DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to Application 18/915475 filed on 10/15/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-2 are presented for examination.
Restriction
The claims are obvious variation of each other at this stage. However, Applicants must keep in mind that when amending the claims to avoid any future restriction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10311153. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims are obvious variations of current claims. The issued claims are narrower in scope than current claims which makes this rejection an anticipation double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11567903. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims are obvious variations of current claims. The issued claims are narrower in scope than current claims which makes this rejection an anticipation double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12117968. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims are obvious variations of current claims. The issued claims are narrower in scope than current claims which makes this rejection an anticipation double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1’s limitation “lock daemon” & “file system agent” have been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the limitation meets the three-prong analysis where it uses a generic place holder “daemon” followed by functional language “configured to” where the placeholder “daemon” is not modified by sufficient structure. Note that “lock” is not known in the art to connote hardware.
Similarly, “agent” is a place holder followed by functional language “configured to” where the “agent” is not modified by sufficient structure. Note that file system is not clear here to provide the sufficient structure.
Also, the “first server” includes a processor but it is not clear whether this processor linked to the above limitations or not.
Thus, the boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshel et al. (hereinafter Eshel) EP0566895 A2 (attached)
Regarding Claim 1, Eshel teaches an apparatus for managing file locks in a shared network-attached file system (abstract; a common lock manager for client requests in a name space of stored files accessed using either Server Message Block, or SMB, and Network File System, or NFS, protocols [network-attached file system]), the apparatus comprising:
a first server comprising a processor, a network interface, a file system agent, and a lock daemon (the SMB client makes the request, and a processing routing makes a request using the common protocol to the file manager 30 on the host computer [a first server] which inherently has a processor, network interface since it is on a network, agent and lock mechanism, see Column 7, Lines 14-23; Column 10, Lines 1-20; Figure 1; Abstract; Column 1, Lines 53-55; Column 4, Lines 24-40; Figures 3a, 4a. Column 11, Lines 20-28; Column 23, Lines 2-9);
wherein the first server is in communication with a central lock server and a cloud-based storage via the network interface (the NFS client makes the request, and a processing routing makes a request using the common protocol to the file manager 30 on the host computer (a central lock server); Column 7, Lines 25-48; Column 10, Lines 30-37; Figure 1), wherein the lock daemon is configured to translate a local lock request for a shared file in the shared network-attached file system to a global lock request (converting the request from the NFS client 16 (local lock request) using the NFS protocol (first local protocol) to a corresponding request with a common protocol (a global lock request): Abstract; Column 3, Lines 4-18; Figure 1), the local lock request having a first protocol, the global lock request having a common protocol (converting the request from the NFS client 16 (local lock request) using the NFS protocol (first protocol) to a corresponding request with a common protocol: Abstract; Column 3, Lines 4-18; Figure 1),
Eshel does not expressly teach that the storage is “cloud storage” nor Eshel teaches and wherein the file system agent is configured to create and export to the cloud-based storage one or more structured data representations of a local file system to generate a version of the shared network-attached file system. However, these limitations are known in the art. For example, see ¶0003 in instant specification’s background as originally filed in application #14/735345, where these limitations are indicated as admitted prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to incorporate the known in the art teachings in the system of Eshel in order to provide improved data protection, cost-effective long-term retention, and enhanced accessibility (common knowledge). Key benefits include disaster recovery, scalability, and centralized analytics (common knowledge).
Regarding Claim 2, Eshel teaches an apparatus associated with multiple filer entities, at least one of which creates and exports to a cloud data store one or more structured data representations comprising a shared versioned file system, the shared versioned file system accessible to each file entity, wherein filer entities do not interact with one another, comprising:
a processor; a computer memory storing computer program instructions executed by the processor to:
(a) intercept a local lock request initiated by the filer entity, the local lock request for write access to a shared file in the shared versioned file system (receiving a request by a second client to update a file (a local lock request) using a file manager of NFS client 16 (a user of a local file system); Abstract; Figure 1);
(b) translate the local lock request having a first local protocol to a global lock request having a common protocol (converting the request from the NFS client 16 (local lock request) using the NFS protocol (first local protocol) to a corresponding request with a common protocol (a global lock request): Abstract; Column 3, Lines 4-18; Figure 1);
(c) transmit the global lock request to a central lock server (the NFS client makes the request, and a processing routing makes a request using the common protocol to the file manager 30 on the host computer (a central lock server); Column 7, Lines 25-48; Column 10, Lines 30-37; Figure 1);
and (d) receive a global lock for the shared file if the central lock server determines that the global lock is available (calling a lock manager program to establish a lock by the host computer 12 (central lock server). determining the access/share status based on client request parameters (determines the global lock is available); Column 10, Lines 26-51; Figure 1).
Eshel does not expressly teach that the storage is “cloud storage” nor Eshel teaches at least one of which creates and exports to a cloud data store one or more structured data representations comprising a shared versioned file system. However, these limitations are known in the art. For example, see ¶0003 in instant specification’s background as originally filed in application #14/735345, where these limitations are indicated as admitted prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to incorporate the known in the art teachings in the system of Eshel in order to provide improved data protection, cost-effective long-term retention, and enhanced accessibility (common knowledge). Key benefits include disaster recovery, scalability, and centralized analytics (common knowledge).
Conclusion
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455