DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.
Patent Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof ventilation
dead vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforum.com/threads/soundproofventilation-dead-ventor-bafied-bo-acoustio
box.1477067/ pgs.21 Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013.
Regarding Claim 1, Seltzer teaches a noise-dampening dog kennel, comprising:
a box-shaped housing having a plurality of noise-dampening walls defining an enclosed interior
space; wherein said box-shaped housing includes a noise-dampening door on a front face thereof configured to permit ingress and egress of an animal, wherein said noise-dampening
door is closeable (Seltzer Fig. 2B 201B #226; Fig. 2A 210A #212; and Fig. 2A 240A #216; Fig. 1
#116; paragraph [0019]) a ventilation assembly with noise-dampening baffles integrated within
at least one wall of the plurality of walls, the ventilation assembly with noise-dampening baffles
(Seltzer paragraph [0050] teaches baffles at air ingress and egress).
Seltzer is silent on the structural configuration of the sound baffles; wherein said
ventilation assembly with noise-dampening baffles permits inflow of breathable air while
dampening sound waves carried by the air when the door is closed; wherein the airflow through
the baffle box assembly reduces ambient noise within the enclosed interior space. However,
AVS FORUM teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to
provide a noise dampening baffle of at least one hollow air corridor having an air intake end
and an air exhaust end; a fan positioned at the air intake end configured to force air through the
at least one hollow air corridor; and a plurality of baffles mounted on a planar base, said plurality
of baffles are arranged in an alternating pattern defining a switchback-shaped continuous
channel for air to travel through (AVS FORUM Nashoomoo June 12, 2013 #1 post). It would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Seltzer with the
teachings of AVS FORUM before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a
reasonable expectation of success to achieve soundproof ventilation as taught by AVS FORUM.
The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for
improvement to yield predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known sound
baffle for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, Seltzer as modified teaches the plurality of noise-dampening walls
and the noise-dampening door comprise sound-dampening materials (Seltzer paragraph [0009]
and #311, #212, #226). Seltzer as modified is silent on multiple layers of sound dampening
material. However, the modification is merely the duplication of a known element for a multiple
affect and does not present a patentably distinct limitation. Duplication for a multiple affect is merely an obvious engineering design choice derived through routine tests and experimentation
for optimized soundproofing and temperature control [In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 671, 124
USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960)]. The examiner takes official notice that it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Seltzer before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success for more
soundproofing and insulating properties. The modification is merely the application of a known
technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or "obvious
to try" choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable
expectation of success.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent
Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof ventilation dead
vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforun.com/threads/soundproofventilation-dead-vent-or-baffled-box-acoustic-
box. 1477067/] pgs. Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in
view of U.S. Patent No. 5,123,874 to White.
Regarding Claim 2, Seltzer as modified is silent on comprising an extractor positioned at
the air exhaust end of the at least one hollow air corridor, the extractor configured to remove air
from the enclosed interior space. However, White teaches the general knowledge of one of
ordinary skill in the art that it is known to provide an extractor positioned at the air exhaust end
of the at least one hollow air corridor, the extractor configured to remove air from the enclosed
interior space (White Fig. 7 #90; Col. 8 lines 34-45). It would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Seltzer with the teachings of White
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success
to provide air circulation as taught by White. The modification is merely the application of a
known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.
Patent Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof ventilation
dead vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforum.com/threads/soundproof-ventilation-deed-vent-or-bafled-box-acoustic
box. 1477067/] pgs. Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013 and U.S. Patent No. 5, ,123,874 to White as
applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,915,216 to Hoegh et
al.
Regarding Claim 4, Seltzer as modified teaches electronic assembly comprising: a
power source (Seltzer A/C plug #314; Fig. 1 #155); a controller (Seltzer Fig. 1 #161); the fan
(Seltzer #334); an extractor (Seltzer Fig. 1 #154; White #90); one or more speakers (Seltzer Fig.
