Claim Objections
Claims 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 8 of claim 17, the term “an audio content” is recited. Applicant is suggested to amend “an
audio content” to “the audio content” for clarity and consistency with the antecedent basis established in its base claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 10, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Rand (US 20160036962 A1) in view of Nathan et al. (US 20140040080 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rand teaches the limitation below except where underlined:
A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one data processor of a server system that hosts a platform, cause the platform to (A non-transitory computer-readable medium is a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer-readable instructions, i.e. instructions; an application server can be part of a server system hosting a platform, the application server is a computing device, therefore it has at least one processor, i.e. data processor, for instructions execution, see [0392]: ” Where implemented as software, the method steps, acts or operations may be programmed or coded as computer-readable instructions and recorded electronically, magnetically or optically on a fixed or non-transitory computer-readable medium, computer-readable memory, machine-readable memory or computer program product... when loaded into a memory and executed on a processor of a computing device” , also see [0076]: “FIG. 9b illustrates an embodiment of the invention in which an application server is local, as in a commercial establishment”, further see Fig. 9b):
configure a smart radio device to host a mobile app that enables a user of the smart radio device to select a music channel from among multiple music channels available for playback through a loudspeaker coupled to the smart radio device (A device installed in a commercial establishment, e.g. Administrator Control Terminal, or Application Server, can be part of the platform. At least a smart device is part of a smart radio. The device configures the smart device, i.e. the smart radio, by prompting user to download the appropriate software, i.e. a mobile app, see [0288]: “A device installed at a commercial establishment could recognize the presence of a new smart device. It could send a prompt to the device asking the user to download the application or a bar-specific plugin for the application… This would make it easy for users to download the appropriate software, ensuring that all users have access to the same platform and features”, also see [0076]: “FIG. 9b illustrates an embodiment of the invention in which an application server is local, as in a commercial establishment.", further see Fig. 9b; A mobile app such as the Bar App allows a user to choose a music channel among multiple music channels, then playback via the user’s headphones comprising at least one loudspeaker, see [0323]: “The audio settings interface could be modified to interact with specific channels available at a commercial establishment. For example, customers could choose to listen to different music or television channels as a result of wearing their own headphones”, see Fig. 10f; the headphone can be coupled to the control device/smart phone, i.e. a smart radio, see [0142]:“The control devices can communicate with both the headsets and the app servers…”, also see Fig. 9e),
wherein the smart radio device is configured for two-way communications and belongs to a group of smart radio devices hosted by the platform and is associated with a facility (A mobile phone, i.e. the smart radio device is configured for 2-way communications and belongs to a group of smart radio devices, see [0133]: “FIG. 7k depicts the container for the Virtual Room feature shown in FIG. 2e. This container may be scrollable from a mobile device in all directions. Users can create their own groups and arrange them however they like on the screen. Users can access communication options for the entire group, such as 2-way (7066)…”, also see Fig. 7k; The control devices, i.e. smart audios, communicate with each other via the app servers, which host the communication service and can be part of the platform. Therefore, the smart audios are hosted by the platform. The control devices are for certain commercial installation, therefore is related to at least one type of facility, see [0142]: “A variant of this embodiment would be typical for commercial installations using a similar architecture with more devices. One access point, or set of access points, would communicate with control devices, such as smart phones. The control devices can communicate with both the headsets and the app servers, which indirectly allows the control devices to communicate with each other”, also see Fig. 9e);
set one or more parameters of playback of music at the smart radio device in accordance with one or more rules that are implemented for the facility (at least Applying Voice Activity Detection and Silence Suppression can be one of the rules for team work in an office, part of a facility, wherein Voice Activity Detection works with auto ducker to decrease the volume of music playback; the volume is one parameter of playback of the music and headphones can be part of the smart radio device, see [0215]: “Many people listen to headphones…They would simply work while listening to music, and speak out to their team mates when they had something to discuss…This would work equally within an office or in different offices….Voice Activity Detection and Silence Suppression would be used to ensure that receiving parties do not hear ambient noise…”; also see [0191]: ”“Auto Ducker”: In conjunction with Voice Activity Detection, the auto duck feature would recognize when somebody is speaking and automatically duck the background audio (music or otherwise)”),
configure the smart radio device to play back music in accordance with the one or more parameters controlled by the platform via an operating system, a mobile device management app, or a mobile application management app hosted on the smart radio device ( Audio signals can be controlled through a (mobile) operating system by the Application if it is less integrated through an API/SDK, i.e. mobile device management app, or third party application, i.e. mobile application management app; at least volume can be a controllable parameter in an audio signal by the Application, the operating system can be a mobile operating system hosted on the smart radio device along with the mobile device management app and mobile application management app, the Application can be on the smart radio, see [0138]: “The Application could integrate with third party VoIP and Audio Apps through an Application Programming Interface (API), Software Development Kit (SDK), or other means. Apps with a lesser degree of integration would rely on communication through the operating system…The Application may be able to control audio signals from third party applications without an intentional integration through API or SDK. Fewer limitations would simplify software architecture, and limitations are subject to change over time as operating systems evolve, especially mobile operating systems”, also see Fig. 9a).
