DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 1-35. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:.
Claims 1, 5, 17 & 20 of U.S. App. 18/915490
Claims 1, 12 & 24 of U.S. Pat. No. 10,827,786
A method for reducing trauma in the head or neck of a user…
A method for reducing trauma in the head or neck of a living being…
…engaging a support with the neck of the user
…engaging a support with at least one of the head, neck and shoulder…
…reducing a speed or acceleration/strengthen a muscle of the user as the head moves/improving the posture and neck position of the users as the head moves through the range of motion using a damper embedded within the support
…reducing the speed at which the head moves/strengthen the muscle of the living being as the head moves/increasing a muscle contraction speed of the living being as the head moves through the range of motion using a physiological damper including at least one electrode associated with the support.
The patented claims of ‘786 and the instant claims of ‘490 are not patentably distinct because both are directed to the same inventive concept of reducing head and neck trauma through a support employing a damper to reduce movement of the head relative to the torso while maintaining a range of motion. Modifying the support engagement location, reciting a support extending from the base of the head to the torso, reciting a damper embedded within the support and reciting reduction of a speed or acceleration instead of speed alone would have been obvious design choices and constitute no more than obvious variations of the patented invention.
Accordingly, the pending claims merely define an obvious variation of the invention claimed in U.S. Pat. No. 10,827,786 and are therefore barred by the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagely et al. (US 2013/0205480) in view of Ghajar (US 2010/0204628).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, a “support” encompasses structures extending between the head and/or neck region and the torso that permit relative movement while providing resistance thereto. Further, a “damper embedded within the support” reasonably encompasses a damping mechanism disposed within or forming part of a support member that resists motion through compression, extension, fluid displacement, spring force, gas force or other damping action.
Nagely et al. teaches:
Claim 1.
A method for reducing trauma in the head or neck caused by acceleration of the head relative to a torso
E.G. [0011], [0020], [0072], [0083]
engaging a support extending between a helmet/head region and a torso harness
E.G. [0013]-[0015], [0070]-[0072], [0086]-[0088]
permitting normal range of motion prior to activation of the restraint system
E.G. [0011], [0072], [0084]
reducing relative movement of the head with respect to the torso
E.G. [0011], [0014], [0020], [0072].
Nagely et al. does not explicitly disclose reducing the speed or acceleration using a damper embedded within the support.
Ghajar teaches a support extending between a headpiece and torso harness including a telescoping member having a hydraulic piston damper, gas spring piston damper, spring-loaded damper, and/or damping device disposed within the support member, [0028], [0032]-[0035].
It would have been obvious to incorporate Ghajar’s damping mechanism into the support system of Nagely et al. because both references are directed to reducing brain, neck and cervical injury resulting from acceleration of the head relative to the torso. Incorporating Ghajar’s damping member would have predictably dissipated forces, reduced peaked acceleration and controlled relative head movement while maintaining a desired range of motion, thereby improving Nagely’s injury mitigation system using a known technique for its established purpose. The modification represents the application of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results. KSR Int’l Co. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007).
Claim 2.
Ghajar teaches hydraulic and gas damping mechanisms disposed within the telescoping support member that resist movement through compression and extension while dissipating forces ([0032]-[0035]). Such damping systems inherently provide increased resistance as movement velocity increases due to increased fluid flow and damping forces, thereby providing lower resistance during lower-speed motion and higher resistance during higher speed motion.
Claim 3, 7 & 21-22
Ghajar teaches mechanical damping systems including hydraulic piston dampers, gas springs dampers, spring-loaded dampers, and damping device disposed within the support member ([0032]-[0035]).
Claims 4, 9, 19 & 23
Nagely et al. teaches controlling head and neck movement to reduce cervical injury and improve head and neck position ([0020], [0072], [0084]-[0088]).
Ghajar teaches applying controlled resistance through the damping support during movement of the head relative to the torso ([0032]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that repeated resisted motion of the head and neck using the damping support would strengthen associated musculature and improve posture and neck position as a predictable result of resisted movement training.
Claim 6
Obvious in view of claim 5 because strengthening of muscles of the head, neck and shoulder is an inherent and predictable result of performing resisted movement exercises using the damping support.
Claim 8
Obvious because repeated movement through a resisted range of motion would predictably improve flexibility and increase range of motion over time.
Claim 10-16
Nagely et al. teaches sensing parameters associated with the support, including force and acceleration, transmitting sensed information and controlling operation of the support based upon sensed parameters ([0089]-[0097]).
It would have been obvious to provide a user interface configured to receive, display, communicate and utilize such information because user feedback, monitoring and control interfaces were well known in rehabilitation, training, injury-prevention and biomechanical monitoring systems.
Claims 11-16
Claim 11-16 recite obvious variations relating to particular sensed parameters, graphical displays, coordinated control signals, user instructions, and feedback communications.
Claim 20
Nagely et al. teaches reducing speed or acceleration of head movement relative to the torso through structures disposed within the support. Ghajar teaches corresponding damping structures disposed within the support member, including hydraulic, gas spring, and spring-loaded damping mechanisms ([0032]-[0035]), which corresponds to the recited means for performing the claimed function.
Claim 24
Obvious matter of design choice regarding the particular configuration of the support as a balaclava, absent a showing of criticality.
Conclusion
/NICOLE F JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796