DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Office Action on the merits and is responsive to the originally filed application papers. Claims filed on 10/14/2024 are being examined. Claims 1-20 are being considered and further pending examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 10/14/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “an input device configuring to detect…” which appears to be a typographical error, examiner interprets this limitation as intending to read “an input device configured to detect”. Claim 1 further recites “a controller configuring to control…” which appears to by a typographical error, examiner interprets this limitation as intending to read “a controller configured to control…”. Claim 2 recites “a torque command generator configuring to receive…” which appears to by a typographical error, examiner interprets this limitation as intending to read “a torque command generator configured to receive…”. Claim 2 further recites “a current command generator configured to control…” which appears to by a typographical error, examiner interprets this limitation as intending to read “a current command generator configuring to control…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“an input device”, “a torque command generator”, “a current command generator”) that is coupled with functional language (“to detect”, “to receive”, “to control”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows:
”an input device configured to detect a selected driving mode of a mode switch and detect a rotation amount of a throttle” recited in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will take “an input device” as any hardware device used for processing or generating input. Examiner notes not description of hardware for “an input device” was identified in the specification.
”a torque command generator configuring to receive a current motor speed value of the motor from a motor speed detector, and determine and output a first torque command value.. ” recited in claim(s) 2-4 and 6. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will take “a torque command generator” as any hardware used for receiving input and determining output. Examiner notes not description of hardware for “an input device” was identified in the specification.
”a current command generator” recited in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will take “an input device” as
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation(s) ““an input device”, “a torque command generator”, “a current command generator”” invoke(s) 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification recites these limitations as part of a controller, however it is not specified if these devices are circuitry, processors, ASIC, touchscreens, or any other hardware which could fall within the scope of “controller”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Houten et al (US 20210086859 A1) henceforth referred to as Van Houten.
Regarding Claim 1 Van Houten teaches An electric two-wheeled vehicle driving system comprising (para [0034] : “FIGS. 1A-E illustrate a side view, a front view, a rear view, a top view, and a bottom view, respectively, of an electric vehicle 100 in accordance with some embodiments. In the illustrated embodiment, electric vehicle 100 is a two-wheeled vehicle with a front wheel 122A and a rear wheel 122B mounted on axles supported by fork 128A or 128B, respectively.”):
an input device configuring to detect a selected driving mode of a mode switch and detect a rotation amount of a throttle (para [0031] : “In some embodiments, the vehicle may selectively enter walk-assist mode automatically based on the output of a sensor.”, para [0032]: “Alternatively or additionally, a separate control mechanism may be provided to enable a user to place the vehicle in walk-assist mode. As a specific example, a tab may be mounted to a handlebar of the vehicle. The tab may be separate from a throttle used to regulate speed in riding mode and, when activated, may place the vehicle in walk-assist mode, with a speed, though limited to a walking speed, proportional to the amount of movement of the tab.”, para [0040] : “Handlebars 130 also include throttle 136A and 136B configured to provide acceleration to the electric vehicle when engaged, for example, by rotating the throttle around an axis along the length of the handlebars 130.”);
a motor provided on one of a front wheel and a rear wheel to provide rotational power to the one of the front wheel and the rear wheel (para [0034] : “Either or both of wheels 122A and 122B may be driven by an electric motor, which may have a stator mounted to one of the forks and a rotor coupled to the axle.”);
a motor driver configuring to supply current from a battery to the motor to drive the motor (para [0035] : “Footboard 110 may have upper and lower surfaces that are separated to create a compartment in which a battery and motor controller may be installed.”); and
a controller configuring to control the motor driver to supply current to the motor according to the rotation amount of the throttle if the throttle is rotated in a forward or reverse state (para [0040] : “Handlebars 130 also include throttle 136A and 136B configured to provide acceleration to the electric vehicle when engaged, for example, by rotating the throttle around an axis along the length of the handlebars 130.”), and control the motor driver to adjust the current supplied to the motor according to a speed limit value of the motor or a speed change amount of the motor and supply the adjusted current to the motor (para [0027] : “In the walk-assist mode, the speed of the vehicle may be limited such that a user may use the power of the motor, in whole or in part, to propel the vehicle without concern that the vehicle will move so quickly that the user loses control of the vehicle.”, para [0029] : “In a walk-assist mode, a controller on the vehicle may limit the speed of the vehicle to a walking speed, which may, for example, be less than 5 miles per hour, or less than 4 miles per hour in some embodiments, or between 2 and 5 miles per hour in other embodiments. The limit on speed of the vehicle may be based on measurements with a speed sensor. Alternatively or additionally, the speed may be limited indirectly to a speed at which a user can move while pushing the vehicle.”).