Rand teaches “auto ducker” to automatically decrease the volume parameter, but does not specifically teach the platform sets one or more parameters of playback of music, and the platform configures the smart radio device with one or more parameters controlled by the platform.
Nathan teaches the platform sets one or more parameters of playback of music, and configures the smart radio device with one or more parameters controlled by the platform (the Wireless Digital Transmission System can be part of the platform, sending maximum volume levels is to set and configure the volume levels with maximum values, for the music to be sent and played back; at least the maximum volume levels are part of the parameters of playback of music, the speaker systems can be smart radio devices, see [0076]: “…the Wireless Digital Transmission System could be used to send information such as… the zones in which selected music should be played, maximum volume levels, etc, in addition to sending music to the speaker systems”).
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have set and configured music playback parameters as taught by Nathan into the platform as taught by Rand. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “adjust and control all suitable settings to provide the most versatile, patron friendly environment in each of the zones, based on any suitable criteria” (Nathan: [0077]).
Regarding claim 2, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand in view of Nathan also teaches the platform is caused to configure the smart radio device to play back music in accordance with the one or more parameters controlled by the platform via the operating system (Audio signals can be controlled through a (mobile) operating system by the Application if it is less integrated through an API/SDK; at least volume can be a controllable parameter in an audio signal by the Application; the Application can be on the smart radio, and the audio signal can be music playback, see Rand [0138]: “The Application could integrate with third party VoIP and Audio Apps through an Application Programming Interface (API), Software Development Kit (SDK), or other means. Apps with a lesser degree of integration would rely on communication through the operating system…The Application may be able to control audio signals from third party applications without an intentional integration through API or SDK”, also see Rand Fig. 9a).
Regarding claim 3, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand in view of Nathan also teaches the platform is caused to configure the smart radio device to play back music in accordance with the one or more parameters controlled by the platform via the mobile device management app (An API/SDK can be the mobile device management app, see Rand [0138]: “The Application could integrate with third party VoIP and Audio Apps through an Application Programming Interface (API), Software Development Kit (SDK), or other means. Apps with a lesser degree of integration would rely on communication through the operating system…The Application may be able to control audio signals from third party applications without an intentional integration through API or SDK. Fewer limitations would simplify software architecture, and limitations are subject to change over time as operating systems evolve, especially mobile operating systems”, also see Rand Fig. 9a).
