DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
To help the reader, examiner notes in this detailed action claim language is in bold, strikethrough limitations are not explicitly taught and language added to explain a reference mapping are isolated from quotations via square brackets.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, 13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 18920052 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as set forth in the tables and description below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
While the instant application covers additional elements compared to the reference application, the reference application substantially covers the contents of the instant application. The difference between the instant claims and the reference claims is that while the reference application discloses a ‘sensing result’ and ‘frame set’ the instant application discloses a ‘sensing measurement’ and ‘frame’.
While a result v. measurement and frame v. frame set are not identical, given the generality and similarity to which a ‘sensing result’ and ‘sensing measurement’, and similarly ‘frame’ and ‘frame set’ are claimed, the instant and reference claims are substantially similar to each other.
Instant Application
reference application
1. A sensing measurement method, applicable to a sensing-by-proxy initiator, the method comprising:
transmitting a sensing-by-proxy request frame to a sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame is for requesting the sensing-by-proxy responder to perform sensing measurement on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator; and
receiving a sensing-by-proxy response frame from the sensing-by-proxy responder.
1. A method for reporting a sensing result, applicable to a sensing-by-proxy initiator, the method comprising:
receiving a sensing-by-proxy report frame or a sensing-by-proxy report frame set from a sensing-by-proxy responder,
wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carries the sensing result.
9. A wireless local area network (WLAN) device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, cause the WLAN device to: transmit a sensing-by-proxy request frame to a sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame is for requesting the sensing-by-proxy responder to perform sensing measurement on behalf of the WLAN device; and receive a sensing-by-proxy response frame from the sensing-by-proxy responder.
8. A sensing-by-proxy initiator, comprising:
a processor and a memory storing at least one program, which when executed by the processor, causes the sensing-by-proxy initiator to:
receive a sensing-by-proxy report frame or a sensing-by-proxy report frame set from a sensing-by-proxy responder, wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carries a sensing result.
13. A wireless local area network (WLAN) device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, cause the WLAN device to: receive a sensing-by-proxy request frame from a sensing-by-proxy initiator, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame is for requesting a sensing-by-proxy responder to perform sensing measurement on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator; and transmit a sensing-by-proxy response frame to the sensing-by-proxy initiator.
15. A sensing-by-proxy responder, comprising:
a processor and a memory storing at least one program, which when executed by the processor, causes the sensing-by-proxy responder to:
transmit a sensing-by-proxy report frame or a sensing-by-proxy report frame set to a sensing-by-proxy initiator, wherein the sensing-by-proxy report frame or the sensing-by-proxy report frame set carries a sensing result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong (US 20250175837).
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches A sensing measurement method, applicable to a sensing-by-proxy initiator, the method comprising (title “SENSING BY PROXY COMMUNICATION METHOD AND COMMUNICATION DEVICE”):
transmitting a sensing-by-proxy request frame to a sensing-by-proxy responder (Abstract “sending, by the AP, a first message frame to the SBP requesting station, wherein the first message frame carries a sensing measurement setup identifier.”), wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame is for requesting the sensing-by-proxy responder to perform sensing measurement on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator (Abstract “A communication method for sensing by proxy (SBP), includes: receiving, by an access point (AP), a first SBP request frame from an SBP requesting station, wherein the first SBP request frame comprises a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate a first sensing measurement as a proxy AP; and sending, by the AP, a first message frame to the SBP requesting station, wherein the first message frame carries a sensing measurement setup identifier.”); and
receiving a sensing-by-proxy response frame from the sensing-by-proxy responder (0005 “receiving, by the SBP requesting station, a first message frame from the AP, where the first message frame carries a sensing measurement setup identifier.”).
