DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The current application claims foreign priority from the Japanese application (JP2023-187900). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
“acquisition unit” and “application unit” first claimed in claim 1
“first addition unit”, “normalization unit”, “first transformation unit”, “activation unit”, “second transformation unit”, and “second addition unit” in claim 8
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The corresponding structures in the disclosure are encompassed in the hardware configuration of the computer device shown in FIG. 1, including a CPU 101, an arithmetic device 102 including a GPU and/or other calculation processing circuits, a ROM 103, a RAM 104, a storage device 105, and an input unit 106 (FIG. 1, paragraphs 0056-0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (US 2023/0081645 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire input data (paragraph 0031: “Obtain a target facial image”); and an application unit configured to obtain an attention vector (FIG. 7, paragraph 0138: “a spatial-domain attention map A1t and a frequency-domain attention map A2t ”) by performing a feature transformation process having a local receptive field on the input data (paragraph 0138: “are obtained by using the convolutional layer (Conv3 x 3 ) with 3x3”), and apply attention to the input data based on the input data and the attention vector (paragraph 0139: “weight the fused spatial-domain feature at the (t-1)th layer through a weight of the fused spatial-domain feature at the tth layer indicated by the spatial-domain attention map at the tth layer, to obtain the fused spatial-domain feature at the tth layer; and correspondingly generate the fused frequency-domain feature at the tth layer based on the fused frequency-domain feature at the (t-1)th layer and the frequency-domain attention map at the tth layer”).
Regarding claim 2, Yao discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition unit acquires an image (paragraph 0031: “Obtain a target facial image”) or an image in a region of a face extracted from the image as the input data.
Regarding claim 3, Yao discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the application unit performs the feature transformation process on the input data once or twice or more (paragraph 0131: “The tth layer is any one of the n layers, 1≤t≤n, and both t and n are a positive integer”).
Regarding claim 5, Yao discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a parameter of the application unit is acquired by learning (paragraph 0124: “using a group of weight coefficients learned autonomously by a network”).
Regarding claim 6, Yao discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the feature transformation process includes one or more of convolution (FIG. 7, paragraph 0138: “a convolutional layer (Conv3x3 ) with 3x3”), point wise convolution (FIG. 7, paragraph 0138: “a convolutional layer (Conv1x1 ) with a kernel size of 1x1”), depth wise convolution, group convolution, max pooling, average pooling, batch normalization (FIG. 7, paragraph 0138: “a batch normalization (BN) layer”), and layer normalization.
Regarding claim 9, it is the corresponding method executed by the apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore, Yao discloses the limitations of claim 9 as it does the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, it is the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program executed by the apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore, Yao discloses the limitations of claim 10 as it does the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sorakado (US 2024/0169202 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yao discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the attention vector is a vector obtained by performing nonlinear transformation by an activation function on a vector obtained as a result of the feature transformation process (Yao FIG. 7, paragraph 0138: “a rectified linear unit (ReLU) function…a Sigmoid function”). However, Yao fails to explicitly disclose obtaining an element product of the attention vector and the input data. In the related art of attention, Sorakado discloses obtaining an element product of the attention vector and the input data (Sorakado paragraph 0082: “performing attention based on an element product of the input data and the attention map”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao to incorporate the teachings of Sorakado to improve the processing accuracy of a neural network including an attention mechanism (Sorakado paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 7, Yao discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. However, Yao fails to explicitly disclose the attention vector is a vector having the same number of dimensions as the input data. In related art, Sorakado discloses the attention vector is a vector having the same number of dimensions as the input data (Sorakado paragraph 0090: “an attention map in accordance with AЄRHxWxD and three dimensions may be obtained. For example, convolution or the like may be applied to the input X to obtain a feature amount map having the same size as the input”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao to incorporate the teachings of Sorakado to improve the processing accuracy of a neural network including an attention mechanism (Sorakado paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 8, Yao discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. However, Yao fails to explicitly disclose a first addition unit configured to add the input data and a result of the application; a normalization unit configured to normalize the result of the addition and acquire a result of the normalization as a feature amount; a first transformation unit configured to transform the feature amount by linear transformation to expand the number of dimensions of the feature amount in a channel direction; an activation unit configured to apply an activation function to the transformed feature amount; a second transformation unit configured to linearly transform the feature amount to which the activation function is applied and to reduce the number of dimensions of the feature amount in a channel direction; and a second addition unit configured to add a result of the addition and a result of the linear transformation. In related art, Sorakado discloses a first addition unit configured to add the input data and a result of the application (Sorakado FIG. 3A, paragraph 0037: “an adder 307 adds the input to the first half portion 321 and a processing result so far”); a normalization unit configured to normalize the result of the addition and acquire a result of the normalization as a feature amount (Sorakado FIG. 3A, paragraph 0038: “Norm 308 normalizes an input feature amount of the second half portion 322”); a first transformation unit configured to transform the feature amount by linear transformation to expand the number of dimensions of the feature amount in a channel direction (Sorakado FIG. 3A, paragraph 0038: “Proj 309 transforms the feature amount into a feature amount of a high-dimensional channel by linear transformation”); an activation unit configured to apply an activation function to the transformed feature amount (Sorakado FIG. 3A, paragraph 0038: “Activation 310 applies an activation function to the feature amount”); a second transformation unit configured to linearly transform the feature amount to which the activation function is applied and to reduce the number of dimensions of the feature amount in a channel direction (Sorakado FIG. 3A, paragraph 0038: “Proj 311 transforms the dimension of the channel into the same number of dimensions as the input dimension to the second half portion 322 by linear transformation”); and a second addition unit configured to add a result of the addition and a result of the linear transformation (Sorakado FIG. 3A, paragraph 0038: “An adder 312 adds the input to the second half portion 322 and a processing result so far”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao to incorporate the teachings of Sorakado to improve the processing accuracy of a neural network including an attention mechanism (Sorakado paragraph 0094).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
So et al. (US 2022/0383119 A1) discloses an attention neural network including one or more attentions layers that each include a squared ReLU activation layer, a depth-wise convolution layer, or both.
/C.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677