Regarding claim 4, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand in view of Nathan also teaches the platform is caused to configure the smart radio device to play back music in accordance with the one or more parameters controlled by the platform via the mobile application management app (third party application can be the mobile application management app, see Rand [0138]: “The Application may be able to control audio signals from third party applications without an intentional integration through API or SDK. Fewer limitations would simplify software architecture, and limitations are subject to change over time as operating systems evolve, especially mobile operating systems”, also see Rand Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand in view of Nathan also teaches:
The platform is caused to cause the smart radio device via the operating system, the mobile device management app, or the mobile application management app to respond to an event detected at the facility by performing an action ( the event is based on if current location of the mobile device relative to a geofenced area of a bar, or a commercial establishment, which can be part of the facility; the action can be proximity-based volume modification, and volume modification e.g. in music playback, can be done by the operating system, the mobile device management app, or the mobile application management app, see Rand [0036]: “…a method of downloading an application to a mobile device, the method comprising determining a current location of the mobile device; detecting that the current location of the mobile device matches a location of a bar; and downloading a bar-specific application to the mobile device, the application containing a bar map”; A device sending a prompt can be part of the platform, see Rand [0290]: “A device installed at a commercial establishment could recognize the presence of a new smart device. It could send a prompt to the device asking the user to download the application or a bar-specific plugin for the application”, also see Rand [0292]: “…proximity based communications and distance attenuation (i.e. volume dependent on proximity)…” ),
wherein the event is based on a location of the smart radio device relative to a geofenced area of the facility or presence of a device, equipment, or machine in a threshold vicinity of the smart radio device (please see comments as set forth above in claim 5), and
wherein to perform the action includes modifying a value of the one or more parameters of playback of music (please see comments as set forth above in claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand does not teach:
the platform is caused to: stream a first music channel to a first subset of smart radio devices; stream a second music channel to a second subset of smart radio devices different from the first subset of smart radio devices; cause the first subset of smart radio devices to present a first human perceptible output indicating that each device belongs to the first subset of smart radio devices; and cause the second subset of smart radio devices to present a second human perceptible output indicating that each device belongs to the second subset of smart radio devices, wherein the first human perceptible output and the second human perceptible output are different and perceivable to non-users of the smart radio device.
Nathan teaches:
the platform is caused to: stream a first music channel to a first subset of smart radio devices; stream a second music channel to a second subset of smart radio devices different from the first subset of smart radio devices (different sets of speakers in different zones can be different subset of smart radio devices, music channel is streamed differently for different zones to the different subset of speakers, the Wireless Digital Transmission System can be used for zone and music parameter control as well as streaming, and can be part of the platform, see [0074]: “ FIG. 9 shows an overhead view of an exemplary establishment layout for a multi-zone jukebox system…Each zone is equipped with its own set of speakers 127, 129, 131… Different music may be played simultaneously in all three zones 121, 123, 125”; see [0076]: ”the Wireless Digital Transmission System can be used for other purposes in other embodiments where data needs to be sent between two or more devices…the Wireless Digital Transmission System could be used to send information such as… the zones in which selected music should be played, maximum volume levels, etc, in addition to sending music to the speaker systems”, also see Fig. 9);
cause the first subset of smart radio devices to present a first human perceptible output indicating that each device belongs to the first subset of smart radio devices; and cause the second subset of smart radio devices to present a second human perceptible output indicating that each device belongs to the second subset of smart radio devices, wherein the first human perceptible output and the second human perceptible output are different and perceivable to non-users of the smart radio device (music can be zone based, the same subset of speakers in the same zone can play the same human perceptible music, and different sets of speakers in different zones play different music. Therefore, a human can tell music is different across different zones, and which speaker belongs to which zone, or subset).
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have integrated the Wireless Digital Transmission System to control/stream different music channels for different subset of devices as taught by Nathan into the platform as taught by Rand. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to control “what songs are appropriate given…the zones in which selected music should be played, maximum volume levels, etc, in addition to sending music to the speaker systems” (Nathan: [0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand also teaches the smart radio device can perform tasks via the operating system, the mobile device management app, or the mobile application management app (please see the rejection for claims 2-4).
