CTFR 18/915,371 CTFR 82207 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed on 04/24/2026 with respect to amended claims 1 - 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant has amended the title of the invention to overcome the objection to the specification provided in the previous office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 – 4 and 6 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUNASHIMA (US PgPub No. 2017/0372485) in view of Ogura (US PgPub No. 20110241991) . Regarding claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches a display method of displaying a video captured by an imaging apparatus (figure 1 item 22; monitoring terminal also figures 2 – 3 with figure 1 item 10 camera), the method comprising: automatically setting a plurality of candidates for a set region in a reference region which is an imaging region of a reference video (figure 7 item 60 setting criteria; also, figure 2 items 40a, 40b, 40c, and 40d; cropped regions selected based on motion and information from figure 7); selecting a recording region, which is a region of a record video to be recorded, from among the plurality of candidates for the set region based on a selection of a user (figure 2 items 40a, 40b, 40c, and 40d leads to recording regions figure 3 items 50a, 50b, 50c, and 50d); and reselecting the recording region from among the plurality of candidates for the set region to switch the recording region after selecting the recording region (figure 7 user can come back to this screen to change the criteria after the first image is set; or tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 - 11), wherein selecting the recording region includes automatically setting a candidate in the reference region (figures 2 – 3; moving object), and setting the set region at a position at which the candidate is set, in accordance with an operation of a user on the candidate (figure 7 item 60; user sets criteria to be used in object tracking). However, TSUNASHIMA fails to clearly teach reselecting the recording region, in accordance with a reselection instruction for changing the recording region of the user. Ogura, on the other hand teaches reselecting the recording region, in accordance with a reselection instruction for changing the recording region of the user. More specifically, Ogura teaches reselecting the recording region, in accordance with a reselection instruction for changing the recording region of the user (figures 13, 16, and 19 - 20; reselecting object). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to incorporate the teachings of Ogura with the teachings of TSUNASHIMA to have a system for easily choosing image criteria and detecting matching objects as discussed in at least paragraph 0129 of Ogura, thereby improving the system usability of TSUNASHIMA. Regarding claim 2 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, when automatically setting the plurality of candidates for the set region in the reference region, a feature portion in which a visual change occurs in the reference video is detected, and the set region or the candidate is automatically set at a position of the detected feature portion in the reference region (automatically tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 - 11). Regarding claim 3 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, when automatically setting the plurality of candidates for the set region in the reference region, an imaging scene of the reference video is recognized based on the reference video, and the set region or the candidate is automatically set at a position corresponding to the recognized imaging scene in the reference region (automatically tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 – 11 based on the object criteria from figure 7 and as shown in figures 2 - 3). Regarding claim 4 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, when automatically setting the plurality of candidates for the set region in the reference region, the set region is automatically set at a position at which a feature for determining an imaging condition of the imaging apparatus satisfies a reference in the reference video (abstract and figures 2 – 3; moving object tracking and selection done automatically along with object conditions such as distance, aspect, time, speed, size, position set). Regarding claim 6 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, when automatically setting the plurality of candidates for the set region in the reference region, the set region or the candidate is automatically set based on positional information of the set region stored in advance(abstract and figures 2 – 3; moving object tracking and selection done automatically along with object conditions such as distance, aspect, time, speed, size, position set in advance in figure 7). Regarding claim 7 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the positional information includes at least one of the positional information of the set region set in the past or the positional information of the set region determined based on an operation of a user (abstract and figures 2 – 3; moving object tracking and selection done automatically along with object conditions such as distance, size, position set in advance in figure 7). Regarding claim 8 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches in a case in which a size or a position of the reference region is changed, adjusting at least one of a position or a size of the set region (automatically tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 – 11 based on the object criteria from figure 7 and as shown in figures 2 - 3). Regarding claim 9 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches recording a motion picture of the record video (paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0067, 0116, also figure 1 item 20); displaying a set video which is a video of the set region (paragraph 0059; and figure 1 item 22); and performing a change process relating to a change of a display number of the set video while recording the motion picture of the record video (paragraphs 0041, 0051 – 0052, 01111; number of cropped images shown in a display). Regarding claim 10 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the change process includes a process of adding the set region to increase the display number in accordance with an increase in the number of subjects in the reference video (paragraphs 0041, 0051 – 0052, 01111; number of cropped images increased and shown in a display depending on the number of moving subjects). Regarding claim 11 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the change process includes a process of canceling displaying the set video of the set region that satisfies a cancellation condition to decrease the display number (figure 9 items S105 – S113; embodiment limiting the number of objects displayed). Regarding claim 12 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein a cancel region, which is the set region in which displaying the set video is canceled, is stored while recording the motion picture of the record video, and the change process includes a process of redisplaying the set video of the stored cancel region based on a redisplay instruction of a user (figure 9 items S105 – S113; embodiment limiting the number of objects displayed and saving the rest). Regarding claim 13 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the change process includes a process of outputting suggestion information relating to the change of the display number (figure 4 items 40a – 40d; suggestion information relating to the change of the display number). Regarding claim 14 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, in a case in which the number of subjects in the reference video exceeds an upper limit value of the number of the set region, the change process relating to a decrease in the display number is performed (figure 9 items S105 – S113; embodiment limiting the number of objects displayed and saving the rest) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUNASHIMA (US PgPub No. 2017/0372485) in view of Ogura (US PgPub No. 20110241991) in view of Fujita (US PgPub No. 2014/0362247) . Regarding claim 5 , as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 4, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. However, TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura fail to teach wherein the imaging condition is at least one of a focused position, an exposure amount, or a white balance in the reference video. Fujita, on the other hand teaches wherein the imaging condition is at least one of a focused position, an exposure amount, or a white balance in the reference video. More specifically, Fujita teaches wherein the imaging condition is at least one of a focused position, an exposure amount, or a white balance in the reference video (paragraph 0037; focus position, an exposure amount, or a white balance (WB) in the reference video). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to incorporate the teachings of Fujita with the teachings of TSUNASHIMA in view of Ogura because in at least paragraphs 0008 and 0037 Fujita teaches a proper parameter is selectable from a plurality of types of parameter based on a given photographing scene thereby allows acquisition of a plurality of images in response to one instruction to generate images without requiring a user to perform complicated setting operations and advanced knowledge thereby improving imaging of TSUNASHIMA . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kinoshita (US PgPub No. 20150373414) teaches a camera system with subject tracking and processing. Shaick (US PgPub No. 20130243241) teaches a camera system with subject tracking and processing. VERMA (US PgPub No. 20220006948) teaches a camera system with subject tracking and processing. Kim (US Patent No. 9684830) teaches a camera system with subject tracking and processing. Manzari (US Patent No. 11418699) teaches a camera system with subject tracking and processing. Langlotz (US Patent No. 11283989) teaches a camera system with subject tracking and processing. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Usman A Khan whose telephone number is (571)270-1131. The examiner can normally be reached on M - Th 5:30 AM - 2 PM, F 5:30 AM - Noon. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sinh Tran can be reached on (571)272-7564. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Usman Khan /USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 06/03/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 2 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 3 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 4 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 5 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 6 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 7 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 8 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 9 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 10 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 11 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 12 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 18/915,371 Page 13 Art Unit: 2637