Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-17, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5-7, and 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,300. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader, genus claims with limitations which are encompassed in the narrower, species claims of patent ‘300, as detailed in the following side-by-side comparison of the instant claims with respect to the claims of patent ‘300:
1. A functional hydrogen water generating apparatus, comprising:
at least one pre-filtration mechanism configured to remove one or more contaminants from at least one amount of water;
at least one additive element applicator configured to add at least one additive element to the at least one amount of water to generate at least one amount of treated water;
a plurality of electrodes, each electrode comprising at least one anode and at least one cathode, wherein the plurality of electrodes is configured to implement at least one electrolysis process on the at least one amount of treated water to produce at least one amount of electrolyzed water; and
at least one energy field applicator to apply at least one energy field to the at least one amount of electrolyzed water to generate at least one amount of functional water (all encompassed within corresponding preamble and clauses of patent ‘300, claim 1).
2. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the at least one additive element comprises one or more of:
calcium, magnesium, potassium, silicon, or sodium (‘300, claim 2).
3. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 1, wherein at least one portion of each electrode of the plurality of electrodes comprises a mesh structure (‘300, claim 1, “plurality of electrodes” clause ).
4. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 3, wherein at least one portion of the mesh structure of each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is at least partially covered by at least one external material (‘300, claim 1, encompassed and paraphrased in “plurality of electrodes” clause )..
7. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the at least one anode and the at least one cathode are separated by a distance ranging from approximately 0.5 millimeters to approximately 10 millimeters (‘300, claim 5).
8. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 1, wherein each electrode of the plurality of electrodes comprises a thickness ranging from approximately 0.1 millimeters to approximately 2.0 millimeters (‘300, claim 6).
9. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the at least one energy field applicator comprises one or more of: a light source, an ultraviolet light source, a magnet, an electromagnet, or a power source (‘300, claim 7).
11. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the at least one pre- filtration mechanism comprises at least one reverse osmosis mechanism (‘300, claim 9).
12. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 11, wherein the at least one reverse osmosis mechanism comprises at least one semipermeable membrane (‘300, claim 10).
13. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 1, further comprising at least one post-filtration mechanism configured to remove the one or more contaminants from at least one amount of activated water (‘300, claim 11).
14. The functional hydrogen water generating apparatus of Claim 13, wherein the at least one post-filtration mechanism comprises a carbon filter (‘300, claim 12).
15. A method for generating functional water, comprising: executing at least one reverse osmosis process on at least one amount of water received from at least one water source,
removing at least one contaminant from the at least one amount of water;
adding at least one trace element to the at least one amount of water to generate at least one amount of treated water;
implementing at least one electrolysis process on the at least one amount of treated water to generate at least one amount of electrolyzed water, wherein the at least one electrolysis process is at least partially implemented via a plurality of electrodes; and
exposing the at least one amount of electrolyzed water to at least one energy field via at least one energy field applicator to generate at least one amount of functional water (all encompassed within corresponding clauses of ‘300, claim 13).
16. The method for generating functional water of Claim 15, wherein at least one portion of each electrode of the plurality of electrodes comprises a mesh structure (‘300, claim 13, “implementing” clause).
17. The method for generating functional water of Claim 16, wherein at least one portion of the mesh structure of each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is at least partially covered by at least one external material (‘300, claim 13, “implementing” clause).
19. The method for generating functional water of Claim 18, wherein the at least one electrolysis process generates a plurality of nanobubbles within the at least one amount of treated water to generate the at least one amount of electrolyzed water (‘300, claim 13, “implementing” clause).
20. The method for generating functional water of Claim 19, wherein the at least one energy field increases a zeta potential of each of the plurality of nanobubbles (‘300, claim 13, “exposing” clause).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu Patent Publication CN107459203 and the accompanying English translation of the publication.