Rand further teaches dynamically control one or more parameters of playback of music responsive to a workflow including presence of the user in geofenced locations of the facility and presence of devices in a threshold proximity to the smart radio device (the playlist of the music and a layer of audio can be one of the parameters configured by the platform; the workflow includes location aware music is streamed based the presence of the user associated mobile device on an indoor location, i.e. geofenced locations of the facility; and intelligent headsets are within a threshold proximity that one user can see another; the intelligent headsets can be part of the smart radio device, see [0346- 0347]: ”Location based musical experiences: Location aware music is a new concept in which music can be streamed to a mobile device based on its location, as determined by GPS…Intelligent headsets can add another layer of interactivity because they can infer not only user location, but what users are looking at… The application of this concept is not limited to the outdoors; indoor venues can utilize an indoor positioning system… Because intelligent headsets can be aware of when two people are looking at each other, a layer of audio can be superimposed when they do”).
Regarding claim 18, since the claimed CRM comprises the same operations conducted by the apparatus in claim 9, claim 18 is rejected as being obvious over Rand in view of Nathan for the reasons mentioned in claim 9’s 103 rejection.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Rand (US 20160036962 A1) in view of Nathan et al. (US 20140040080 A1) further in view of Anderson (US 20140044269 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand also teaches the smart radio device can perform tasks via the operating system, the mobile device management app, or the mobile application management app (please see the rejection for claims 2-4).
Rand further teaches an event detected at the facility (the current location of the mobile device, i.e. the smart radio device, matching a location of a bar can be an event. At least a bar can be part of the facility, see Rand [0036]: “…the method comprising determining a current location of the mobile device; detecting that the current location of the mobile device matches a location of a bar”).
Rand in view of Nathan does not teach the smart radio device is caused to respond to an event detected at the facility by performing playback of an audio notification to accompany the music.
Anderson teaches event-triggered playback of an audio notification to accompany the music (a detected critical sound is a triggering event, then an audio notification/alarm signal is played along with the audio stream, which can be the music, see [0032]: “ When, however, a critical sound is detected, DSP 1001 reduces the amplitude of the signal from source 805 while adding either the notification/alarm signal or the critical background sound into the audio stream to the user”).
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have integrated a critical sound triggered flow as Anderson into the smart audio device as taught by Rand in view of Nathan. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “allows a user to be aware of select sounds in their environment” (see Anderson [0019]).
Regarding claim 8, Rand in view of Nathan teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 1’s rejection.
Rand also teaches the smart radio device can perform tasks via the operating system, the mobile device management app, or the mobile application management app, and an event detected at the facility as set forth in claim 7’s rejection.
Rand in view of Nathan does not teach the smart radio device is caused to respond to an event detected at the facility by changing a volume of the music on the music channel and causing playback of an audio notification while the volume is changed.
Anderson teaches a triggering events followed by changing a volume of the music on the music channel and causing playback of an audio notification while the volume is changed (a detected critical sound is a triggering event; the signal from source can be a music from the music channel, whose volume is reduced; then the audio notification is added to the music with volume changed as the audio stream for playback, see [0032]: “ When, however, a critical sound is detected, DSP 1001 reduces the amplitude of the signal from source 805 while adding either the notification/alarm signal or the critical background sound into the audio stream to the user”).
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have integrated a critical sound triggered flow as Anderson into the smart audio device as taught by Rand in view of Nathan. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “allows a user to be aware of select sounds in their environment” (see Anderson [0019]).
