DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 6-17 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the drawings, specification and claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/24/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 12 reads “annulus the removable cap comprising a cap bearing”, --annulus, wherein the removable cap comprises a cap bearing-- is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiedeman (US 4932613 A) in view of Davis (US 2274779 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tiedeman discloses a rotary mechanism (see Fig. 1) comprising: an earth annulus (42); an output annulus (40); a radially inner bearing race (46 formed on 42) formed on or by one of the earth annulus and the output annulus (42); a radially outer bearing race (46 formed on 40) partially formed on or by another of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40); an opening (opening in 40 where 48 is provided) in the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40); and a removable cap (50) configured to be received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus to form a raceway (46) with the radially inner bearing race and the radially outer bearing race and to close the opening, the raceway extending circumferentially and between the earth annulus and the output annulus (see Fig. 1); wherein the earth annulus is rotatable relative to the output annulus (see column 1 line 68 to column 2 line 8, wherein 42 is disclosed as fixed and 40 is disclosed as movable); wherein a plurality of bearings (48) is received in the raceway; wherein the plurality of bearings is insertable into and removable from the raceway via the opening when the removable cap is removed (see column 2 line 5-7, wherein a ball retaining plug 50 closing the races and through which the balls may be introduced); wherein the removable cap is configured to be radially retained by an annular component (see Fig. 2; 41) extending at least partially around the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (see Fig. 2). Tiedeman fails to disclose the removable cap comprising a cap bearing race including a track formed by a groove. However, Davis teaches the removable cap (see Fig. 4; 12) comprising a cap bearing race (14) including a track formed by a groove (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Tiedeman with the removable cap comprising a cap bearing race, as taught by Davis, to register with the runway or race (see column 2 lines 4-5); to provide a raceway for the balls to roll without deviation allowing proper alignment; to prevent an uneven raceway which could lead to excessive wear and/or actuator failure. As a result of the combination, the following limitations would necessarily result: when the removable cap (Davis; 12) is received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (Tiedeman; 40), the cap bearing race (Davis; 14), the radially inner bearing race (Tiedeman; 46 formed on 42) and the radially outer bearing race (Tiedeman; 46 formed on 40) form the raceway (Tiedeman; 46), and the raceway extends continuously (Tiedeman; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Tiedeman discloses the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40) comprises a recess (recess wherein 50 is provided) extending radially inwardly from a radially outer surface thereof (see Fig. 1); and wherein the recess is configured to receive the removable cap (50).
Regarding claim 6, Tiedeman discloses the other of the earth annulus and output annulus (40) comprises radially outwardly extending locking members (radially outward extending members of 40) configured to engage with complementary radially inwardly extending locking features (radially inwardly extending features of 41) provided on the annular component (41).
Regarding claim 7, Tiedeman discloses one or more further earth annuli (38, left side 42 in the figure) axially spaced from the earth annulus (right side 42 in the figure); and one or more further output annuli (left side 40 in the figure) axially spaced from the output annulus (right side 40 in the figure).
Regarding claim 8, Tiedeman discloses the rotary mechanism is one of a rotary actuator, a gear or a gear stage (disclosed as a rotary hinge actuator).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the rotary mechanism assembly (Tiedeman; Fig. 1; 10) comprising: the rotary mechanism according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and an annular component (Tiedeman; 41) extending at least partially around the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (Tiedeman; 40) and configured to radially retain the removable cap (Tiedeman; 50) when the removable cap is received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (Tiedeman; 40).
Regarding claim 10, Tiedeman discloses when the removable cap (50) is received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40) and the annular component (41) is assembled onto the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus, the annular component overlaps the removable cap (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Tiedeman discloses the annular component (41) fully overlays the removable cap (50) when the removable cap is received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40) and the annular component is assembled onto the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Tiedeman discloses when the removable cap (50) is received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40) and the annular component (41) is assembled onto the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus, the annular component retains the removable cap in place (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Tiedeman discloses the annular component (41) is in contact with the removable cap (50) when the removable cap is received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40) and the annular component is assembled onto the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Tiedeman discloses the annular component (41) comprises radially inwardly extending locking features (radially inwardly extending features of 41) which engage with radially outwardly extending locking features (radially outward extending features of 40) provided on the other of the earth annulus and output annulus (40); and the radially inwardly extending locking features are configured to radially retain the removable cap (50; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Tiedeman discloses when the removable cap (50) is received by the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (40), the removable cap is radially inboard of at least the radially outer ends of the radially outwardly extending locking features ( radially outer ends of radially outward extending features of 40).
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiedeman (US 4932613 A) in view of Davis (US 2274779 A) and Piltz (US 20130199324 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Tiedeman fails to disclose a removable connector connecting the removable cap. However, Piltz teaches a removable connector (see Fig. 7; 58) connecting the removable cap (56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Tiedeman with removable connectors connecting the removable cap, as taught by Piltz, to secure the cap in place (see paragraph [0044]); and to prevent the cap from moving within the annulus which results in an uneven raceway and could lead to excessive wear and/or actuator failure. As a result of the combination, the following limitations would necessarily result: a removable connector (Piltz; 58) connecting the removable cap (Tiedeman; 50) to the other of the earth annulus and the output annulus (Tiedeman; 40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections that were necessitated by an amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618