For claim 1, Liu discloses: A functional hydrogen water generating apparatus (Abstract "device for generating hydrogen-rich water", illustrated in figure 1, and see description of Embodiment 1 concerning generating of hydrogen in the form of dissolved very small bubbles preparing hydrogen-rich water), comprising:
at least one pre-filtration mechanism, wherein the at least one pre-filtration mechanism is configured to remove one or more contaminants from at least one amount of water (purification system 1 comprising a reverse osmosis set, inherently comprising at least one fine pore size membrane removing a plurality of contaminants not passing through the membrane pores, also see the background discussion of the translation);
at least one additive element applicator, wherein the at least one additive element applicator is configured to add at least one additive element to the at least one amount of water to generate at least one amount of treated water (mineralizing and activating system 2, for adding minerals and calcium to the water);
a plurality of electrodes, wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises at least one anode and at least one cathode, wherein the plurality of electrodes is configured to implement at least one electrolysis process on the at least one amount of treated water to produce at least one amount of electrolyzed water (electrolytic hydrogen water system 4 comprising a direct current negative and positive electrode, i.e. "anode" and "cathode", see page 3 of the Description concerning negative and positive electrodes employed with the electrolysis and page 4 regarding details of electrolytic system 4); and
at least one energy field applicator, wherein the at least one energy field applicator is configured to apply at least one energy field to the at least one amount of electrolyzed water (ultrasonic wave generator or electric field processing storage water treatment device 6),
(all of the above apparatus components illustrated in figure 1 and described in the Description of Translation, with component configuration summarized in the Description section concerning Specific implementation examples, Embodiment 1).
For claim 2, Liu further discloses wherein the at least one additive element comprises one or more of: calcium, magnesium, potassium, silicon, or sodium (see translation description concerning addition of calcium and magnesium).
For claim 9, Liu further discloses wherein the at least one energy field applicator comprises one or more of: a light source, an ultraviolet light source, a magnet, an electromagnet, or a power source (see in the paragraph beginning "Preferably water entering the purifying system... a description of the electric field treatment being generated by a power source in the form of a "high voltage power supply").
For claim 11, Liu further wherein the at least one pre-filtration mechanism comprises at least one reverse osmosis mechanism (see the translation description concerning Embodiment 1 "purification system 1 is RO reverse osmosis set").
For claim 15, Liu also discloses: A method for generating functional water (see in the Translation Description, in the paragraph beginning "The invention in the KDF " description of the water having a plurality of disease treatment effects and therapies including improvement of human body immune function, and numerous other health benefit functions), comprising:
receiving at least one amount of water from at least one water source (see in the paragraph beginning "Preferably, the shell material 304 " "water entering the purifying system" (necessarily from one or more man-made or natural water sources through an inlet of purification system 1) ;
executing at least one reverse osmosis process on the at least one amount of water, wherein the at least one reverse osmosis process is configured to remove at least one contaminant from the at least one amount of water (Translation description concerning purification system 1 comprising a reverse osmosis set, inherently comprising at least one fine pore size membrane removing a plurality of contaminants not passing through the membrane pores, also see the background discussion of the translation);
adding at least one trace element to the at least one amount of water to generate at 30 least one amount of treated water (Translation description concerning mineralizing and activating system 2, for adding minerals including magnesium and calcium to the water) ;
implementing at least one electrolysis process on the at least one amount of treated water to generate at least one amount of electrolyzed water, wherein the at least one electrolysis process is at least partially implemented via a plurality of electrodes (translation description concerning electrolytic hydrogen water system 4 comprising a direct current negative and positive electrode, i.e. "anode" and "cathode");
and exposing the at least one amount of electrolyzed water to at least one energy via at least one energy field applicator to generate at least one amount of functional water (translation description concerning ultrasonic wave generator or electric field processing storage water treatment device 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu Patent Publication CN107459203 and the accompanying English translation of the Liu publication in view of Sires Patent Publication CN115087823 and the accompanying English translation of the Sires publication and Gao Patent Publication CN113354038 and the accompanying English translation of the Gao publication.
Claims 3-6 and 16-18, respectfully differ from the apparatus, or method, disclosed by Liu by requiring wherein at least one portion of each of the plurality of electrodes comprises a mesh structure.
Sires teaches a water treatment electrochemical reactor (translation description, technical field), having a negative electrode or "cathode" formed of a conductive metal mesh, and having a carbon-PTFE coating, and a positive electrode or anode (see discussion of Tubular reactor and equipment size). Sires teaches such electrodes as providing a large surface area and performance, and ensuring uniform distribution of solution flow through the electrodes (see discussion of the positive and negative electrode).