Regarding Claim 2 Van Houten teaches The electric two-wheeled vehicle driving system of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises:
a torque command generator configuring to receive a current motor speed value of the motor from a motor speed detector, and determine and output a first torque command value according to the rotation amount of the throttle (para [0048] : “Such a vehicle may be propelled by an electric motor. In some embodiments, the motor may be a direct drive motor, coupled to one of the wheels. The torque generated by the motor may be set by a controller.”, para [0049] : “The controller may receive inputs from a throttle and one or more sensors. The sensors, for example, may include a speed sensor. An example of a suitable speed sensor is a sensor coupled to a wheel of the electric vehicle so as to measure a rate of rotation, which may then be related to a speed.”, para [0055] : “At act 308, the controller may compute a torque corresponding to the detected throttle position. The torque may be applied by the motor such as to propel the vehicle at a speed related to the throttle position. As an example, a PID control approach may be used, such that when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved further towards the full throttle position, the computed torque increases. Conversely, when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved closer to its no actuation position, the computed torque decreases. As another example, the controller may compute from the output of the throttle a position of the throttle as a percentage of full throttle. The controller may then compute a torque as the same percentage as the maximum torque that may be delivered by the motor.”); and
a current command generator configuring to control the motor driver to drive the motor by supplying current according to the first torque command value to the motor when receiving the first torque command value from the torque command generator (para [0051] : “Regardless of the number and type of sensors, the controller may use inputs derived from these sensors, in combination with an indication of motion of a throttle, to generate motor control signals. In some embodiments, the motor control signal will impact the torque applied by a motor on one or more wheels of the vehicle, so as to propel the vehicle.”, para [0056] : “It should be appreciated, however, that other approaches for computing torque alternatively or additionally may be used. Moreover, it should be appreciated that torque is used in FIG. 3 as an example of a controlled variable. Other parameters of motor operation may alternatively be controlled. For example, motor speed or the magnitude of the motor control signal may be the controlled variable instead of, or in addition to, torque.”).
Regarding Claim 3 Van Houten teaches The electric two-wheeled vehicle driving system of claim 2, wherein the torque command generator adjusts and outputs the first torque command value if a detected output torque of the motor is higher than an output torque of the motor set for the rotation amount of the throttle when the throttle rotates (para [0055] : “At act 308, the controller may compute a torque corresponding to the detected throttle position. The torque may be applied by the motor such as to propel the vehicle at a speed related to the throttle position. As an example, a PID control approach may be used, such that when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved further towards the full throttle position, the computed torque increases. Conversely, when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved closer to its no actuation position, the computed torque decreases. As another example, the controller may compute from the output of the throttle a position of the throttle as a percentage of full throttle. The controller may then compute a torque as the same percentage as the maximum torque that may be delivered by the motor.”, fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10 Van Houten teaches The electric two-wheeled vehicle driving system of claim 1, wherein the rotation amount of the throttle increases or decreases linearly, and the current increases or decreases linearly in proportion to the rotation amount of the throttle (para [0055] : “At act 308, the controller may compute a torque corresponding to the detected throttle position. The torque may be applied by the motor such as to propel the vehicle at a speed related to the throttle position. As an example, a PID control approach may be used, such that when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved further towards the full throttle position, the computed torque increases. Conversely, when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved closer to its no actuation position, the computed torque decreases. As another example, the controller may compute from the output of the throttle a position of the throttle as a percentage of full throttle. The controller may then compute a torque as the same percentage as the maximum torque that may be delivered by the motor.”, fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11 Van Houten teaches An electric two-wheeled vehicle driving method comprising (para [0034] : “FIGS. 1A-E illustrate a side view, a front view, a rear view, a top view, and a bottom view, respectively, of an electric vehicle 100 in accordance with some embodiments. In the illustrated embodiment, electric vehicle 100 is a two-wheeled vehicle with a front wheel 122A and a rear wheel 122B mounted on axles supported by fork 128A or 128B, respectively.”):
