DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are considered in this office action. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: authentication module configured to search in claims 11 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US2021/0070194) in view of Zhang et al. (CN108327480A) and herein after will be referred as Oh and Zhang respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Oh teaches a method for controlling an electric vehicle (Fig.5 for method and Fig.2 electric vehicle),
determining whether the driver getting into the electric vehicle has been completed based on a preset condition (Para [0052] : “The processor 140 may determine whether the user rides in the vehicle based on whether a door of the vehicle is opened or closed or whether the user is seated in the seat, and may control to switch a power source of the vehicle using at least one or more of the result of determining whether the user rides in the vehicle, or whether a brake input occurs.”);
searching for an authentication mechanism inside the electric vehicle; and switching from the reservation mode to a start mode based on the authentication mechanism (Para [0053] : “When the stage of switching the power source of the vehicle is classified as a power-off stage, a power-on stage, or a drivable stage (an EV ready stage), in the power-off stage of the vehicle, when a door adjacent to the driver's seat is opened and when the smart key succeeds in being authenticated in the interior of the vehicle, or when all the doors are closed after a door except for the door adjacent to the driver's seat is opened and when the smart key succeeds in being authenticated in the interior of the vehicle, the processor 140 may switch from the power-off stage of the vehicle to the power-on stage of the vehicle.”).
Oh does not expressly teaches determining whether a function is operated in a reservation mode before a driver gets into the electric vehicle.
Zhang teaches determining whether a function is operated in a reservation mode before a driver gets into the electric vehicle (Para [0034-0035]: “Receive instructions sent by the remote terminal and determine whether the relevant parameters inside the vehicle have reached the corresponding preset values; If all relevant parameters reach their respective preset values, the instruction will be parsed into authentication information and an air conditioner start instruction, and the authentication information will be identified as consistent with the preset authentication information.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to include determining whether a function is operated in a reservation mode before a driver gets into the electric vehicle. Doing so would optimize the operation of the electric vehicle.
Similarly Claim 11 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 2, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1.
Zhang teaches wherein the function comprises a remote air conditioning function or a reserved air conditioning function (Para [0033]).
Regarding Claim 3, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1.
Oh teaches wherein the preset condition is based on conversion from a door open state of at least one among a driver’s door, a front passenger’s door, a rear left passenger’s door, or a rear right passenger’s door to door closed states of all the doors (Para [0052]).
Similarly Claim 12 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 4, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1.
Oh teaches wherein the preset condition is based on a depression of a brake pedal after a door open state of a driver's door (Para [0052]).
Similarly Claim 13 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 5, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1.
Oh teaches wherein switching from the reservation mode to the start mode comprises determining whether it is allowed for a current vehicle state to be switched to the start mode (Para [0053] : “When the stage of switching the power source of the vehicle is classified as a power-off stage, a power-on stage, or a drivable stage (an EV ready stage), in the power-off stage of the vehicle, when a door adjacent to the driver's seat is opened and when the smart key succeeds in being authenticated in the interior of the vehicle, or when all the doors are closed after a door except for the door adjacent to the driver's seat is opened and when the smart key succeeds in being authenticated in the interior of the vehicle, the processor 140 may switch from the power-off stage of the vehicle to the power-on stage of the vehicle.”).
Similarly Claim 14 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 10, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1.
Oh teaches wherein the authentication mechanism comprises a smart key or a digital key (Para [0053]).
Similarly Claim 19 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 20, Oh teaches an electric vehicle (Fig.2) comprising:
an electronics controller configured to control electrical elements of the electric vehicle (Fig.1 #100);
an authentication module configured to search for an authentication mechanism inside the electric vehicle and perform authentication (Para [0064-0065] #133 and 10 and Fig.2); and
determine whether a driver's getting into the electric vehicle has been completed based on a preset condition, and request the electronics controller to switch to a start mode based on the authentication mechanism (Para [0062]).
Zhang teaches an air temperature controller configured to be operated by the electronics controller (Fig.2 Para [0036]), a second controller configured to receive a signal according to a remote/reserved air conditioning state from the electronics controller to determine whether a remote/reserved air conditioning mode is maintained (Para [0036]: “If they match, the air conditioner start command will be sent to the air conditioner controller to turn on the air conditioner.”).
Claims 6 -7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Zhang and in further view of Federal Register/ Vol.68 No.94/ Thursday, May 15,2003/ proposed rules 26269 and herein after will be referred as Federal Motor Safety.
Regarding Claim 6, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 5.
Oh may not expressly teaches wherein determining whether it is allowed for the current vehicle state to be switched to the start mode comprises determining whether a transmission of the electric vehicle is in parking mode.
However, the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard requires that before a vehicle can be started the transmission level must be in Park/ neutral position due to safety reasons and hence would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art to incorporate this feature to optimize the safety of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh and Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard to include transmission to be at the park position before starting the vehicle. Doing so would optimize the safety of the vehicle operation as disclosed by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard.
Similarly Claim 15 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 7, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 6.
Oh may not expressly teaches further comprising requesting the driver to switch to the parking mode based on a determination that the transmission is not in the parking mode.
From the above claim, it is obvious to have the transmission in Park mode if the driver wants to start the vehicle and hence requesting or driver switching it to park mode would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art to operate/drive the vehicle forward or reverse.
Similarly Claim 16 is rejected on the similar rational.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Zhang and in further view of Takase (US20250178457) and herein after will be referred as Takase.
Regarding Claim 8, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 5.
Oh may not expressly teaches wherein determining whether it is allowed for the current vehicle state to be switched to the start mode comprises determining whether a charging connector is connected to a charging terminal of the electric vehicle.
Takase teaches wherein determining whether it is allowed for the current vehicle state to be switched to the start mode comprises determining whether a charging connector is connected to a charging terminal of the electric vehicle ( Para [0042] : “In another application example, in response to detection of the power feeding connector of the charging cable from the power feeding device 45 being inserted to the power feeding socket of the charging power connector 44, the start prohibitor 63 prohibits starting of the electric motor 1.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh and Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Takase to include determining whether it is allowed for the current vehicle state to be switched to the start mode comprises determining whether a charging connector is connected to a charging terminal of the electric vehicle. Doing so would optimize the safety of the vehicle operation.
Similarly Claim 17 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 9, Oh in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 8.
Oh may not expressly teaches further comprising requesting the driver to remove the charging connector based on a determination that the charging connector is connected.
However, Takase teaches when the charging cable is connected to the vehicle, the vehicle cannot be started and hence it would be obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art to have the driver remove the charging cable if he /she wants to drive the vehicle. Doing so would optimize the safety of vehicle operation.
Similarly Claim 18 is rejected on the similar rational.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hanson et al. (US20170259783A1) discloses systems and methods for selectively activating operation of one or more vehicle powertrain elements are presented. In one example, a propulsion source of a vehicle is activated in response to a driver moving a shift lever from a first location to a second location. Further, activation of propulsion source may be made contingent on whether or not the vehicle is coupled to an electrical grid.
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668