DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2024 and 03/17/2025 have been considered by the examiner. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "setting step” “selection step”, “switching step”, “recording step”, “display step”, “adjustment step”, and “change step” in claims 1 - 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations "setting step” “selection step”, “switching step”, “recording step”, “display step”, “adjustment step”, and “change step” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is inadequate written description for the terms "setting step” “selection step”, “switching step”, “recording step”, “display step”, “adjustment step”, and “change step”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 6 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TSUNASHIMA (US PgPub No. 2017/0372485).
Regarding claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches a display method of displaying a video captured by an imaging apparatus (figure 1 item 22; monitoring terminal also figures 2 – 3 with figure 1 item 10 camera), the method comprising: a setting step of automatically setting a plurality of candidates for a set region in a reference region which is an imaging region of a reference video (figure 7 item 60 setting criteria; also, figure 2 items 40a, 40b, 40c, and 40d; cropped regions selected based on motion and information from figure 7); a selection step of selecting a recording region, which is a region of a record video to be recorded, from among the plurality of candidates for the set region based on a selection of a user (figure 2 items 40a, 40b, 40c, and 40d leads to recording regions figure 3 items 50a, 50b, 50c, and 50d); and a switching step of reselecting the recording region from among the plurality of candidates for the set region to switch the recording region after the selection step is performed (figure 7 user can come back to this screen to change the criteria after the first image is set; or tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 - 11), wherein the setting step includes a first setting step of automatically setting a candidate in the reference region (figures 2 – 3; moving object), and a second setting step of setting the set region at a position at which the candidate is set, in accordance with an operation of a user on the candidate (figure 7 item 60; user sets criteria to be used in object tracking).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, in the setting step, a feature portion in which a visual change occurs in the reference video is detected, and the set region or the candidate is automatically set at a position of the detected feature portion in the reference region (automatically tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 - 11).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, in the setting step, an imaging scene of the reference video is recognized based on the reference video, and the set region or the candidate is automatically set at a position corresponding to the recognized imaging scene in the reference region (automatically tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 – 11 based on the object criteria from figure 7 and as shown in figures 2 - 3).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, in the setting step, the set region is automatically set at a position at which a feature for determining an imaging condition of the imaging apparatus satisfies a reference in the reference video (abstract and figures 2 – 3; moving object tracking and selection done automatically along with object conditions such as distance, aspect, time, speed, size, position set).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, in the setting step, the set region or the candidate is automatically set based on positional information of the set region stored in advance(abstract and figures 2 – 3; moving object tracking and selection done automatically along with object conditions such as distance, aspect, time, speed, size, position set in advance in figure 7).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the positional information includes at least one of the positional information of the set region set in the setting step performed in the past or the positional information of the set region determined based on an operation of a user (abstract and figures 2 – 3; moving object tracking and selection done automatically along with object conditions such as distance, size, position set in advance in figure 7).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches an adjustment step of, in a case in which a size or a position of the reference region is changed, adjusting at least one of a position or a size of the set region (automatically tracking and switching regions as discussed in at least paragraphs 0097, 0118 - 0120 and figures 10 – 11 based on the object criteria from figure 7 and as shown in figures 2 - 3).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches a recording step of recording a motion picture of the record video (paragraphs 0057, 0064, 0067, 0116, also figure 1 item 20); a display step of displaying a set video which is a video of the set region (paragraph 0059; and figure 1 item 22); and a change step of performing a change process relating to a change of a display number of the set video while the recording step is performed (paragraphs 0041, 0051 – 0052, 01111; number of cropped images shown in a display).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the change process includes a process of adding the set region to increase the display number in accordance with an increase in the number of subjects in the reference video (paragraphs 0041, 0051 – 0052, 01111; number of cropped images increased and shown in a display depending on the number of moving subjects).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the change process includes a process of canceling displaying the set video of the set region that satisfies a cancellation condition to decrease the display number (figure 9 items S105 – S113; embodiment limiting the number of objects displayed).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein a cancel region, which is the set region in which displaying the set video is canceled, is stored while the recording step is performed, and the change process includes a process of redisplaying the set video of the stored cancel region based on a redisplay instruction of a user (figure 9 items S105 – S113; embodiment limiting the number of objects displayed and saving the rest).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein the change process includes a process of outputting suggestion information relating to the change of the display number (figure 4 items 40a – 40d; suggestion information relating to the change of the display number).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, TSUNASHIMA teaches wherein, in a case in which the number of subjects in the reference video exceeds an upper limit value of the number of the set region, in the change step, the change process relating to a decrease in the display number is performed (figure 9 items S105 – S113; embodiment limiting the number of objects displayed and saving the rest).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUNASHIMA (US PgPub No. 2017/0372485) in view of Fujita (US PgPub No. 2014/0362247).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 4, TSUNASHIMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, TSUNASHIMA fails to teach wherein the imaging condition is at least one of a focused position, an exposure amount, or a white balance in the reference video. Fujita, on the other hand teaches wherein the imaging condition is at least one of a focused position, an exposure amount, or a white balance in the reference video.
More specifically, Fujita teaches wherein the imaging condition is at least one of a focused position, an exposure amount, or a white balance in the reference video (paragraph 0037; focus position, an exposure amount, or a white balance (WB) in the reference video).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Fujita with the teachings of TSUNASHIMA because in at least paragraphs 0008 and 0037 Fujita teaches a proper parameter is selectable from a plurality of types of parameter based on a given photographing scene thereby allows acquisition of a plurality of images in response to one instruction to generate images without requiring a user to perform complicated setting operations and advanced knowledge thereby improving imaging of TSUNASHIMA.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Slatter (US PgPub No. 20030025812) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
Horiuchi (US PgPub No. 20020145667) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
Nonaka (US patent No. 6895181) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
Aimura (US PgPub No. 20070248245) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
Kim (US PgPub No. 20090284613) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
Jung (US PgPub No. 20100201842) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
Kim (US patent No. 8059164) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
OHBUCHI (US PgPub No. 20110317030) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
Nakamura (US PgPub No. 20160173759) teaches selecting different regions of an image.
KAWAI (US patent No. 20150244925) teaches a system with plural of the camera
sections are installed, image capture may be performed independently by switching the camera section with image capture, or image capture may be performed using plural of the camera sections.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2696
02/02/2026