a torque command generation step in which a torque command generator receives a current motor speed value of a motor from a motor speed detector, and determines and outputs a first torque command value according to a rotation amount of a throttle (para [0040] : “Handlebars 130 also include throttle 136A and 136B configured to provide acceleration to the electric vehicle when engaged, for example, by rotating the throttle around an axis along the length of the handlebars 130.”, para [0048] : “Such a vehicle may be propelled by an electric motor. In some embodiments, the motor may be a direct drive motor, coupled to one of the wheels. The torque generated by the motor may be set by a controller.”, para [0049] : “The controller may receive inputs from a throttle and one or more sensors. The sensors, for example, may include a speed sensor. An example of a suitable speed sensor is a sensor coupled to a wheel of the electric vehicle so as to measure a rate of rotation, which may then be related to a speed.”, para [0055] : “At act 308, the controller may compute a torque corresponding to the detected throttle position. The torque may be applied by the motor such as to propel the vehicle at a speed related to the throttle position. As an example, a PID control approach may be used, such that when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved further towards the full throttle position, the computed torque increases. Conversely, when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved closer to its no actuation position, the computed torque decreases. As another example, the controller may compute from the output of the throttle a position of the throttle as a percentage of full throttle. The controller may then compute a torque as the same percentage as the maximum torque that may be delivered by the motor.”); and
a current command generation step in which a current command generator controls a motor driver to drive the motor by supplying current according to the first torque command value to the motor when receiving the first torque command value from the torque command generator ( para [0070] : “The computed torque may then be used to generate motor control signals at act 424. Motor control signals may be generated using techniques as described above in connection with act 334. In the example of FIG. 4, the torque commanded by the generated motor control signal is not shown to be affirmatively limited by speed. However, it should be appreciated that operations as described above in connection with act 320 may be implemented as part of the riding mode portion of method 400.”).
Regarding Claim 12 Van Houten teaches The electric two-wheeled vehicle driving method of claim 11, further comprising, before torque command generation step, a driving mode selection step of detecting a selected driving mode of a mode switch and detecting the current motor speed value of the motor and the rotation amount of the throttle. para [0027] : “In the walk-assist mode, the speed of the vehicle may be limited such that a user may use the power of the motor, in whole or in part, to propel the vehicle without concern that the vehicle will move so quickly that the user loses control of the vehicle.”, para [0029] : “In a walk-assist mode, a controller on the vehicle may limit the speed of the vehicle to a walking speed, which may, for example, be less than 5 miles per hour, or less than 4 miles per hour in some embodiments, or between 2 and 5 miles per hour in other embodiments. The limit on speed of the vehicle may be based on measurements with a speed sensor. Alternatively or additionally, the speed may be limited indirectly to a speed at which a user can move while pushing the vehicle.”, para [0040] : “Handlebars 130 also include throttle 136A and 136B configured to provide acceleration to the electric vehicle when engaged, for example, by rotating the throttle around an axis along the length of the handlebars 130.”, para [0048] : “Such a vehicle may be propelled by an electric motor. In some embodiments, the motor may be a direct drive motor, coupled to one of the wheels. The torque generated by the motor may be set by a controller.”, para [0049] : “The controller may receive inputs from a throttle and one or more sensors. The sensors, for example, may include a speed sensor. An example of a suitable speed sensor is a sensor coupled to a wheel of the electric vehicle so as to measure a rate of rotation, which may then be related to a speed.”, para [0055] : “At act 308, the controller may compute a torque corresponding to the detected throttle position. The torque may be applied by the motor such as to propel the vehicle at a speed related to the throttle position. As an example, a PID control approach may be used, such that when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved further towards the full throttle position, the computed torque increases. Conversely, when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved closer to its no actuation position, the computed torque decreases. As another example, the controller may compute from the output of the throttle a position of the throttle as a percentage of full throttle. The controller may then compute a torque as the same percentage as the maximum torque that may be delivered by the motor.”, para [0070] : “The computed torque may then be used to generate motor control signals at act 424. Motor control signals may be generated using techniques as described above in connection with act 334. In the example of FIG. 4, the torque commanded by the generated motor control signal is not shown to be affirmatively limited by speed. However, it should be appreciated that operations as described above in connection with act 320 may be implemented as part of the riding mode portion of method 400.”).
Regarding Claim 13, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 3 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 20, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 10 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Houten and further in view of Jeon et al (US 20240405702 A1) henceforth referred to as Jeon.
