DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7 and 9 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/4/26. Applicant did not specifically traverse the election with arguments, but claims 5-6 are additionally withdrawn as clearly not being representative of the species (species I, Fig. 4a) because species I does not disclose “a handling means” or the “beak…placed at one of the open ends”.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s preamble to the independent claim and body of the claim set forth multiple limitations directed toward the broader mechanical context of “the device”, as claimed, which are not considered limiting. Applicant has claimed “a device” which is not required to be a single mechanical element, but is defined as “a thing made for a particular purpose; an invention or contrivance, especially a mechanical or electrical one” and the device, as claimed and disclosed, appears to simply be a “snap ring” or “retaining ring”. Therefore, the limitation “device” will be interpreted to mean a single element or component as “snap rings” or “retaining rings” are widely known in the mechanical arts. It appears Applicant wishes to ascribe limitations that are beyond the immediate structure of the retaining ring itself. However, as currently claimed the intended use limitations, functional limitations and limitations directed toward structures other than the retaining ring will be considered non-limiting. Examiner notes that the limitations must be read in light of the specification, but limitations cannot be imported from the specification into the limitations. Since the device appears to simply be a “snap ring” or “retaining ring” there are few limitations which the interpretation thereof will be significantly influenced by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moyles, U.S. Patent 5,085,548.
Regarding Claim 1, Moyles teaches:
A clip (50) that comprises a resilient retaining means (50/58, Col 5, Lns 28-32) and wherein the clip comprises a locking beak (68).
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “for axially retaining…on the shaft“, “intended to be…the moving part”, “arranged to cooperate…of its periphery” and “passing through an…axially in place”, and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim because the prior art need only be capable of meeting the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2114 [R-1].
Regarding Claim 2, see Claim Interpretation above, Examiner notes that this claim does not set forth any structural limitations directed toward the clip and is therefore non-limiting. All structural limitations are directed to a structure which is unclaimed. However, The Examiner notes that the prior art meets these limitations (see Figs. 1-2, elements 30, 32, 34).
Regarding Claim 3, Moyles teaches:
A ring body (52/56) that has two arms (58) with open ends, at least one of the two arms being resiliently deformable (Col 5, Lns 28-32), the arms forming the retaining means (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 4, Moyles teaches:
The clip has an inner radius (see Fig. 1).
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the remaining limitations must be considered non-limiting as they are drawn to structure which are not positively recited as an element of the device and the Examiner cannot import limitations from the specification into the claims.
Regarding Claim 10¸ the term foil is defined as “metal in the form of very thin sheets” (www.dictionary.com) and the prior art is therefore interpreted to mee the limitation “the clip comprises a metal foil”.
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the remaining limitations must be considered non-limiting as they are drawn to structure which are not positively recited as an element of the device and the Examiner cannot import limitations from the specification into the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moyles ‘548 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe, U.S. patent 11,256,202.
Regarding Claim 8, Moyles is silent with regard to the clip being made from a wire.
Watanabe teaches a snap ring or retaining ring made of wire (see 80, see Col 10, Lns 55-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Moyles as being made of wire because wire is a widely available stock material and can be quickly, cheaply and efficiently manipulated into the proper shape.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677