Claims 10, 13-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Family et al. (US 20200396560 A1) in view of Rand (US 20160036962 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Family teaches the limitation below except where underlined:
A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one data processor of a server system that hosts a platform, cause the platform to (a spatial audio system can be a server based system hosting a platform, which comprise memory, i.e. non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, storing an audio player application, i.e. executable instructions, see [0007]: “One embodiment includes a spatial audio system, including a primary network connected speaker, including a plurality of sets of drivers, where each set of drivers is oriented in a different direction, a processor system, memory containing an audio player application, wherein the audio player application configures the processor system to obtain an audio source stream from an audio source via the network interface, spatially encode the audio source, decode the spatially encoded audio source to obtain driver inputs for the individual drivers in the plurality of sets of drivers, where the driver inputs cause the drivers to generate directional audio”, also see media servers 130 and cell control server 150 in Fig. 1A):
configure a smart radio device to access a music channel (cell control servers can be part of the platform, at least one of the various 3rd party services can be media content streaming from media servers which provides at least a music channel, a cell can be a smart radio device, authentication of user accounts can happen on a cell as cell control and is configuring a cell, i.e. a smart device, cell control servers assisting connections between cells and media servers is also configuring a smart device to access a music channel, see [0218] : ”…connections between media servers of various music services…cell control servers can assist with establishing connections between cells and media servers…cell control servers may assist with authentication of user accounts with various 3rd party services providers…cell control servers are used to remotely control cells… directing cells to playback a particular piece of media content, changing volume, changing which cells are currently being utilized to playback a particular piece of media content…cell control servers can perform any number of different control tasks that modify cell operation as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications”)
wherein the smart radio device is configured to access the music channel via an application programming interface (API) (cell, i.e. the smart radio device is configured by the cell control servers to access media servers, which can provide music services including providing a music channel, see [0218]: “connections between media servers of various music services…cell control servers can assist with establishing connections between cells and media servers”); and
wherein the smart radio device is configured for two-way communication and is associated with a facility (Communication between cells, i.e. smart radio devices are two-way communication, see 0216] : “Communication between cells can be established using any number of wireless communication methodologies including, but not limited to, wireless local area networking technologies (WLAN)… and/or any other wireless communication technology”, at least one of the network connected speakers can be a smart radio device and is associated with a room, which can be part of a facility, see [0053-0056]: “a spatial audio system includes a first network connected speaker at a first location…the first, second, third and fourth locations are all within a room”);
receive instructions to modify a playback of music on the music channel to present an audio content to a user (cell control server as part of the platform receives commands/instructions, see [0219]: “ cell control devices can send commands to a cell control server which in turn sends the commands to the cells… the cell control server can establish a secure connection to a set of cells which it can pass instructions to from the mobile phone”; cell control server can control the cells via received instructions e.g. from user interfaces or a cell control devices, at least to change the volume of playback of media content, which can be from a music channel and is presented to a user, see [0218]: “ cell control servers are used to remotely control cells, such as, but not limited to, directing cells to playback a particular piece of media content, changing volume, changing which cells are currently being utilized to playback a particular piece of media content, and/or changing the location of spatial audio objects in the area…cell control servers can perform any number of different control tasks that modify cell operation as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications in accordance with various embodiments of the invention. The manner in which different types of user interfaces can be provided…”, see [0219]: “…cell control devices can send commands to a cell control server which in turn sends the commands to the cells”, see Fig. 1A),
