Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the presently claimed features are taught by the earlier patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Andreas (PGPub 2024/0367506).
Regarding claim 9, Andreas teaches a system for mounting fuel storage tanks201 to a vehicle (Figure 1), the system comprising: a first front vertical support 113 comprising a first lower front curved portion 111A coupled to a first rear vertical support 112 comprising a first lower rear curved portion 112, wherein the first lower front curved portion and the first lower rear curved portion are configured to partially surround a fuel tank (para [0058]; “receiving portions 111D are also formed in the two plates, which serve to encircle the five high-pressure storage tanks 201 over an angular range of approximately 180 degrees”); a second front vertical support 113 comprising a second lower front curved portion coupled to a second rear vertical support comprising a second lower rear curved portion, wherein the second lower front curved portion and the second lower rear curved portion are configured to partially surround the fuel tank (two vertical supports 113 are positioned on right and left sides); and a subassembly comprising an upper front lateral member 116 coupled to the first front vertical support and the second front vertical support (see Figure 4).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Andreas teaches the first rear vertical support further comprises a rear middle curved flange (plates with curved openings that fit around the tanks) configured to partially surround the fuel tank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2003-237389 in view of Teubner (WO 2022/148854).
JP’389 teaches a system for mounting fuel storage tanks (fuel containers 3) to a vehicle (Figure 10), the system comprising: a first front outside vertical member (the outer vertical beam of frame 17; see Figure 1) coupled to a first rear outside vertical member (outer vertical beam of frame 19) by a first valve-end fuel tank bracket 61, 63; a second front outside vertical member (second vertical beam of frame 17) coupled to a second rear outside vertical member (second outer beam of frame 19) by a first plug-end fuel tank bracket 61, 63; an upper front lateral member (seen in Figure 1) coupled to the first front outside vertical member and the second front outside vertical member.
JP’389 lacks a subassembly coupled to the first front outside vertical member and the second front outside vertical member, wherein the first front outside vertical member and the first rear outside vertical member are coupled to an outer longitudinal arm of a first lateral bracket.
Teubner teaches a system for mounting fuel tanks 28-34 to a vehicle (semi-tractor 10; Figure 7) including a subassembly (supports 40 for mounting additional units 48; Figure 6) coupled to first front outside vertical member and the second front outside vertical member (two vertical members shown in Figure 6), wherein the first front outside vertical member and the first rear outside vertical member are coupled to an outer longitudinal arm of a first lateral bracket 36 (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the JP’389 system with a subassembly and a longitudinal arm of a lateral bracket connecting the outside vertical members, in view of Teubner, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reinforce the tank supporting framework and provide a mounting frame for additional units.
Regarding claim 2, the subassembly 40, taught by Teubner, comprises a main bar 40 having a first bend adjacent a first end of the main bar and a second bend adjacent a second end of the main bar (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, the subassembly taught by Teubner extends along the entire rear frame so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further couple it to a first front vertical support and a second front vertical support (JP’389 shows further front vertical supports positioned laterally inwardly from the outer vertical supports.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the second front outside vertical member and the second rear outside vertical member are coupled to an outer longitudinal arm of a second lateral bracket (both sides are configured with the same structure.
Regarding claims 7-8, JP’389 shows second and third valve-end fuel tank bracket 61, 63, coupled to the first front outside vertical member and the first rear outside vertical member at a vertical position higher than the first valve-end fuel tank bracket; and second and third plug-end fuel tank bracket coupled to the second front outside vertical member and the second rear outside vertical member at a vertical position higher than the first plug-end fuel tank bracket (Figure 1 of JP’389 shows three vertically spaced fuel tank brackets 61, 63, on each side of the tank supporting frame).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’389 and Teubner as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Andreas (PGPub 2024/0367506).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the combination lacks the first front vertical support comprising a lower front curved portion configured to partially surround a fuel tank and a first rear vertical support comprising a rear middle curved flange configured to partially surround a fuel tank.
Andreas teaches a first front vertical support 111A comprising a lower front curved portion (see Figure 4) configured to partially surround a fuel tank and a first rear vertical support 111B comprising a rear middle curved flange configured to partially surround a fuel tank (Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure front and rear vertical supports of the system of the combination with curved flanged, in view of Andreas, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to cradle the tanks mounted to the frame for better support and less rattle.
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2003-237389 in view of Andreas (PGPub 2024/0367506) and Teubner (WO 2022/148854).
Regarding claim 12-14 and 16, JP’389 teaches a system for mounting a fuel tank having all of the claimed features, including a front outside vertical member coupled to a first rear outside vertical member by a first valve-end fuel tank bracket, except that it lacks a lower front curved portion configured to partially surround a fuel tank and a first rear vertical support comprising a rear middle curved flange configured to partially surround a fuel tank and a subassembly coupled to front vertical supports.
Andreas teaches a first front vertical support 111A comprising a lower front curved portion (see Figure 4) configured to partially surround a fuel tank and a first rear vertical support 111B comprising a rear middle curved flange configured to partially surround a fuel tank (Figure 4).
Teubner teaches a system for mounting fuel tanks 28-34 to a vehicle (semi-tractor 10; Figure 7) including a subassembly (supports 40 for mounting additional units 48; Figure 6) coupled to first front outside vertical member and the second front outside vertical member (two vertical members shown in Figure 6), wherein the first front outside vertical member and the first rear outside vertical member are coupled to an outer longitudinal arm of a first lateral bracket 36 (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure front and rear vertical supports of the system of JP’389 with a lower front curved portion configured to partially surround a fuel tank and a first rear vertical support comprising a rear middle curved flange configured to partially surround a fuel tank curved , in view of Andreas, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to cradle the tanks mounted to the frame for better support and less rattle. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the JP’389 system with a subassembly and a longitudinal arm of a lateral bracket connecting the outside vertical members, in view of Teubner, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reinforce the tank supporting framework and provide a mounting frame for additional units.
Regarding claim 15, subassembly taught by Teubner comprises a main bar having a first bend adjacent a first end of the main bar and a second bend adjacent a second end of the main bar (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 17, the first rear vertical support, as taught by Andreas, further comprises a rear middle curved flange configured to partially surround the fuel tank (lower and middle flanges are shown).
Regarding claim 18, JP’389 shows a second valve-end fuel tank bracket 61, 63, coupled to the first front outside vertical member and the first rear outside vertical member at a vertical position higher than the first valve-end fuel tank bracket (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, JP389 shows a second front outside vertical member coupled to a second rear outside vertical member by a first plug-end fuel tank bracket (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, JP’389 shows a second plug-end fuel tank bracket coupled to the second front outside vertical member and the second rear outside vertical member at a vertical position higher than the first plug-end fuel tank bracket (Figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hale teaches a gas vessel holder having transverse flanges.
Hornback, Arold, and CN21308238 teach gas vessel carriers on vehicles.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/