Gao teaches a system for sewage purification and waste water recycling including an electrochemical, Fenton reactor, utilizing a positive and negative electrode (Abstract); the positive electrode employing a stainless steel net (i.e. "metal mesh"), lined with PTFE (polytetrafluoroethylene) and negative electrode employing a titanium mesh (Translation, Embodiment 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of employing water treatment systems comprising electrolytic treatment, to have constructed the anode and cathode electrodes of Liu, with a metal mesh structure, as taught by Sires and Gao, so as to providing large surface area and performance through the electrodes, and ensure uniform distribution of solution flow through the electrodes
For each of claims 4-6, 17 and 18, Sires teaches wherein at least one portion of the mesh structure of each of the plurality of electrodes is at least partially covered by at least one external material having a negative electrode or "cathode" formed of a conductive metal mesh, and having a carbon-PTFE, thus partly polymeric coating (see discussion of Tubular reactor and equipment size), while Gao teaches a polymeric PTFE coating lining a positive electrode (Embodiment 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to have further modified the Liu apparatus, so as to have the instantly claimed material covering of the electrodes, as cumulatively taught by Sires and Gao, in order to optimize conductance of the electrodes, while providing long-lasting structural stability with the polymeric coating
For each of claims 5-6, and 18, imparted decreased wettability is a desirable, inherent property of the PTFE or polymeric coating of the electrodes taught by the teachings of Sires and Gao.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu Patent Publication CN107459203 and the accompanying English translation of the Liu publication in view of Sires Patent Publication CN115087823 and the accompanying English translation of the Sires publication.
For claim 7, Liu discloses at least one positive and negative electrodes or cathode and anode (page 3 of the Description), however is silent regarding spacing between anode and cathode. Claim 7 differs from the disclosure of Lu by requiring such spacing to be a distance ranging from approximately 0.5 mm to approximately 10 mm.
Sires suggests wherein the at least one anode and the at least one cathode of an electrolytic device are separated by a distance ranging from approximately 0.5 to 2.0 millimeters (see discussion in paragraphs regarding electrode configuration of the distance between the positive and negative electrode being less than 8 mm and preferably between 2 and 3 mm (thus overlapping the claimed range of electrode spacing), to reduce required voltages and energy consumption.
It would have been additionally obvious to the skilled artisan to have incorporated the anode and cathode spacing taught by Sires, into the Liu apparatus, to reduce required voltages and energy consumption.
The MPEP at Section 2144.05 states that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
For claim 8, Liu discloses at least one positive and negative electrodes or cathode and anode (page 3 of the Description), however is silent regarding thicknesses of anode and cathode. Claim 8 differs from the disclosure of Lu by requiring such thickness ranging from approximately 0.1 mm to approximately 2.0 mm.
Sires suggests that the at least one anode and the at least one cathode of an electrolytic device inherently or logically have such range of thicknesses in that they are separated by a distance ranging from approximately 0.5 to 2.0 millimeters (see discussion in paragraphs regarding electrode configuration of the distance between the positive and negative electrode being less than 8 mm and preferably between 2 and 3 mm (thus overlapping the claimed range of electrode spacing), to reduce required voltages and energy consumption.
It would have been additionally obvious to the skilled artisan to have incorporated the anode and cathode in the range of mm thickness suggested by Sires, into the Liu apparatus, to reduce required voltages and energy consumption.
For claim 8, electrode thicknesses are deemed to be a results-effective variable for which it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have optimized by routine experimentation. See the MPEP at Section 2144.05, part II, A. The disclosure in Sires of a wide range of electrode spacing in the nm range, suggests the obviousness of optimizing the electrode thicknesses in nm.
Claims 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu Patent Publication CN107459203 and the accompanying English translation of the Liu publication in view of Wu Patent Publication CN205933500 and the accompanying English translation of the Wu publication.
Claim 10 differs from the apparatus of Liu by requiring wherein the at least one energy field comprises one or more of: electromagnetic energy, ultraviolet radiation, magnetic energy, or an energy vortex.
Wu teaches a water quality optimizing and water treatment system (Abstract and Description, 1st two paragraphs), comprising reverse osmosis and other water filtering devices and a water electrolysis device, in series with a downstream activated carbon filtering device and high energy ultraviolet (UV) sterilizing device, thus device imparting an ultraviolet radiation energy field (figure 1 and Description of Figure 1, pages 1-2). Wu teaches such combination of water treatment devices resulting in excellent quality drinking water and elimination of residual impurities remaining after the initial treatment devices (see again Description, pages 1-2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of employing water treatment systems comprising electrolytic treatment, to have replaced the energy field applicator of Liu, with the UV sterilizing and energy field-applying device taught by Wu, or alternately supplemented the energy field applicator disclosed by Liu with such device taught by Wu and UV energy field, to improve the quality of produced drinking water and elimination of residual impurities remaining after the initial treatment devices.