wherein the instructions indicate multiple parameters associated with the smart radio device to modify the playback of the music on the music channel, modify audio data for the audio content, and modify the playback of the audio content ( the spatial multimedia reproduction system, which can be part of the platform, can generate an alarm, at least playing the alarm while playing the music on the musical channel is modifying the playback of the music; at least changing the location of spatial audio objects is modifying audio data for the audio content; at least the alarm can be part of the audio content, and rendering the alarm is modifying the playback of the audio content; at least the volume, location of spatial audio objects as in [0218] cited above, along with type of content, a priority level are smart radio device can be part of multiple parameters associated with the instructions received by the cell control server, i.e. the platform, see [0346] : “An interaction manager 3446 can manage how each of the different multimedia sources are to be reproduced…playback of a multimedia source such as a sound source may paused, stopped, or reduced in volume…alarm sounds generated by a connected device or another module within the spatial multimedia reproduction system”; also see [0355]: “…an alarm needs to be rendered during playback of an existing multimedia source, such as a song…”); see [0353]: “…type of content, time of day, day of the week, and based on heuristic information. In addition, a priority level may be associated with each content source”; wherein the interaction manager can be part of the server or platform, see [0234] : “the source manager is implemented on a server system”, also see [0347]: “The source manager 3400 further includes an enumeration determinator 3442, a position manager 3444, and an interaction manager 3446…”);
modify playback of the music in accordance with the multiple parameters to integrate the audio content in the music channel (at least an alarm/alert is part of the audio content, rendering alarm during playback of the music is modifying playback of the music to integrate the audio content in the music channel, the alarm/alert is associated with higher priority level and higher volume than the playback of the music, which can be part of the multiple parameters, see [0353]: “…alarms and alerts may have a higher level of associated priority than other content sources, which may mean that these are played at higher volumes…”, also see [0348]: “The enumeration determinator module…may include multiple channels…as well as…alarm/alert sounds…The enumeration information may be used in…mixing of the sources in the content”, further see [0355]: “…an alarm needs to be rendered during playback of an existing multimedia source, such as a song, an interaction manager may pause or duck the song while the alarm is being played”),
wherein the audio content includes a notification associated with the facility (an alarm/alert is a notification, and the audio content includes an alarm/alert related to home, which can be part of the facility, see [0365]: “functional directional alerts… can be… rendered in a soundscape for…home safety…”);
wherein the audio content is configured to interrupt the music by modulating a volume of the music and playing the notification (the alarm/alert, i.e. the notification, is first configured to interrupt the music playback by modulating the volume of the music playback to a lower level, see [0355]: “…an alarm needs to be rendered during playback of an existing multimedia source, such as a song, an interaction manager may pause or duck the song while the alarm is being played”);
cause playback of the audio content in accordance with the multiple parameters to interrupt the music being played on the music channel at the smart radio device ( the audio content including the alarm/alert is rendered while the music is interrupted and played at a lower volume, see [0355]: “…an alarm needs to be rendered during playback of an existing multimedia source, such as a song, an interaction manager may pause or duck the song while the alarm is being played”).
Family does not teach the platform configuring the smart radio device to access the music channel is achieved by an application programming interface (API).
Rand teaches an application can control media playing with communication through API (the application can run on the platform, and media playing can be music channel access, see [0138]: “The Application could integrate with third party VoIP and Audio Apps through an Application Programming Interface (API)…”, also see [0158]: “…provides an interface for playing and media that can be controlled by the application simultaneously with VoIP based communication”).
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have integrated the application that configures music channel access with communication via an API as taught by Rand in the platform as taught by Family. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “provide an interface for media sharing” (Rand: [0155]).
Regarding claim 13, Family in view of Rand teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 10’s rejection.
Claim 13 recites all the limitation included in claim 6, see the rejection in claim 6 taught by Rand, except “simulcast”, “a first indication”, and “a second indication”.
Nand also teaches “simulcast”, “a first indication”, and “a second indication” (Play music simultaneously in two different zones is simulcast a first music and a second music, see [0074]: “ FIG. 9 shows an overhead view of an exemplary establishment layout for a multi-zone jukebox system…Each zone is equipped with its own set of speakers 127, 129, 131… Different music may be played simultaneously in all three zones 121, 123, 125”).
Regarding claim 14, Family in view of Rand teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 10’s rejection.
Nand also teaches interruption of music playback and an audio notification playback can happen during a time period (during the presence of notification, i.e. an audio notification, music playback is interrupted by its volume being lowered while the notification is being played, the duration of the notification is a time period, see [0009]: “ Communications applications typically build in code that causes the music audio to be “ducked” to a fixed level for incoming calls and other events such as voice message playback and notifications, for example. Ducking involves reducing the level of one audio signal by the presence of another, such as lowering the volume of music during a call”)
Regarding claim 15, Family in view of Rand teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 10’s rejection. Similar to claim 14’s rejection, the duration of the notification is a time period.
Regarding claim 19, Family in view of Rand teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 10’s rejection.