1 #132 and #134); a light source (Seltzer Fig. #142); a thermometer (Seltzer Fig. 1 #152);
sensors (Seltzer Fig. 1 #162). Seltzer as modified is silent on explicitly teaching one or more
gas sensors and an electric door latch. However, Hoegh teaches the general knowledge of one
of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to provide a dog kennel with a gas sensor and an
electric door latch (Hoegh Col. 6 lines 51-54; Col. 7 line 26-28; claim 1; Col. 7 line 10-13). It
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of
Seltzer with the teachings of Hoegh before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with
a reasonable expectation of success to help the animal with separation anxiety and safety as
taught by Hoegh. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known
device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 5, Seltzer as modified teaches wherein the controller is configured to
activate the electric door latch in response to gas, temperature, or oxygen levels exceeding or
falling below predefined thresholds (Hoegh Col. 6 lines 51-54; Col. 7 line 26-28; claim 1; Col. 7
line 10-13; Seltzer paragraph [0037]).
Regarding Claim 6, Seltzer as modified teaches the light source (Seltzer paragraph
[0027] LED light) is disposed within the enclosed interior space, and wherein the one or more speakers (Seltzer #132 and #134) are disposed within the enclosed interior space or on an
outer surface of the noise-dampening dog kennel.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof
ventilation dead vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforum.com/threads/soundproof-ventilation-dead-vent-or-baffied-box-acoustic-
box. 1477067/] pgs. Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in
view of U.S. Patent No. 5,123,874 to White and U.S. Patent No. 8,915,216 to Hoegh et al.
Regarding Claim 7, Seltzer as modified by AVS FORUM teaches the ventilation housing
enclosing a plurality of baffles (AVS FORUM post #1 air flow pass around baffles), a base
supporting the plurality of baffles (AVS FORuM post #1 floor of ventilation housing; side walls
and cover make the housing), but is silent on comprising an extractor positioned at the air
exhaust end of the at least one hollow air corridor, the extractor configured to remove air from
the enclosed interior space. However, White teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary
skill in the art that it is known to provide an extractor positioned at the air exhaust end of the at
least one hollow air corridor, the extractor configured to remove air from the enclosed interior
space (White Fig. 7 #90; Col. 8 lines 34-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill
in the art to further modify the teachings of Seltzer with the teachings of White before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to provide
air circulation as taught by White. The modification is merely the application of a known
technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Seltzer as modified teaches electronic assembly comprising: a power source (Seltzer
A/C plug #314; Fig. 1 #155); a controller (Seltzer Fig. 1 #161); the fan (Seltzer #334); an
extractor (Seltzer Fig. 1 #154; White #90); one or more speakers (Seltzer Fig. 1 #132 and
#134); a light source (Seltzer Fig. #142); a thermometer (Seltzer Fig. 1 #152); sensors (Seltzer Fig. 1 #162). Seltzer as modified teaches automated door opening do to temperatures or
hazards (Seltzer paragraph [0037]), but is silent on explicitly teaching one or more gas sensors
and an electric door latch. However, Hoegh teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary
skill in the art that it is known to provide a dog kennel with a gas sensor and an electric door
latch (Hoegh Col. 6 lines 51-54; Col. 7 line 26-28; claim 1; Col. 7 line 10-13). It would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Seltzer with the
teachings of Hoegh before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable
expectation of success to help the animal with separation anxiety and safety as taught by
Hoegh. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device
ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8, Seltzer as modified teaches the plurality of noise-dampening walls
and the noise-dampening door comprise sound-dampening materials (Seltzer paragraph [0009]
and #311, #212, #226). Seltzer as modified is silent on multiple layers of sound dampening
material. However, the modification is merely the duplication of a known element for a multiple
affect and does not present a patentably distinct limitation. Duplication for a multiple affect is
merely an obvious engineering design choice derived through routine tests and experimentation
for optimized soundproofing and temperature control [In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 671, 124
USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960)]. The examiner takes official notice that it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Seltzer before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success for more
soundproofing and insulating properties. The modification is merely the application of a known
technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or "obvious
to try" choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable
expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 12, Seltzer as modified teaches the one or more speakers are
configured to play predetermined sounds or filtered environmental sounds transmitted from a microphone positioned externally to the enclosed interior space (Seltzer #134; paragraph
[0024]).
