Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,10,14-16,22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwamoto (US 20230384570)
The applied reference has a common ASSIGNEE with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) A zoom lens (L0) comprising, in order from an object side to an image side (IP): a front group consisting of a first lens unit (LF1) having positive refractive power [0030] and a plurality of intermediate lens units (LM), the plurality of intermediate lens units (LM) including one or more lens units having negative refractive power [0031]; and a rear group consisting of an aperture stop (SP) and a plurality of lens units (LR1, LR2,LR3,LR4), wherein during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end, the first lens unit and the lens unit closest to an object in the rear group are fixed (LF1 fixed [0030]) and each of the plurality of intermediate lens (LM) units moves toward the image side [0031], a distance between adjacent lens units among lens units included in the front group and the lens unit closest to the object in the rear group changes [0029-0032], wherein the rear group includes a first focus lens unit (LR2) and a second focus lens unit (LR4) disposed on the image side of the first focus lens unit, the first focus lens unit and the second focus lens unit moving during focusing [0036-0037], and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
0.2 ≤ fF2/fF1 ≤ 2.0
For Numerical Example 2, paragraph [0075] the table identifies the lens unit starting surfaces and focal lengths. The sequence is:
Lens unit 1, starting surface 1: +145.02
Lens unit 2, starting surface 6: -154.47
Lens unit 3, starting surface 10: -78.37
Lens unit 4, starting surface 12: -922.61
Lens unit 5, starting surface 16: +37.30
Lens unit 6, starting surface 26: -50.98
Lens unit 7, starting surface 29: +58.17
Lens unit 8, starting surface 31: -46.40
Lens unit 9, starting surface 33: +120.30
Iwamoto discloses 0.2 ≤ LR4/LR2 ≤ 2.0
Lens unit 5 = LR1
Lens unit 6 = LR2
Lens unit 7 = LR3
Lens unit 8 = LR4
Lens unit 9 = LR5
Here’s the map of those numbered lens units to the named rear groups
LR(+),LR2(-),LR3(+),LR4(-),LR5(+) with LR2 and LR4 moving during focusing.
The claimed first focus lens unit F1 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Iwamoto LR2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Lens unit 6 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Ff1 = -50.98 mm
The claimed second focus lens unit F2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Iwamoto LR4 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Lens unit 8 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Ff1 = -46.40 mm.
Therefore, Ff2/Ff1 = (-46.40/)-50.98)=0.910 and that satisfies:
0.2 ≤ fF2/fF1 ≤ 2.0
CALCULATIONS FOR: -3 ≤ fFw/fw < 0
Iwamoto’s lens arrangement is:
LF1,LM1,LM2,LM3,LR1,LR2,LR3,LR4,LR5
LF1 is a positive front lens unit and LM!-LM# as intermediate groups.
So claimed front group = LF1+LM1+LM2+LM3 = -162.29
LF1: Starting surface 1
LM1: Starting surface 6
LM2: Starting surface 10
LM3: Starting surface 12
LR1: Starting surface 16
Front group is surface 1 through surface 15
So at the wide angle end
D5 = 0.99 mm
D9 = 10.45 mm
D11 = 13.53 mm
D15 = 35.03 mm
Fw= 72.10 mm
Ffw= LF1+LM1+LM2+LM3 = -162.29
Therefore,
Ffw/fw = -2.25
-162.29/72.10 = -2.25
which satisfies -3 ≤ fFw/fw < 0
where fF1 is a focal length of the first focus lens unit (LR2), fF2 (LR4)is a focal length of the second focus lens unit, fFw is a focal length of the front group at the wide-angle end, and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Regarding Claim 2,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the aperture stop (SP) is disposed closest to the object in the rear group (LR1).
Regarding Claim 3,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein each of the first focus lens unit (LR2) and the second focus lens (LF4) unit moves toward the image side during focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a close distance [0036-0037].
Regarding Claim 4,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -6.5 ≤ fFt/ft < 0.0 where ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at the telephoto end, and fFt is a focal length of the front group at the telephoto end.
Regarding Claim 5,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -2.0≤fF1/fRa≤-0.5 where is fRa is a focal length of a lens unit that is included in the rear group, and adjacent to and disposed on the object side of the first focus lens unit.
Using Example 2 “Zoom lens unit Date” Numerical Example 2 [0075]. F1=LR2, rear lens unit = LR1
Lens unit 5 = LR1 = +37.30 mm
Lens unit 6 = LR2/F1 = -50.98 mm
Lens unit 7 = LR3 = +58.17 mm
Lens unit 8 = LR4/F2 = -46.40 mm
Lens unit 9 = LR6 = +120.30 mm
Ff1/Fra = -50.98/37.30 - -1.367
Therefore, satisfies: -2.0≤fF1/fi<0.0
Regarding Claim 6,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein a final lens unit in the rear group closest to an image plane does not move during zooming and focusing, and wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -2.0≤fF1/fi<0.0 where fi is a focal length of the final lens unit.
