DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/915,637 filed on October 15, 2024.
Claims 1-10 have been examined and are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2023-181515, filed on October 23, 2023].
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024 and 03/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa, Makoto (“Ozawa,” US 2012/00960660), in view of Yoshizawa, US 2010/231597.
Regarding claim 1, Ozawa discloses a calculation device (Figs. 1-2) comprising a processor which executes processing of:
controlling a display to display a solution of a specified mathematical equation in a first display style among a plurality of predetermined display styles (pars. 0056-0061; Figs. 5B-5C show a first mode display; and also see pars. 0076-0078; Figs 4, 6A-6C, 9A-9C);
controlling the display to display, when the solution of the mathematical equation is displayable in a different display style that differs from the first display style among the plurality of display styles, a conversion [[icon indicating that]] the solution of the mathematical equation is convertible to be displayed in the different display style (pars. 0056-0061; Figs. 5C-5D show the calculation result is conversed; and also see pars. 0053-0054; Figs 4, 6A-9C); and
controlling the display to display information regarding the different display style (Figs 4, Figs 5B-9C; “ENG symbol display mode”) or to display the solution of the mathematical equation in the different display style when a predetermined operation is performed on the conversion icon.
Ozawa discloses all limitation above, but does not explicitly disclose icon indicating.
However, Yoshizawa discloses a calculator device, includes icon indicating (Yoshizawa: pars. 0063-0071; Figs. 7A-7C include a selective input candidate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yoshizawa with the system/method of Ozawa. One would have been motivated to allow user easily convertible type of solution mathematically.
Regarding claim 2, Ozawa and Yoshizawa disclose the calculation device according to claim 1.
Yoshizawa further discloses, wherein the processor controls a position where the conversion icon is displayed, on basis of a display position of the solution of the mathematical equation on the display (Yoshizawa: pars. 0066; Fig. 6; Steps 22-23).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Ozawa and Yoshizawa disclose the calculation device according to claim 1.
Ozawa further discloses the calculation device, wherein the processor controls to display, when a plurality of display styles to which the first display style is convertible exits, a selection list from which a display style to which the first display style is converted is selectable from among the plurality of display styles, as the information regarding the different display style (Ozawa: pars. 0076-0077; Fig. 9A-9B; the calculation result is converted into the fraction and the calculation result "4/3" is displayed, after the user slide manipulation toward the top at the position of the calculation result).
Regarding claim 4, Ozawa and Yoshizawa disclose the calculation device according to claim 1.
Ozawa further discloses the calculation device, wherein the processor controls to display the information regarding the different display style and the solution of the mathematical equation represented in the different display style (Ozawa: pars. 0075-0078; Figs. 9A-9B show the calculation result is converted into the fraction/decimal fraction).
Regarding claim 5, Ozawa and Yoshizawa disclose the calculation device according to claim 1.
Ozawa and Yoshizawa further disclose the calculation device, wherein the processor controls to display the conversion icon (Yoshizawa: Fig. 6; at step S21-22) when the solution of the mathematical equation represented in the different display style is different from the solution of the mathematical equation represented in the first display style (Ozawa: pars. 0075-0078; Figs. 9A-9B show the calculation result is converted into the fraction/decimal fraction).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is directed to method associated with the calculation device claimed in claim 1; Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable storage medium associated with the calculation device claimed in claim 1; Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa, Makoto (“Ozawa,” US 2012/00960660), in view of Yoshizawa, US 2010/231597, and further in view of Sudoh et al., (“Sudoh” US 22004/0059999).
Regarding claim 6, Ozawa and Yoshizawa disclose the calculation device according to claim 1.
Ozawa further discloses the calculation device, wherein the plurality of predetermined display styles includes two or more of a standard setting style that represents the solution by use of an integer, a mathematical constant, and a mathematical symbol, a display style that represents the solution by use of a decimal, a display style that represents the solution by use of a mixed fraction, a display style that represents the solution by use of a recurring decimal (Ozawa: par. 0025-0026; Fig. 1, input key group 2).
Ozawa and Yoshizawa discloses all limitation above, but does not explicitly disclose a display style that represents the solution by use of a rectangular coordinate system, and a display style that represents the solution by use of a polar coordinate system.