Claim 13 and 14 differ from the apparatus of Liu by requiring wherein the functional water generating apparatus further comprises at least one post-filtration mechanism configured to remove the one or more contaminants from at least one amount of activated water.
Wu teaches a water quality optimizing and water treatment system (Abstract and Description, 1st two paragraphs), comprising reverse osmosis and other water filtering devices and a water electrolysis device, in series with a downstream, or "post-filtration", activated carbon filtering device (figure 1 and Description of Figure 1, pages 1-2). Wu teaches such combination of water treatment devices resulting in excellent quality drinking water and elimination of residual impurities remaining after the initial treatment devices (see again Description, pages 1-2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of employing water treatment systems comprising electrolytic treatment, to have supplemented the water treatment system of Liu, with the post-filtration, activated carbon mechanism taught by Wu, in order to improve the quality of produced drinking water and elimination of residual impurities remaining after the initial treatment devices.
For claim 14, Wu specifically teaches wherein the at least one post- filtration mechanism comprises a carbon filter (figure 1 and Description of Figure 1, pages 1-2).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu Patent Publication CN107459203 and the accompanying English translation of the Liu publication, as applied to claim 15, and over Liu in view of Sires Patent Publication CN115087823 and the accompanying English translation of the Sires publication and Gao Patent Publication CN113354038 and the accompanying English translation of the Gao publication, as applied to claims 16-18, and further in view of Bishop et al PGPUBS Document US 2020/0121715 (Bishop). Paragraph numbers of the Specification of the PGPUBS Document are identified with "[]" symbols.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Liu at page 3 of the translation description regarding the electrolytic or electrolysis system, also discloses the electrolysis process as resulting in generating of "hydrogen into very small bubbles" within the amount of generated, electrolyzed, water. Claim 19 further differs from the method of Liu by requiring the very small bubbles being nanobubbles.
Bishop teaches a process of generating hydrogen-enriched water treatment system employing pre-filtration, reverse osmosis and electro-deionizing water- conditioning stages, thus employing a form of "electrolysis" [0181 and 0183]. Bishop teaches such electro-deionizing or electrolysis process step as employing jet nozzles for mixing the water passing through the treatment stages [0182, 0183], which are operable to form reduced size water clusters comprising nanometer-sized clusters [0182, 0183, 0222-0224, 0233-0237]. Such nanoclusters are shown to comprise (nm) nanometer- sized, spherical groups, or "particles" of water molecules, having H-bonds, thus being a form of nanobubbles (figures 1 and 10 and [0065 and 0074].
Bishop teaches such nanobubbles as imparting improved bioavailability of the purified water [0065-0066, 0182-0183, 0225, 0235].
Thus, it would have been further obvious to the skilled artisan to have supplemented the Liu process by employing such jet nozzles for mixing the water, entering the electrolysis device, as taught by Bishop, for imparting improved bioavailability of the purified water.
For claim 20, Bishop suggests that the at least one energy field increases a zeta potential of each of the plurality of nanobubbles [0021, 0062-0064 regarding charging of the particle dispersions or nanobubbles, as effective to increase cluster or nanobubble zeta potentials.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claims drafted by the examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, are presented to applicant for consideration:
Apparatus claim 2 would distinguish and be non-obvious over the prior art if amended to recite the mesh structure having a surface area configured with a size and structure to generate nanobubbles, with the at least one energy applicator being configured to generate a zeta potential of the nanobubbles with an electrostatic surface potential effective to increase the stability and lifespan of the generated nanobubbles, as would be supported by paragraphs [0029 of the Specification regarding the mesh structure configuration and 0032-0033 regarding the at least one energy applicator configuration].
Method claim 20 would distinguish and be non-obvious over the prior art if amended by inserting after “wherein the at least one energy field increases a zeta potential effective to increase the stability and lifespan of the generated nanobubbles, as would also be supported by paragraphs [0029 of the Specification regarding the mesh structure configuration and 0032-0033 regarding the at least one energy applicator configuration].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Of particular interest , Karren et al PGPUBS Document US 2019/0263691 teaches production of highly purified, electrolyzed oxidizing water by utilizing a sequence of reverse osmosis, distillation or ion exchange treatment [0008], followed by electrolysis to produce and generate alkaline functional water [0006-0013] and [0111-0117].
The telephone number, for official, formal communications, for the examining group where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
JWD
09/19/2026
/JOSEPH W DRODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773