Regarding Claim 4 Van Houten teaches The electric two-wheeled vehicle driving system of claim 2, wherein, if the current motor speed value is greater than or equal to a preset minimum speed limit value of the motor, the torque command generator receives the current motor speed value from the motor speed detector, and outputs a second torque command value by applying a speed control torque reduction rate to the first torque command value (para [0055] : “At act 308, the controller may compute a torque corresponding to the detected throttle position. The torque may be applied by the motor such as to propel the vehicle at a speed related to the throttle position. As an example, a PID control approach may be used, such that when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved further towards the full throttle position, the computed torque increases. Conversely, when the throttle output indicates that the throttle has been moved closer to its no actuation position, the computed torque decreases. As another example, the controller may compute from the output of the throttle a position of the throttle as a percentage of full throttle. The controller may then compute a torque as the same percentage as the maximum torque that may be delivered by the motor.”, fig. 3),
wherein, in response to receive the second torque command value from the torque command generator, the current command generator controls the motor driver to drive the motor by supplying a current adjusted according to the second torque command value to the motor (para [0051] : “Regardless of the number and type of sensors, the controller may use inputs derived from these sensors, in combination with an indication of motion of a throttle, to generate motor control signals. In some embodiments, the motor control signal will impact the torque applied by a motor on one or more wheels of the vehicle, so as to propel the vehicle.”, para [0056] : “It should be appreciated, however, that other approaches for computing torque alternatively or additionally may be used. Moreover, it should be appreciated that torque is used in FIG. 3 as an example of a controlled variable. Other parameters of motor operation may alternatively be controlled. For example, motor speed or the magnitude of the motor control signal may be the controlled variable instead of, or in addition to, torque.”). However Van Houten does not explicitly teach determines a speed control torque reduction rate.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (control systems for motor torque), Jeon teaches determines a speed control torque reduction rate (para [0084] : “The positive gains c.sub.0 and c.sub.1 in [Equation 2] and [Equation 7] represent the convergence gains of the back-step controller. When this gain is large, the system has a faster response and better robustness, but causes a large overshoot in the step profile. Meanwhile, when the value of this gain is small, the system reacts slowly and overshoot decreases. Therefore, there is a trade-off between setup time and overshoot.”, para [0122] : “FIG. 2 illustrates the control structure of the permanent magnet synchronous motor system using the position-current single loop control structure. In this method, the input is the reference position θ.sub.ref and the d-axis current set to zero to provide constant flux conditions in a permanent magnet synchronous motor, and the control outputs are the voltage supplies V.sub.q and V.sub.d of the motor. The adaptive back-stepping sliding mode controller is a combination of the backstep and SMC control and the backstep includes an adaptive convergence gain to prevent a large overshoot.”, where variable gain is a control torque reduction rate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Van Houten with the adaptive control of Jeon to increase the robustness and better control the system of Van Houten.
Regarding claim 14, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 4 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Houten and further in view of Hughes (US 20120138375 A1) henceforth referred to as Hughes.
Regarding Claim 9 Van Houten teaches The electric two-wheeled vehicle driving system of claim 1, however, Van Houten does not explicitly teach wherein, if it is determined that a regenerative power is generated from a regenerative power controller, the controller stops supplying current to the motor and supplies the generated current by the regenerative power to a power supply.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (regenerative braking systems for vehicles), Hughes teaches wherein, if it is determined that a regenerative power is generated from a regenerative power controller, the controller stops supplying current to the motor and supplies the generated current by the regenerative power to a power supply (para [0037] : “In use, the regenerative braking control module 64 receives the regenerative braking system input signals, applies an algorithm to the signals, and produces an output signal to the motor controller 102 for regulating regenerative braking torque to the drive wheel. Charging of the battery pack 104 during regenerative braking is regulated by the scooter controller 118 and charging controller 160.”. fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Van Houten with the regenerative braking of Hughes to increase energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 9 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable in independent form to incorporate all limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claims 15-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Crewse et al (US 20220222979 A1) teaches a system for a vehicle including a receiver configured to receive a vehicle performance alteration command from a computing device, a controller configured to receive the vehicle performance alteration command from the receiver and provide a performance altering command, a power source configured to receive the performance altering command from the controller, and an electrically driven hardware element configured to receive electrical power from the power source. The controller is configured to alter operation of the power source to effectuate vehicle performance in accordance with the vehicle performance alteration command.
/D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/BRIAN P SWEENEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668