F1=LR2=lens unit 6=-50.98 mm
Finals lens unit = LR5 = lens unit 9 = +120.30 mm
FF1/fi = -50.98/120.30 = -0.424
Therefore, satisfies: -2.0≤fF1/fi<0.0
Regarding Claim 7,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein a fixed lens unit that does not move during zooming and focusing is disposed between the first focus lens unit and the second focus lens unit, and wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -2.0 ≤ fF2/fRb ≤ -0.2 where f2 is a focal length of the second focus lens unit, and fRb is a focal length of the fixed lens unit.
LR2/F1 [Wingdings font/0xE0]LR3[Wingdings font/0xE0] LR4/F2
F2/LR4 – lens unit 8 = -46.40 mm
Rb/LR3 = lens unit 7 = +58.17 mm
Ff2/FRb = -46.40-58.17 = -0.798
Therefore, satisfies: -2.0 ≤ fF2/fRb ≤ -0.2
Regarding Claim 10,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.4 ≤ ST/TTL ≤ 0.7 where ST is a length on an optical axis from the aperture stop to an image plane, TTL is a length on the optical axis from a surface of the zoom lens closest to the object to the image plane. In Example 2 “Various Data” table [0075]
STTL = overall lens length = 217.47 mm
Aperture stop is surface 18
ST = 1.97 +1.40+2.86+1.20+6.57+0.48+4.96+2.04+2.84+1.20+21.93+5.25+2.30+1.30+9.05+2.95+37.98 which gives ST = 106.34 mm.
ST/TTL = 106.34-217.47 =0.489
Regarding Claim 14,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the second focus lens unit includes a single negative lens, and wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.3 ≤ SF2 ≤ 3.0 where R1 is a radius of curvature of a surface on the object side of the negative lens, R2 is a radius of curvature of a surface on the image side of the negative lens, and SF2 is expressed as follows: SF2 = (R2+R1)/(R2-R1). (see numerical example 3)
Regarding Claim 15,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the second focus lens unit includes a single negative lens, and wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.6 ≤ NdF2 ≤ 2.0 where NdF2 is a refractive index of the negative lens for d-line.(see numerical example 3)
Regarding Claim 16,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 ≤ TTL/ft ≤ 1.5 where ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at the telephoto end, and TTL is a length on an optical axis from a surface of the zoom lens closest to the object to an image plane.(see numerical example 2)
Regarding Claim 22,
Iwamoto discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 11) wherein the plurality of intermediate lens units include, in order from the object side to the image side, a second lens unit having negative refractive power, a third lens unit having negative refractive power, and a fourth lens unit having negative refractive power, and wherein the plurality of lens units in the rear group include, in order from the object side to the image side, a fifth lens unit having positive refractive power, a sixth lens unit having negative refractive power as the first focus lens unit, a seventh lens unit having positive refractive power, an eighth lens unit having negative refractive power as the second focus lens unit, and a ninth lens unit having positive refractive power. (See numerical Example 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (US 20230384570) in view of UEHARA, Takeru (WO 2020105104)
Regarding Claim 8,
Iwamoto discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwamoto discloses does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 ≤ βF1t/βF2t ≤ 3.0 where βF1t is an imaging magnification of the first focus lens unit at the telephoto end, and βF2t is an imaging magnification of the second focus lens unit at the telephoto end.
UEHARA, Takeru discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 ≤ βF1t/βF2t ≤ 3.0 where βF1t is an imaging magnification of the first focus lens unit at the telephoto end, and βF2t is an imaging magnification of the second focus lens unit at the telephoto end. (It is desirable that the variable power optical system ZL according to the present embodiment satisfies the following conditional expression (3).
0.10 <βTF1 / βTF2 <1.00 (3))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwamoto to include UEHARA, Takeru’s the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 ≤ βF1t/βF2t ≤ 3.0 where βF1t is an imaging magnification of the first focus lens unit at the telephoto end, and βF2t is an imaging magnification of the second focus lens unit at the telephoto end motivated by the desire to control aberration variation during focusing.
Claim(s) 18,19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (US 20230384570) in view of Ito (US 6476977)
Regarding Claim 18,
Iwamoto discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwamoto discloses does not disclose wherein two lens units closest to the object in the plurality of intermediate lens units include a positive lens and a negative lens arranged from the object side.
Ito discloses (ABSTRACT) wherein two lens units closest to the object in the plurality of intermediate lens units include a positive lens and a negative lens arranged from the object side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwamoto to include Ito’s two lens units closest to the object in the plurality of intermediate lens units include a positive lens and a negative lens arranged from the object side motivated by the desire to maintain the desire to provide a lens unit refractive power and high optical performance during zooming.
Regarding Claim 19,
Iwamoto discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwamoto discloses does not disclose wherein two lens unit closest to an image plane of the plurality of intermediate lens units include a positive lens and a negative lens arranged from the object side.
Ito discloses (ABSTRACT) wherein two lens unit closest to an image plane of the plurality of intermediate lens units include a positive lens and a negative lens arranged from the object side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwamoto to include Ito’s two lens units closest to the object in the plurality of intermediate lens units include a positive lens and a negative lens arranged from the object side motivated by the desire to provide a lens unit refractive power and high optical performance during zooming.
