Double Patenting
Claim 1 and similar dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of Conflicting Patent PAT US 10,473,764 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is anticipated by the Conflicting Patent and is covered by the Patent since the Patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, below is a list of limitations that perform the same function, however, different terminology may be used in both sets to describe the limitations, as follows, Claim 1 is used as an example to analyze the common subject matter:
Conflicting Patent No. US 10,473,764 B2
Instant Application:-18/915,289
17. A method of forming a sensor package, the method comprising: attaching a source to an attachment pad, the source configured to emit a beam of radiation, over a substrate; attaching a detector to the attachment pad, detector configured to receive a first reflection of the beam of radiation, over the substrate; and encapsulating the attachment pad, the source, the detector with an optical encapsulant while forming a first aperture and a second aperture, the optical encapsulant comprising an isolation structure between the source and the detector, the isolation structure comprising a plurality of grooves comprising one or more surfaces having a one or more surface normals directed away from the detector, wherein the first aperture extends completely through the optical encapsulant to an exposed outer surface of the sensor package, the first aperture comprising first sidewalls extending away from a major surface of the source, wherein the second aperture extends completely through the optical encapsulant to the outer surface of the sensor package, the second aperture comprising second sidewalls extending away from a major surface of the detector, wherein each of the plurality of grooves comprises a first groove sidewall parallel to the first sidewalls of the first aperture and a second groove sidewall oriented at an acute angle with the first groove sidewall.
1. An optical sensor module comprising: a light-emitting device; a light-receiving sensor; a module cap adapted to at least partially cover the light-emitting device and the light-receiving sensor, the module cap being a molded cap;. a substrate with which the module cap is assembled, the light-emitting device being included in a first die mounted on the substrate, and the light-receiving sensor being included in a second die mounted on the substrate; and conductive leads assembled with, or included in, the module cap and coupled to first conductive pads of the substrate; and at least one cover glass covering at least one opening of the module cap, each cover glass comprising a conductive trace providing electromagnetic interference shielding, the conductive trace being coupled to the conductive leads.
As demonstrated, the claim of US patent US 10,473,764 B2 anticipate the features of the claim of instant application 18/915,289. Similar rejections can be presented for 18/915,213, 18/915,086, 18/914,985, and, 18/915,164.
A nonstatutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope or filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxod et al. (US 20190157469 A1), hereinafter Saxod, in view of Dupeyrat et al. (US 20200335641 A1), hereinafter Dupeyrat. Applicant has cited Saxod and Dupeyrat in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Saxod discloses an optical sensor module comprising (Abstract): a light-emitting device (Fig. 1, [0060]); a light-receiving sensor (Fig. 1, [0060]); a module cap adapted to at least partially cover the light-emitting device and the light-receiving sensor, the module cap being a molded cap (Fig. 1, [0064]-[0065]);. a substrate with which the module cap is assembled, the light-emitting device being included in a first die mounted on the substrate, and the light-receiving sensor being included in a second die mounted on the substrate (Fig. 1-5).
Saxod discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Saxod does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section and conductive leads assembled with, or included in, the module cap and coupled to first conductive pads of the substrate; and at least one cover glass covering at least one opening of the module cap, each cover glass comprising a conductive trace providing electromagnetic interference shielding, the conductive trace being coupled to the conductive leads.
However, Dupeyrat from the same or similar endeavor teaches and conductive leads assembled with, or included in, the module cap and coupled to first conductive pads of the substrate; and at least one cover glass covering at least one opening of the module cap, each cover glass comprising a conductive trace providing electromagnetic interference shielding, the conductive trace being coupled to the conductive leads (Fig. 1, [0002], [0021], [0046]-[0048], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxod to incorporate the teachings of Dupeyrat for easier assembly of an optical detection system (Dupeyrat, Abstract). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner et al. (US 20190153179 A1), hereinafter Grinsteinner.
Regarding claim 2, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat discloses all the elements of claim 2 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the molded cap is formed of a molding material comprising electrically conductive particles dispersed therein for providing electromagnetic interference shielding.
However, Grinsteinner from the same or similar endeavor teaches wherein the molded cap is formed of a molding material comprising electrically conductive particles dispersed therein for providing electromagnetic interference shielding ([0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxod in view of Dupeyrat to incorporate the teachings of Grinsteinner to improve shielding (Grinsteinner, Abstract). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 3, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner discloses the optical sensor module of claim 2, wherein the module cap is suitable for absorbing electromagnetic waves, and has a surface resistivity lower than 104 ohms/square, and has a relative magnetic permeability higher than 100 (Grinsteinner, [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat discloses the optical sensor module of claim 2, wherein the module cap is an injection molded cap, and the molding material is a resin, a liquid crystal polymer, or another engineering plastic (Grinsteinner, [0011], Saxod, [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat discloses the optical sensor module of claim 2, wherein the electrically conductive particles comprise one or more of the following: carbon fibers; chopped carbon fibers; electroplated carbon fibers, such as Ni-plated carbon fibers; carbon nanotubes; conductive carbon black particles; and stainless steel fibers (Grinsteinner, [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the module cap includes a metallic finishing layer for increasing electromagnetic interference shielding (Saxod, [0069]).
Regarding claim 7, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the module cap includes a separation wall adapted to separate the light-emitting device and the light-receiving sensor (Saxod, Fig. 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1,wherein the conductive leads are coupled to the first conductive pads of the substrate using a conductive adhesive material or the substrate comprises a conductive rail configured to be at a fixed voltage such as ground, the conductive rail being coupled to the first conductive pads (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 9, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the conductive leads are lead frames inserted into channels of the module cap or overmolded in the module cap (Dupeyrat, [0053], Saxod, Fig. 1).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner further in view of Shi et al. (US 20220066036 A1), hereinafter Shi.
Regarding claim 10, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the conductive leads are conductive layers formed on surfaces of the module cap, such as by a direct structuring laser technique.
However, Shi from the same or similar endeavor teaches wherein the conductive leads are conductive layers formed on surfaces of the module cap, such as by a direct structuring laser technique ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner to incorporate the teachings of Shi for safety reasons (Shi, [0018]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 11, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner further in view Shi discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the at least one opening comprises a first opening located over the light-emitting device and a second opening located over the light-receiving sensor; and the at least one cover glass comprises: a first cover glass positioned in the first opening, or between the first opening and the light-emitting device, and adapted to transmit light signals emitted by the light-emitting device; and a second cover glass positioned in the second opening, or between the second opening and the light-receiving sensor, and adapted to transmit light signals reflected towards the light-receiving sensor (Saxod, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner further in view Shi discloses the optical sensor module of claim 11, wherein the first cover glass and the second cover glass includes each a conductive trace providing electromagnetic interference shielding (Saxod, Fig. 1, Dupeyrat, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner further in view Shi discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein each cover glass further includes second conductive pads coupled to the conductive trace, the conductive leads being coupled to the second conductive pads using a conductive adhesive material (Saxod, Fig. 1, Dupeyrat, Fig. 1, 2C).
Regarding claim 14, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner further in view Shi discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the conductive trace comprises substantially linear portions in parallel with each other and separate with each other by a distance which is smaller than a wavelength of an electromagnetic signal to be attenuated, or is equal to a fraction of the wavelength (Saxod, Fig. 1, Dupeyrat, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Saxod in view of Dupeyrat further in view of Grinsteinner further in view Shi discloses the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein a conductive trace material comprises one or a plurality of: copper, aluminum, tungsten, titanium, gold, and indium-tin oxide (Saxod, Fig. 1-5, Dupeyrat, Fig. 1-4, [0050]).
Conclusion
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487