a convex stave 121 and a concave stave 122 to have different resonance frequencies from each other to generate two or more types of resonance vibration modes([0061], in the transducer assembly, the concave and convex transducers preferably have different resonant frequencies).
Skinner fails to teach
an acoustic window surrounding an exterior of the plurality of staves and water-tightening the inside of the projector.
Kim teaches
an acoustic window surrounding an exterior of the plurality of staves and water-tightening an inside of the projector (Fig. 1f, Kim, pg. 4, the acoustic window (400) is formed to surround the outer periphery of the stave. Acoustic window is preferably formed of polyurethane vacuum molding so that it can endure deeper depths)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the acoustic projector of Skinner, to include the teachings of Kim in order to provide an acoustic window to surround an exterior of the plurality of staves, such that the projector, as well as the internal components would be waterproof and be able to withstand deployment in an underwater environment.
The motivation for doing so being that the polyurethane acoustic window provides increased water tightening and protection against external impacts (Kim, pg. 5)
Regarding claim 14, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim, teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 13. Skinner further teaches the piezoelectric actuator includes:
a piezoelectric stack in which piezoelectric elements are stacked to generate vibration in a longitudinal direction by an input electric signal(Fig. 14 (38))(Fig. 15 (48))(Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15)([0069], within the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates);
and a pair of flange (Fig. 16 (34, 36, 44, and 46) that surface-contacts both end portions of the piezoelectric stack (Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15 with flanges contacting the piezoelectric stack).
Regarding claim 15, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 14. Skinner further teaches the convex stave and the concave stave are arranged to face each other along a circumference of the piezoelectric actuator(Fig. 16 (32) and (42) illustrates convex and concave wall staves arranged circumferentially around piezoelectric stacks (38) and (48) facing each other).
Regarding claim 17, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 14. Skinner further teaches curvatures of the convex stave and the concave stave are different from each other to have different resonance frequencies from each other(Fig. 16 (32) and (42) illustrates convex and concave wall staves. The convex wall staves all having different curvatures compared to concave wall staves)([0059], concave and convex shells can be designed to use identical driver stacks, or may be similar in size, and have individual resonant frequencies which are similar but not identical. Dual resonant system where the two resonances differ slightly increases the effective bandwidth of the transducer).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skinner in view of Kim and Purcell (US 5805529 A, “Purcell”).
Regarding claim 9, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 2. Skinner teaches the flanges are attached to the staves (Fig. 16 illustrates end plates (34) (36) (44) and (46) which are attached to staves (32) and (42)).
Skinner, as modified in view of Kim fails to teach the flange are in a circular disc, square plate, or polyhedral ring plate.
Purcell teaches the flange are in a circular disc
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the acoustic projector of Skinner, as modified in view of the teachings of Kim, to further include the teachings of Purcell in order to provide circular flanges attached to the staves in order to provide further encapsulation of the internal components from both the top and bottom of the projector by enclosing the regions above and below the piezoelectric stack which are not surrounded by the staves.
The motivation in doing so is to further hermetically seal the projector (Purcell, [column 7, lines 55-67])
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skinner in view of Kim and Ma et al. (CN 115134705 A, “Ma”. Refer to attached machine translation for all text citations).
Regarding claim 11, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 4. Skinner, as modified in view of Choi fails to teach thicknesses of the plurality of staves are different from each other to have different resonance frequencies from each other.
Ma teaches a plurality of acoustic resonating plates having a differing thicknesses which provide an increased working frequency band (Fig. 1 (1) and (2) illustrate acoustic radiation plates)(Ma, pg. 5, first-level acoustic radiation plate (1) has a wall thickness of 3mm. secondary sound radiation plate (2) has a wall thickness of 5 mm. the invention can widen the working frequency band of the transducer).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the acoustic projector of Skinner, as modified in view of the teachings of Skinner, as modified in view of the teachings of Kim, to further include the teachings of Ma in order yield an acoustic projector having staves of varying wall thicknesses which are different from each other to have different resonance frequencies from each other, which would widen the working frequency band of the projector while additionally reducing the size and weight of the transducer.
The motivation for doing so is to increase the low-frequency emitting capability of the transducer, reduce the size and weight of the transducer, and additionally increase the working depth of the low-frequency transducer (Ma, pg. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Skinner, as modified in view of Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 14. Skinner, as modified in view of Kim fails to teach
thicknesses of the convex stave and the concave stave are different from each other to have different resonance frequencies from each other.
Ma teaches thicknesses of the [acoustic radiation plates] are different from each other to have different resonant frequencies from each other(Fig. 1 (1) and (2) illustrate acoustic radiation plates)(Ma, pg. 5, first-level acoustic radiation plate (1) has a wall thickness of 3mm. secondary sound radiation plat (2) has a wall thickness of 5 mm. the invention can widen the working frequency band of the transducer).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the acoustic projector of Skinner, as modified in view of the teachings of Skinner, as modified in view of the teachings of Kim, to further include the teachings of Ma in order yield an acoustic projector having concave and convex staves that have a varying wall thicknesses between them, which would result in differing resonant frequencies being emitted by the projector.