Regarding Claim 13, Seltzer as modified teaches an additional microphone is placed
inside the kennel and is connected to speakers placed on the exterior surface of the kennel,
allowing sounds from inside the kennel to be heard outside while maintaining the kennel's
noise-dampening function (Seltzer paragraph [0024] #132).
Regarding Claim 14, Seltzer as modified teaches the controller is configured to activate
the electric door latch in response to gas, temperature, or oxygen levels exceeding or falling
below predefined thresholds (Hoegh Col. 6 lines 51-54; Col. 7 line 26-28; claim 1; Col. 7 line 10-
13; Seltzer paragraph [0037]).
Regarding Claim 16, Seltzer as modified teaches a smartphone device running an
application software; a communication network connecting the smartphone device to the
electronic assembly (Seltzer paragraph [0032] Fig. 1 #151, #161 ; wherein the application
software is configured to display real-time data from the one or more gas sensors and the
thermometer (Seltzer #162 and #152); display real-time video data (Seltzer #132 and #134)
from one or more cameras for remote monitoring; allow remote control of the fan, extractor, one
or more speakers, light source, and electric door latch; set and modify threshold values for
temperature and gas levels; send alerts to the smartphone device when threshold values are
exceeded.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent
Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof ventilation dead
vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforum.com/threeds/soundproof-ventilation-dead-vent-or-baffled-box-acoustic
box. 1477067/] pgs. Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013; U.S. Patent No. 5,123,874 to White; and U.S. Patent No. 8,915,216 to Hoegh et al as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in
view of U.S. Patent No. 9,044,101 to Garcia et al.
Regarding Claim 9, Seltzer as modified teaches sensors (Seltzer #162) gas sensors
(Hoegh Col. 7 line 12), but is silent on explicitly teaching the one or more gas sensors comprise
an oxygen meter and a carbon dioxide meter. However, Garcia (Garcia Col. 7 lines 22-35)
teaches oxygen and carbon dioxide meters are old and notoriously well-known and are merely
an obvious engineering design choice derived through routine tests and experimentation. It
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of
Seltzer with the teachings of Garcia before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with
a reasonable expectation of success to control fan speeds as taught by Garcia. The
modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for
improvement to yield predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known gas sensor
for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent
Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof ventilation dead
vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforum.com/threads/soundproof-ventilation-deed-vent-or-bafled-box-acoustic
box. 1477067/] pgs. Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013; U.S. Patent No. 5,123,874 to White; and
U.S. Patent No. 8,915,216 to Hoegh et al as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in
view of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,404 to Seta et al.
Regarding Claim 15, Seltzer as modified is silent on wherein the inlet portion and the
outlet portion of the baffle box assembly are located on different walls of the plurality of noise-
dampening walls. Seltzer teaches having baffles at in the ingress and egress (Seltzer paragraph
[0050]), on the location of the ingress and egress. However, Seta teaches the general
knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art of noise dampening dog kennels to provide the inlet and outlet on opposing walls (Seta Fig. 7 #502 enters #516 and leaves via #518 and #504;
arrows). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the
teachings of Seltzer with the teachings of Seta before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention with a reasonable expectation of success to allow conditioned air to travel through the
cavity of the kennel as taught by Seta The modification is merely the application of a known
technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or merely an
obvious engineering design choice derived through routine tests and experimentation involving
merely the shift of a known component performing the same intended function [In re Japikse,
181 F.2d 1019, 1023, 86 USPQ 70, 73 (CCPA 1950)] for desired air circulation and does not
present a patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.
Patent Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof ventilation
dead vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforum.com/threads/soundproof-ventilation-dead-vent-or-baffled-box-acoustic-
box. 1477067/] pgs. Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013; U.S. Patent No. 5,123,874 to White; and
U.S. Patent No. 8,915,216 to Hoegh et al as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in
view of U.S. Patent No. 10,208,975 to Azevedo et al.