Family also teaches:
the multiple parameters are controlled by the platform hosted on the server system (the cell control server can control the cells by changing the multiple parameters; a cell control device can control the control server; both the control server and the cell control device can be part of the platform; at least the volume and the location of spatial audio objects can be part of the multiple parameters controlled by the platform, see [0218]: “ cell control servers are used to remotely control cells, such as, but not limited to, directing cells to playback a particular piece of media content, changing volume, changing which cells are currently being utilized to playback a particular piece of media content, and/or changing the location of spatial audio objects in the area…cell control servers can perform any number of different control tasks that modify cell operation as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications in accordance with various embodiments of the invention. The manner in which different types of user interfaces can be provided…”, see [0219]: “…cell control devices can send commands to a cell control server which in turn sends the commands to the cells”, see Fig. 1A)
Rand also teaches:
the smart radio device is configured to host a mobile app that enables the user of the smart radio device to select the music channel from among multiple available music channels for playback through a loudspeaker coupled to the smart radio device ( iTunes (7020), Spotify (7021), or YouTube (7022) is an example mobile app that can run on a smart device, i.e. the smart radio device, Fig. 4b shows a user interface of multiple music channels for the user to select for playback through a paired loudspeaker, see [0124]: “ Depending on the level of integration with 3rd party applications, it would also be possible to amplify or reduce the amplitude of 3rd party audio signals when they are running simultaneously with the application…FIG. 7a depicts settings that enable the user to manually adjust amplification levels for commonly used media applications such as iTunes (7020), Spotify (7021), and YouTube (7022)”, also see Fig. 7a; a phone can be the smart radio device, a speaker is a loudspeaker, see [0100]: “e.g. a phone playing music that comes through a car's speakers with which the phone is paired or connected”);
Signal controlling via an operating system, a mobile device management app, or a mobile application management app that is hosted on the smart radio device (Audio signals can be controlled through a (mobile) operating system by the Application if it is less integrated through an API/SDK, i.e. mobile device management app, or third party application, i.e. mobile application management app; at least volume can be a controllable parameter in an audio signal by the Application, the operating system can be a mobile operating system hosted on the smart radio device along with the mobile device management app and mobile application management app, the Application can be on the smart radio, see [0138]: “The Application could integrate with third party VoIP and Audio Apps through an Application Programming Interface (API), Software Development Kit (SDK), or other means. Apps with a lesser degree of integration would rely on communication through the operating system…The Application may be able to control audio signals from third party applications without an intentional integration through API or SDK. Fewer limitations would simplify software architecture, and limitations are subject to change over time as operating systems evolve, especially mobile operating systems”, also see Fig. 9a).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Family et al. (US 20200396560 A1) in view of Rand (US 20160036962 A1) further in view of Williams et al. (US 20140287711 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Family in view of Rand teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 10’s rejection.
Family also teaches select the audio content during the music being rendered on the
smart radio device (alarm/alert, i.e. the audio content, can be generated by the spatial multimedia reproduction module, which can be a different source from a multimedia source providing music for a cell, e.g. the smart radio device, source managers can select between one or more sources, and source managers can be part of the platform , see [0346]: “…alarm sounds generated by a connected device or another module within the spatial multimedia reproduction system”, see [0355]: “…an alarm needs to be rendered during playback of an existing multimedia source, such as a song...”, see [0234]: “spatial audio systems include source managers that can select between one or more sources of audio for rending”)
Family in view of Rand does not teach translate the audio content into a preferred language of the user as indicated in a profile of the user.
Williams teaches translate the audio content into a preferred language of the user as indicated in a profile of the user (emergency alert messages can be the audio content, and PRC 201 can be part of the platform, client/user’s preferred language is in his/her profile, see [0055]: “the profile of FIG. 5 indicates that the client's preferred language is not English. Accordingly, PRC 201 may translate emergency alert messages into the client's preferred language before transmitting the audio data or signals to the client's communications device”, see [0035]: “…a private response center (PRC) 201…”, also see Fig. 2).
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have integrated audio content translation based on user’s profile as taught by Williams in the platform as taught by Family in view of Rand. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide information “helpful to personnel…in rendering assistance to the client” (Williams: [0055]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Family et al. (US 20200396560 A1) in view of Rand (US 20160036962 A1) further in view of Lagi et al. (US 20200065857 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Family in view of Rand teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 10’s rejection.