Regarding claim 2, Dong teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame carries information indicating at least one of:
whether to require the sensing-by-proxy responder to obtain a sensing measurement report of the sensing measurement;
an accuracy requirement of a sensing measurement result (0043 “the requirement of sensing measurement may include accuracy of sensing measurement (e.g., how many responders need to participate in the sensing measurement to achieve the accuracy),”);
a role of the sensing-by-proxy initiator in the sensing measurement;
whether to require sensing signal transmitters and sensing signal receivers in different sensing measurement instances to be consistent;
whether to require to use a protected management frame in the sensing measurement;
a type of a sensing measurement report;
a measurement periodicity of the sensing measurement;
a periodicity of reporting a sensing measurement report by the sensing-by-proxy responder;
a measurement duration of the sensing measurement;
information of a number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement;
device information of sensing participants specified to participate in the sensing measurement;
an indication of roles of at least one sensing participant participating in the sensing measurement in the sensing measurement; or
time information of a sensing-by-proxy requester for performing a service related to the sensing measurement ([Examiner notes only one of the members in this list is required to be taught]).
Regarding claim 3, Dong teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the role of the sensing-by-proxy initiator in the sensing measurement comprises any one of:
a sensing signal transmitter;
a sensing signal receiver;
a sensing signal transmitter and a sensing signal receiver;
an unspecified role; or
not participating in the sensing measurement (0038 “the SBP requesting STA may not act as a responder, That is, it does not participate in the WLAN sensing measurement.”).
Regarding claim 4, Dong teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the information of the number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement comprises any one of:
a minimum number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement (0043 “the requirement of sensing measurement may include accuracy of sensing measurement (e.g., how many responders need to participate in the sensing measurement to achieve the accuracy)” [an indication of the number of responders needed to participate in the sensing measurement corresponds to a ‘minimum number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement’]); or
a specific number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement.
Regarding claim 7, Dong teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame comprises at least one of following fields:
a Sensing Measurement Parameters Element field, indicating a common measurement configuration effective for at least one sensing participant;
an Availability Window Element field, indicating time information of a sensing-by-proxy requester for performing a service related to the sensing measurement;
an SBP Specific Parameters Element field, indicating information related to establishing the sensing measurement (0038 “In addition, the AP STA receiving the “SBP request” may send an SBP response frame to the SBP requesting STA to indicate whether to reject or accept the request. The AP STA accepting the request can initiate WLAN sensing process (SBP sensing process) with one or more non-AP STAs by using operating parameters derived from the parameters indicated in the SBP request frame.”);
a Minimum Sensing Participants Number field, indicating a specific number or a minimum number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement;
a Sensing-by-Proxy Responder Determined Role field, indicating whether roles of at least one sensing participant in the sensing measurement are determined by the sensing-by-proxy responder; or
a Determined Sensing Responder Number field, indicating that a number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement indicated in a Minimum Sensing Participants Number field is a specific number or a minimum number of sensing participants participating in the sensing measurement.
Regarding claim 8, Dong teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing-by-proxy response frame carries at least one of:
a measurement setup identifier of the sensing measurement (0045 “According to an embodiment of this disclosure, the AP may allocate the sensing measurement setup ID to the SBP requesting STA and/or the responder in a pre-allocation mode or a post-allocation mode.”); or
measurement start time of the sensing measurement.