However, Sudoh discloses a method setting and displaying x- and/or y-logarithmic scales, wherein a display style that represents the solution by use of a rectangular coordinate system, and a display style that represents the solution by use of a polar coordinate system (Sudoh: pars. 0113-0115; Fig. 7A-7B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Sudoh and Yoshizawa with the system/method of Sudoh. One would have been motivated to allow switching between them because each system is better suited to certain types of problems and visualizations.
Regarding claim 7, Ozawa, Yoshizawa, and Sudoh disclose the calculation device according to claim 6.
Ozawa further discloses the calculation device, wherein the first display style is selected from the standard setting style and the display style that represents the solution by use of a decimal, and is switchable by a user of the calculation device (Ozawa: pars. 0042, 0079-0078 ; Figs. 4, 9B-9C; steps S22, S23, and S26-S27; “the calculation result is converted into the fraction and the calculation result "4/3" is displayed as illustrated in FIG. 9B.” And “the calculation result is converted into the decimal fraction and the calculation result "1.333 . . . " is displayed as illustrated in FIG. 9C ).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa, Makoto (“Ozawa,” US 2012/00960660), in view of Yoshizawa, US 2010/231597, and further in view of Yoshizawa et al., (“Uoshizawa’512” US 2016/0086512).
Regarding claim 8, Ozawa discloses a calculation system comprising:
a calculation device which displays a solution of a specified mathematical equation (Ozawa: 0076-0078; Figs 4, 6A-6C, 9A-9C), and a server which calculates the solution of the specified mathematical equation, wherein [[the server]] includes a processor which executes processing of
(i) calculating the solution of the mathematical equation in a first display style among a plurality of predetermined display styles (Ozawa: pars. 0056-0061; Figs. 5B-5C show a first mode display; and also see pars. 0076-0078; Figs 4, 6A-6C, 9A-9C),
(ii) generating information indicating a display style in which the solution of the mathematical equation is displayable among the plurality of predetermined display styles (Ozawa: pars. 0076-0077; Fig. 9A-9B; the calculation result is converted into the fraction and the calculation result "4/3" is displayed, after the user slide manipulation toward the top at the position of the calculation result), and
(iii) transmitting the solution of the mathematical equation and the information indicating the display style in which the solution of the mathematical equation is displayable, from a communication section to the calculation device (Ozawa: pars. 0056-0061; Figs. 5C-5D show the calculation result is conversed; and also see pars. 0053-0054; Figs 4, 6A-9C ), and wherein the calculation device includes a processor which executes processing of
(i) controlling a display to display the solution of the mathematical equation in the first display style (Ozawa: pars. 0056-0061; Figs. 5C-5D show the calculation result is conversed; and also see pars. 0053-0054; Figs 4, 6A-9C),
(ii) controlling the display to display, when the solution of the mathematical equation is displayable in a different display style that differs from the first display style among the plurality of display styles (Ozawa: pars. 0056-0061; Figs. 5C-5D show the calculation result is conversed; and also see pars. 0053-0054; Figs 4, 6A-9C), a conversion [[icon indicating]] that the solution of the mathematical equation is convertible to be displayed in the different display style (Ozawa: Figs 4, Figs 5B-9C; “ENG symbol display mode”), and
(iii) controlling the display to display information regarding the different display style (Ozawa: Figs 4, Figs 5B-9C; “ENG symbol display mode”) or to display the solution of the mathematical equation in the different display style when a predetermined operation is performed on the conversion icon.
Ozawa discloses all limitation above, but does not explicitly disclose icon indicating.
However, Yoshizawa discloses a calculator device, includes icon indicating (Yoshizawa: pars. 0063-0071; Figs. 7A-7C include a selective input candidate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yoshizawa with the system/method of Ozawa. One would have been motivated to allow user easily convertible type of solution mathematically.
Ozawa and Yoshizawa do not explicitly disclose a calculation system comprising a server.
However, Yoshizawa’512 disclose a method for aggregating calculation target data comprising a server (Yoshizawa’512: pars. 0048-0057; Figs. 3-4; a calculation server 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yoshizawa’512 with the system/method of Ozawa and Yoshizawa. One would have been motivated to centralize, scale, and reliably perform computational tasks for multiple users or applications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968))
Inquiries
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174