Claim(s) 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (US 20230384570) in view of Hatada (US 7532412)
Regarding Claim 18,
Iwamoto discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwamoto discloses does not disclose wherein a part of the rear group is configured to move relative to an optical axis as an image stabilizing unit.
Hatada discloses (ABSTRACT) wherein a part of the rear group is configured to move relative to an optical axis as an image stabilizing unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iwamoto to include Hatada’s part of the rear group is configured to move relative to an optical axis as an image stabilizing unit motivated by the desire to correct blue caused by vibration while retaining the compact zoom lens architecture.
Claim(s) 21,23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (US 20230384570)
Regarding Claim 21,
Iwamoto discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwamoto discloses does not disclose in the same embodiment wherein the plurality of intermediate lens units include, in order from the object side to the image side, a second lens unit having negative refractive power, a third lens unit having negative refractive power, and a fourth lens unit having positive refractive power, wherein the plurality of lens units in the rear group include, in order from the object side to the image side, a fifth lens unit having positive refractive power, a sixth lens unit having negative refractive power as the first focus lens unit, a seventh lens unit having positive refractive power, an eighth lens unit having negative refractive power as the second focus lens unit, and a ninth lens unit having positive refractive power (Numerical Example 1).
It would have been obvious to modify Iwamoto to include another embodiment and another example of Iwamoto to disclose wherein the plurality of intermediate lens units include, in order from the object side to the image side, a second lens unit having negative refractive power, a third lens unit having negative refractive power, and a fourth lens unit having positive refractive power, wherein the plurality of lens units in the rear group include, in order from the object side to the image side, a fifth lens unit having positive refractive power, a sixth lens unit having negative refractive power as the first focus lens unit, a seventh lens unit having positive refractive power, an eighth lens unit having negative refractive power as the second focus lens unit, and a ninth lens unit having positive refractive power motivated by the desire to provide long focal lengths, reduction of size/weight and aberration control.
Regarding Claim 23,
Iwamoto discloses everything as disclosed above.
Iwamoto discloses does not disclose wherein the plurality of intermediate lens units includes, in order from the object side to the image side, a second lens unit having negative refractive power, and a third lens unit having positive refractive power, and wherein the plurality of lens units in the rear group includes, in order from the object side to the image side, a fourth lens unit having positive refractive power, a fifth lens unit having negative refractive power as the first focus lens unit, a sixth lens unit having positive refractive power, a seventh lens unit having negative refractive power as the second focus lens unit, and an eighth lens unit having positive refractive power (example 3).
It would have been obvious to modify Iwamoto to include another embodiment and another example of Iwamoto to disclose the plurality of intermediate lens units includes, in order from the object side to the image side, a second lens unit having negative refractive power, and a third lens unit having positive refractive power, and wherein the plurality of lens units in the rear group includes, in order from the object side to the image side, a fourth lens unit having positive refractive power, a fifth lens unit having negative refractive power as the first focus lens unit, a sixth lens unit having positive refractive power, a seventh lens unit having negative refractive power as the second focus lens unit, and an eighth lens unit having positive refractive power motivated by the desire to balancing zoom ratios, compactness, and aberration correction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9,11,12,13,17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 9,
The prior arts do not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.5 ≤ |besF1t|/|besF2t| ≤ 5.0 where βF1t is an imaging magnification of the first focus lens unit at the telephoto end, βF1Rt is a combined imaging magnification of one or more lens units on the image side of the first focus lens unit at the telephoto end, βF2t is an imaging magnification of the second focus lens unit at the telephoto end, βF2Rt is a combined imaging magnification of one or more lens units on the image side of the second focus lens unit at the telephoto end, besF1t is a focus sensitivity of the first focus lens unit at the telephoto end and expressed below, and besF2t is a focus sensitivity of the second focus lens unit at the telephoto end and expressed below: besF1t=(1-βF1t2)×βF1Rt2 besF2t=(1-βF2t2)×βF2Rt2.
Regarding Claim 11,
The prior arts do not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -30 ≤ fFt/fRt < 0 where fRt is a focal length of the front group at the telephoto end, and fRt is a focal length of the rear group at the telephoto end.
Regarding Claim 12,
The prior arts do not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.4 ≤ |mF2w|/|mF1w| ≤ 2.0 where mF1w is a moving amount of the first focus lens unit during focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a close distance at the wide-angle end, and mF2w is a moving amount of the second focus lens unit during focusing from the object at infinity to the object at a close distance at the wide-angle end.
Regarding Claim 13,
The prior arts do not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.3 ≤ |mF2t|/|mF1t| ≤ 2.0 where mF1t is a moving amount of the first focus lens unit during focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a close distance at the telephoto end, and mF2t is a moving amount of the second focus lens unit during focusing from the object at infinity to the object at a close distance at the telephoto end.
Regarding Claim 17,
The prior arts do not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 ≤ BF/fi ≤ 0.6 where BF is a back focus of the zoom lens, and fi is a focal length of a final lens unit closest to an image plane.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871