DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “between two” should read –between the two--. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the connecting rod and the top transverse rod can be laid flatly on the bottom of the panel as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delagey et al. (US patent 9,049,923) (hereinafter Delagey) in view of Ergun et al. (US patent application publication 2018/0279772) (hereinafter Ergun).
Regarding claim 1, Delagey discloses a floor-type height adjustable office desk, comprising a panel (30) and a bracket (49, 52) connected with a bottom of the panel, and characterized in that a top of the bracket is provided with top transverse rods (52), one end of each top transverse rod is rotationally connected with the bottom of the panel (Col. 4: 3-4), the other end of each top transverse rod is rotationally connected with a connecting rod (80), the bottom of the panel is provided with a fixing seat (82) in an area corresponding to the connecting rod, the fixing seat is fixedly connected with the bottom of the panel (Fig. 2), a chute (the slotted track, see Col. 4: 63-67) is arranged in the fixing seat, a sliding block (Col. 5: 1-2) is arranged in the chute, the sliding block is slidably connected with the chute, the other end of the connecting rod is rotationally connected with the sliding block (Col. 4: 61-Col. 5: 6); and when the sliding block slides to a farthest end, both the connecting rod and the top transverse rod can be laid flatly on the bottom of the panel (Fig. 3); and when the sliding block slides to a nearest end, a triangle is formed by the connecting rod, the top transverse rod and the corresponding bottom of the panel (Fig. 2).
Delagey does not disclose the bottom of the panel is also provided with a locking device used for locking a position of the sliding block. Ergun teaches a locking device (122) on a bottom of a panel. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Delagey to include a locking device in view of Ergun’s teaching, because this arrangement would have provided a means for locking and unlocking the sliding block as taught by Ergun at [0040].
Regarding claim 2, Delagey, as modified, teaches a height adjustable desk characterized in that the bracket comprises two transverse U-shaped bracket bodies (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Delagey, as modified, teaches a height adjustable desk characterized in that a bottom reinforcing rod or bottom reinforcing plate (15) is connected between middle or end parts of bottoms of the two transverse U-shaped bracket bodies.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delagey in view of Ergun & Liu (US patent 11,083,282).
Regarding claim 4, Delagey, as modified, teaches the height adjustable desk as claimed. Delagey, as modified, does not teach a height adjustable desk characterized in that a top reinforcing rod or top reinforcing plate is connected between two top transverse rods. Liu teaches a top reinforcing plate (Fig. 3). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Delagey, as previously modified, to include a top reinforcing plate in view of Liu’s teaching, because this arrangement would have improved the strength of the desk.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637