The motivation for doing so is to increase the low-frequency emitting capability of the transducer, reduce the size and weight of the transducer, and additionally increase the working depth of the low-frequency transducer (Ma, pg. 5).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skinner in view of Purcell and Kim.
Regarding claim 18, Skinner discloses a multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector for generating acoustic waves by converting vibration of a piezoelectric element([0066] push-pull transducer provides extended bandwidth coverage by coupling slightly different resonant segments in one high power projector)(Fig. 16, [0069]-[0071], in the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates), the projector comprising:
a piezoelectric actuator 110(Fig. 14 (38))(Fig. 15 (48))(Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15)([0069], within the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates);
a plurality of staves 120(Fig. 16, (32, 42) attached to an outer surface of the piezoelectric actuator to convert longitudinal vibration generated by the piezoelectric actuator into lateral vibration perpendicular to the outer surface of the piezoelectric actuator 110([0071], Fig. 16 shows an assembled push-pull electro-acoustic transducer assembly wherein a convex transducer 30 is attached to a convex transducer (40) via end plates (36) and (44))[0071], when the ceramic stacks of the convex barrel stave type transducer and concave flextensional transducer are electrically attached in series, their mechanical displacements as well the AC drive voltage causes the shell shapes to acoustically radiate in phase);
The piezoelectric actuator includes:
a piezoelectric stack in which piezoelectric elements are stacked to generate vibration in a longitudinal direction by an input electric signal(Fig. 14 (38))(Fig. 15 (48))(Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15)([0069], within the center of the shell is a piezoelectric stack which extends between opposing endplates);
and a pair of flange (Fig. 16 (34, 36, 44, and 46) that surface-contacts both end portions of the piezoelectric stack(Fig. 16 illustrates a push-pull transducer comprising piezoelectric stack elements from both Fig. 14 and Fig. 15 with flanges contacting the piezoelectric stack).,
wherein the plurality of staves is configured of a convex stave and a concave stave to have different resonance frequencies from each other to generate two or more types of resonance vibration modes(Fig. 16 (32) and (42) illustrates convex and concave wall staves)([0059], concave and convex shells can be designed to use identical driver stacks, or may be similar in size, and have individual resonant frequencies which are similar but not identical. Dual resonant system where the two resonances differ slightly increases the effective bandwidth of the transducer).
Skinner fails to teach
[An] inner space filled with air between the plurality of staves and the piezoelectric actuator;
an acoustic window surrounding an exterior of the plurality of staves and water-tightening the inside of the projector;
Purcell teaches
inner space filled with air between the plurality of staves (Fig. 3 (20)) and the piezoelectric actuator (Fig 3 (1’))([column 1, lines 45-47], pressure compensation within the BSP projector can be achieved by filling it with compressed air or other gas).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the projector of Skinner, to include the teaching of Purcell in order to include compressed air within the projector allowing for the projector to become pressure compensated in cases where the projector may be operating at increased depths and be subjected to higher external pressures.
The motivation in doing so is to prevent the inward deflection of the staves which may impede the performance of the projector(Purcell, [column 1, lines 49-53])
Skinner, as modified in view of Purcell fails to teach
an acoustic window surrounding an exterior of the plurality of staves and water-tightening the inside of the projector;
Kim teaches
an acoustic window surrounding an exterior of the plurality of staves and water-tightening an inside of the projector (Fig. 1f, Kim, pg. 4, the acoustic window (400) is formed to surround the outer periphery of the stave. Acoustic window is preferably formed of polyurethane vacuum molding so that it can endure deeper depths)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the acoustic projector of Skinner, as modified in view of the teachings of Purcell, to include the teachings of Kim in order to provide an acoustic window to surround an exterior of the plurality of staves, such that the projector, as well as the internal components would be waterproof and be able to withstand deployment in an underwater environment.
The motivation for doing so being that the polyurethane acoustic window provides increased water tightening and protection against external impacts (Kim, pg. 5)
Regarding claim 19, Skinner, as modified in view of Purcell and Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 18. Purcell further teaches the flange are in a circular
Regarding claim 20, Skinner, as modified in view of Purcell and Kim teaches the multi-resonance flextensional low frequency acoustic projector according to claim 19. Kim further teaches the piezoelectric actuator further includes an insulating plate (Fig. 1 (120) that surface-contacts the flange (Fig. 1 (130) and is interposed between the piezoelectric stack (Fig.1 (110) and the flange( pg. 3, coprene ring (120) and coupling ring (130) are sequentially coupled to the plurality of ring-shaped piezoelectric ceramic vibrators (110). The pair of coprene rings act as sound absorbing agents).
Conclusion
Brogan et al. (US 11417305 B2, “Brogan”) which discloses an enhanced hourglass transducer
Choi et al. (KR 20220071447 A, “Choi” which discloses an active sensor for ultra-compact low frequency line array sonar
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645