Family also teaches the platform is caused to generate, the audio content for playback during the music being rendered on the smart radio device, and play back an audio content to interrupt the music ( the spatial multimedia reproduction system can be part of the platform, and generates alarm, i.e. the audio content, for playback during the playback of the music on a device, which can be the smart audio device, playback of the audio content pauses or ducks, i.e. interrupts, the music, see [0346] : “…alarm sounds generated by a connected device or another module within the spatial multimedia reproduction system”; also see [0355]: “…an alarm needs to be rendered during playback of an existing multimedia source, such as a song, an interaction manager may pause or duck the song while the alarm is being played”);
Family in view of Rand does not teach the audio content is generated based on a generative
artificial intelligence system, profile of the user and a profile of the facility.
Lagi teaches the audio content is generated based on a generative artificial intelligence system,
profile of the user and a profile of the facility. ( a personalized message can be the audio content generated based on a machine-learned generative model, i.e. a generative artificial intelligence system, entity data relating to the individual can be the user profile, an organization of the individual can be part of the facility, entity data relating to the organization can be a profile of the facility, see [0046]: “…generating a personalized message for an individual includes: retrieving the entity data from the knowledge graph… generating the personalized message based on the directed content… the directed content is generated based on a machine-learned generative model”, see [0045]: “…entity data relating to the individual and/or an organization of the individual…”).
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art to have applied a generative artificial intelligence system along with a profile of the user and a profile of the facility for audio content generation as taught by Lagi into the platform as taught by Rand. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to send “relevant content that may be of interest to those individuals” (Lagi: [0005]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Family et al. (US 20200396560 A1) in view of Rand (US 20160036962 A1) further in view of Jeapes et al. (US 20220360896 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Family in view of Rand teaches all the claim elements previously stated in claim 10’s rejection.
Family in view of Rand teaches performing different tasks via the API, but does not teach
the API is configured to select one or more rules in a ruleset from among multiple rulesets for a type of loudspeaker, of the smart radio device , corresponding to: over-ear headphones, on-ear headphones, earbuds, noise-canceling headphones, bone conduction headphones, boom mics, standalone speakers, or speakers integrated into smart radio devices.
Jeapes teaches API is configured to select one or more rules in a ruleset from among multiple rulesets for a type of loudspeakers, corresponding to: over-ear headphones, on-ear headphones, earbuds, noise-canceling headphones, bone conduction headphones (each individual parameter in a set of parameters, e.g. echo-cancellation parameters, is one rule for audio processing; each set of parameters corresponds to a ruleset, e.g. echo-cancellation parameters is one ruleset, audio-equalization parameters is a different ruleset; selecting customized audio-processing based on parameters is rule selection; selecting customized audio-processing based on parameters is rule selection; the speakers can be head-mounted device e.g. over-ear headphones, on-ear headphones, earbuds, noise-canceling headphones, bone conduction headphones, see [0003-0004]: “the speaker parameters, the electronic devices of this disclosure set digital signal-processing (DSP) parameters, such as echo-cancellation parameters, audio-equalization parameters…dynamically update one or more of the audio-related parameters listed above in response to identifying different speaker parameters (e.g., a different type of connected speaker module and/or a different local physical environment)”, see [0008]: “the configurations of this disclosure may improve audio quality by selecting customized audio-processing based on unique parameters of each type of speaker module ”, see [0023]: “…rendered for playback via a head-mounted device (HMD) or other devices incorporating speaker hardware…”; API can be included or configured for the above mentioned rule selection, see [0067]: “Conferencing application 38 may include, for example, one or more software packages, software libraries, hardware drivers, and/or APIs…”, also see Fig. 2)
At the time of the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art to have integrated one or more rules selection as taught by Jeapes into the API as taught by Family in view of Rand. It would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “improve audio quality by selecting customized audio-processing based on unique parameters of each type of speaker module” (Jeapes: [0008]).
Conclusion
/SHIN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695