Regarding Claim 10, Seltzer as modified is silent on legs disposed on a base of the box-
shaped housing, wherein the legs comprise acoustic insulating materials. However, Azevedo
teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to provide legs
disposed on a base of the box shaped housing comprised of acoustic insulating material
(applicant doesn't claim a specific material; Azevedo Fig. 2A #103 a material that reduces
vibration reduces sound). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further
modify the teachings of Seltzer with the teachings of Azevedo before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce vibration as taught by Azevedo. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device
ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 11, Seltzer as modified teaches a door and as modified by Azevedo teaches a door on said noise-dampening door is removably or permanently attached to the box-shaped housing by hinges (Azevedo Col. 5 lines 1-5; line 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Seltzer with the teachings of Azevedo before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to store compactly or to preform maintenance. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent
Pub. No. 2011/0126775 to Seltzer et al in view of AVS FORUM, Soundproof ventilation dead
vent or baffled box/ acoustic box [retrieved from internet 12 January 2026
https://www.avsforun.com/threads/soundproofventilation-dead-vent-or-baffled-box-acoustic-
box. 1477067/] Nashoomoo Posted Jun 2013 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in
view of Ford has made a noise cancelling dog kennel, by Stephen Dobie [retrieved from internet 05 October 2026 https://www.topgear.com/car-news/ford-has-made-a-noise-cancelling-dog-kennel] 3 pgs., 18 December 2018.
Regarding Claim 18, Seltzer as modified teaches the use of microphones, speakers, and controllers, but is silent on explicitly teaching a) a microphone positioned externally to the enclosed interior space and configured to acquire environmental sound waves and convert the environmental sound waves into an electrical signal; b) a controller configured to receive the electrical signal and to filter the electrical signal to eliminate frequencies outside a predetermined range; and c) one or more speakers configured to reproduce the filtered electrical signal within the enclosed interior space. However, Dobie teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to provide a) a microphone positioned externally to the enclosed interior space and configured to acquire environmental sound waves and convert the environmental sound waves into an electrical signal; b) a controller configured to receive the electrical signal and to filter the electrical signal to eliminate frequencies outside a predetermined range; and c) one or more speakers configured to reproduce the filtered electrical signal within the enclosed interior space (Dobie pages 1-3; noise cancelling tech in Ford Edge; “microphones”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Seltzer with the teachings of Dobie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce fear from fireworks as taught by Dobie. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that AVS Forum is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, AVS is in the field of the inventor’s endeavor. The title of AVS is “Soundproof ventilation” which is in the same field of applicant’s endeavor i.e. sound damping housing. Both applicant and AVS is concerned with the same endeavor of damping sound in a housing environment. AVS presents example application areas of a home theater room and/or between a hallway and a bathroom. However, AVS was merely the secondary reference and the primary reference teaches the known housing structure for dogs and the known measures to reduce sound. AVS is merely applied to an alternate housing structure, but both the primary and secondary references are concerned with housing structures. AVS is concerned with soundproofing particular areas of an alternate housing structure but still is concerned with the same field of endeavor of soundproofing ventilation.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, there is motivation, suggestion, and teaching in the references and in general knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art. Both the primary reference of Seltzer and the secondary reference of AVS are concerned with soundproofing/sound damping of a housing structure. Seltzer provides a variety of measures to reduce the sound in the dog housing structure and provides ventilation to the structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the teachings of Seltzer with the teachings of AVS before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success with the rational reasoning of soundproofing ventilation noise as taught by AVS. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known sound baffle for another to obtain predictable results. Both Seltzer and AVS are concerned with the same body of knowledge i.e. soundproofing a housing structure/room.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The modification of Seltzer with the teachings of AVS merely takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made. AVS is a teaching of the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art of soundproofing measures applied to housing units to dampen sound in a particular room of a housing structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to the known soundproofing measures of AVS to modify the sound dampening measures of Seltzer.
The examiner maintains that applicant hasn’t patentably distinguished over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA M VALENTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
05 October 2026