Regarding claim 9, Dong teaches A wireless local area network (WLAN) device, comprising (0012 “FIG. 1 illustrates manners of WLAN sensing according to an exemplary embodiment”):
a processor and a memory (0104 “a processor and a memory.”) storing one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, cause the WLAN device to:
transmit a sensing-by-proxy request frame to a sensing-by-proxy responder (0005 “The communication method may include: sending, by an SBP requesting station, a first SBP request frame to an AP, where the first SBP request frame includes a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate a first sensing measurement as a proxy AP”), wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame is for requesting the sensing-by-proxy responder to perform sensing measurement on behalf of the WLAN device (0043 “Referring to FIG. 2, in step 210, the AP may receive an SBP request frame from the SBP requesting STA, where the SBP request frame may include a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate a sensing measurement as a proxy AP”); and
receive a sensing-by-proxy response frame from the sensing-by-proxy responder (claim 8 “receiving, by the SBP requesting station, a first message frame from the AP, wherein the first message frame carries a sensing measurement setup identifier.”).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 13, Dong teaches A wireless local area network (WLAN) device, comprising (0012 “FIG. 1 illustrates manners of WLAN sensing according to an exemplary embodiment;”):
a processor and a memory (0008 “The electronic device includes a memory, a processor”) storing one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, cause the WLAN device to (0012 “FIG. 1 illustrates manners of WLAN sensing according to an exemplary embodiment;”):
receive a sensing-by-proxy request frame from a sensing-by-proxy initiator (claim 18 “the processor is configured to: receive a first sensing by proxy (SBP) request frame from an SBP requesting station”; 0037 “The AP STA supporting SBP may refer to an AP capable of initiating SBP sensing measurements as a proxy AP responding to an SBP requesting STA, and may be referred to as “proxy AP”, “AP”, “SBP AP”, “Proxy AP” hereinafter.”), wherein the sensing-by-proxy request frame is for requesting a sensing-by-proxy responder to perform sensing measurement on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator (claim 18 “wherein the first SBP request frame comprises a requirement for requesting the AP to initiate a first sensing measurement as a proxy AP; and send a first message frame to the SBP requesting station, wherein the first message frame carries a sensing measurement setup identifier.”); and
transmit a sensing-by-proxy response frame to the sensing-by-proxy initiator (claim 18 “and send a first message frame to the SBP requesting station, wherein the first message frame carries a sensing measurement setup identifier.”).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 7 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 8 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (US 20250175837) in view of Lim et al. (US 12250631 hereinafter Lim).
Regarding claim 5, Dong teaches The method according to claim 2,
Dong does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Lim teaches
wherein the indication of the roles of at least one sensing participant participating in the sensing measurement in the sensing measurement comprises any one of:
an indication, by the sensing-by-proxy responder, of the roles of the at least one sensing participant in the sensing measurement;
an indication that the at least one sensing participant plays a same role in the sensing measurement; or
an indication of roles of various sensing participants in the sensing measurement (claim 1 “the sensing request frame includes sensing role information comprising a 2-bit value for each sensing responder, and wherein the 2-bit value is related to a sensing transmitter role and/or a sensing receiver role, wherein the 2-bit value is set to ‘01’ for a sensing receiver and is set to ‘10’ for a sensing transmitter.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Lim with the teachings of Dong. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve sensing performance (Lim para 6). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Lim merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensing features. Since both Dong and Lim disclose similar WLAN systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Dong teaches The method according to claim 2,
Dong does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Lim teaches
wherein the time information of the sensing-by-proxy requester for performing the service related to the sensing measurement comprises at least one of:
a duration of participating in the sensing measurement by the sensing-by-proxy initiator (para 131 “The sensing request frame transmitted by the initiator may comprise the following information: 1. A. TXOP information 1. A. i. The information may be information about the duration for which sensing is performed based on the initiator's TXOP information. 1”);
a duration of receiving the sensing measurement report by the sensing-by-proxy initiator; or
a periodicity for the sensing-by-proxy initiator to request the sensing-by-proxy responder to perform the sensing measurement on behalf of the sensing-by-proxy initiator.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Lim with the teachings of Dong. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve sensing performance (Lim para 6). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Lim merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular sensing features. Since both Dong and Lim disclose similar WLAN systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 5 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 6 and is therefore similarly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to application’s disclosure:
da Silva et al. (US 20200400778) discloses “This disclosure describes systems, methods, and devices related to receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing. A device may identify first packets received from a second device during a time period, the first packets received using a first communication link between the device and the second device, and may identify second packets received from a third device during the time period (See abstract)”
/ISMAAEEL A. SIDDIQUEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648