Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 16, it is unclear how there can be a pathway between the passenger seat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 -14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou et al (7,739,963). Chou teaches an assembly (Figs. 1-3), comprising: a housing (100) connected to a support structure (floor of vehicle); a tray (220) connected to the housing (via 210) and configured to laterally slide relative to the housing between a stowed tray position (Fig. 1) and a deployed tray position (Fig. 2); and a breakaway hinge (including 210,216,217,219, 230,222) coupling together the housing and the tray, wherein the breakaway hinge is operable to release the tray from the deployed tray position (Fig. 2) to a hanging breakaway tray position (Fig. 3) upon application of an abuse load to the tray such that at least a portion of the tray hangs downwardly relative to the housing. Wherein the tray is movable from the stowed tray position to the deployed tray position along a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis (along 120) and the tray is angled relative to the housing in the hanging breakaway tray position (Fig. 3). Wherein the breakaway hinge is a friction hinge (via 217) configured to hold the tray in the deployed tray position. Wherein the support structure is a vehicle cabin installation, furniture, console, or tabletop. Wherein the tray is located inside the support structure when in the stowed tray position such that an outer surface of the tray is flush with an outer surface of the support structure (Fig. 1).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walkinskaw et al (6,547,326). As best understood, Walkinshaw teaches an assembly (Figs. 1 and 2), comprising: at least one passenger seat (S, front seats inherently found in the vehicle); a support structure (arm rest of V and rear seat S) adjacent to the passenger seat; an egress pathway “between” the passenger seat “and support structure” (V; pathway above floor portion); and at least one breakaway tray assembly (15) connected to the support structure (via 25); the breakaway tray assembly comprising: a tray (with 19) movable from a stowed tray position (Fig. 1) to a deployed tray position (Fig. 2) in which the tray extends into the egress pathway; and a breakaway hinge (25) operable to release the tray from the deployed tray position to a hanging breakaway tray position upon application of an abuse load to the tray (column 4, starting line 66). Wherein, when in the hanging breakaway tray position, the tray hangs downwardly and extends laterally less into the egress pathway relative to the deployed tray position to facilitate a passenger’s egress.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall (2,270,557) in view of Kent (2,619,395). Randall teaches an assembly (Figs. 1-2), comprising: a housing (B) having an opening (within 1,2), the housing configured to attach to a support structure (dash of a vehicle); a tray (C) connected to the housing and configured to slide laterally through the opening between a stowed tray position (within 1,2) and a deployed tray position (Fig. 1). For claim 1, Randall fails to teach a mirror connected to the tray and configured to rotate relative to the tray. Kent teaches a mirror (93) pivoted to a tray (12) and rotatable relative to the tray. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tray of Randall by adding a mirror, such as is taught by Kent, thereon, to provide a means to view oneself or objects facing the mirror from the tray.
For claim 8, although Randall in view of Kent fails to teach that the mirror has a reflective surface facing away from the tray when in the stowed mirror position, it would have been an obvious consideration of mount the mirror on the tray in the opposite manner so as to always have it accessible without pivoting. It also would have been obvious to employ a two sided mirror for dual viewing.
For claim 9, Randall in view Kent further teaches that the
mirror is located outside of the housing when in the deployed tray position.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (7,739,963) in view of Kent (2,619,395). As stated above, Chou teaches the limitations of claim 10, including a tray extendable relate to a housing. For claim 15, Chou fails to teach a mirror connected to the tray and configured to rotate relative to the housing. Kent teaches a mirror (93) pivoted to a tray (12) and rotatable relative to a housing (11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tray of Chou by adding a mirror, such as is taught by Kent, thereon, to provide a means to view oneself or objects facing the mirror from the tray.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References 20200140091; 20180281967; 8934063; 8826830; 20120049558; 6683837; 20070262854; 20010038220; 5372403; 2623435; 1221643; and 2626194 teach various table assemblies.
Wilkens
May 15, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637